Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Amstel House Hostel

Waldenserstr. 31, Mitte, 10551 Berlin, Germany

#348 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1795 hostel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Great staff and good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to make and strip your own bed, lots of people so sometimes the bathrooms were a bit dirty even though they were cleaned regularly - this was easily helped with choosing a different bathroom

    Comfy bed, there were a lot of showers and toilets on each floor (but I didn’t find the extra ones until my last night!), staff were fantastic - super friendly AND there is a lift!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    The hostel was really nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To get to the city center you have to switch trains but it wasn't that bad just a short 20min or so

    The hostel was really nice and clean. Spacious bedrooms and nice sized lockers in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    It s an amazing hostel to stay on your trip to Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The numbers on the doors of the washrooms are confusing, hard to find to which room belongs which washroom )

    Reception is really helpful and friendly, I liked quick laundry service, breakfast is yummy, bed sheets are new, bathrooms are clean.There are restaurants across the street where you can have nice food Thank you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.4
    It is clean and not bad in consideration with its value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit far from the city center.. however it is just 5 min walk to the metro . You have to put and take your bedsheets the mater which I hate at most. They have only one washing machine.. which is lead me to ended up to continue my trip with my laundry.

    It is clean and not bad in consideration with its value

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.8
    Good for getting to Tegel Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn't really work. Pillows were a sliver of a normal pillow. Reception staff did their job, but didn't really make you feel welcome to the city

    Big communal area. Close to Tegel Airport. Stayed in a 4 bed dorm but only two of us in there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    The staff is really kind and they let you leave your bags...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a sharing bedroom so sometimes the other people it's noisy.

    The staff is really kind and they let you leave your bags after the check out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    The room, toilets and showers were nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bites on my last night. They moved me to another room and I woke up with lots of big itching bites. Probably from fleas. What a pain.

    The room, toilets and showers were nice and clean. Breakfast for 6€ with lots of options and suitable for vegans and veggies.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    3.8
    Terrible place for lot of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid 75 EUR for a room that was like a prison with bunk beds. We even had to make the beds ourselves. The toilet and bathroom outside the room. Very noisy. The way to the parking (for which we paid 10 EUR) was so narrow that it was almost impossible to pass with the car. If the price per night was 15 EUR, it would be adequate, but for 75 EUR, it was absolutely terrible. We stayed in quite a few hotels in Berlin, but this was the most terrible one. Never more.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    good location with reasonable price and nice staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    my friend and i booked the room for two of us. the window was facing to the court yard so it was a little bit noisy if opening the window during evening. but once closed, all the noises were just gone. however the problem was, it was very hot during the night in the room. we couldn't fall asleep if keeping the window opening.

    everything was perfect except .....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Great value, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was about 3km from the main attractions in berlin but very close to a metro station so that was good. Plus the staff was nice and helpful and the facilities were clean and organized.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Loved Berlin and really enjoyed hostelling - Amstel house was perfect for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room looked into the courtyard and to start with was very quiet - however it echoed the noises at night from people in the bar and as it was very hot it was impossible to shut the windows. Also there was no through draft which made it very stuffy and uncomfortable to sleep whilst we were there. Perhaps a vent above the door could help?

    The location was excellent and the room was great for our needs. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    The staff is very nice and ready to help whenever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel is a bit far from everything. However, there is a U-ban station close by.

    The staff is very nice and ready to help whenever. Also, a guest kitchen is always a plus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Accomodation was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accomodation was very good. A lot of funny people. Breakfast was also good. Hostel have private parking and I generally recommend this hostel for staying in Berlin.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Very nice place in a half decent location, and very cheap too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The guy in my dorm snoring heavily on the first night.

    Excellent place, friendly staff. Brilliant bar, fantastic amber wheat beer of which the name escapes me (anyone know?). Clean rooms, decent wifi and toilets/showers up to scratch. Breakfast was okay, the milk was extra delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hostel for great money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe pillows could be bigger :)

    Very friendly staff, clean bathrooms, possibility to borrow a towel for 1 EUR, good equipment of rooms and you could buy breakfast (all u can eat) for 6 EUR. There is the market hall in the close neighborough with a lot of food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Good. (y)
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little cold when i arrived, as all the heaters were turned off.

    Staff is friendly, price is good for the given value. Room and female bathroom were clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Recommended! Clean, nice staff, metro station and shops near :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of my food was thrown out of fridge eventhoug it was tagged-how about a marker available so it's done in more visible way?

    Really well organized hostel :)There is a cool common area with sofas downstairs and the kitchen is really clean and well equipped.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    the stuff is really helpful and friendly, my room for 4...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathrooms would do better with at least one shelf. elevator doesn't stop at the ground floor. everything else is fine.

    the stuff is really helpful and friendly, my room for 4 people was quite spacious, so is the whole hostel in general. nice kitchen and common area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.4
    The room was very small and dark.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and dark.The bathroom was not very clean. After 3 days the toilet paper and soap were finished and we had to use ours. The service should clean the room at least once during our stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Good price to stay alone but some services are not really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good price to stay alone but some services are not really good such as there is no locker to safeguard our belongings so I feel unsecure. Near public transport and Tegel flughaven. Gut!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    The location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was not very comfortable - there was almost nowhere to put/hang the stuff while showering. The doors could have been thicker to let less noise in. I searched beforehand if towels are included in the price or not, but I did not find anything from Booking.com. We concluded that if there are no rental prices, the towels are included, but eventually they were not. At least the rent was low. One has to make the beds by oneself and remove the linen when leaving.

    The location was very good. At first I was a bit suspicious about Moabit, but I ended up loving it. The street was quiet and peaceful, but nightlife was not too far away. At least two very good vegan restaurants/cafés not too far. Hostel was nice and things well organised, I liked the facts about Berlin on the doors. Beautiful building. Reasonable price. Possible to rent bikes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Great staff, comfortable beds, excellent wifi, fun atmosphere!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful staff. 24/7 reception and bar. Excellent wifi! Very comfortable beds with individual lights and plugs sockets. I quite enjoyed the random Berlin facts printed onto all the dorm doors, it adds a unique twist to this lovely establishment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall great place and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were pretty uncomfortable. We had bunk beds so I can’t speak on the comfort of the regular beds. I slept on bottom bunk and my partner on the top and anytime he loved the entire thing creaked and woke me up. We had shared bathroom which was fine for the toilet however the showers were not the cleanest and did not drain properly. There was a lot of noise coming from people running up and down the halls between rooms well into the night.

    The staff we’re extremely friendly and informative. Check in and payment process really simple. The hostel itself is very nice both inside and out and loved the decor. Multiple plugs in the room right beside the beds meant we could charge all of our devices and use our phones in bed while on charge which was great. Someone is at reception 24/7. Check out process very simple.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    4 room female dormitory
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room are cleaned, every bed has a plug for the power. 24 h reception. I suggest to bring a lock for your stuff because there is the possibility to lock them. Bring a phon as well! The washroom are cleaned :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.1
    Good,but with flaws.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is toooooo small, and doesnt have a exhaust fan! I cannot breathe when i was taking shower…and hotel's location is kind of difficult to find.

    Stuffs are good! Bar is ok, room and bed are clean. Toilet and bathroom are clean too

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.5
    An Experience but not to forget,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sharing a Room with 11 Strangers. I didn’t know what to expect but I can say I’ve tried and personally it’s not for me. I can’t fault the Price, Facilities, Staff or Cleanliness.

    Obviously from a Price Perspective it’s Very Cheap. This was my first time trying a Hostel, I don’t think I would do it again but that’s nothing against Amstel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.7
    Staff is very friendly but the cost per night makes me consider other options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price per night is rather high for what you get. Other hostels I have stayed at were cheaper and had bathrooms attached to the room. Laundry service is not self-service. You have to pay a high price of £6.50 ($8.00 that is insane!) and give your clothes to the staff to be washed. I really do not like this! The shower doors were not the best. Water would always get through the bottom of the door and the floor would be wet. This was a problem because the shower stalls are small. Towels are priced well at £1 but you do not get your money back after returning the towel, unfortunately.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Some of the most kind and friendly staff of any hostel I have stayed at.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay out of downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    you get your bang for your buck here! If you have limited time in Berlin don’t stay here, the buses were so irregular. But the bahn is very close by.

    The space in the rooms and throughout the hostel 10! It was wonderful! We stayed the back which has a wonderful view! Breakfast was delicious buffet style and at a decent price. If you’re a walker and like to explore you can get to downtown in 15. If not take the bahn or a taxi and walk down there. So much to see

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Cheap and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in is after 3 pm, what is not really normal since check out is before 11 am. They could also give a towel for free, but to rent it you have to pay 1 euro.

    The hostel is really clean and comfortable, close to a metro station. There are sockets and lamps above each bed, wardrobes and washbasins inside the rooms. Downstairs there is a guest kitchen and bar. What is also cool is that you can leave your luggage before check-in and after check-out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.5
    Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the bathrooms. Sometimes was a little disgusting to get into it to the take a bath.

    The staff was really friendly and helpful, and the location was nice. The apartment was good as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.1
    Really friendly/helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was not that great in terms of things to do in the area, couldn't find anything other than a small market hall that was close by and worth visiting. There are no major supermarkets in the area either. The hostel held no activities which was really disappointing especially because we were there for Australia Day and heard other hostels were throwing parties/events/promotions.

    Really friendly/helpful staff. Breakfast was delicious. 2euro beer happy hour.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.1
    It was a good place, and they also have ping pong table...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The badrooms were not clean and some of them were damage.

    It was a good place, and they also have ping pong table which I really like. I really appreciated the fact of the open kitchen therefore it was always clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.8
    Very quiet and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms had no place to put clothes ose soap or anything basically. It was really cumbersome to have a shower there.

    The room was very spacious and cozy, wooden floors contributed to that. Friendly staff and check in experience. Easy to get there with public transport. Clean and very quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    All together a pleasant stay for what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathrooms could use a little bit more attention. We stayed three nights and after the first night our closest bathroom and shower was closed due to plugged toilets. The shower that I used was speckled with black mold.

    Loved the table tennis and the MarketHall right around the corner. The staff is friendly and helpful. Easy access to the city with public transportation. Very much enjoyed the corner room #115. It was tucked away from the main floor and therefore much quieter at night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.9
    I like that the property was near a good amount of super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were hard to find and the elevators didn’t work properly.

    I like that the property was near a good amount of super markets and thrift stores.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.9
    Super big sizes of room. Modern design., Not enough toilets, showers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator didn't work. I think amount of toilets and showers it's not enough for that big hostel. Toilets should be direct by the boards, it's hard to find it. Staff would be nicer. :P

    Super extra size of room !! Space for everyone, extra table in the room, own lock ! Hostel was kind of empty, quiet. Bar avaliable ( pity that short ), fun room, kitchen, big lounge! Very good design, a lot of colours, all clear, and elevator!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.3
    Helpful and friendly staff, good facility, quiet and clean environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is slightly far from metro station, the (private) shower room is quite small but clean and tidy to use,

    They give a (small) map for free, staffs are honest and friendly, free and good wifi in the building

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.8
    Very convenient location for Tegel airport, a direct bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient location for Tegel airport, a direct bus plus a few hundred meters walking. Slightly removed from the main attractions, but they are reachable even walking if you're up to it (something like 30 min to Brandenburg gate). Very friendly staff, clean and nice rooms, clean facilities. Beautiful building! The breakfast is maybe slightly overpriced for its contents, but you can cook your own if you want.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the pillow was super unconfortable the stuff is really friendly and for the breakfast you could offer more vegetarian options, maybe more fruit and the shower is really small and I think need a place to leave your stuff will you shower otherwise you get everything wet.

    the bed was ok, the stuff is really friendly I like it that they give you clean sheets

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    The friendliest hostel in Berlin out of 5 at which I have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little old beds - sometimes can be a bit noisy. No big deal...hostels in Berlin in the same low price level are just terrible. My advice: Do not book cheap hostels in Berlin or book Amstel Hostel, mostly old or smelly disappointment. No party life nearby - can be advantage too.

    The friendliest hostel in Berlin out of 5 at which I have stayed so far. Really great and friendly staff and many clean rooms for 4 persons for nice prices. Kitchen is also great and superclean! A very calm area but close to the centre. My choice one in Berlin.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.2
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows are not comfortable, there are some dusts on the closet it is not good for the person who sleeps top of the bunk.

    It was clean, quite and reception is helpful. We could leave our bags after check out and it is safe. Bathrooms are common but clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.6
    Warm, friendly, clean, efficient, pretty well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    (these are only small add-ons... - lacklustre breakfast - not recommended at the price - best not to rely on computers in lobby - slow)

    Warm, friendly, clean, efficient, pretty well located... excellent value for money overall.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Great place, great staff, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are big and comfortable. Our room (for 4 people) was also big and had a closet, which was great for organizing our things. The girls' shower room was big and clean. The kitchen was nice. There's a lot of space for everyone and it makes you feel like at home.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    4.6
    Location and stsff is helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy and really strange guests. You cannot drink alcohol even in kitchen because they want to sell it. Worst hostel I have ever been in.

    Location and stsff is helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    8.8
    Good place to stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe that it is not so centric but the rest is ok.

    The service offered and the big room. Modern place with many bathrooms so actually I didn´t find anybody when I took my shower. The bar is also cool and the prices are ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.8
    The hostel was nice, but I did not like the twin room - maybe others are better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The twin room had VERY squeaky beds and the pillows had lost their form and filling till such an extent that it was hard to sleep on them. Floor was clean, but the area around sink and mirror was covered in dust and dirt, seemed like it is not being cleaned regularly at all. Curtains were visibly dirty. Everytime we arrived in the room it had some kind of strange smell. This was one of the cheapest private rooms available, but cannot say a good P/P - I would have booked something else if I had entered it before, it looks a lot nicer in pictures than in real life.

    As I understood the bar in reception is open 24/7, it has the nice backpacker vibe, cheap beer in happy hours and cheap burgers on Friday evenings (did not try though). The staff was nice and kindly allowed us to park bikes in the inside yard for the night. There is a guest kitchen with a lot of pans and pots (however, I suggest taking your own cup/bowl/fork/spoon, as it was a bit hard to find such things). The twin room with shared bathroom still had a sink and a mirror inside.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    overall are good, good price and minimalist
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bed at top should have safety bar so people can't easily fall, my mom is kinda cautious with that top bed

    Very minimalist, very fit to person who makes a trip a lot than staying at bed, staffs are friendly, good prices

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Everything was great !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ! Probably a tv for football games nights

    Everything was great ! Nice, clean (public areas and bathrooms). Good location and happy hour from 6 to 8 everyday

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amstel house is an amazing place. The cost/benefit ratio is very high. It is located very close to a subway station, so you can easily move around the city. If I come back to Berlin, I will try to stay there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    Only really used for airport transit and eminently suited for this at a fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound insulation from corridor traffic poor- though noise levels generally good on the fourth floor!. Not so many smaller, friendly type communal spaces that I noticed.

    Was chosen due to proximity to Tegel airport and Taxi's arrive promptlyand only took 10 -15 min. Seemed pretty clean, safe and the burger option for a meal and cheap drinks at happy hour seemed appealing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    For the price and location....prima!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty noisy to 11:00.

    We left too early for breakfast. Location from public transportation and the airport was great. Also we came early and they allowed us to tag our luggage and put it in a secured room - awesome!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    General feel and atmosphere were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi uplink was not working - impossible even to attach a photo to email or upload to FB. And no sockets near bed in the room.

    General feel and atmosphere were nice. Location is not the best, but quite convenient

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    enjoyed my stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably the lights in the washroom downstairs, making me feel dizzy LOL.

    The room is so spacious and clean. Some pillow is a bit flat, but it isn't a problem for me since I dont like using it. Socket near the bed and everywhere in the room, sink in the room too. It's a bit far from the city center, but public transport is around, so it's quite convenient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Spot on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. The beds weren't the comfiest, but it is a hostel after all. When I did sleep, I slept well. Spot on

    Everything worked. The bar was too. The staff helpful and friendly. The room safe and secure. Did exactly as expected.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Great value, perfect position, amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Maybe some more vegan options for breakfast, like plant milk or yoghurt (soy, oat or almond) and more fruit options.

    Extremely welcoming staff was probably the best part of our stay. The sheets were fresh and comfortable, the position of the hostel absolutely perfect and it was almost always silent in the hostel after 22 p.m. so my friend and I could sleep without any disturbances.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    Loud, but clean. For a good nigh sleep I suggest long walks before going to bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom/showers could be placed more convenient in the building. You just couldn't take shower without getting your clothes wet. And there was a line for the shower in the morning :D Also it was very loud at nigh - bit not people themselves but I could hear steps on corridor next top my bunkbed all night - no sound proof walls.

    Breakfast was fine, didn't miss anything. Bathroom and toilets were incredibly clean. Reception staff was nice trying to explain everything to me. Cosy atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    3.8
    We arrived very early in the morning to leave our luggage...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hostel was pretty cheap so I didn't expect too much but well it was awful! I think that the picture of the room was taken long time ago as it looks way worse and smaller, the room wasn't too clean. We couldn't keep the windows open as there were people sitting talking really loud in front of the hostel till late night. We had a room with bathroom outside which had the most disgusting shower ever, the water was staying in there in the corner and it smelled really bad! Staff made me feel like they are angry that I'm disturbing them anytime I wanted to ask them anything. When I came to ask if maybe my room was ready earlier, before check in time the girl just looked at me and said "I don't think so" even though she didn't ask my name or anything so she didn't know which room type I'm waiting for and it was only about 1,5 an hour before check in. The last thing I didn't like is that the kitchen is cleaned and close early in the morning so exactly when you would like to use it to make some coffee or breakfast, why can't you clean it after breakfast time like at 12 or something?

    We arrived very early in the morning to leave our luggage and the guy from reception who was working at the moment was the only nice person from staff we met during our stay. Around the place you can find lots of places for breakfast and lunch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast was really nice and cosy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooridors couod be renewed. I hated this children without any supervision creaming all night and that the key from my room wasnt working many times even when I woke up to WC and went out of my room the d middle of the nught and MY KEY STOPPED WORKING I WAS OUT OF MY ROOM

    Breakfast was really nice and cosy. Simple. But the rooms are poor and the showers in another separated room. While I was staying there were many children screaming and shouting all night long.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    The room had a sink with a mirror so it was a nice touch,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place wasn't the nearest to the underground station - could be a problem if you're carrying a ton of things and taking public transport, but it was fine for us with 1 luggage each

    The room had a sink with a mirror so it was a nice touch, plenty of showers and toilets around so sharing wasn't an issue.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Great stay in Berlin Mitte
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It is very noisy. I mean, you hear the noise coming from every single corner of the hotel, from the rooms next door, from down under. Fortunately, I ended up very tired after everyday's walk and didn't hear the loud voices for long.

    I liked the fact that they were willing to help me find a single room when I requested it. I am just not a fan of shared rooms or shared bathrooms. The single room was lovely and very comfortable. I also saw many families with children, which called my attention and gave the hostel a very friendly vibe. Every type of traveller was there and that was refreshing to see.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    It's so surprised me that this hostel has only 7.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing :)

    It's so surprised me that this hostel has only 7.5 rate!! Everything was very great - clean room (although i lived in a 12-person dermitorium) and showers, delicious breakfast, friendly staff and very convenient location in a quiet area.I highly recommend!:)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    6.7
    I got what I expected :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    if u have fruits in ur trash can, throw it by yourself if u dont' want to have flies cause I didn't notice anybody cleaned our room (but I stayed only for 2 nights maybe I was wrong but who knows)

    bathroom and toilet were clean every time but I would say it isn't very comfortable to take a shower there. staff is friendly :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    The breakfast was a little expensive (about €5) but...
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was a little expensive (about €5) but definitely worth it if you eat a lot in the morning. It had a large selection and if you didn't want to eat their breakfast there was a kitchen that was free to use. The 24 hr bar in the lobby was also very useful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.0
    When I complained about the dirtiness the staff solved that...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room they offered was terrible dirty.The second one was absolutely OK.Only the light was not suitable for reading for looking the information in the city map.And I wish there were towels,not only bedsheet.

    When I complained about the dirtiness the staff solved that problem really quickly and without the additional pay.The second one was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.7
    Great price, not great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is not the nicest or safest - It is in the Moabit neighborhood of Berlin which is purely residential and not the safest either (I didn't know this until I asked a friend who lives in the city). The bar at night is really loud and some people will stay up really late. Our shower was clogged which the staff fixed but they put the gunk in our bathroom garbage bin so it started to smell.

    Good price, friendly staff, cheap bar. Great place if you want to meet others while you travel. Beds are comfy and facilities were clean. Only a few stops off of public transport to main sightseeing locations.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent facilities & value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a greater rage of fruit & musluli for breakfast along with scrambled or poached eggs but, for the price, there is nothing of substance for which to complain.

    The facilities (including an in-house) laundry service are excellent. The breakfast was ok; no range of fruit or pre-soaked musuli but adequate nonetheless. There is a good kitchen also and the hostel is within walking distances of many casual and formal restaurants I would recommend Amstel to anyone and as an aside I am disappointed (minor theft - hence insecurity, rudeness of receptionists and general disinterest, cigarette buts in urinals with vomit and general filth on stairs ) with the place that I moved to; also through Booking.Com). Had I'd known more about Amstel I would have stayed there for my entire stay in Berlin

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    5.0
    Nice staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged more than 40 euros for a bed in the dormitory, sometimes i feel that when there is not rooms in the city they increase the price more than double. From my point of view is very unfair because your are giving same service and facilities.

    Nice staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.4
    Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This hostel was a major party hostel -- I stayed here for a week and could not sleep the whole week even as different people checked in and out. People would pre-game in the halls, the bathrooms had throw-up in them at times (only cleaned twice a day, which is a low number considering the amount of people who use it), and the dorm floors constantly had crumbs/alcohol spills everywhere. Also, the amount of school groups gets tiresome. Most people in my dorm would come back after midnight as well completely drunk and very noisy. I don't recommend this place for low-key travelers.

    Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.8
    The room was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not perfect but it was ok.

    The room was clean and comfortable. Hostel was in a good location. The distance to most sightseeing is walkable but you can also use the bus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little far from the room

    Everyone were so nice and the facilities were clean. The size of the room was good, not to small. It's a great place for solo travelers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.4
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely poor sound insulation, very thin mattresses. Tiny communal kitchen. Overrun by children on school trips screaming in the corridors.

    It is located near a few lines of public transportation, and there are a couple of good and cheap Turkish shops near by.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    6.3
    Nice breakfast for 5.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The showers were a little bit uncomfortable, no place where to hang or put your stuff...And in my room there were no plugs near the bed, so every night I had to stay up to charge my phone near the door or downstairs...

    Nice breakfast for 5.50 euros, there's always someone there chilling at the bar, so you won't feel alone ;)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.8
    Good value, no major complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a very large property, which could be a plus but for us meant being there at the same time as a lot of school trips. That's great if you're a school but not as much if you're looking to socialize with the adult crowd. Not a deal breaker, may even be a positive for you. One thing I can say is that power outlet availability in the rooms is not good. Bring a power bar/extension cord or be prepared to leave your phone/battery pack unattended while they charge.

    Location is pretty good, housekeeping was great, bathrooms were reasonably clean by hostel standards.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.3
    Close to Tegel Airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms have thin walls and there are gaps near the door, so every sound made in the corridor can be heard in the room. This was a big inconvenience. We only had one pillow each and it is very small and thin. Very uncomfortable. The washing basins in the bathroom are small.

    Close to Tegel Airport. Nice and quiet area but also close to public transport (U Bahn Turmstraße). The lobby and lounge area have a lovely design, perfect for meeting other travellers. There is a washing basin in each room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    The location was pretty close to the sights, especially on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This was a very large hostel that seemed to cater to large groups of people, like school groups. Therefore, there was often a lot of chaos in the main area downstairs with people running about. It also made it not the most social of hostels if one of your goals is to meet people at the hostel.

    The location was pretty close to the sights, especially on bicycle. Also, the neighborhood itself had a lot of delicious and cheap food options. The bicycle rentals were very reasonably priced and the bicycles were in great shape.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Amstel House Hostel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: