Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Apartment-Hotel-Dahlem

Clayallee 150, Steglitz-Zehlendorf, 14195 Berlin, Germany

#189 of 278 Holiday rentals in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 197 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Irene the hotelier received me really warmly right from the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Irene the hotelier received me really warmly right from the start and continued to look after me throughout my stay. The room was large and comfortable and the location for me perfect. Next door is a fabulous Italian restaurant and just up the road a supermarket that is open till 8:00. The kitchenette in the suite was just right for my needs. Altogether and wonderful hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice place for short stay with a reasonable price
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very convenient place to stay for conferences at the Freie Universität Berlin and Harnack-Haus, Tagungsstätte der MPG. Great host, very close to public transport, supermarket (70 m., open until 11 pm)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable and spacious room with small kitchen, balcony and good breakfast. But Wifi problems
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Wifi was a Hotspot. So, its not stable and you need to reconnect all the time. To use to pontual things it is ok but to work or something like that, it would be impossible. Also, only one person speak in english (low intermediate level). Therefore, the communication it is difficult if one do not speak in german. At last, it rained a lot in one day and part of my room get flooded. I don't know if it is something that happens frequently or if it was something unusual.

    The apartment has a small kitchen with frigobar, cooktop, coffe machinee etc. The room is spacious with a nice balcony (not individual) and it has a writing desk. Ah! There is a side door that you can enter any time with privacy. There is a lovely park (photo below) nearby and train/bus station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    great staff, I felt very comfortable in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blinds let in too much light, so bring your own eye cushion!

    great staff, I felt very comfortable in this hotel. Newspaper provided at breakfast was a bonus. I also had tea facilities in my room, which was nice at the end of the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.8
    Practical but lacking
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection very poor/ not there and room accommodations did not feel very safe (least for a woman traveling alone)

    Next to US consulate and easy for visa purposes

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    6.3
    Simple sleep-over place for visa applicants, not more.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Internet was terrible. The WiFi was much slower than mobile Internet and got disconnected every half an hour. Then you have to fight another 10 minutes to reconnect. Essentially not usable. On checkin, you are asked to fill in some stupid form that asks standard questions that could be simply taken from the booking.com account. If they really need this form, it should be pre-filled and only handed in for verification and signature. The rooms are also pretty loud. Despite facing a noisy street, the windows insulate the noise well, but the walls are thin and one can hear people talking or taking shower in the neighboring apartment.

    The location was quite convenient for me, the room itself is also comfortable. For a short stay of 1-2 nights the place is OK, though a bit more expensive than it deserves.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    8.8
    Friendly, welcoming and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the infrastructure showing the 50-year age of the hotel

    The very pleasant and helpful host, the size of the room, the location and public transport connections, and last but not least the history of a hotel built post-WW2 for US Embassy staff and the CIA

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.2
    Ideal hotel for US visa applicant
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comparably a little far away from center.

    A cool location for US visa applicant where is only 50m to US consulate. This apartment hotel is clean and facilates all stuff needed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Excellent value accommodation in a good location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi-Fi was a bit temperamental and there was no TV remote in my room

    Situated in a lovely residential area in SW Berlin next to the US Embassy with good transit links to the city and easy access to university. Loved the loft apartments. Excellent value. Hilly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    The owners were very nice, welcoming and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were very nice, welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dishes was few and wife’s was weak

    View of the room was very good And the staff was friendly and kind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.3
    It was clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was very weak and bad

    It was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    Great experience!!!! Highly recommend this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Teacup was dirty

    Staff was so helpful!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was weak and couldn't connect

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    6.7
    Cheap, good location near to Free University
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unstable WiFi, lobby opened only for breakfast

    Cheap, good location near to Free University

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    I like this apartment hotel and the people there.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Highly recommended!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice clean hotel / super friendly staff / Great Value for money / Convenient Location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Good if you need to be close to the uni.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good if you need to be close to the uni.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    5.8
    the red neon hotel sign shining in my window all night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the red neon hotel sign shining in my window all night

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.3
    The waitress is just marvellous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The waitress is just marvellous

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    7.1
    Mouldy bread.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mouldy bread. Sparse. Poor choice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.2
    Perfect place to stay when u need to go to the US Embassy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect place to stay when u need to go to the US Embassy. Very nice stuff, great comfort. I do recommend!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    7.9
    Near the metro station, retail shops nearby, possibility to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom is dated and useable but not super comfortable

    Near the metro station, retail shops nearby, possibility to cook in the kitchen included, nice area, not city like.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    8.8
    Great location for the conference I was attending.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The walls in the room were bright orange. Not my colour I'm afraid!

    Great location for the conference I was attending. Lady at the desk was also very good. Comfy bed.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    7.5
    The hotel was very well located for the destination we...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Very old building and very noisy. Must work on renovation.

    The hotel was very well located for the destination we traveled to. Very polite and nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    9.6
    This is a great place to stay when visiting Berlin.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is a great place to stay when visiting Berlin. Dahlem is a quiet suburb with good public transport connections to the center. The Free University is within walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    7.9
    The staff were very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The U-shaped mattress had certainly seen better days and needed replacing to be be honest. There was internet, but only if you held the laptop close to the back door of the flat. The WIFI router is on the second floor and I think they simply need to put in a signal booster on the other floors.

    The staff were very friendly. The studio is bright and airy, with quite a bit of space. The flat was clean and was also cleaned every day. The windows are very good so there is no noise despite the road outside. The breakfast was simple but good, i.e. good juices and coffee etc.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    7.5
    Very close to USA embassy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to the street and car noises. I did not take shower, but if you plan so, better to take your shower curtain with you :)

    Very close to USA embassy. Very friendly lady at the reception. Spacious room. Very good for people who want to stay a week or longer in Berlin.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    9.2
    A nice tranquil place with spacious rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A nice tranquil place with spacious rooms. Perfect location for those visiting the consulate nearby. Very friendly hostess is always ready to help everyone.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    8.5
    good room, people, brekfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Terrible wifi. Only cold get a connection in my room when I went near the entrance and this only last 30min before you are loged out and have to log back in again. The cable internet in the room works well.

    good room, people, brekfast

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.8
    The staffs are very friendly and willing to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The signal of wifi was poor.

    The staffs are very friendly and willing to help. The metro station and supermarket are in walking distance around 2-3 minutes.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    8.3
    next door to US embassy, easy to drive to and locate, free...
    • Family with older children

    next door to US embassy, easy to drive to and locate, free parking on site, good size apartment, welcoming staff. U Bahn 5 mins walk and 20 minutes to berlin centre (old west - Ka De Ve, Europa Centre etc)

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    9.6
    Warm welcoming lady on reception very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Warm welcoming lady on reception very helpful. Appartment we had was a good size and clean. Excellent location for the U.S Embassy. Free parking which is always a bonus in Berlin.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    7.5
    The location to the American Embassy for visa interview.
    • Family with young children

    From the facilities, I would think it is too expensive.

    The location to the American Embassy for visa interview. Just next doors! The staff is very nice.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    8.3
    Staff friendly, location perfect for our purpose, convenient...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    A bit pricey for location, breakfast could be better - it was OK.

    Staff friendly, location perfect for our purpose, convenient to U-bahn and central Berlin

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    10
    The lady at the front desk was very polite and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The lady at the front desk was very polite and friendly. I appreciated her help and kindness.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    9.2
    Super staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Internet somewhat week .

    Super staff . Everything is ok there . Advising , helping and caring for every detail . Comfortable place for a stay .

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    8.3
    The staff are very nice, also they serve decent breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    very poor wi-fi

    The staff are very nice, also they serve decent breakfast. The beds are very comfortable!

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    9.2
    Extremely friendly personell, value for money very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Extremely friendly personell, value for money very good.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    8.3
    Very nice and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice and helpful staff...

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly owners
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly owners

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    9.6
    The nearness to the USA embassy, very frendly und helpful...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed was a little bit uncomfortable

    The nearness to the USA embassy, very frendly und helpful staff, cleaness.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: