Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel & Apartments Zarenhof Berlin Prenzlauer Berg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schönhauser Allee 140, 10437 Berlin, Germany

Review score

Based on 703 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed at comfort room. It was totally different what I saw in the booking.com. Different carpet color, no sofa, windows, etc. Hotel staff just told me they have two types of the comfort room(the picture one and mine). I wonder what is standard to assign the rooms because mine was not even close to the picture one. Should consider of that.

    Breakfast, location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location with good transport links.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At times the door to shared courtyard area with direct street access was left open-anyone could have accessed the building from street.

    Great location with good transport links. Lovely restaurants & coffee shops close by.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    3.3
    I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Stay away from this con.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel has 4 rooms in another building across the courtyard. However, this building is a really old, residential-type building where only the rooms themselves are refurbished at the hotel's standards: otherwise you get no elevator while all 4 rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floors, a shabby staircase with multiple holes in the walls (!), close-to-impossible Wi-Fi connection, inexistant soundproofing, dubious neighbours who don't care if they are loud after 1am, etc. This side-building would be a hurdle to even get a 1-star rating for any hotel. The scandal here is that they book these rooms AT THE SAME PRICE than the other rooms in the regular, comfy building where 90% of the hotel guests are staying. That is a rip-off, bordering on theft. Then, the staff at the reception seemed bothered when I asked if I could get help with my luggage in the staircase at check-out, and made excuses not to. You get the gist. All in all, a very disappointing, unpleasant stay and the bitter feeling to have been conned.

    The breakfast is good, the reception is 24/7.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Very nice place to stay, close to subway, walking distance to cultural center,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were working on the exterior, lots of noise starting at 9 am , scaffolding everywhere, we were not told in advance that this was going to be happening during our stay, took some of the charm away.

    Close to everything, great locations, nice old buildings, great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.3
    The room I received was spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture and carpeting is somewhat dated and warn out. Furthermore for the kind of summer stay I was missing air conditioning (getting an under-powered fan instead).

    The room I received was spacious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Painting work going on but no inconvenience to us.

    Take the breakfast as it was excellent for starting off the day and the staff made it easy to manage Tram/bus and rail all reachable within minutes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All the rest.... super small room, old funiture, bed way too soft, breakfast for 24 Euros way too expensive. 5 star price for 3 star experience...

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Loved my staying there, although I stayed for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I haven’t noticed anything that bothered me!

    The apartments are good, and I love the pictures of the zar and family in the rooms and hallways. You feel a bit judged but it’s very particular and i love it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Good value, more of a 3 star, would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning, berlin was 33 defrees C so the room was extremely hot and stuffy even with the windows open.

    Location, size of room and the courtyard setting

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Well located on Schönhauser Allee and very quiet rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Entrance to the yard from the street does not look very inviting. I did not want breakfast but I was also never asked. The reception at the front is quite small so when lots of guests are waiting you are stood on the street.

    Spacious rooms for business travelers on the top floor. Rooms are located in the second backyard where it is very quiet. Everything necessary in a business room at a competitive price. Wifi was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to move room at 01.30 on the first night due to very noisy people on floor above - offered apology from night staff - moved back to room next morning and had good sleep rest of holiday. No compensation of any form offered.

    Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.0
    Mediocre stay in worn down hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is run worn out. Urgently needs investment and renovation. Interior is old, beds give you back pain, shower doesn't really work, floor is making noise with every step you do. Staff tried their best with the little they had available. Don't pay for the breakfast, it's not worth your money. Paid parking is 100m away.

    Location is good, middle of Berlin with easy access to public transport

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.3
    Great, spacious room
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky floorboards, needing to put in codes for two doors. Good security just needing to remember was a pain.

    Very large property with an equally large bathroom. Perfect location for where I needed to be. Right by train station and good options for food on your door stop. Also a 3 minute walk to a supermarket (Rewe).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    The location is close to City Centre so it is easy for us to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    The location is close to City Centre so it is easy for us to have access to many sightseeing places. And welcome ticket is good for us to use for sightseeing spots.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    Ideal location for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were slightly narrow but comfortable enough.

    Very central location, very helpful staff at reception . Thank you Marina!!! The breakfast was good value, nice presentation and everything very fresh.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.4
    Value, but you get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had gotten confirmation early check-in after a long flight ahead of the trip. Yet, room wasn't ready and staff did not seem to care. Had to take meetings w/o chance to clean up. Rooms felt a bit unclean. Bathroom smelled like rotten eggs.

    Good location. Value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.7
    The location of the aparment house is very good, but you should ask for a room on the shown side.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My apartment was on the groundfloor on the northside fairly near to the opposite housewall. No chance to see the sun. Not the view like they have shown on the pictures on the other side of the courtyard. It was told they have no other rooms free only this leftover. OK, but then they should inform you in advance about this. As an apartment the facilities of the small kitchen were fairly poor (two small cups, two plates, three glasses).

    The location of the apartment house. Very good public transport connection to all locations of interest in the town. The streets in the neighbourhood are full of nice restaurants, café's, pubs. But the apartment house is quite in an inner courtyard. Good cleaning service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Lovely room in an excellent location. Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing!

    I booked this for a friend of mine and she loved it. The hotel upgraded her room which was a nice surprise. The room was lovely with a spacious balcony overlooking the quiet courtyard. It had a microwave, cooker, kettle and fridge. The staff were helpful and friendly. Highly recommendable hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.8
    Great location, but lack of very basic facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No fridge or kettle made the stay very difficult for us. You don't realise how essential these things are when you're staying in a strange city for a couple of days until you have to make do without them. For the price we paid, I would expect at least to be able to make tea & coffee in our own room. And the €2 bottles of water on the side weren't chilled, so of course we didn't have any of those.

    Excellent location, helpful staff and a very clean room with a good shower

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Brilliant location to investigate the city from with easy access to transport and eating out options
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was OK for four people, but a separate bedroom would have been great and it was a bit hot at night.

    Breakfast was fantastic Courtyard aspect made it quiet and gave a nice place to sit and enjoy the warm temperature

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.0
    Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like having to walk past a large number of bins to reach the hotel courtyard.

    It was really quiet considering how close it is to a very busy street and overground railway!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    4.2
    Only use as last resort, not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Expensive for a bad experience. This is an old property and damaged, inside and out. Staff not well trained, no-one smiled. Man on reception was unhelpful and had trouble to understand our needs. We had to arrange for various things to be organised in our room, due to the cleaner not managing to prepare it to an acceptable standard e.g. bin not emptied in kitchen, microwave dirty, coffee machine had burnt coffee on warming plate, kitchen utensils/pots/pans had to be ordered, they were dirty, food still on them. The staff that bought them to our room obviously did not notice/care, as the tray it came on was dirty and broken. The 2nd bed was a sofa bed, the undercover did not reach the sides of the bed. After asking for a new cover that fitted, we got a none usable underprotector. That was due to the staff not understanding after 4 times explaining what we needed. Cobwebs in rooms, kitchen floor extremely dirty. Access to right wing on building only reachable by entering on the left side, making a long walk out of your way. Photos posted showing our welcome in the room. Until now the worst place we have stayed for comfort and value for money.

    Location to public transport very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    great quiet location in busy area. Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Garbage bins at entrance as soon as one came in, wasn't a welcoming sight.

    Up in the attic, so no views but bed and bathroom were great. Breakfast was good and varied.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    6.3
    Rocking and rolling in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    apartment far too small- a hotel room really...needs to be bigger (and have a table to sit at, better cooking facilities ) if billed as an apartment...

    excellent location-my favourite part of town

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.9
    A clean win
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Pillow not very comfortable. Out-of-date décor. I found Romanov's pictures kinda scary.

    Very clean, silent, spacious room and bathroom, good price, trendy stores and restaurants nearby, next to U-train station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.9
    Very convenient location, two minutes from metro (U-Bahn) and metro, yet 100% silent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms will soon need a bit of refreshing (paint). But they're still definitely okay.

    Location is great in terms of ease of access by public transport, yet it offers incredible calm/silence.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.2
    Good, value for money accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very close to Eberswald station/tram and easy to get to. The hotel is old-fashioned (needs a refurb) but it's clean and the staff are helpful. Tucked away in a courtyard the rooms are quiet. It's not a fancy place but it is good value for money and very close to all the great bars and cafes of Prenzlauer Berg.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.9
    Basic but comfortable in a great area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen facilities small and basic. Mattress seemed quite thin. Expected appartment to be bigger. Only a basic shower curtain causing water to leak on to floor. The first outer court yard had massive bins that you had to walk between. This outdoor area could be a lot cleaner and tidier. Would be nearly impossible to make a meal in the tiny area. Suitable for a basic breakfast only.

    Location. Very quiet. Great heating. Good pillows. Guy at reception was very helpful. Great mirrors in the small bathroom. Terrace would be good to have a coffee on but far too cold in April 2017

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    8.8
    The shower was great, hot and abundant water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The shower was great, hot and abundant water. The room was comfortable and perfectly clean. One of the members of staff, (the receptionist) was very helpful and kind, he helped us print the flying tickets.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    7.5
    breakfast was great (even for 12 euros)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was great (even for 12 euros) room was clean and well equiped you leave the premises and the subway is literally in front of you good restaurants around

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.2
    Location was superb, its was very quiet even in this part of...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately hotel doesn't have parking as advertised. We were sent to public garage and needed to walk ½ km back. Wifi quality was really bad, not working almost all the time.

    Location was superb, its was very quiet even in this part of Berlin. Also its right next to subway station.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    6.7
    Too poor to be a Real hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This apartment hotel plays with Russian czars history. But nothing inside tells us about the czar family except very simple pictures in corridors and red carpets everywhere. It should be more interesting furniture in the rooms may be.. But each step inside the building tells us that we are not in the thematic hotel and this is just apartments. TOO simple to be CZARenkoff ((

    Good location right on the border of Mitte district. Very good connection to the different parts of the city. Rather silent place inside the block. Not exceptional but good breakfast. Many of personnel speak Russian additionally to English and German.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    9.6
    Top place in Berlin
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If I had to identify any fault at all, it is the "old" style energy efficiency lamps, which take about 3-4 seconds to light up properly. There is IMO nothing at all to complain about...

    The hotel is literally round the corner from the M10 tram stop and the Ubahn. the location is perfect. The accomodation itself is set in the typical Berlin "Hof", the whole place is very clean and no traffic noise at all. The room was great, my partner was really pleased too. We had (our own) breakfast on the balcony. Kettle, cups, saucers, plates and cutlery are provided, as is a hob. We hired bicycles for the day (2€ cheaper than anywhere else we saw in Berlin), they were also in good condition. All in all, an excellent place. We have found "home" in Berlin and will definitely use Zarenhof again. The cafe's and restaurants in Kastanienallee are all excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.6
    Great friendly hotel in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms a bit on the small side, no lobby, bar to sit at.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful, rooms very clean and comfortable. Great location but quiet courtyard facing rooms. Good value breakfast too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    location and service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location and service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dusty

    Quiet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok except the pathway to the hotel was a bit confusing to find

    Very clean inside and great great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable room, very clean, an interesting building...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable room, very clean, an interesting building with a lot of history.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds were narrow

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Very comfortable beds, friendly staff, excellent location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable beds, friendly staff, excellent location, good price, tasty waits, clean room,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    Great area:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great area:)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    6.3
    Thin walls.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin walls. You can hear the neighbours.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.3
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel staff are willing to help, friendly and always smile.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice room with balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room with balcony

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    perfect location in Prenzlauer Berg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The smell in the room wasn´t very pleasant.

    the location is PERFECT! You can rent bikes at the Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful place close to the centre of Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lighting was a bit week. Not so easy to read. There should be a table by the sofa.

    One of the best hotel breakfasts you can get!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was fantastic, pleasant staff, quiet hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Furniture is not very new

    Breakfast was fantastic, pleasant staff, quiet hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    8.8
    Good place to explore vibrant Prenzlauerberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get on to wifi but didn't need to due to roaming.

    Fairly simple but clean and warm room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.8
    Unexpectedly Russian
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely basic cooking facilities

    Comfortable hotel incentral location with friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Berlinale trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Perfect location, quiet, closest to station U2

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    5.8
    Irish traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom

    Breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    8.3
    Great location, good price, a little dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated

    Location - opposite tube station Friendly staff Large spacious room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    7.9
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quick and easy booking process and great value for money! Comfy, warm and clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.6
    great location, comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great location, comfortable rooms

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    6.7
    It is needed to have better description of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the room, Outdated furniture.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    9.6
    To be honest everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of something

    To be honest everything

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    7.5
    Bedding (sheets) felt plastic and therefore uncomfortabely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding (sheets) felt plastic and therefore uncomfortabely warm.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    2.5
    Good spot in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and space in the apartment

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The light at the beds was not good - You have to buy new

    The Location and the nice yard

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location, right by the U-Bahn and a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, right by the U-Bahn and a great neighborhood. Room was basic but nice and very clean. Nice balcony, lots of windows.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    7.1
    On arrival at the hotel (1700 Monday) the door was locked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On arrival at the hotel (1700 Monday) the door was locked with a sign saying "Back soon". We rang the bell to no avail and twenty minutes later the receptionist arrived. There was no apology whatsoever! Apparently she was on her own and had to deal with something. We wanted to park our car in the garage - online the price was €10 per night. At reception it was €15.We were told by the receptionist that it was nothing to do with her and we should speak to the manager - he wasn't there! We were given a remote control for the garage and verbal instructions on how to open the garage door. We were told that the instructions were also written on the card with the remote control, should we forget. The remote control did not open the garage door! On the instruction card it stated - turn the key to the right ... there was no key. I walked back to the hotel and asked for the key. Apparently there was supposed to be one on the remote control key ring - which there wasn't, so a key was taken from another key ring and instruction card with no remote control! Total chaos and again no apology. After about 25 minutes we managed to park the car. Had all worked according to plan it would have taken 10 at the most. Had there been an apology for the inconvenience, we would have been less annoyed by the occurrence. Well, perhaps the receptionist was earning minimal wage, or working part time as a student - still no excuse for a hotel of this category. We have travelled extensively internationally and been treated better in third world countries! Then again, one has to say, this is Berlin - take it or leave it.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    9.6
    Easy to get to place as train station right outside hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The apartment was next too a privately owned apartment and we were woken up by the man next door playing the piano for over four hours. To be fair he was trying to compose a song I think and didn't start playing till 9:30 am which shouldn't of been a problem except we'd been up since 4.00am travelling and wanted to sleep in. Didn't complaint to reception but no need as next two mornings no piano noise or anything. Would stay hear again despite this . Ours was a two bedroom apartment so other apartments may not be adjacent to other private apartments. Whole area and building clean and nice don't be put off as good choice. Didn't have breakfast as felt it was too expensive for four of us.

    Easy to get to place as train station right outside hotel but apartments have no noise from trains or road because at the back through a nice courtyard area. Love very big rooms and high ceiling and lots of character. Would stay again . Good neighbourhood to stay in, lots of nice cafes and restaurants to eat in and great atmosphere. Really impressed with Berlin as lovely city with feeling of lots of space. Easy to get around. J

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    10
    Great to have our own apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Would have been nice if a continental breakfast were included. Didn't need an extensive buffet (pricey here -- didn't try it so this is not a comment about quality or value).

    Great to have our own apartment. Location was right across from public transportation.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    8.3
    Spotless rooms, friendly manager who helped me on several...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Couldn't even make a tea in the room(no tea bags, sugar,...). Room close to the elevator resulting in a lot of noise during the night.

    Spotless rooms, friendly manager who helped me on several occasions with directions, fantastic breakfast at a good price,...

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    7.5
    Central, near metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    When mistake made not very flexible in the reception regarding late check-out time.Information folder in the room incorrect regarding this topic ! Noisy when housekeeping and giving messages in the corridors.

    Central, near metro. Rooms ok standard.

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    8.3
    Very convenient for the Max Schmelling Halle, where I was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    None.

    Very convenient for the Max Schmelling Halle, where I was working. Very good local restaurants, and U station just across the road for transport around the city. Nice buffet breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    7.1
    V clean, comfortable, spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had booked double however had 2 singles pushed together and made up seperately. Kettle and coffee machine however no tea or coffee in room as you would expect in a hotel.

    V clean, comfortable, spacious room. Nice pillows!

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    5.8
    I had chosen this hotel solely for its location, as it was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rather boring breakfast, poor quality pillows and mattresses, dated rooms, dark bathrooms.

    I had chosen this hotel solely for its location, as it was very close to where the event I attended took place.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    5.8
    The location is the best feature of this accomodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    This was my second stay and I was quite disappointed. During the check-in, I had to wait 10 min in the tiny reception area. Not a single greeting from the young receptionist who did not crack a single smile during the whole checkin process. When asked if I could have an invoice on my company name, she claimed that it was too late as she had already printed one on my name (out of laziness). I was given a WIFI access code that worked only for 2 device although the person claimed that it worked for 3 devices. As I had 4 devices, I requested an additional code and the receptionist refused! By the way, the fact that you need to constantly fill in the login details to use the WIFI was extremely annoying. The breakfast is overpriced (12 Euros) with reheated croissant. There are far better options around.

    The location is the best feature of this accomodation

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.2
    It was very clean and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Internet connection didn't identify the password at all for the last 2 days. The key worked also only first 2 days of our stay. Then we had to change it. It took time.

    It was very clean and quiet. The location is wonderful. Just across the U-station.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    8.8
    - kitchen in room
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    - paid parking in nearby streets

    - kitchen in room - great location- close to vibrant street covered by great bistros, restaurants and pop-up shops - just across subway station - quite and chillin atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    7.9
    Real character property, but converted to a good standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Easily missed - I walked straight past it at first, but once I'd found it wondered how.

    Real character property, but converted to a good standard. Room was amazing value for the price I paid. If only there were such places in other capital cities.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    5.0
    Location is fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was a little small, and not particularly clean. I have to ask for a dustpan and brush so I could clean the balcony before I could sit on it

    Location is fantastic

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    5.4
    Imperial association with the hotel
    • Solo traveller

    Non-imperial treatment by the receptionist - due to their "dynamic financing" and quoting double the room price available on www, I certainly would not come back here. Educate your staff in basic English - "sheet" has different sound and meaning to its "i" brother

    Imperial association with the hotel

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.2
    Very comfortable large double room with a sofa set, study...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very comfortable large double room with a sofa set, study table, wardrobe, mini-fridge and a small kitchenette with coffee maker and microwave oven, etc. Helpful reception personnel. We reached much before the check-in time and they arranged to keep our luggage in a store room. Hotel is very close to tram/bus stops and restaurants.

There are also 47 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: