Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ambiente This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Am Gottesacker 70, 44143 Dortmund, Germany

#10 of 55 hotels in Dortmund

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 258 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    A lovely, clean and comfortable hotel with an excellent breakfast.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The restaurant was not open so we always had to go out for lunch and dinner.

    The hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly. It has a lovely garden area where one can have breakfast in the morning or a cool beer in the evening. The breakfast is excellent. The rooms are a good size. We had an extra bed put in for our three year old and we still had a lot of space.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Good place to stay if you travel by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Far away from public transport. Next bilding was the city crematory, and a huge cemetery you need to pass to get there if you go by city train. Quite expensive services.

    Nice and clear place. Perfect silence at night - no cars, pets, voices were heard. Polite staff helped with all the issues and even more. Tasty breakfast with veriety of dishes. Good coffee.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    3.3
    Not recommended much better choices around!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Arrogant employees at the reception, including the hotel manager. Bloody expensive restaurant. Only few choices on the menu, trying to be posh. Terribly breakfast with flies on the food!!! WIFI didn't work, so I could hardly work on a 3 days business trip! Had booked 2 rooms by some error - maybe even my mistake - and they charged 80% as a cancellation fee for the 2nd, no flexibility at all!!! They said - lied actually - that they were fully booked, which was not true as the parking was only half empty. Not that is the reason why I downrated them! Terrible hotel anyway, never come back again and never will recommend to any of my business partners! Also things like no fridge, no AC like you can expect from a 4 star hotel....

    Had no issues with the parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.3
    This hotel does the job but is definitely nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a twin bed, not a double bed. It would have been nice to have tea-making facilities in our room. The bath towels were not really large enough. I thought the decor throughout the hotel was a bit bland.

    Staff were friendly & helpful. The room was very well insulated from noise.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    6.7
    Not good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were so thin that I got woken up several times during the night because of the snoring of my neighbour (although I had put earplugs in).I had a single room, advertised with a free standing bed (on the booking.com website), but the bed was actually at the wall in a corner. I personally do not like that at all, I need free space around my bed. Also the wooden head of the bed was not attached to the wall and if you touched it it or turned over in bed it banged noisily against the wall.The bed sheet wasn't white but a yellowish colour which made it look old and dirty. The room interior was more than basic, it could do with some colours and more pictures on the bare walls. Bathroom was clean but smelling of sewerage after you had a shower. Breakfast was pretty basic as well and staff at breakfast rather snippy. So in conclusion: Very basic hotel rooms without sound insulation, rather on 3 star level, quite expensive for what you get.

    Quiet location, underground station about 500 m away, so in a walkable distance. Was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    nice neighbourhood, friendly people, good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    old style bathroom

    very nice personnel, interesting design.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    Good confort , quiet suit, clean
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioner , no mosquito net ,

    Good confort , quiet suit, clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.4
    Expensive meals, average room
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main meal is a portion of starter :-( If you do not choose the whole menu (starter, main and desert)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Best breakfast ever !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best breakfast ever !!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    9.6
    Very nice and spacious rooms .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very nice and spacious rooms . Breakfast is very good and all staff are nice and trying to bring even more comfort. The hotel is nearby the tram station to get downtown . The vicinity to the B1 federal road allows fast connection to the motorway.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, nicely designed bar and restaurant,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only minor issue was that the two mattresses of the double bed are separate, which is not so comfortable for a couple.

    Very friendly staff, nicely designed bar and restaurant, comfortable and very clean room. Suburban location means it's nice and quiet at night, and parking is easy and free - and at the same time, the metro (U-Bahn) is only a short walk from the hotel and takes you into the centre in about 10-15 minutes. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely choose Hotel Ambiente again the next time we're in Dortmund.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.5
    Good location for Dotrmund airport.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Disappointed that on arriving late after a long day that we could not eat in the hotel restaurant, they said it was full, but appeared to be some empty places and we feel we could have been fitted in.

    Good location for Dotrmund airport. Efficient service. Quiet room.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    8.3
    Lovely and clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only let down was the fact that there wasn't any coffee or tea making facilities in our room so we ordered it on room service.breakfast was extra so we didn't bother.

    Lovely and clean hotel. Our room was spacious.only a short walk to the tram stop.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    9.6
    Excellent at all levels :-)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi! I don't understand why there is still a need to enter a password and a userid. And it was working on my iphone and not on my laptop. Wifi should be free and without access restriction!

    Excellent at all levels :-)

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    8.3
    Nice quiet hotel and friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant dinner choice was only ' gourmet ' which was very expensive and limited and not for the hungry. Need to offer an alternative as the area not blessed with lots of other restaurants. Breakfast reasonable but ran out of eggs on a quiet Sunday morning.

    Nice quiet hotel and friendly helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    8.3
    Disregarding our dining experience on our first night this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The fine dining experience was not what we were expecting after a long day spent travelling. What we needed was a substantial meal but the only food on offer was what was described as fine dining which left all of in our party more hungry than when we started. This hotel will fall behind if it does not change it's menu.

    Disregarding our dining experience on our first night this hotel catered for all of our needs. The staff were both attentive and helpful. The room was clean and extremely well equipped which made our stay enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    8.3
    Great value for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast could be better considering 4 star hotel, so if you prefer rich breakfast this is not the best place to stay.

    Great value for your money. Close to subway station and about 10 min to the centre of Dortmund. Hotel is quite small but very comfort and clean. Will definitely consider in next booking in Dortmund.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    6.7
    Its lobby and restaurant were extremely well designed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not so nice neighborhood and totally inaccessible if you don't have a car.

    Its lobby and restaurant were extremely well designed. It was conveniently close to the Dortmund airport if you have a rented car. Pretty good WiFi.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    8.3
    - attention for detail
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - price a bit on the high side

    - attention for detail - good bathroom (roomy) - good reception / check-in - helpfull staff - room ready at 12.°°

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2015

    7.9
    Great restaurant in the basement, warm atmosphere, super...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed was a bit small and mattress not really the best. Simple room furniture, not really a place to spend time.

    Great restaurant in the basement, warm atmosphere, super nice staff, and a delightful dinner is waiting for you. It will cost you more than double than the room - so be prepared. Otherwise a nice shower, close location to the airport is very good for early flying off. Silent location. Good atmosphere in the lobby.

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    7.9
    Ideal for airport and only 20mins from signal iduna park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not much within walking distance so expect to spend lots on taxis.

    Ideal for airport and only 20mins from signal iduna park. Staff were very helpful

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    7.9
    Please consider prior comment, which applies also for the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Please consider prior comment, which applies also for the second night.

    Please consider prior comment, which applies also for the second night.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    9.2
    Restaurant was closed before 10 PM
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant was closed before 10 PM

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2015

    8.3
    Hotel and restaurant ok
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Hotel and restaurant ok THE PRICE FOR EAT IS BIG

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    9.6
    Great hotel close to the highway and in a green area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Great hotel close to the highway and in a green area. Definitely can recommend the restaurant! Great price/quality! Top gastronomy.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    9.2
    The nearness to relations we were visiting also easy to get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The nearness to relations we were visiting also easy to get into the city by tram

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: