Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ambiente Garni This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schillerstrasse 12, Ludwigsvorstadt, 80336 Munich, Germany

#136 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1136 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would like to have tea/coffee making facility in the rooms. Not interested in having a bar in the room.

    A great location close to Central Station. Rooms comfortable. Staff were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My converter broke, and the hotel didn't have one to lend me. Room was stuffy when i arrived because it had not been opened up to allow in fresh air. No croissants or pastries at breakfast, only hard buns.

    Very clean rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is one of the worst streets in Munich. Noisy round the clock. My room was on the 4th floor and I couldnt sleep all the night.

    5 min walk to train station. Good breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very close to the central station, which sadly means it is in an area filled with night/strip clubs and at night it can feel a bit dodgy. Nevertheless, once you go in, you realise it is a very nice and decent place.

    Very good for a 3-star hotel. Very close to the central station which makes it convenient. Very clean bathroom. Has a stocked mini-bar, which other 3-star hotels do not ofer. Clean linen, overall clean room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in a street with 'entertainment' bars which may make some people a little uncomfortable but within a five minute slow walk you are in Altstadt.

    The room was a good size and really well kept. The bathroom was good, and I was able to have a good shower with great water pressure (this is really important to me). The staff were friendly, spoke good english and happy to help. The location gives really easy access to whatever you want to do.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some travelers might consider the immediate area a bit "sketchy" as there seems to be quite a few young men hanging about, with a relatively strong police presence. However, we never felt threatened. Beware: there is no AC so could be uncomfortable on a hot night

    Very helpful staff. short walk from train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a little bit noisy if your room's windows are faced to the street. I advise to ask for an inner garden view

    Excellent location, just 50m to Hauptbahnhof underground passage. Really kind and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad neighborhood, located in the turkish area, very noisy at night, strip clubs, drugs. Police is present though and nobody bothered us.

    Friendly staff, very close to the center & station, delicious breakfast, nice room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditionning. In my case it was OK, still may become an issue if it is hot outside No good ventillation in the bathroom

    very clean; helpfull, reactive and very friendly staff; location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dim lit entrance of room.

    Excellent location, very friendly and welcoming staff, good breakfast and quiet room (facing rear court yard). Good sized bathroom and very comfortable bath.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast variety could be better, but there were still enough choice

    Very friendly staff, clean bathroom, value for money, big pot of coffee at the breakfast :) The street is noisy at night but I got a room with a window to the courtyard and did not hear anything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location in quite busy railway district with a lot of hotels and adult entertainment nearby, however, perfect if you need to travel from Munich railway station, leak of cheap plastic shoehorn

    Nice welcoming and helpful personnel, very good and tasty breakfast, comfortable bed and pillow (why only one?), 5 minutes to Bahnhof, normal price/quality rate

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV was not working and the reception speaks poor english and did not bother to fix our tv. Breakfast room a big crowded around 9 am. Good locations, but creepy area at night..

    good breakfast, nice room, comfortable bed, clean room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of the hotel is very close to the central station, from where you can take the train, or underground to any place you need. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. the room was large and comfortable. The staff is very helpful and kind. Breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Neighbourhood could have been better but that's nothing the hotel can help.

    Very nice breakfast, good coffee, clean rooms and extremely friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Budget no-frills hotel, excellent location (notwithstanding rather seedy street) close to Hbf and Innenstadt, good wifi; and beautiful set-out for breakfast (bonus points to the kitchen staff!)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is very dated and some of the facilities we not as expected but I can not compare with other hotels in the area but in comparison to another hotel in Munich for the same price, I think it could improve in that aspect.

    The Location of this hotel is excellent, you have access to most of the city. The staff is friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot really complain, the hotel is close to the train station and it is definitely easy to reach the city center, which means that you do not need to use the public transportation, which might be crowded and a bit expensive. The staff is friendly and really polite. The offered breakfast is also good; there is a wide offer and fresh food. It was a pleasant stay and I enjoyed my time at Hotel Ambiente Garni.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We arrived December 31st and the hotel proposed us twin room instead of a double which has been reserved. The receptionist told that they are totally booked and that booking.com sent him only the information about a room for 2 persons without precision. He proposed us just to put together two beds by ourselves and also said that probably they will help us next day. He was very impolite. We put to beds together, but we also had to move a small table and all electrical sockets and light switches were covered by our pillows. Next day in the morning another receptionist proposed us to move to another room, but even if the smoking is prohibited in the hotel, somebody were smoking all night (fire safety doesn't work???) and the smell was very bad. We are allergic and we refused to move in this room. We paid only one night and moved to th another hotel. The hotel demands the renovation. The photos on booking.com are too beautiful ans are not realistic. It is not 3 stars hotel.

    Very close to the main station, easily accessible from the airport. Close to city-center. But the street is a little dirty with no-german habitants. Breakfast is normal for 2 stars hotel, very poor choice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hair dryer is a bit weak for long and thick hair.

    Nice and friendly staff. Breakfast taste good. Wifi work great. Location near the HBF station. Very comfortable bed. Clean and tidy room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A kettle in the room to make own coffee or tea.

    Breakfast - good choice to choose from Service - Friendly accommodating staff. Spoke in English. Easy walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While very central, the specific street can be somewhat shady (many foreigners partying till very late at night making some noise).

    Relatively spacious rooms (in a city where hotel rooms tend to be minimal). Clean. Very close to the U (subway system), very close to central attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, everything good.

    the location is awesome, near the train station, and go to anywhere is near also, can do by walk, or using train also easy which is just in front of the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suspicious looking people in that part of town. I didn’t feel 100% safe.

    No safe in the room. That should be MANDATORY at EVERY hotel!!! Overall hotel was Clean, excellent location-less than 5 min train ride to maierenplatz, very plush comfortable beds.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel close to the city center by walking distance. Big rooms and clean. Very good continental breakfast with a lot of choices. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was rude and would question me and my friend every time we went to our room. They also keep all keys for the rooms at the desk, so you must check in with the receptionist any time you would like to go to your room.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to report other than request as room not at the front, its noisey on the street ! Did not really bother me but others maybe.

    The location is 100yards or so from the main train network and its easy to get around town. The staff were excellent in giving advise and the map of the city was very useful. Did not stay long enough in the hotel but looked very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was a very quick event due to an early flight. Tip, if travelling with a party or family all day ticket was good value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is most helpful. I must eat gluten-free; the breakfast server brought me perfectly toasted gluten-free bread each morning. I requested it the first morning, and she brought it without being asked the rest of my stay. (3 more days)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is located on a noisy street close to the train station. The shops are open until late night, and many people on the street. So, the rooms facing the street are very noisy.

    Friendly staff, clean room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy from outside street & Lift need to change. It's too old & vibrations

    Location & convenience to Sub Urban central station is nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful breakfast and perfect location. Friendly staff - a lady lent me an umbrella for my day of travel and offered to store my luggage in the hotel after I have already checked out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lack of a small safe in the room and lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The directions to the hotel from the station could be better - e.g. come out of main exit of station cross road turn L. and Schillerstrasser is 1st R. The picture on the booking site should be changed so that the yellow canopy over the door is nice and clear as it is a great focal point when looking for the hotel

    the location and room was fine. But would have liked a safe in the room and tea and coffee making facilities which I think should have been included given the price. Nice breakfast and lovely helpful staff with very good city map.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air con ,while hot days and nights ,require to keep window open.

    Stayed3 nights ,first night ,street front room, very much street noise ,no aircon ,,no sleep was able to change room,much better. Breakfast excellent , friendly desk staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very crowded and noisy place throughout day and night as well. Night bars are near the hotel area.

    Near to hotel. No need of cab. can go by walk with luggage bags as well

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went in Summer when it was too hot at night. There are fans in the room but no air con. You can open the windows but the road is extremely noisy.

    Comfortable and clean with a good breakfast. The staff were super friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No airconditioner. I was lucky to have window view on internal yard. If the window will be faced on the main street it will be nightmare

    Great location in terms of close to Central Station. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel located at wery noisy street near central railway station. So if your windows opens at the street you hardly cood sleep due to cars and people sound.

    Very helpful and frienly staff, clean rooms. Good breakfast. So it is good value for the money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We came at a time when it was hotter than normal in Europe so, although a large rotating fan was in the room, we sorely missed air conditioning at night.

    The location is excellent, though the neighborhood is a bit sketchy. Not unsafe that I know of, but a little seedy. But the hotel itself was nice and the rooms larger than one might find in many downtown hotels in Europe. Around the corner from the Munich Hauptbahnhof as well as within walking distance of major sightseeing areas. The complimentary breakfast had items that Americans typically expect--like eggs and bacon--as well as the normal European fare. The reception staff was multilingual and very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is slighy noisy however the room's since the window are triple glazed it helps alot.

    Nice welcome from the all the staff at various instances of our stay. Nice breakfast which conveniently opens at 6.30am. Very clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC; somewhat seedy area

    The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was fine, but it is a big step over the deep tub edge. There was a hair dryer and a built in body wash/shampoo dispenser. The breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly. However, there is no air conditioning and the room was very hot. We had the windows open and there were people yelling and laughing all night long. The room had a small fan. We asked for a second. That helped make it less sweltering and drown some of the street noise. Then, someone was vacuuming at 6am the first morning. The neighborhood is kind of seedy with several erotic dance clubs, but the hotel is near an entrance to the subway and not too far to walk to old town. There are a lot of middle Eastern restaurants in the area. We ate at a Turkish place that was pretty good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the type of room and cost, it is not value for money. Too noisy and not recommended for families with kids as there is red light district all around.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Friendly hotel, close to Munich Central Station. The rooms are big and comfortable. Useful early breakfast from 6.30 if you need to catch early train. Breakfast is varied and good quality. I will stay here again when in Munich.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ask for a room off the Main Street. We had the window open to get the breeze but it meant getting the noise off the street, which had people on it until 3-4am so it was noisy. The location is a bit colorful shall we say and not quite the picturesque street that some might want, but it was safe.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. There wasn't air conditioning (not unusual in Europe) but they provided a fan in the room, which was good. Breakfast was great. Staff was very friendly. Close to city center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, no air conditioned!

    Good breakfast, quietly rooms, gentle staff, good private parking possibility and good position for public transports.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Maybe, they can diversify the breakfast with non-meat products. There was a rack made of glass within the bathroom disturbing your head when you were sitting down on the toilet. It can be replaced with a different kind of shelf.

    On the first day, the receptionist guy welcomed us kindly with a warm manner. All ladies working at the hotel were kind, too. They were greeting us gently when we passed in front of them. Our bed sheets and towels always were replaced with the clean and new ones. Our shampoo was replaced when it was over. The breakfast was good and you could find other things to eat if you don't want to eat ham or sausage. The hotel's location was pretty close to the Munich Central Station (Hauptbahnhof). Finally, You could walk a few miles from the hotel to amaze at the historical wonders of Alt Stadt of München.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative so far. Outside scenery may not appeal to some female tourists, but it's part of a multi racial society in Germany which always has fascinated me personally.

    Good breakfast, very quiet room (facing inner court yard), very close walk from main railway station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Narrow blanket so your full body can't be covered (I wear size "S") You can hear every sound from the neighbor room. Floor wasn't clean, I saw some litter there which wasn't mine.

    Location - only 2-5 minutes to U-bahn or S-bahn, 10 minutes walking to the city center Breakfast was good The hotel accorded my special request on room, thank you very much.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is mostly same everyday and hence likely to get bored if staying more than 2 days. The rooms facing the road are a bit noisy, Cant open windows for fresh air. Other rooms which are not facing the road are less noisy. The area around the hotel is always busy and can be a bit intimidating. However having stayed for several days I did not face any problem and realized that its quite safe, even for families.

    Very close to the station and other attractions are within walking distance. Eating options nearby. Staff is very efficient and helpful. I was initially given a room facing the road which turned out to be quite noisy even late in the night. I requested for a change was promptly shifted to a different room which was much quiter, I was able to keep the windows open for fresh air.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had a room facing the street; it is a noisy neighborhood, and you could hear the traffic noise and people conversations from down the street.

    I stayed two nights in the hotel. The hotel is good with a little lobby, nice rooms, good internet and a wide selection breakfast.It is located about 5-8 min walk from Hauptbahnhof, reasonably priced, very friendly staff 24/7. The surroundings do have much restaurants and shops to offer. Also, nearby Hop-in-Hop-off bus tickets stand nearby. Compared to many other hotels in München this ranks high.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel is very close to the central station so the people and the venues in the area are not very nice.

    very nice. easy walking distance from the center of the city. good breakfast, clean room, decent bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    coffee at breakfast ..always bad in austria and germany and france ! but had coffee machine..was excellent... all ok...no charge to me....was a nice offer

    all very good....top service...lovely family always helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Did not allow late chek-out. Could be a little bit cheaper as the area around is pretty poor. Sometimes it is a bit too noisy from the street.

    The area itself is not the cosiest, but nothing wrong happened during the stay. It is really close to the central station. Clean, tidy, good wifi, decent breakfast. Good heating system. Room cleaning every day. Comfortable place to stay if you are attending Rock That Swing Festival.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It does not feel good to see groups of men hanging around on the street, and next to the hotel entrance outside internet centre / electric games shop.

    Most things.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many strange people or homeless stay around neighborhood, you will feel uncomfortable very much

    Near the central train station,nice staff offer good service

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A pleasant surprise to come in from a noisy and bazaar-like street (a friend told me it's near the red light district!) – to a clean, well-kept, and peaceful traditional German hotel – very like small-town hotels I've known in Germany for the past half century, but only a few minutes from München Hbf.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. The street around the hotel was a bit seedy at night time., but the hotel is good .

    Nice hotel ,near the main train station and close to everything. The room I had was spacious and very clean ,as was the bathroom. The breakfast choice of food was good. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I really did not like the group of Arab/North African men who were congregating in the doorway each day smoking and generally blocking the entrance door to the hotel.

    This was a nice, clean and friendly hotel with very helpful staff. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are some peepshows next to the hotel. The design of the hotel is very 80s-90s

    Next to the city center and very comfortable to get from and to the subway. The breakfast is nice and the staff is very kind and happy to help

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no kettle or facility in room to make tea, although mini bar with soft drinks although very close to central station area around, not too good late at night as solo traveller but many other hotels in same street so did not feel too intimdated by men hanging around entrances, Fri and Sat night stay

    staff were extemely friendly, helpful in regard to a solo eating option (nearby Bavarian, excellent food, good ambience and good price) excellent choice for breakfast (included in price) very comfortable bed

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No ventilation mechanism in the toilet. No flip-flops available so if you haven't brought yours you would have been required to step on the floor without protection especially after shower.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was woken up 4 times starting before 4am up to 6.30am. Probably custumers who came with prostitutes (there is a night club right in front of the hotel). Then at 8am, Sunday morning, the cleaning lady started to make a horrible noise hitting all the walls in my corridor with the vacuum. Not more sleeping at that point. If you want to SLEEP, look for a better place.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My wife was disappointed by the absence of hot milk at breakfast, which wood be quite to the point for the frosty and windy weather in Munich during our stay in January.

    Convenient location near Hauptbahnhof (Central Railway Station): 45 minutes' ride from the Airport by S-Bahn (commuter train) running every 10 minutes. 10 to15 minutes' walks both to the old town with all the main Munich's landmarks and to the word famous Pinakotheken Museums. Many eateries of different kind around. Junction of all the means of city transport making it easy to get anywhere in Munich. Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, clean rooms. We were lucky to have a room with a balcony facing the courtyard, very convenient for my smoking wife. We also have found Munich and its residents most hospitable. The people were ready to help and give a good advice anywhere, often on their own initiative, if they saw us in a slightest doubt about our ways.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pillows were terrible - even folding them into quarters, your head would still sink right through to the mattress. Also quite difficult to get additional pillows from hotel.

    Excellent breakfast! On a dodgy street, but perfect location for accessing the train station.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV presents only german language channels. If you don't speak german forget the TV. The pillows and the duvet (too hot) are not confortable, at least for us.

    We liked the breakfast, the location, the quietness and the staff kindness.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location close to Karlplatz (quite central) but the street is..., well, I wouldn't normally have gone there especially at night. I was disappointed to find that such a central area is like that. Interestingly a lot of the hotels are in that area.

    Spacious and comfortable room, helpful and friendly staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is perfect, just half a block from the train station. The place is surprisingly quiet, well insulated from the noise outside. The staff is great, they are kind and flexible. The breakfast is also very complete and tasty. WiFi was strong and free. Certainly an excellent 3 star hotel, much better than some 4 stars. Best value for money that I have seen in a long time.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A kettle at room would be good.

    Perfect location close to city centre, hop on/off stops, railway station and oktoberfest location. Breakfast was included and it was great. It is an european continental breakfast having cold and hot breakfast: eggs, bacon, cold meats, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, coffee/tea, all very good. The room was fine, bed was comfy. The zone is not luxury but safe.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Neighborhood is what it always is near the main train station - red light district/very ethnic. Hotel could use some updating - but it's comfortable. I don't think there was any AC (but a big plug-in fan) -- so that would be a consideration in the summer. It's fairly loud facing the street - so opening the windows is not an option for light sleepers.

    It is easy walking distance to the Bahnhof, even with luggage or in heels. Big room & comfy bed. Breakfast was good (hot & cold). Nice staff! Good desk to work on (I was travelling on business) - with enough room for everything/enough outlets, etc. There was a big fan in the room to plug in -- actually great for hotter weather as no AC.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel is in the Centre, in a very good place. But at that centre you have no safety feelings. In the street, and in front of the Hotel there are many groups of foreign people. Many of them sell drugs..:( For white blond-hair girls not advised to walk alone.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Oddly enough, the pillow was *too* soft for me. I had very little neck support and could have used a stiffer pillow underneath it.

    The complimentary breakfast was very nice. Plenty of food, lots of variety. Plus, I got to have a continental breakfast, *on* the continent! ;-) The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, I have no complaints with any of the staff that I interacted with. I got plenty of chances because they ask you to leave your key when you step out. When I checked in, they gave me a helpful map for Oktoberfest. The room is a little stuffy, not unlike many European locations, but they provide a fan to help move some air around, and the window lets in a fair amount of outside air. The location is good and centrally located. Very short walk to the Hauptbahnhof, and plenty of places to eat nearby. This area of town does not sleep, but when the noise got too loud the windows were *excellent* at shutting out the noise. The bathroom/WC/toilet was very clean and worked well. The shower was good and had plenty of hot water and pressure. There were plenty of outlets to work with in the room. Even though the room is small, there's a nice large closet that's big enough to fit a large suitcase and leave it open to live out of. The bed is good, and they give you a duvet that's very comfortable and warm. Overall, it was a *bit* pricey, but for the location and the staff it was worth it. Plus the price might have been higher for the time of year. I consider it a lucky find.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No kettle provided in room. The location of hotel is a bit noisy so I asked for a top floor room at the back, not overlooking the street so it was quiet.

    Room was large and comfortable. Staff very helpful and friendly and spoke fluent English. Two minutes walk from the central station / tube.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out 11AM😕 too early Neighbourhood in evening not good and noisy.. No AC. despite all that i would stay there again😆

    Recipients very friendly and helpful, breakfast very good, hotel just few minutes from central station of Munich. Many restaurants and clubs around, city centre and city tour bus all in walking distance. Room space fine, WIFI was working properly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely spacious with large single bed and own balcony. Extremely quiet. Staff were friendly and courteous. Will definitely stay again. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is right by the Central railway station. Easy to get to, but the street is very busy. Even so, we had a room overlooking an inner court, which was very quiet. The breakfast was very good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities are getting old.

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I have accidentally booked the single room instead of a double, but the room was upgraded. The breakfast were really good too.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Ambiente Garni traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: