Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Am Markt This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Heiliggeiststr. 6, Altstadt-Lehel, 80331 Munich, Germany

#189 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1310 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm and stuffy at night - I found it hard to sleep. There seems to be no air con, so a fan would have been helpful.

    Brilliant location. Great building. Nice rooms. Lovely bathrooms. Friendly staff. All in all one of the best hotels I’ve used.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because it is such an old building some of the amenities are missing. It adds to the charm of the place. It was noisy outside one night, some men were yelling outside for a long time, but obviously not the fault of the hotel.

    The location was great. It is a very old small hotel and we prefer that.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We chose not to have breakfast because of the cost.

    Excellent location - close to the Metro and old town. Right next to a market where my daughter got quiche every morning. Looked like excellent places to eat all around the area. Room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of noise up to midnight due to location right next to markets, restaurants. Breakfast quite basic and expensive for what was available to eat. Bad coffee.

    Great location, ok value for money,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located on a narrow street and therefore any sound outside echoes very loudly. Since there is no air conditioning, we had to sleep with the windows open and were disturbed throughout the night and early morning as people passed by outside.

    The location within Munich is perfect. Very close to Marienplatz and other attractions. Plus, easy access to the train.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they don't offer continental breakfast. If you want something cooked they only have boiled eggs. It could be better, but what they have is good quality.

    the hotel is probably the best location you can have if you want to visit Monaco and having almost everything to walking distance. It is located inside a small pedestrian area in a tiny and charming square. During summer you have a beergarten just around the corner with food and of course beer. I went for business but I found this hotel very comfortable and convenient. Price wise it's good value for money ratio.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has no street access, so we did have to maneuver our luggage on the cobblestone walkway. Also the lift was tiny you can barely fit your bags and yourself into it, which was pretty comical.

    The location was amazing! A two minute walk right into the Marienplatz and 15 minutes to Munich Central Station. So close to everything! The room itself was a little small but we didn’t spend much time in there anyways. The hotel and our room were maintained extremely clean the whole time which was really nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was rather small and that could perhaps have been flagged

    the location was great - right in the old town centre but also quiet, lots of bars and restaurants nearby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is in a very noisy area but has great sound proof windows.unfotunately it doesn’t have air conditioning so if it is in the warmer months you have to choose between noise or no air flow. It is likely fine in cooler months .

    Very well located.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Mattress frame was missing slats, causing the mattress to sag in the middle. They replaced the slats, but the mattress was old and crushed in the middle. Cleaning should be ideally finished before 1pm, so we can take an after lunch nap...1/2 the time they did.

    Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room i stayed in was unusual in terms of layout and size, but was actually good

    great location rooms not cutting edge but are clean and the staff were great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bartender, taller guy with beard is a real jerk that can’t make proper drinks, but thinks he’s great and also witty. Price for our room was way out of line for what we received. A fair price would be more about 150 Euros.

    Francesca at checkin

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is wonderful and the room was spotlessly clean, including the bed linen. The beds were comfortable. The staff was helpful. It was great accommodations for the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pricey breakfast, if you just want coffee & pastries go into the market 50 metres away.

    Great location with a huge choice of bars & restaurants. Reasonably quiet considering the location. Clean & comfortable however rooms are very compact.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff weren't particularly friendly or helpful.

    The room was a good size, but only as I booked a comfort room. Having seen other rooms when the doors were open, it seemed like the 'comfort room' was quite a bit bigger than a standard room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be included in the room-rate.

    Location of the hotel is superb - couldn’t be more central. Staff friendly. Bathroom spacious, modern, well-laid out, shower excellent. Room itself very comfortable and clean. Complimentary bottled water appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, there was no clothes closet in a usual sense (though enough of open shelves & cupboard) & I felf a bit uneasy about keeping clothes on open hangers, but this is minor thing

    Very nice place offering comfortable & stylish accommodation in the center of the city

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would appear that there is non security or very little thereoff. After midnight the door was opened of our room with someone with a card key and after i shouted did that person leave without anything else but a "sorry". I tried to investigate the matter but only received a shrug of the shoulders and a reply that someone must have forgotten to hand in the card key.

    The restaurant belongs to a third party and the food was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was hard (slept well though), and there was a strong smell of some kind of cleaning product, so if you have allergies I don't recommend this hotel.

    The hotel is located in a very charming part of the city, and we found a restaurant nearby that served decent burgers after 10 pm. The room was ok. Nice and quiet breakfast room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    "Didn't like" is far too strong a term, but be advised the lift is extremely small (it was actually rather a pleasant surprise there was one at all).

    Three words: location, location, location! Amazing property located mere steps away from Marienplatz, Viktualienmarkt, and Tal. Rooms were small, though they felt larger in person than they appeared in web photos; they were clean and well-appointed. Be sure and stop by Zwickl right outside the front door for lunch!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Size of the room

    Room extremely small, only for one night or very short stay. The location though is really great, just back of the Viktualienmarkt and Marienplatz station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear everything that happens in the halls and rooms next to you...everything. The shower floor was incredibly slippery. So slippery that we put a hand towel on the floor of the shower for safety reasons.

    Location could not be better! The restaurant next door was great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    my room 107 was not really isolated acoustically. It was as if i was in the room next door with people....

    breakfast was very good. Very well situated, very central.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room to small, No safe for valuable items! Door does not close properly and if people walk in the hotel aisle, very loud and noisy.

    Location is perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slight noise of restaraunt below, but being so central you cat really avoid some minimal noise. I was on 1st floor so probably the closest to the restaraunt.

    Breakfast Staff Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper-thin walls meant I was woken up each night with people coming home and talking loudly in the hall and in their room at 2 and 4 am. One of the worst nights sleep I've ever had in a hotel.

    The location is excellent and the Cuban/Bavarian decor is pretty funny.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold ehen we arrived. There was a very small radiator and took at least 5 hours to be ok in the room.

    The location of the hotel is very good, in the city center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast seemed very expensive, especially with market stalls just outside as an ootion.

    Location was excellent. Room was spacious clean and designed with style.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A safe and kettle in the room would be nice.

    This is my third time at this hotel, due to it's excellent location. Room size is adequate and rooms are very clean. And the price is acceptable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, it's very comfortable although not luxurious. The location is the biggest plus here.

    Perfect location, right next to the market and Marienplatz.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff seemed to be a different person everyday we went in and out and on leaving we were asked to pay when we had already paid online but of a fluster when we were leaving to go to the airport and had to find proof of my payment.

    Bed was really comfy, good WiFi, rooms were spotless. Clean towels each day. Bathroom was a decent size

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no tea/coffee facilities or kettle to make hot drinks.

    The single room is very clean with modern toilet/bathroom. Near to the local market, main square, restaurants and places of interest. Friendly staff and was able to borrow umbrella from the hotel as it was raining.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The location of this hotel was brilliant . We booked it for this reason and were very pleased that we had. The breakfast was lovely and they prepared our room early as we had arrived early. It was warm and the shower was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are against the wall and quite old and uncomfortable. Springs poke into you and the pillows are way too large and lumpy. No tea and coffee facilities.

    Great location near all the historic sites. Breakfast was quite tasty considering it is purely continental.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was barely big enough to fit two people. It was almost funny to put our bags in the elevator and then race up the 3 flights of stairs to meet the bags at the top.

    Exceptional location, friendly staff and a delightful room. Everything at your fingertips.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator very small could only hold one person with one suitcase but it's an old hotel. We were on the 1st floor so easily used the stairs once we got our luggage in rooms. We managed but others may find this to be very difficult. Rooms and bathroom very small. Could hear noise from other hotel guests and from outside.

    The location of this boutique hotel is excellent. Difficult to reach by car, which we knew and no parking, We dropped our luggage off and returned rental to airport and took the train back into the city. Tons of shops, Christmas markets right there. We had difficulty finding a restaurant for dinner that had space so make a reservation. Tons of places to eat during the day, bakeries, sausage at the markets etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom clean and lovely, location absolutely perfect! and staff were very friendly, no issue with leaving our luggage or printing tickets for a brewery tour we were taking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The man on reception in the morning was very rude! The other staff were great though.

    The location is amazing. The room was small but clean and comfortable. Great shower.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a person traveling alone this was the perfect hotel. A very short walk to the main city square. A market right outside the hotel. A very short walk to 10's of restaurants and bars. The hotel room was a good size for 1 traveler and had a very clean restroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a major issue, but room overlooked by buildings opposite.

    Excellent central location next to the Viktualienmarkt and a short walk to other amenities. Comfy bed and clean, decent-sized bathroom. Good breakfast, including the coffee which is often poor in hotels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Though we booked a larger room with double beds & on our arrival we were given VERY SMALL rooms (402 & 403) which were not more than 8 sq. mtrs with twin beds, one plasic chair, wardrobe with no doors,one small table. Our bags have to be opened on the floor (no place for our bags). The elevator was about 1 sq. mtr (enough for one person & a bag!) Toilette was clean so too the breakfast room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The single rooms are really tiny but if you there to sleep only, it is ok. Zero TV options for English speaking guests, even BBC News is not available :-(. All TV channels are in German. It is not nice at all.

    Just perfect location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet access seemed insecure. The older gentleman at the front desk was not friendly, but he was not rude and he did his job.

    Location is great. Smallish room, but efficient use of space. Large bathroom for the size of the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were eaten alive by bed bugs! We stayed for 3 nights and nearly left after the 2nd night. My back and legs and arms are covered with bites, as are my partners. I have never experienced bed bugs before and I hope I never do again.

    The location is excellent. The hotel itself is nice enough.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safe in the room. No wi-fi in the room. (Maybe we were too far down the hall.) No face/hand wash clothes, even after asking housekeeping. Saw housekeeping manager fingering guest's hanging garments in another room (when I asked about the wash clothes).

    Plenty of hot water and good pressure. Good bed. Great location. Clean. Daytime front desk staff was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no sitting chair in the bedroom - only the desk chair ... but that may have been only our configuration. And the older gentleman working the weekend shift wasn't very pleasant and struggled with the check out process - although all the other staff was great!

    Loved this boutique hotel. Although the exterior is classic Bavarian, the rooms have been recently remodeled and are well done - high quality products. There are no two rooms the same - and our room had twin beds, since I was traveling with my 28-year old son. The configuration was unique. The door opens to a quite small bedroom with 2 beds and a desk between them. But the windows are large and open when we arrived - for fresh air. We turned, and there is a large hallway which connects to a bathroom - that is almost the size of the bedroom, and the nicest bath I've experienced in Europe! (Note: we arrived in an uncommonly cool September - important because this hotel has no air conditioning or ceiling fans. In very warm months, it could get warm and noisy with the windows open all the time. Further, although there is a lift available, it can only accommodate two people - or one person and one large suitcase! It's the smallest elevator I've ever seen, but it's all glass so you don't get that claustrophobic feeling!) The location was outstanding! Just off an alley - right off Marienplatz! But a little difficult to find in this densely populated area. Breakfast was a little pricy (12 Euros) - for no warm food. But what was available was sufficient and tasty. There is a restaurant adjacent - but there are SO many restaurants just feet away, you only need to breakfast at the hotel if it is inconvenient to leave. Did I mention how incredibly comfortable the bed was?! Heaven! And everything was immaculately clean. If you want to spend some time around Marienplatz, this is the place to stay!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small, hard double bed, which was not comfortable for two people. Very small room with noise and sausage smoke coming in from the restaurant downstairs. Dingy carpet. Padding tacked to door, strange.

    Bathroom was modern and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hot in Munich (90 deg). No AC, and was still pretty warm with the windows open.

    Near to beer garden, good bakeries and restaurants. One review recommended NOT getting breakfast as there was food near by and I agree.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioner or fan - the room was so hot that it was impossible to sleep. We asked where we could buy our own fan and the staff said there was nowhere to buy one. We went to a department store and bought our own - which has hopefully been left in the room for other guests to use!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This property is located on a market place. There are a couple of restaurants virtually on the door step. The area only quietens down after 23h00 and cleaning begins at 05h00 am.

    Excellent location. Within walking distance to many points of interest and shopping area. Liked the market flair around it, with its traditional cafes, restaurants and beer gardens.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little noisy in some of the rooms with the windows open, but this is expected being in a central location in downtown Munich in the middle of summer.

    I stayed at this hotel two years ago. Since then it was tastefully remodeled. The beds were more comfortable, the main lobby nicely decorated, and the staff members were friendlier than I remember. It is a great place to stay in downtown Munich without having to pay absurd prices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With the trend of hotter summers seeming to continue, an investment in some room fans might increase comfort for the guests.

    Amazing vintage building with a great modern room in the heart of the Viktualienmarkt. Elevator for luggage and tired feet, but literally steps from your door is the heart of Munich. It was incredible to be in the beer garden at Viktaulienmarkt and be able to go up to the room for a pee! Simple pleasures I guess. It was noisy with church bells and drunken singing, but it was hot and we had all the windows open. I personally loved the noise and it added to my feeling of being in the middle of the fun. If you are looking for a quiet out of the way place, this may not be your best choice, but with the windows closed it was pretty quiet overall. Would stay here again in an instant!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had a single room which was quite small for me and I'm not a big person. Very sparse furnishings: platform bed which looked like a queen size; no closet but hooks on the wall to hang things; small built in desk with chair; luggage rack and a small lamp attached to the bed's headboard. Bathroom had a shower stall, sink and toilet-- quite cramped also. Elevator can fit only one person with a check-in luggage. Close to the outdoor market so you'll hear street noise early in the morning (e.g. what sounded like dumpsters being hauled; voices of people). Very close to the next building which looked like another hotel or apartment. Had my window curtains closed all the time when I was in the room.

    Loved its central location. Came to Munich from Prague via bus and walked from the Munich bus station to the hotel in the rain with my luggage. Not a bad walk despite the rain. Walking distance to almost all places around Marienplatz. Close to metro station with train going to Munich airport (around 45 minutes ride). Didn't opt for hotel's breakfast since there are a number of interesting places to get it. Wifi is free and has good signals. Ladies at reception were very helpful. Allowed me to leave my luggage with them after check-out. Loved the sound of church bells ringing early in the morning! And there were a number of churches that rang their bells. Some people may find this annoying.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot summer day and night means opening the window, so beer drinkers at night and deliveries in the morning was irritating. No fans available to get the air moving.

    Location was fantastic. Room was delightful and smartly appointed, though small as expected. Small elevator to get heavy bags upstairs worked well. Also could swing by to use the WC while touring during the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is the pits. Not friendly, inviting or helpful. You definitely get the feeling they wish you would go away so they could get back to texting or gaming or whatever they were doing.

    Excellent Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I expected no air conditioning but the hotel does not have fans in the room or even available on loan. I ended up having to buy a fan at the KaufHof which was not cheap, but ended up being a very good purchase as the days and nights are 90+ degrees in July. Keep in mind that the wonderful, walkable location also means a fair amount of night time noise from the beer gardens below. Bring earplugs!

    Location is excellent! If you are traveling from the S-Bahn, be sure to note the hotel's exact location so that you don't wander aimlessly looking for it as I did. The street address is a walkable alley so taxis cannot take you there directly. The hotel is clean, and the bathrooms are new. The shower handle broke off with the water on, but the hotel was able to handle this plumbing emergency within a half hour, although it was late at night. The glass elevator was also a big bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning to speak of. You can open the windows, but be prepared for late night revelers on the street.

    My second stay in 2 years. Great location convenient to train, shopping and food. It is located in Munich's famous Marienplatz. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC which usually isn't a problem. When hot and windows were open it was noisy at night. Most of the year it would be a perfect spot!

    Great location! Right near it all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So close to the Marienplatz U and S bahn station and the market. You will hear clock bell in the morning to wake you up and every 15 min so you know what time it is. The room we stayed was on a quiet street although on Friday night it is nomal to hear people partying to 11 pm maybe. But that was not bothering us. Rischart bakery is just ariund the corner for BF or you may fancy to have BF in front of the new Town hall. Perfect location. But yes rather pricey. But you get what you paid for. Would stay there again when we go to Munich.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy part of town. Dark hall between bedroom and bathroom. Tiny elevator. They don't change money at the hotel.

    Good beds. Great bathroom. Walking distance to main sights and public transportation. Nice being right on the market square.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double room we booked was small but functional. It's a small hotel and there are no amenities other than clean rooms and the great location. The breakfast cost $ 12 per person and that's a fair price for Munich but given that the hotel is very basic and simple, the breakfast should be included in the price.

    The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Munich at the Viktualienmarkt, near the Marienplatz. It was very clean and the breakfast buffet had good choices. If you just want a place to sleep and don't mind smaller rooms, lots of church bells in the morning, then it's a good choice among the more expensive hotels near by.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV had only secondary German programmes, not even the main channels; No fridge, a/c or even a fan - it can get quite warm in summer in Munich.

    Location close to center, market; good-sized room on high floor (elevator is an experienece in itself, amazing how it was fitted into the tiny space....) While under separate management, the Laurin restaurant next door is an added bonus

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were very small with no facilities (iron etc.) Right in the centre of Munich's old town and very noise - not so much from the people drinking but early morning deliveries, locals shouting. Room was exceptionally hot and the hotel had no air conditioning or fans they could provide (I was laughed at when I asked if they had a fan we could borrow), because of this it made it even more noisy as we had to keep the windows open. The church bells sound every 15 minutes so don't expect to have a lazy morning or sleep in. Hotel did not offer breakfast with the package and wanted us to make a decision on arrival if we wanted it for our stay, we could not decide at a later time.

    Great shower, Great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast below par. Wi-fi did not function properly. Frustrating noise in the room onlooking the backyard (the sound emanates from the adjacent restaurant).

    Location second to none. One of the ladies at the reception very helpful who I am much obliged to for room swapping.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillow.

    Great location. Right in the center of the old city. Close to public transportation. Helpful staff. We were given a larger room on the top floor. That made a lot of difference.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was absolutely beautiful. The location was fantastic. The staff was extremely helpful. The hotel architecture was amazing and full of history. I can't give enough accolades to the hotel ... I would definitely stay here!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked to have had a kettle in the room to make coffee or tea.

    I booked a single room and it was perfect. The bed was comfortable and I had decent hot water in the shower. There was a window (that opened) onto the square in the front of the hotel. The staff, especially Ms Pastor at the front desk, was very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of this small hotel is perfect for visiting the main sights in Munich, Marienplatz, Viktualenmarkt, churches, museums, etc, and is very close to the train station. Morning church bells! Had a good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to central location, it is extremely noisy especially with the bells nearby and early morning traffic.

    Rooms very comfortable and clean. Very central location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air-conditioning provided and request for a portable fan denied. In hot weather, the only option available was to have the single window and curtains wide open all day and night - which was not suitable as in close sight of neighbouring building windows, and the noise from neighbouring restaurants, bars and markets was loud until very late at night. Also, no provision in rooms for clients to have coffee/tea making facilities. Should consider raising the height of the bed base to allow storage of suitcases when not in use - as the room was a bit bijou.

    Very comfortable bed. A spacious and well equipped bathroom. Breakfast on all 3 days was extremely good with great variety - however was disappointed in the fact that the late start to Sunday's breakfast was not advertised (delayed our sightseeing plans). Booking in and out was seamless. Happy to see a lift. Reception staff very helpful with printing of flight tickets. Great location of Hotel in middle of CBD.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had nothing negative about it. I would not change it a bit.

    The location was incredible, located between Marienplatz and the market, adjacent to a little court bordered by some of the top rated German food restaurants in town. Bells ringing regularly from St Peters except at night. Exactly where we would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To get to the hotel with a car is almost impossible. Parkhaus is not close either The smell of the fried fish in the morning from the market. Bathroom was only seperate from bedroom by a sliding glass door

    Short walk to major attractions. Marienplatz, Hofbräuhaus,Schneiderweisse, Frauenkirche and a City Tourbus stop. Museum. And lots more.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked our rooms many months in advance, requesting a room with a nice view or a balcony if possible. We have stayed in this hotel before so knowing how lovely the rooms are we didn't even consider booking in at another hotel. This time around we were very disappointed as we were given a very small room, at the back of the hotel, which looked directly into a neighboring buildings roof and windows. We could not open our curtains once in all the time we stayed there as they looked straight onto our room. Being small and with curtains constantly closed it felt like we were in a dark cramped closet. There was also no facility to place our 2 suitcases and had to step over opened suitcases which we had to place next to and in front of our bed. The bed didn't have a headboard either so you leaned up against a wood cladded wall. We immediately asked the receptionist if we could change our room and she responded that she could not make changes at the time but that her assistant in the morning would definitely be able to do so. Well, the mornings receptionist was very unfriendly and bluntly stated that there were no rooms available, she did not even look at the computer. And that while 3 couples were busy checking out ! The quality and style bedrooms that are photographically advertised on the booking.com site are not what we were allocated. You pay for what you see and they did not deliver. I will not stay here ever again and would not recommend this hotel to anybody anymore. I truly am very disappointed.

    The hotel is wonderfully situated and all attractions are within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pretty small with very little walking space. Good sized bathroom but no balconies

    This was the best location in the middle of everything and walking distance from everything you want to get to. The staff was very friendly!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    doors need more soundproofing as you could clearly hear every time someone walked along the corridor and everything they said

    perfect central location for the City Centre sights and only 2 minute walk from Marianplatz train and underground station

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Am Markt traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: