Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel an der Oper This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Falkenturmstrasse 10, Altstadt-Lehel, 80331 Munich, Germany

#169 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 784 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance gives the appearance of a modern and updated hotel but the bedrooms are dated and for the amount I paid, you’ve had expected it to meet the same standards of other similarly priced hotels in the area. Bathrooms were not of a start I’d have expected in such a hotel

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel doesn't have many additional facilities so beware of it when booking it (it wasn't a problem for us because we went there to see the city and not to spend time in the hotel).

    Very nice, clean & comfortable room, tasty breakfast and great location in the center of Munich.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard of service was exceptionally high at this hotel and the room was very comfortable and clean. The hotel is very well-located, a short, pretty walk to the Market and the Opera House.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast. Was much better in our previous visits. Bread and Bread rolls have been hard and old.

    We, my wife and myself love the hotel because being so close to the Center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange that they charge for water at reception.

    Very helpful front desk. Extremely good location. Rooms are clean and comfortable. But no tea kettles or coffee machine in room. Water at reception is charged for.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room service is not as it should be considering the rating of the hotel. For example, when ordering PIZZA, we had to pay cash to delivery person and can not add it to room bill. I found out that its from Hotel restaurant, rather its from close restaurant. Also, on new year eve, hotel could not accept room service orders. Rooms windows view were internal ones, and therefore, other rooms or side building windows can see your room clearly if curtains are open.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price the apartment was very small. There was no microwave in the kitchen.

    The hotel was very clean. It was in an awesome location in the heart of the Munich. Pet friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were excellent. I arrived without my luggage after a long haul flight with no jacket. I wanted to go to supper and it was raining. The front desk manager actually went to his car to retrieve his personal jacket and let me use if for the few hours I was outside with a smile. Great service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon didn’t work properly so had to keep windows open at night . Tv was big but room small, so tv got in the way a bit . It can be very noisy when there’s a big football match on if you have windows open . The revellers will be drinking and singing all night . We didn’t really mind that . Aircon was the worst problem .

    Very helpful staff, friendly service . Great location . Really good breakfast .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed, Road noise, cleanliness, staff attitude

    Poor location: dreadful road noise from 6am even with the windows closed. Incredibly basic room with a steep charge to even drink the bottle of water on the table. Friends stayed elsewhere. Much better around. Not so clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One off the staff was unfriendly, last day at 5pm he brought our luggages to the reception without our permission, and I paid for late checkout.

    No comment everything was perfect overall

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom is not very big

    the location is very good and the staff is very nice at the reception, quick check in and quick check out, good price for location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    someone else's opened snacks in the mini-bar and mini-bar not restocked daily.

    Excellent location - we could walk out to major attractions and restaurants. Room was quite small but well-appointed bathroom and comfortable bed. Good breakfast service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been better if it had a shower instead of a bath. But of course, it's not a problem at all, just a personal preference!

    Very good city hotel. The location, in front of the Opera, and only 3 minutes by walk from Marientplazt, make it a good choice for people visiting Munich. In the area a lot of restaurants and pubs and all sort of stores. The train station is only 20 minutes away by walk in case you are interested in visiting other places, but even if you prefer not walking in Marientplantz there is a Metro station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was comfortable but very low which can be difficult for older guests with knee trouble!

    The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The location is central which suited me perfectly. The room was comfortable enough and had air-conditioning which was a bonus as Munich was very hot and humid. Also, there were more than enough hangers of 3 different types and they were free-hanging, a great bonus these days. Breakfast is extra but was good in the German way and nothing was too much trouble for the waitresses.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I made the reservation for 5 people (2 double rooms) with extra bed, after arrival they. said the available rooms are too small and we cant add extra bed, so one of us slept on the floor. They shouldn't accept reservation for 5 people.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room layout was odd and did not flow well.

    The location was excellent as it was near Marienchurch, the main square in town. The staff was very accomodating and helpful. The room had a strange layout, but we were comfortable, none the less. It was clean, safe and well-maintained.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For what we wanted - nothing.

    A very helpful, professional attitude that put guests at ease. They went out of the way to help us after my wife suffered an accident.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible beds and shockingly bad pillows. Literally a loose bag with a few lumps of fluff inside. Worst in any hotel I've stayed at. Bed was a piece of foam, not a mattress. Styling and furniture/curtains is at least 40 years old; straight from 1970. No minibar, no conditioner and bad ventilation in the bathroom. It was hot and damp the whole 3 days and made the rest of the room similar. Tiny tv by modern standards.

    Location is close to most common sights. Very close to HBH

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very minor but bigger bath towels would be good!

    Small, boutique hotel with good location. Comfortable and friendly. Easy walking distance to Matienplatz, shopping and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Complaints.

    The staff was very friendly and hospitable. The person managing the front desk the night of my check was very helpful with providing information at my request. After settling in and unpacking I realized I had left a valuable item in the taxi. Andreas, a valued staff member managing the front desk was very helpful in contacting the taxi, and having the item returned to the Hotel. Andreas also offered to return the item to my room so that I could meets my friends for the New Years celebration. Again my appreciation and thanks to Andreas and the Hotel for their kind service and assistance in helpful with the town Tours and recovery of my lost items.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was terrible could not get a connection. Kept dropping the connection.

    The location was great. The room was very clean and staff was very courteous.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wouldn't call this a negative, even. The carpet looks a bit worn - it is an older hotel and there's a bit of faded luxury. I really liked that, though - it made it affordable, while still being really nice.

    The location is really outstanding. Right in the middle of Munich, and yet on a nice, quiet street. Hotel an der Oper is like a little bit of old luxury. The room was comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was really nice - lots of choices, good quality. I especially loved the silver coffee carafe.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bad attitude of the lady, the owner, that did not like that I wanted just a coffe for breakfast and tried to ask for 15 euro; she does not like that only paid 2,5 Euros for the coffe. I really felt humiliate by her.

    La situacion

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist on the day of leave was very unfriendly, when we asked to get a taxi to the train station. He seemed to not care that it was quite urgent and told to go and get a taxi on the street :(

    The location is quite central.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First impressions were not good as the reception area is a bit tatty. (Views into office areas and private stairway should be hidden.)

    The room was very nice indeed. The location was superb. Breakfast was good. Note that the dining room (as used for hotel breakfast) becomes a very good Italian restaurant in the evening but is run independently of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No view of anything, located in an alley, but right behind the poshest street in Munich...so it was a posh alley :-)

    The suite was great, good value for money. Staff were super at reception, especially a lady with a big gray stripe in her hair. She was great, but everybody was very friendly and helpful with the baby.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were nice enough but split over 2 buildings over the road from each other so our group were not in the same building. No deadbolts or eye holes on the doors which was a little unnerving. Be very careful about the booking conditions. We were unable to make any changes to our booking from 5 days out and even though they resold a night for an additional room in front of me they charged us in full for that room then said they could not resell it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - No kettle or coffee kit in the room. - Dirty cups were left in the room. Niether is too bad, but also not something you would expect from a 4 star hotel for this price.

    - Great location - in the old city and close to all the main attractions. - Good sized room. - The staff was nice and helpfull.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room we rented was large and modern for a European central city hotel. Location was incredibly close to good restaurants, the market, and the designer shops. The street was quieter than those just a block away in either direction. Really glad we chose this place. We were two adults with a college-aged child. We rented two rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One thing which irritated me was having to wait for the lift for ages when the house maids made up the rooms. They left the lift open on their floor to load. My room was on the fifth floor, hence I did not want to walk up with my luggage.

    My single room was very cosy and comfortable. I loved it. Very good use of space and it was also very quiet for being right in the centre of town. A stone throw from everything.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was situated in Marienplatz, about a 10 minutes' walk from the Marienplatz station. Very near to shops and restaurants. Nicely decorated rooms. We booked the apartment and it was comfortable for three people. It also had a built in kitchen. The hotel was very helpful in shifting the dates on my Booking.com non-refundable bookings. I would have to pay double otherwise.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Very comfortable beds, quiet, clean. Friendly & helpful staff. Nice restaurant. Quiet area even though downtown. Had stayed there about 40 years ago and still remembered the place and location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Night noise from street. Soundproofing glass is needed on the Street side as the American Bar noise is very disturbing and common drunken language very unpleasant when the night crowd leave.

    The courtesy of the front line staff and cleaning staff and dining room attendants. The location in relation to Churches and major galleries and places of interest was very good . We walked everywhere. Also nearness to the superb Restaurant ,Orlando, three minutes. All staff members were very welcoming. Particularly ,I thank cleaning staff for attention to detail in room and regular changing of towels. Thankyou for maintaining standards.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee/tea machine in the rooms. No lobby to sit down in

    Staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location is great, rooms are very clean shower has good pressure

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be complimentary

    Convenient location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location , nice rooms with enough space and good food .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No nearby underground access, nearest is 10 min walk

    Taking care of all details, and the surprise upgrade 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was expensive. But a good room

    Great location. Couldn't get better. Nice clean relaxed hotel .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely small rooms, definetely not recommended for families

    Location is great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location. And the staff are very attentive and efficient

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cold water, only hot water in shower and sink. Old pillows. Broken coat hook. Loud construction noise all day.

    Location. Breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 2 single beds connected instead of a double even queen size

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel, great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit loud some nights due to street noise

    Great location close to Marienplatz. Comfortable rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -No coffee maker in the room

    -very good internet conection -nice staff -the proximity of the opera house

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Boutique hotel. Nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price a bit yoo high

    Location and helpfulness of staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was not so clean, materials are showing its age.

    Location is downtown, close to all the nice sites and restaurants

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very silent and I slept very well! Enjoyed my stay there a lot!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Location, Service very good, help us to keep luggages (a lot)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room rates during conference time exorbitant. Room was dark.

    Great location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was rather pricy..

    The room was nice and clean, the location was excellent and the stuff really friendly!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is poor style, some apartments are across the street!

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    Great location , walking distance to Octoberfest and awesome location for the train. Lots to do within walking distance Great staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the reception area is extremely small and gets crowded quickly

    very efficient registration desk

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Towels in the room was too small and not good quality. They looked like a piece of fabric for dusting.

    Breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No thing , just the room Service is closed between 12 to 6 pm

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No insulation in walls. Sound can be heard from out side.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge too full of minibar items. Just an empty fridge - and coffee maker would be great.

    Location and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reception desk staff was unfriendly and not very welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean hotel, Helpful Staff, Convenience Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent hotel for a short business trip to Munich; conveniently located, tranquil

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet parking, bigger elevator, included breakfast

    Location and room decor

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location Staff Clean Space

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everythings

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ligging in de stad.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit stiff. Not many perks overall.

    Location is perfect really convenient to easily explore the city. Staff is also very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    would have liked better space to work in or some common area to be able to sit in

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were really uncomfortable.

    The location!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi was erratic to access

    Well run small hotel, brilliant location. The breakfast was extra, but was very good.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel an der Oper traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: