Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Styles Köln City This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Barbarossa Platz 4A, Altstadt-Sued, 50674 Cologne, Germany

#180 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 336 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    3.8
    Nothing but the receptionist tryes hard to find a solution,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room Medium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First, they state at booking that they are 400 m from the railway station-and they are km’s away. Second, I didn’t get a Room I booked, no double Twin medium Room, so they sold a Room on booking which wasn’t available at all. After a long trip, check in at 1 am This was the last thing I wanted.

    Nothing but the receptionist tryes hard to find a solution, but no Way.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location but improvable services
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room Medium
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air condition. Possibly it is mentioned on their page but I would like to have it and also houseshoe.

    Personnels are very good-humoured and helpful. Location is very good and central.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    3.8
    the walls between the rooms are very thin you can hear...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room Medium
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the walls between the rooms are very thin you can hear everything in the other room, staff a not in the reception all the time one was playing PS3 when I came in at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    I would recommend anyone looking for a mid range hotel to use the Ibis Styles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room Medium
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perhaps the cost might of been a bit high at around 90 Euros a night for a single room however this did include a good breakfast and it would of been better if the hotel was closer into the centre.

    The location was good and the hotel staff were very helpful and the rooms were very clean. I would recommend using this hotel from my experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent staff & location and although the rooms were quite small they were spotless and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room Medium
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! Although the Rooms were quite small they were very clean and comfortable.

    Beds were very comfortable, rooms spotlessly clean. Staff were excellent, especially the reception staff whom were very helpful and friendly and made our stay enjoyable. I would stay here again based on staff alone :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    6.7
    Location was good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room Medium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection was poor Room was very small No mini bar No wardrobe No electric kettle Bed was very small Breakfast was poor No value of money

    Location was good Staff were very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    For the price you pay you get what u need , Köln is not known for being cheap. Nice small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room Medium
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room can be a bit bigger.

    The Hotel is clean and has a good location , the breakfast is also good .Don't expect luxury this is a more budget oriented hotel but still able to give the guest a very pleasant stay. Internet speed is good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    6.7
    very good bed and bedsheet etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Medium
    • Stayed 1 night

    small room with no service facility as minibar or even water. Roller blind was not tight,so I was disturbed by light early morning at head of bed!

    very good bed and bedsheet etc. breakfast buffet was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.0
    Too expensive for the type of hotel, much better available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were so small, it was like living in a wardrobe. The bathrooms were the size of those found in a caravan. Asked for an extra pillow at 19;00 and was told it was too late to get one. Supposedly, you should ask before the cleaner goes home! If I'd have paid half the price it would have been too much for this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Perfect weekend trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room Medium
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could fault would be the shower, the position of the shower in the small bathroom was really awkward right in the very corner of the room, it was way too close to the wall so it made it very hard to move when taking a shower. But other then that there is nothing else to fault.

    Staff were perfect, Very helpful! Location perfect! Although the tram is right outside we couldn't hear them at all which was great, I would defiantly stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Fulfilled our expectations of location to allow us to meet our daughter who is student at Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Medium
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No tea ,coffee making facilities in room No safe in room ( although facilities were available at reception )

    The room we had was a good size, clean, efficient fan although no air conditioning, comfortable bed. Staff were all friendly helpful and courteous who spoke much better English than our German

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.2
    A good hotel in the centre of Cologne for a good rate (compared to the local high average)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room Medium
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some noise from the outside because it is on the Barbarosa Platz with some trafic. Next time I will ask for a room on the other side.

    Location. Breakfast. Bed. Walking access to the centre, trams, bus and a railway station - Köln Süd, at a 5 minutes walking distance. It was my second stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    7.1
    +Lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room Medium
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Rooms were really, really tiny and for €100 + room we expected just a little more space, but maybe that was unrealistic of us in Keulen. -Even though the hotel is family friendly, the neighbourhood is more for a night out with friends and drinks.

    +Lovely breakfast +No problem with noise, seeing as it is at a busy intersection +Great play things for kids, so you can have a good breakfast +Good tram connection and food stores +Hardcore metal bar 300m to your right when you leave the hotel, has highchairs and good food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.3
    :-/
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room Medium
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    :-/

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is clean and well communicated. In our opinion the room was too small and expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price was too high for the small room we got, the bathroom is like a waredrobe.

    We liked that it was very clean and well comunicated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Clean, good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Medium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, good breakfast! Private parking is worth the money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    well done!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room Medium
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing! it's IBIS!

    Thanks for everything!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    The staff were friendly and helpful. There were some nice lively bars close to the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room Medium
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no restaurant in the hotel.

    It was convenient having a tram stop outside the hotel and a direct tram to the Hauptbahnhof.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.5
    Ibis styles Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room Medium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of the tram. Basic room (too basic)

    Excellent shower. Breakfast was good. Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.5
    Great value winter break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Medium
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like.

    Good location - right next to Barbarossaplatza station. Good breakfast. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.1
    the internet connection was poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room Medium
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the internet connection was poor

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.1
    Situation and personal, and disegin
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room Medium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cocoroaches and extremely poor breakfast

    Situation and personal, and disegin

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.0
    We only stopped one night, we would not reccommend staying any longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room Medium
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy rooms especially at the front, thin walls, and the breakfast was a bun-fight

    fairly good and varied breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    6.3
    Very close Metro Station, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room Medium
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small room, very noisy as train station too close

    Very close Metro Station, good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Medium
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Medium
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Surprisingly great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room Medium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprisingly great! Breakfast was free - another nice surprise. Nicer rooms than expected.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice Stay in Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was really small

    The beds were very comfy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.8
    Tram stops just across the street, street very noisy, no...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room Medium
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tram stops just across the street, street very noisy, no chance for opening window in the night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    5.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room Medium
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room size was extremely small. No place to left stuff. Noisy, orientation towards main street.

    Location. Kind personnel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.6
    Nice stay in Koln!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Medium
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice cozy beds, very good breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    7.1
    Rooms are clean, location is good, staff is helpful, buffet...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    There is no AC in the room, what can be problem during Summer. There is no wardrobe in the room. There is trams hub next to the hotel, so window must be closed during night. There are no English TV channels on TV.

    Rooms are clean, location is good, staff is helpful, buffet breakfast, etc.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    7.1
    breakfast was good and easy access to the tram
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I would have liked a refund for the room we booked but my colleague could not travel so we could not cancel on time

    breakfast was good and easy access to the tram

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.5
    Staff very helpful when I arrived without an international...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Coffee from the machine pretty disgusting, but at least tea and coffee always available

    Staff very helpful when I arrived without an international converter for my phone charger.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    7.9
    Tram stops just across the street, nice arrangement of lobby.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A tiny room with a tiny bathroom... Slow internet...

    Tram stops just across the street, nice arrangement of lobby... Surprised by silence in the room while the windows were toward street... but foreget about opening window in the night...

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    7.5
    I liked the proximity to the U-Bahn (mere meters), courteous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The soundproofing of the walls and window did not mask the late revelers nor the rumble of the trains. For 150 EUR/night I expected more quiet.

    I liked the proximity to the U-Bahn (mere meters), courteous staff, good breakfast and comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    9.2
    Staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking.

    Staff was great. So was breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    7.5
    Close to the public transport and a massive selection of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy

    Close to the public transport and a massive selection of bars and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    7.5
    Just needed a place to stay for the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing

    Just needed a place to stay for the night. Ibis is always a good option

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    7.9
    Breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very simple.

    Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    7.1
    the location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi wasnt very stable

    the location

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    5.0
    Staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was way too small, the room was basically a bed with toilet and shower.

    Staff was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    7.1
    The location is close to tram station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room is too small considering the price.

    The location is close to tram station. Room is clean and tidy.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    5.4
    Close to central good breaksfast
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Rooms are so small and there is not any gardrobe.

    Close to central good breaksfast

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: