Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Anno 1900 Hotel Babelsberg

Stahnsdorfer Strasse 68, 14482 Potsdam, Germany

#6 of 20 B&Bs and Inns in Potsdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 599 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    A romantic small hotel in a green part of Potsdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a located in a green part of Potsdam, a bit on the side and far from the main historic attractions. The top floor offers a kitchen with amenities like a coffee machine, but unfortunately no coffee, so it didn't help quaint our coffee thirst...

    It is located in a villa from 1900 with all its pros (great interiors, atmosphere) and cons (four floors without a lift). The service is nice and friendly, the breakfast is good, the room has the fin de siècle charm. A great place to stay while in Potsdam.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely building and breakfast in the beautiful garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room on the top floor was far too warm on such a sunny and hot day; noise from the passing trains when window open

    Lovely building and breakfast in the beautiful garden

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    Fair enough hotel with easy access to Potsdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had room nr. 43, a typical attic-room, which got pretty warm. It was 5 flights of stairs, which was a bit with our luggage. There was carpet on the floor. Maybe we would have thought differently in a different room?

    Easy to get to the centre of Potsdam, and nice restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed it a lot and would always recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have appreciated a cappuccino or an espresso in the morning but only American coffee (and probably tea) was available. The breakfast is prepared in the (lovely) detached garden room so that in rainy conditions you might get wet going there. But, hey, you'll have a breakfast in the garden, literally!

    The house and the way everything is presented is just wonderful. Entering through the gardens, you immediately start enjoying this particular atmosphere of a small family run hotel. The staff was welcoming and calm. The room was nice, the bathroom big and individually designed. WiFi did work and was fast. Breakfast was ok but for 5€ not to complain about. Even though we stayed for just one night we would come back for a longer stay. It is almost like a place of retreat, where even the guests greet each other. And again: Compliments to the gardener!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.6
    Good beds, comfortable room for two persons.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good beds, comfortable room for two persons. Clean and tidy place. Excellent bathroom Breakfast is good and family like. Location is good as well close to bus stops. Parking is provided and wifi is okay as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    We had a very comfortable stay and the hotel met all our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    The room was very clean and spacious. Breakfast was continental, plenty of choice and good value value for money. The staff were very polite. The location was very quiet and great being near to the railway station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Good hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was quite nice, my friend and I loved it so much. The room was clean with all the essentials, the bed was very comfortable and it was so relaxed to live in such a great place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    The breakfast was very well price-quality balanced.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very well price-quality balanced. The choice was reduced compared to what one finds in other places, but the quality of the products was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice old style estate with it's own yard.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some people probably can consider bathroom to be too small. WiFi in the room works not so stable as wanted.

    Nice old style estate with it's own yard. The district is calm with a lot of fir-trees and nice buildings all around. Seems you got into Germany 100 years ago. Breakfast is served in cozy terrace. Also is close to Berlin airport

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    mosquitos in evening due to Garden and surrounding so can't open window, bed is old

    Location, Garden, Safe parking, Reasonable breakfast, nice attitude of staff, enough space in single person room, 20 minutes car drive to potsdam city center

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    Good place to stay at Potsdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing is I am used to sleeping with a fairly flat very soft pillow and I found theirs a bit too high and firm.

    An interesting place in a quiet neighbourhood. A fairly standard German breakfast, served from 7.00 weekdays and 7.30 Sats and Suns. Good value for money and nicely furnished. About 15 minutes walk from either Babelsberg or Griebnitzsee stations. Suited me perfectly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.1
    OK, but needs better curtains in summer
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is not quite as good as it looks on the map. It is a 15 minute walk from S-Bhf Griebnitzsee or 20 min from S-Bhf Babelsberg. There is a bus, but it only runs every 30 min. Not a dealbreaker, but something to be aware of. My main issue was that that the bedroom window only had a net curtain. Not a problem from a privacy point of view as the room was on the top floor and the window was a skylight; however, it meant that when it got light at 4.00 am, it became difficult to sleep. So either don't stay here in midsummer or bring eyeshades.

    The manager was friendly and although their advertised check-in is from 2.00 pm, my room was ready for me when I arrived shortly before noon. When I explained that I needed to leave by 7.00 am, the manager explained that I could simply leave my key in the door.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Good hotel when you visit Potsdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking area isn't enough but there is free parking on the street.

    Very kind staff.Lady explained to us everything what we need.The room was very big and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.6
    Hotel in a Quiet Residential Area
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's a highly residential area, there are no cafes, restaurants, REWE, or Lidl within walking distance. You have to get on the train and get to Babelsberg (1 stop from Griebnitzsee).

    I had a conference at the University of Potsdam - Griebnitzsee campus and the hotel is within walking distance in a quiet residential area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    5.8
    It was o.k. for the price!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was in the 4 th floor without elevator!!! Bathroom and toilett was not in the room. I had to go out to the floor for a shower!! Breakfest was extra for 10 €. It was hard to get to the hotel, because of several roadworks in the city.

    Bed was confortable! Room was clean!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    8.3
    Sweet, comfortable hotel with very nice rooms. One kilometer away from bus and train stops.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighbors next room disturbing when open/close their room and when they walk into the corridor. Not enough good isolation or very noisy doors/floors.

    Clean, comfortable, responsive staff. Nice rooms. I was booked a single room and I was thinking it will be small, but it was big enough. Very good heating. There is everything what you need.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Charming place in an old building, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming place in an old building, very clean. Very good breakfast. We would like to come back:).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful gardens & friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful gardens & friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow open WiFi

    Super staff. Nice rooms. Good location. Clean. Breakfast for 5€ great value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful garden, lovely atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful garden, lovely atmosphere. Friendly staff, big comfortable room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    +nice place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -lack of safe (but the place itself looks safe)

    +nice place +nice staff +good value for money (including costs of drinks)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Ezcellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful quiet location. Very good staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay for anyone!
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great as always. Anytime again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel in a nice area! Anytime again!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful breakfast, rooms and a very nice service. A very silent area, perfect to relax and you are very fast in the city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.4
    Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price for a bedroom with a shared bathroom is too high.

    interior decor was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Very nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 floor

    Very nice place. Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Liked breakfast outside in the garden
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked breakfast outside in the garden

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was okay, but not great

    The room was fabulous

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Lovely old building with pretty garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old building with pretty garden. Good breakfast. Quiet room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    Love the place. Will stay again next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast lady wasnt too friendly

    Good hotel.a bit walk to public transport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.8
    Good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extra bed made noise. But very quiet location and clean hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful Bed & Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small

    Such a darling bed & breakfast. The rooms & bathroom were small but very nicely decorated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.8
    great location for university business
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    dusty under furniture

    breakfast was great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and quiet

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    8.3
    A quiet place in Potsdam
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice, quiet hotel, with a lovely breakfast room into the garden. Clean room, Nice staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    9.6
    nice hotel in beautiful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    very cosy hotel, everything was perfect, kind staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    9.6
    Great comfort at a budget price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no such thing

    Friendly staff, comfortable bed, clean and quiet room. What else would I need?

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    Charming family hotel with homely atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A much better alternative than cold, boring, chain run hotels

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Beautiful hotel, close to everything. Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful setting, great accommodations and breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    6.7
    Lovely tiny place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room a bit dated but if you're not after hyper modern design, it's fine. Griebnitzsee train station seems close but I would not recommend it if you arrive late at night. And nobody speaks English ...

    Lovely tiny place. Feels like you're staying at a relative's place not in a hotel. In a good way. Good location if you have business with the film studios. Comfortable bed, lovely sort of home-made breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    7.1
    It is a charming period house on a quiet residential street.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi works OK in the lower part of the house but not so well on top floor

    It is a charming period house on a quiet residential street. There is a nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    9.2
    The feel of the place was excellent: stylish design but not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No solution if you forgot to pack anything.

    The feel of the place was excellent: stylish design but not techno modern. Located in the former East Germany the house and neighbourhood has caught up and is close to Potsdam and Berlin thanks to S-Bahn (about a mile or take the bus).

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    6.3
    Very beautiful design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Maybe we were unlucky, but our registration left very unpleasant impression. Lady at registration desk was unfriendly and unhelpful. She knew nothing about our booking: period of stay, price, if breakfast is included. With all that she spoke only german and made no efforts to find common language. It was very difficult to explain what we needed. We were told there is no Internet in the hotel despite there actually was. To make things worse she could not proceed with our payment by Visa card, but demanded urgent payment. There were no ATMs around, so we felt extremely uncomfortable. Luckily after one our we repeated payment attempt and found out that card was inserted wrong side (chip outside) and we could finally pay by card. Communication with other two ladies at reception in consequent days was nice.

    Very beautiful design. Very clean.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    7.5
    Facility and size of SOME rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is a bit far out of Potsdam that requires a train or car. More than clearly explained.

    Facility and size of SOME rooms. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    8.3
    Nice location in peaceful area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice location in peaceful area. Within walking distance from down town. Safe parking.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    10
    We were in the top floor and shared a bath and everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were in the top floor and shared a bath and everything was spotless.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    9.6
    rooms were clean
    • Business trip
    • Group

    rooms were clean stuff was helpfull breakfast was great free parking free wifi nice and quiet place

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: