Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Am Hopfenmarkt

Buchbinderstr. 10, 18055 Rostock, Germany

#21 of 31 hotels in Rostock

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2365 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was a little hard to find because it’s in a another building.

    The location is amazing. And there’s plenty of parking spots. The rooms are clean and some have access to a balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Haus Aalreuse
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was extremely hot when we arrived. The small fan provided worked overtime but eventually cooled down during the night.

    Reception staff very helpful. Was a market close by and lots of food choices so very pleasant on a sunny afternoon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was clear that the room wasn’t cleaned recently. The laminate floor was dirty as well as the floor in the bathroom. Carpets by the bed were worn and old. I paid 132$CAD for one night stay, and booked the room 2 months in advance- it should have been clean.

    Room was quite big and spacious. Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Haus Aalreuse
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room highest floor & no elevator . Should provide opportunity to ask if need lower level .

    Bedroom super clean . Reception staff very courteous and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Confusing that there are no sign mentioning the hotel name "Garni" at the reception, just the other hotel "Alreuse" which shares reception desk. Just one power outlet in the whole room not near the bed table. Shared bed lamp, bad overall lighting in the room. No warm water in the shower.

    Good central location, yet easy to reach by car, and plenty of public parking spaces nearby. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Haus Aalreuse
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The room is too small. There is not enough place to store all your clothes and other belongings. The WiFi sometimes doesn't work. Finding the hotel on the first day is pretty complicated.

    The hotel located at the city center. The room is cleaned daily.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Haus Aalreuse
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was a bit put off when I asked for 15 minute extension on my checkout - from 10:00 to 10:15 so that I could run the two blocks to the Tourist Office (which hadn't been open when I arrived the day before) to ask a question about getting to Rostock port. The woman at the hotel was rather hostile about it. I ran down the street and managed to check out by 10:10.

    I was upgraded from a single to a triple room which what huge for my purposes. It was spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast was OK but not more than that.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception and hotel not in the same facility. But I probably react to this due to the sky opening itself up... Soaking clothes that we weren't able to dry easily.

    Good beds,Decent bathroom, close to restaurants and a nice city to walk around in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Haus Aalreuse
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Goods vehicles parked outside during one night with engines running. The bed could have been more comfortable

    Good restaurant serving the included breakfast buffet and the food available in the evening. The property was easy to walk to from the local station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A challenge to get to the room because I arrived late 21.30 hrs, keep safe code handy because needed the map to find my room. Breakfast in 'Lion' restaurant is shared with another hotel and I sat in the wrong area which caused a fuss

    Room was to a high standard and bed comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Haus Aalreuse
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size, but again, if you are solo (or small couple) and staying for a short time, you won't have much problem I think...

    I am very satisfied with this place especially for the money I paid. The room was quite small, but big enough to relax at night and just to sleep. If you are traveling solo (and looking for a place just to sleep), I highly recommend it! The location was amazing too;)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel allows staying with the dog only in the limited part of the hotel, where the price was 20 euro bigger. When I book the room about two weeks in advance I add the comment about the dog, but I got the response from the hotel about increasing the price only a day before arrival.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Haus Aalreuse
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wardrobe is really small and there is no lift

    It is really clean: the glass of the shower looked like a mirror! and the hairdryer is a real one, working really well! Position is perfect as it is really central and wifi works very well everywhere

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi needs to login every time which is quite annoying, could be solved better. The walls are rather tine and everything from the neighbouring bathroom is heard (which is bothering mainly in night).

    Breakfast is good but not very variable (for longer stay could be better). Anyway the location of hotel is fantastic, room was clean, rather big and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Haus Aalreuse
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, but not a problem for my short stay.

    My room was in the annex located in the middle of the city center, but not too noisy area. The reception was in other building, but it was easy to access. The annex looks like normal german apartment building.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very small . Not an issue as I only used room to sleep in but if stay was longer it would be.

    Very central location. Breakfast very good. Eggs fried in restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Haus Aalreuse
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I used to live in Rostock and knew the area, for someone being there the first time it might help to be clearer about the location of reception and actual hotel

    Great downtown location, great value

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Haus Aalreuse
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid much more than I ordered the room for. They said nothing about this when I arrived. Room was very small. Much noise right outside of the room, I needed my early sleep. Before 10 pm, when the outside Restaurant closed. One of the staff was not very polite with me when I left the hotel. I had the impression that it was something they did not tell me, when I left. They encouraged me to pay 10 euro for breakfast. I did not want that since they did not tell me about me overpaying for the room. The room key, which is heavy, I had to bring with me, if I was to arrive to the hotel after Nine pm, because the reception closes.

    Pleasant staff when I arrived. In the beginning. Pleasant staff at the Restaurant. Rostock is a fine city. Nice location for the hotel. Central location. Good cleaning. I arrive alone.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and the bathroom were small, so the price was a bit too much.

    I loved the position. The breakfast is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small bathroom

    Parking in front of hotel on public parking place (free only over night).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That the hotel gets a secure wi-fi with a password, so you can surfe the internet more safe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room. Great breakfast. Glose to shopping and City center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold water after 5 min.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good choice for breakfast Easy to reach the Christmas market

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The Hotel is near the center walking street

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Haus Aalreuse
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitoes in the room

    Very nice breakfast facility. The parking was OK.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel split between few places

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast included, difficult to find, only public parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Functional room, most enjoyable breakfast and very central.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Haus Aalreuse
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My last two visits was better than this one , this time to much mosqitos , i had many bites. Also they didnt change my bed linen for 5 days !!!!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    --

    comfortable . :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Haus Aalreuse
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was extremely small and I had a parking lot outside my window and no security barrier.

    Great location and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Haus Aalreuse
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel spread around number of buildings. Room very small

    Very good breakfast. Location in city centre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleaning of the bathroom

    The room was very small

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central place in the old town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Haus Aalreuse
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, very helpful staff, Superb breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Haus Aalreuse
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean and nice!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is near to the City center. Very nice place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge in room would have been nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Haus Aalreuse
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is not the best, cold scrambled eggs and wurst no bacon!

    Close to city center!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Haus Aalreuse
    • Stayed 1 night

    The door cant be locked by just closing it. Locks should be exchanged.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Haus Aalreuse
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception program

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking - Reception - Breakfast, all spread out on different locations.

    Centrally located

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You pay more for a doubleroom than you did for a room with 3 beds .!?

    Here you ger it all at breakfast !

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No centro da cidades, muito sossegado, bom pequeno almoço / In the city centre, very quiet room, good breakfast, 2 restaurants

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Haus Aalreuse
    • Stayed 1 night

    great location, very clean room, comfy bed, enjoyed my stay there

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the overall aspect of the hotel (including furniture) a bit too cheap

    Central position, covered parking place nearby, very good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant facilities a bit disjointed, but breakfast was fine.

    Good location, helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the choice for breakfast is good, but not excellent!!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room

    Being central

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Haus Aalreuse
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little too simple. No immediate value for money.

    The location is good. Very central.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant staff were not so friendly. There are balconies on every level but cater, unfortunately, to smokers. Consequently the corridors sometimes smell smoky. Pillows were too big and fluffy. Decor outdated and worn but for the price it didn't bother me.

    Clean, perfectly located hotel for a city visit. Rooms were small and without fridge but that is to be expected in Germany. There is a kettle in the room which is not typical. Breakfast was good with a selection of cold cuts, bread, scrambled eggs, sausages, fruit, crepes. Juice, tea and coffee is included in the price.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Hot water boiler with limited capacity...forced to use shower simultaneously.

    Excellent city-center authentic gathering of different buildings, that houses one hospitality organisation.

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room is designed like a hostel rather than a hotel room. In addition, although there is an elevator, I still needed to climb about 5 stairs with my very heavy suitcase.

    The location is great.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Early closing reception, the room was 2 blocks away. You have to access via the resturaunt, so that was strange.

    Great rate, spoke good English. We are probably the only Americans who visited.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    uncertainty of method of check out very early in the morning. Front desk and hotel room at different locations.

    great location, clean, reasonable cost.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room is very ver small, no chance to have a proper small table with a seat! max. 8 m² incl. bath. For one night itmay pass, for 2 nights with some homework, not really nice!!

    Good city location, but walk outside to go to breakfast room!

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed itself was clean but not reallY comfortable ! Or mybe because it was not my type ! About breakfest foe sure u can eat more than 10 euro when u r very hungry but if u are looking for sth small but fancy by 10 euro u can get much better quality coffee and cake near the hotel there are several cafes !! But again with 10 euro u get a very reasonable breakfest :)

    The location was really central and staff are very nice ! The place was clean and in general it was good for its price:)

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi was a little slow but it did work.

    It is centrally located, very clean, and best of all for us it provides a tea-making facilities. We left too early on our last morning for breakfast but the hotel arranged a picnic lunch for us to take with us instead. Not luxurious but very good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Worst value for money we have ever met. Room rate at door was advertised at €49. Due to season we were charged €175. The room was very small on the top floor and incredibly hot. It must have been over 40deg when we entered despite curtains being closed. Had to open all windows and leave the room until evening before it was cool enough to use. Felt ripped off by this stay and left a bad impression of Germany for us on our last night there.

    It was central.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel was very conveniently located to the downtown pedestrian mall. Parking was close by in a large parking lot. Good breakfast buffet in an adjoining restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    One toilet did not work; we could only use the rooms after 3 pm; not really facilities to store luggage in the meantime; no elevator so need to carry heavy luggage over several storeys; some staff more friendly than others

    great location in the middle of Rostock; very good breakfast; many restaurants near by

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Family with older children

    Unfortunately we were on the ground floor and there were tables for the restaurant right outside our door. This meant that even though it was quite hot we had to close the windows at night to keep out the noise and cigarette smoke. I think it would be good if perhaps there were a sign warning customers at the restaurant that they are sitting right outside hotel rooms or otherwise perhaps some of the tables and chairs could be moved away/closed off at night. The room was very small.

    The location was fantastic. The Hopfenmarkt is a really lovely square and walking distance from most of the main sites. Although we didn't have much to do with the hotel staff, the staff in the restaurants connected with the hotel were also very friendly and obliging.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No rational , logical system for guests arriving after 9.00 pm. It was only by pure chance we found someone to help us, otherwise we would have been sleeping in the car. Shower room was the smallest I have ever seen with the toilet basin squashed in between the hand basin and shower cubicle extending out of the wall at a 45 degree angle as this was the only possible way it would fit in. Very basic room, no headboards on beds, no tea making facility, no bedside lamps near the pillow end of the bed, no English speaking channels on TV, garbage lorry right outside window early every morning......

    Very clean and good location in centre of Rostock

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was tiny, 16 m2 including the bath room. Check-in is not before 3p.m. and check-out is 10 a.m. Later check-out of 1 hour was only with additional payment.

    Central location of the hotel and the ecxellent breakfast are to be mentioned. The room was clean, no air condition.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only thing that reception was in other building about 5 min by walk and there was no phone connecting with staff.

    Location was very good, room was clean.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Limited hot water, limited TV channels (fewest among the world seriously), staff not really helpful nor friendly. I booked the hotel early yet had to pay the most, other guests stayed with cheaper price, really annoying.

    Good location, modern clean room

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    12€ pr. day parking ! Hopeless TV Plumber arrived at 10 in the morning to repair toilet (initially we thought it was an April fools joke when we got a note the day before)

    Location, location, location Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was very small and the pillow was very uncomfortable. I was expecting a slightly better standard for the cost.

    The hotel was centrally located and very clean. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    -staff (only one person could speak English) - I could smell cigarettes in the bathroom - really tiny room - I had room in the ground floor from the street side (I didn't feel safe)

    -localization

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    everything was fine.

    The appartment is located in the center of rostock, so you can reach all (train)stations by feet and have the shopping area right next to your place. The room was cosy, clean and small, but for one or two nights, you miss nothing to feel comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was tiny, like really tiny. Still, not a huge issue. Some of the staff could have been nice and some were really great.

    Location, location, location

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wlan

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great position, decent room

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    location is great - only 5 min. by tram from Zentral RWS, just in the central part of city, on trade street. very comfortalble rooms for good price.

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Am Hopfenmarkt traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: