Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Amselgrundschlösschen This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Amselgrund 3, 01824 Kurort Rathen, Germany

#5 of 6 hotels in Kurort Rathen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 460 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful staff at check in and in the restaurant (we arrived on a Sunday). The woman at reception during the week was great- seemed to be the person running the place. Maybe it’s difficult to get staff in a small village like this one? Bed was not comfortable - the mattress was very thin. Lights in room were very dim - they need higher wattage lighting. Bad smell from drain of hand basin in bathroom. Some mold in shower; needs more attention to detail in cleaning.

    Breakfast was great; everything one could want. Quiet location, large room. The place has an elaborate sauna and massage area but we didn’t use it because we were there to hike, not sit indoors during the day (it was only open during the afternoon).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was located above reception and a bit noisier than I would have wished for. There was also an issue paying in that their system would neither accept my Mastercard credit card nor my Visa debit card so I had to use a cash machine in an adjoining shop. They accepted there was a problem so hopefully it will be fixed shortly. Finally and more a warning than a complaint, few of the staff spoke other than a rudimentary English with Czech being the second language in the area.

    It was a traditional hotel well located to visit the National Park in which it is situated and with reasonable access to the surrounding area. The breakfasts were excellent and the food available in the restaurant was good value but perhaps best described as hearty German food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closes at 20:00 on regular days, and 21:00 on Fr-Sa.

    Great location just next to the entrance of the walking path to Bastei. Very friendly and caring personnel. Cosy and nice atmosphere, clean and well cared building. Just add croissants at a breakfast and a bit more English language skills, and that’d be 4 star hotel imho.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Massage rooms were not finished yet. Construction noise was a bit annoying in the morning. My bed was squeaky and the mattress wasn't too comfortable.

    New sauna area is nice! For a three-star hotel, it was quite good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked our room on the same day of our stay (after deciding to stay the night after our visit to the Bastei Bridge). The staff did not even know we had booked a room when we arrived. Thankfully, they were able to accommodate the reservation. They were not able to provide the wifi password to us because of the language barrier.

    The hotel was nice and comfortable. Parking was very easy and convenient. The breakfast was also very nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a hotel in a region witnessing growing popularity among international tourists it's surprising that the staff speaks german only or very basic english at best. Restaurant closes at 10PM but past 9PM menu is limited and it's not that easy to find anybody there.

    Cosy hotel in the middle of Rathen. Very spacious room, nice and clean albeit basic, with a decent bathroom. Traditional style fits the place. Gorgeous, pictoresque surroundings. Steps away from the Bastei route. Good breakfast, wide array of local goat cheeses.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better signage for parking for hotel would have made it easier, as we drove around looking for it for a bit.

    Lovely room in wonderful location, as we were easily able to walk from our room into the park. Beds were comfortable and room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was delicious and easily one of the best of our trip. Nice restaurant for dinner attached to hotel. Parking behind hotel easily accessible.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Place was awesome.

    Everything! The staff was the friendliest staff I've ever had the pleasure to work with. They recommended hiking trails for us, were incredibly friendly and helpful and made us feel very much at home. The breakfast was incredible with lots of variety. The beer was delicious, the patio was nice, the room was clean, the towels were soft, the beds comfy, and I cannot say enough good things about the staff. I want to come back again to hike, and I will definitely be staying here. The location is PERFECT. It's right by the old ruins, and it's incredibly easy to get to so many trails from the hotel. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slow net. The internet could have worked a bit faster in the evening. And the people in the reception could have been a bit more informed about trials and hiking routes in the area.

    The location was perfect right beside the trails we were going to walk and overlooking the small village. The breakfast and dinner was very good, high quality food and a wide variety of good tasty dishes both for vegetarians and vegans as well! The room was comfortable, there was internet connection, the beds were good. And it was easy to find the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Appreciated the hotel finding a safe place overnight for our bike. The hotel is right at the start of the hike to the Bastei, with other hikes easy to do from there as well such as the hike up the Amselgrund to Rathenwalde or the short hike nearby to the Little Bastei. After 40 hotels in 60 days in Germany and the Netherlands, this was possibly the best breakfast yet. Strongly recommend!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from balcony is beautiful. Although the check-in time is from 14:00, I could check in when I arrived at 12:00. Staffs are friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean, very comfortable, beautiful view, close location to Bastei Bridge. Breakfast is very good!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place to stay, especially if you are looking to go to the Bastei Bridge! Great breakfast as well!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi limited to 30 minutes.

    Breakfast was incredible!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, beautiful hotel, nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air condition in room.

    Very nice and helpful staff. Nice food in hotel restaurant. Grest breakfest. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, Very knowledgeable and honest waiter in the restaurant when we had dinner in the evening.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    lady at check in very unfriendly, when I asked about bike at my room the answer was "this is a hotel"...I guess the meaning was no😆,the staff at dinner were probably drunk, it took 30min to order,but still this is worth it

    great location for hiking around, food very good, breakfast offer very wide

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We got a room on the first floor and could smell a little bit of kitchen odor in our hallway.

    The room was spacious, bathroom was clean. The hotel has its own restaurant and a bar. Excellent breakfast with varied food and drink options. Great location for Bastei bridge walk.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bar didn't ever seem to be open, and I had to track down staff to get a drink. Wifi is free but only available in the bar.

    Great location for Bastei Bridge. Excellent breakfast and in a quiet part of Rathen. Room was very big and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We absolutely loved this place. It was in an incredibly beautiful location. The rooms were fairly basic, but very clean and very well taken care of. The bed was super comfy for me. The breakfast was good, there was a nice variety and it was all tasty. The dinners were really very delicious! The woman who checked us in was helpful, especially since we don't speak German. We wished we stayed longer than two days in this hotel, and are hopeful we can return someday.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Priced a bit high. Bottom floor was under construction. Snippy waitress. Extra charge for WiFi.

    Located right on the trailhead to Bastei, and a few blocks from the river. Free parking. Several restaurants around. Good breakfast buffet, Nice view from balcony. Mostly friendly staff. Some English.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Walls were a little thin, could hear more things outside the room than a chain hotel, but still a very nice place

    Staff was wonderful, room was comfortable, food was great, location was perfect

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Honestly there were no complaints about this hotel. We will definitely stay here again.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions and information. Check in and check out was not complicated. Great value. The breakfast bar was excellent; it had a well balanced spread. They are pet friendly which was nice for our small dog. The hotel is very clean and well kept. The location is perfect for walking to the Bastei Bridge attraction. Excellent Hotel!

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location food

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. Terrible WiFi 2. Absence of hairdryer

    Nice place, superior breakfast, spacy clean room, comfortable bed, friendly stuff.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi is not free

    Location is good, close to Bastei Bridge, Breakfast is good.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Browse Amselgrundschlösschen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: