Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ambassador Hotel 3 stars

Moselstr. 10, Bahnhofsviertel, 60329 Frankfurt/Main, Germany

#160 of 221 hotels in Frankfurt/Main

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 197 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old, dirty carpets in the rooms should be replaced with wooden floors for hygiene and comfort purposes

    excellent price-value ratio and good place for train travellers as close to the main station. Excellent breakfast for the price!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It doesn't have a fridge or a water kettle. We didn't know that it is a IBIS hotel until we arrived. Booking.com didn't mention.

    We booked a room for 3 adults. The room is a bit small for 3 adults, but the bathroom is roomy and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave me their worst room: first floor with street view without curtains. I could not open window because there were some bars nearby and it was very noisy. I treat it as disrespect because there definitely were vacant rooms with windows on the yard. Also the location is awful - dirty, lots of beggars and other unpleasant people. And there is no outlets near the bed to charge your devices.

    Breakfast is ok, but there is no hot meal. Room and bathroom were rather clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived before the permitted check-in time, true enough the reception told us the room was not ready. We left our luggage & went for a meal. We returned few hours later & was assigned a room however when we entered, it was not cleaned yet. They should have ensured that room was ever ready when they gave the keys. Guests could have travelled half the globe & are worn out when they arrive.We were then given another room that we were quite happy with. Could be better if the carpet was more cleaner.

    We have stayed here many times for the convenience that it is near to the railway station. We still saw a familiar face ( the tall lady with the long hair) at the breakfast room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot say that i hate the place but here a list of things "I liked less". - Some staff sometimes were not as friendly as I would have liked. I understand that they were overloaded at the time but felt that I was actually more understanding than they were. They gave the impression that they were not very comfortable solving customer issues and would tend to first blame you before even trying to find a solution. Was not very pleasant sometimes. - help desk presents the hotel as a modern place. This is nice, but when you get to the room you feel a bit disappointed. It is clean but things are kind of overused and feels old. - The district where the hotel is located is close to the main station. That makes it very convenient but at the same time it has an intense night life and an atmosphere that IMHO is not friendly for everybody.

    Nice breakfast buffet with enough choice ando good quality. Very nice small reception area and desk. Overall quite clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small cramped room. Elevator whose call button was well hidden. Generally uninterested and impersonal staff. Very expensive indeed for the mediocre level of quality that they offer. Only even remotely justified by the location near the train station in Frankfurt.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very irresponsible hotel staff lost my parcel. it was a portable wifi device. they recived it. I even showed the DHL delivery recipt. when i reached Munich , later found out that they had it in the office and it was locked.

    nice and clean. Breakfast was really Good. location is near the train station and food is easily available nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping guy was very unfriendly. I went back to the room to quickly fetch my bag after breakfast and he was there, so he made it very clear about how unhappy he was that I disturbed him. Sighing very loudly every 2 seconds, banging the toilet seat down, talking loudly about me in German assuming I only spoke English since I greeted him in English. Carpets were quite stained which was off-putting and the shower/bath (2 in 1) is impossible to use without getting water on the bathroom floors as it's a little cramped in the bathroom with a very small glass as the shower door. The breakfast was great but nothing hot like eggs, bacon or sausage etc. We booked here with a 63% discount on booking.com and I think it was good value for money given the discount. I don't think it would be worth it to stay here if paying the full price.

    The reception staff was friendly. The location was great in the sense that it was very close to the train station and within walking distance of inner city. The breakfast spread and coffee was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You get what you pay for. The hotel is still an Ibis. Be warned if you are going over the weekend ensure you ask for a room at the back of the hotel as our first night was a nightmare as the music from the area was so, so loud even with the window shut until 3.00am. Next morning we requested to be moved which was not a problem.

    The location was good as it only took 10 to 15 minutes walking along the river to get to the old town. The morning staff was very helpful with regard to our room in the front of the hotel with regard to the noise. However he did say it was the weekend! Once in the new room we were able to have a good nights' sleep. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the internet did not work properly. I would not say it was good value for money.

    It is very well located/ short walking distance from central train station.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For some reason the WiFi did not work on my Apple devices. No big deal because I could use the LTE network but the set-up of the WiFi network should be easier.

    Great renovation. The rooms are very comfortable and the overall atmosphere in the renewed hotel is very pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to find, actually you need to walk into ibis hotel. Complicated parking FREE parking from 5PM to 8AM, but in the morning you have to pay 3 EUR per hour.If, you find a place on the street in front of the hotel

    Wi-fi for free for all devices

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Ambassador Hotel is in fact an Ibis Hotel. Ambassador and Ibis appear on Booking as two different hotels, but they are actually the same thing, they even share the same entrance. However, this was not mentionned on Booking when I made the reservation. If I knew, I wouldn't have booked there, I don't like Ibis Hotels.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy hallway

    Nice interior, clean and 'no nonsense' room. Everything we needed. Nice view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More Space in toilet and also complimentary drinking water bottle.

    No comments

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Matress not very good. Bad smell in hallways

    Not far from central railway station and office

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    need to accomodate & facilitate customer

    need to extend check out time

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaner carpets

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good location, value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed oh Bearkfast good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is bad.

    The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise Smelt of cigarette smoke Difficult to negotiate with luggage Unfriendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Floor plan causes difficulty in reaching to the rooms due to the lift and stairs. Dirty carpet and curtains. No business center (or no printer availability at the business center)

    Free WiFi Check in and out speed Breakfast inclusive

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi was being changed so didn't work as well this time as it did the past. Staff were most helpful fixing things for me.

    The rooms are good and the facilities are fine with good choice of food for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Due to renovation 1 lift was not working. Had to use stairs on 2nd lift. Difficul with heavy luggage.

    location is good. Breakfast is excellent. Staff is extremely helpful and cooperative.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No clear sign board of ambassador hotel (which you changed the name into ibis style)

    Good location. But when you decide to change your name it did not pop up the new name on your list. It gives me confussion.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was turning in a Ibis, so there were works all around. They could have warned us.

    Location is great for people who want to stay near the train station, but neighborhood itself is a bit strange...

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Unfortunately the hotel was undergoing a reform process , but I believe it is something transitory and it will be even better after the end of this.

    Very near to Central Station, markets and restaurants. Very helpful staff , allowing late check out. This facilitated me a lot because I was with a lot of luggage and small children .

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints.

    Checked me in early. Gave me a very nice room. Excellent breakfast included. Staff extremely helpful. Hotel is clean. Facilities up to date.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The whole main station neighbourhood is a little unpleasant - but you're just coming or going, really.

    It's conveniently close to the main station - so if you're coming in/going out by train (which you probably are anyways, considering the train connection to the airport), it's a solid option. It's a walking distance to the centre, too. Rooms were nice and clean, and breakfast was really good.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The whole thing We asked for lower floor room as my wife does not use lifts and we were given a room on the 6th floor The rooms were old and badly decorated The staff was polite

    The location

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    breakfast offer scrambled eggs with bacon, omelet, hot dogs, etc.

    position of the hotel, cleanliness of the bathroom, newly renovated bathroom, simply staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unfortunally, there are some "interesting" shops and "services" in Moselstrasse, woman have to be carefull when walking via Moselstrasse... The last night, there was some turkish family in hotel, and they were very, very noisy - one cant sleep the whole night :"(

    The hotel is located in the city center, just 10 minutes walk to Opera house and Main Tower. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Fridge !! Staff were not prepared to even put a bottle of wine in the large bar fridge downstairs to be taken later.Unacceptable , guests needs should be catered for if possible this hotel treats their guests with contempt

    breakfast was great .Close to many major attractions

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The sign of the hotel is not very apparent。 Actually it is located on Moselstr. 12 and is an Ibis-Hotel.

    Nice location just near Frankfurt a.M Hbf. Big rooms with suffient area for the families. Excellent breakfast-buffet

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Room cleaning service was not cleaned. No security deposit box in room. Hard to get ice. No shower curtain.

    Thanks for sharing Ice from front desk bar !

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Solo traveller

    I booked for Ambassador hotel, when I arrived it had two signs one Ibis, one Ambassador??. When finally I get me room at 3 pm, I was taken to a small old dark room more like a hostel!. I demanded a new room as I saw the room advertised online!. Manager said I booked Ambassador, the renovated side was Ibis. Very misleading photos online!.

    Location ok 15 minute walk to shopping downtown, old Frankfurt.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's not even called the Ambassador hotel anymore and hasn't been for some time. I thought I had booked the Ambassador whereas in fact it is now an Ibis. That's important. You need to change the listing.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy street outside. The elevator does not stop at the same floor as the rooms which is difficult when you carry luggage.

    Helpful and friendly staff. Central location.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    All the staff were very helpful and friedly

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good hotel

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Street noise.

    Close to the main station. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I like the breakfast!!!

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    Big room and clean new bathroom. Staff is ok.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad internet connection

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I could not make it. It may be a fine place, but a credit card credit would be nice..if possible. Just a request..it was my fault.

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Service is bad, staff attitude is bad. Facility is old. Need to lift your luggage by your hand for at least 1/2 floor.

    Location is OK.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    poor qaulity

    -

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Got a dorm-style room with 4 tiny single beds.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    elevator

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Toilet looked like was not cleaned properly at our arrival. Smelly.

    Location was great

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    lift was broken evenining and room was at 7th floor :-)))

    breakfast

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Awesome breakfast!!

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms need a fridge

    Breakfast is fantastic

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    noise from the bar across the street can prevent sleeping; wifi signal a bit weak in some corner of the room

    free wifi, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is quite noisy at night.

    clean and big room

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Syaff

    Location

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Tasty breakfast. Near central train station. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Solo traveller

    too expensive for nothing

    Location

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    neighbourhood

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Smallish rooms. Street noise.

    Value. Breakfast. Location.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was clean and quiet. Fair WiFi and breakfast. Everything is really good for this price.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Felt a bit like a youth hostel

    Great Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the location, breakfast was excellent and breakfast room, very clean. Consistent over the past 6 years.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No restaurant on site.

    Close to train station, close to museums and other sites

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Browse Ambassador Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: