Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Apparthotel Steiger Bad Schandau This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Elbstr. 6, 01814 Bad Schandau, Germany

#6 of 16 hotels in Bad Schandau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 779 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in a charming town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was great - comfortable room, all amenities, swimming pool, perfect location, helpful staff. Not much English, but it can be said about most of this town. Breakfast was very good, too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Good location. Appartement okay, clean but nothing fancy. Okay for the purposes required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit of oldfashioned/mixed and kind of overloaded interior design of appartement. Nothing really fancy. Breakfast okay, but nothing really special. Shower in the bathtube without showercurtain nor screen, flooding the bathroom was programmed.

    Good location, in the center of the town. Okay for the purpose required.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, spacious and clean room equipped with all...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bunk Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception open only until 6pm, on Sunday we could not leave our luggage at the hotel until later than 2 pm

    Great location, spacious and clean room equipped with all the necessities. Pets are welcome

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Very easy to find. Located in the center. Great breakfast included. Highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment for up to 5 People
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At times the water temperature was strange. Either hot or very hot.

    Very easy to find. Located in the center. Great breakfast included. Highly recommend it. Clean and Spacious rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Great family weekend on the Elb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Bunk Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The flat was very cosy and well equipped for 6 people. We were able to prepare and have dinner every night. The staff was fluent in english and very helpful. Breakfast was amazing. We had a very nice stay with our 2 kids (4 and 6yo) and their grandparents in Bad Schandau.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Well located, A newer facility, and nice people. Worthwhile staying there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bathtub with a hand-held shower but no shower enclosure so you had to sit on a stool if you want to take a shower and hold the shower head above you. It was pretty inconvenient and messy. The water went everywhere. We would have much preferred a real shower.

    Our room had a lovely little balcony and a nice view. Everything was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Excellent. During this vacation we stayed in four hotels. This one was the best of them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room with Bunk bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    separate parking fee, breakfast - poor coffee quality, in the last morning of our stay there was some drilling performed on the external wall of our sleeping-room and we weren't excused about it (neither beforehand, nor after that)

    Here's what I liked: large rooms, handy kitchen falicities, large bathroom, quietness, swimming-pool, balconies, breakfast - delicious bakery, esp. dark-, corn-rolls, fast lift and automated doors (all of them), very friendly presonnel, Gästekarte - Bad Schandau; looking forward to go back there again some day and going to recommend it to my friends.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    We had one appartment and one standard room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Slow and sometimes non-working WiFi.

    We had one appartment and one standard room. The appartment was well equipped and very suitable for gathering the whole family, although 2 of us slept in the standard room. The bathrooms (with shower, no bathtub) are large and convenient. The pool was very appreciated by the kids.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Lovely spot i
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment for up to 4 People
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was great

    Spacious, immaculate, extremely professional and helpful staff. Our train was delayed and the desk clerk arranged for me to receive my key after hours. He was very patient and gracious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Friendly and competent staff, great facilities, good breakfast, underground parking! :)!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very spacious, we basically had a small apartment for the price of a hotel room. Very good breakfast and super friendly staff. All very clean and the bed was perfectly comfortable. We'd definitely go there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice and comfy but not four star standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment for up to 5 People
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dissapointed for four star. No tea or coffee. 1 dishwasher tablet for two days. Breakfast offerings not always restocked. Better to be down early if you want a choice.

    Lovely big apartment. Beds comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stay in a nice spa town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Me and my boyfriend's parents from England stayed for only one night but our stay couldn't have been better. We were warmly welcomed by the Czech receptionist who checked us in and provided all the information about the hotel, breakfast and things to do around. Room was very spacious and bed so comfy :) We had a great dinner at Elbflorenz restaurant, which I can highly recommend as well. Overall perfect stay ;)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    We recommend :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really large and spacious appartment! It would be possible to live there for whole life even with kids and everyone would have enough space for himself :-) Hotel is near the city centre. 3 minutes walk to riverbank, some 7 minutes walk to Toskana Therme.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    8.8
    Very nice and convenient place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bunk Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hairdryer seemed not working at times.

    The breakfast is good. The room is big and clean. It is not far from the riverside where there are bus stops and ferry.(a few minutes walk). We took the bus 252 from the Bad Schandau train station to the bus stop Bad Schandau Elbkai(as advised by Information counter at the station). As the bus reached our stop, we did not know which direction to find the hotel, the bus driver was kind enough to use his google map in his phone to direct us to the hotel. We took the 252 bus again the next day to go to the starting point of hiking trails in the National Park. Again the following day, we took a sightseeing bus which go to Bastei Bridge and Konigstein Castle. The sightseeing bus stops at the riverside bus stops. So I think it is very convenient to stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.3
    Lovely place & area,lovely helpful receptionist & breakfast ladies,far too expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Large Family Room with Bunk bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was too high! This is the only factor that would stop me and my family from returning again. Yes it is nice, but I can get more from my money elsewhere, a lot more!! The charge for parking, surely this and the local city tax, should be included in the expensive price. Not extras for the customer. The lack of a availability of meals and snacks after breakfast. Local eateries seem to shut when your hungry and not eating at the times the locals do. A local kebab shop shuts at approximately 8pm. A local pizza type restaurant ,cafe am stadtpark , who had two members of staff, a blonde girl and a very very rude dark haired man. Tuesday 23 August 16. Who wanted no more customers and who were rudely making this clear by shutting off seating area and ignoring us. Also speaking very rudely to us because we could not read the German blackboard that obviously said area is closed and do not sit here as the staff want to go home. He banged the blackboard and shouted without looking at us. Both of them leaving us stood there embarrassed B's nit offering us another table or even the menu.This was at approximately 9pm would avoid this rude place.

    Location, cleanliness, the small pool, breakfast had a great variety. The lovely brunette receptionist who worked very hard and was very helpful and kind. She met us as we parked on arrival, she was at the car park before our car, then back up to reception beating the lift. She was outside offering us drinks. A very valuable member of staff and just what tired customers want on arrival. She was excellent!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    6.7
    Not good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Bunk Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was fine but not good value for money for us. Our room was not nearly as attractive as the photographs implied (and that persuaded us to pay more than we normally would) and did not have the facilities we were expecting. In particular the bedroom was very small and stuffy with only a tiny window.

    Hotel can provide packed lunches on request.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Greate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Bunk Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Thank you. I will recommend you to other friends going to the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment for up to 5 People
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff. Few minutes walk to some supermarket, restaurants, river. We were 5 adults, who all enjoyed their short stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Nice accommodations and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice accommodations and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Everything was really great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment for up to 4 People
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was really great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic breakfast, freindly personnel, very nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra payment for parking.

    Fantastic breakfast, freindly personnel, very nice room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not possible to check in late evening.

    We had a huge apartment that was really comfy. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment for up to 5 People
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Absence of a microwave in the room.

    Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    The wifi doesn't work in our room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi doesn't work in our room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room with Bunk bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pleasant hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    Hot dishes at breakfast available only for early birds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot dishes at breakfast available only for early birds

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Great for hiking home base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Bunk Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wireless very poor in room 303.

    Everything. Good for families and close to center of town; 5min walk.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    6.7
    The room was spacious and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You could here when someone was using the stairs outside.

    The room was spacious and very clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff gave us upgrade to apartment rather than hotel room. It was huge! Breakfast options were extensive.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    9.6
    A relaxing family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room with Bunk Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent breakfast, comfortable rooms, friendly staff, beatiful location, a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    9.2
    Personel was extremly kind and helpfull, breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Price was quite high comparing to other hotels

    Personel was extremly kind and helpfull, breakfast was perfect, our apartment was very clean and spacious.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    10
    Very clean, very friendly staff, good facility, comfable bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very weak wifi in the room, heater took a while to heat up, heater in one room didn't seems to be working but it's not a problem because it's not very cold.

    Very clean, very friendly staff, good facility, comfable bed, great bathroom, fantastic breakfast, well-equipped kitchen, supermarket nearby.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    9.2
    We had booked a doubleroom but got a 2-bedroom apartment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to pay for the parking in the garage even though it was off-season and very quiet.

    We had booked a doubleroom but got a 2-bedroom apartment instead. It was great because we had our dog with us. There was even a bed for the dog in the apartment. It was very quiet and clean. The hotel has a very good location if you want to go hiking. The tourist info was right next door.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    7.1
    Centrally located in Bad Schandau so that you have plenty of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    So there were spider's web in the apartment... I did even see the spider. The WiFi was flaky. It seemed that it worked better when I was sitting at the table outside my apartment. In the main room, it did not work well at all.

    Centrally located in Bad Schandau so that you have plenty of options for your excursions. But since all I needed was a room and not an apartment, it was a tad expensive.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.2
    Modern apartment, nicely styled,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Swimming pool quite small, Quite a walk from the underground car park through the hotel to the room.

    Modern apartment, nicely styled, spacious. Close to city center and the river.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    9.2
    Apartment was very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had booked a room with a balcony but didn't get one. Staff tried to move us to a room with a balcony but none was available.

    Apartment was very spacious. Staff were very helpful, especially when our car wouldn't start.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.2
    Very good place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some problems with wifi access depending on the place in the hotel.

    Very good place. The apartment we booked was big enough but that one which we received was even bigger with two bedrooms and living room. We felt like at home. Fair breakfast for reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    8.8
    Big room with massive bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Big room with massive bathroom

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    10
    Clean and big appartmant with equipped kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean and big appartmant with equipped kitchen. Thanks to all! Martin

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    9.2
    The room is huge and really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The door is a little hard to open and the staffs are not available for most of the time.

    The room is huge and really comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    10
    Great apartman, great breakfasts, very kind stuff, felt like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great apartman, great breakfasts, very kind stuff, felt like home. Parking place in garages under the hotel. Excellent experience...!

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    9.2
    Clean and big rooms.
    • Couple

    Clean and big rooms. Good location. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    8.8
    Really large room, a nice town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bad wifi signal

    Really large room, a nice town.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    10
    Good environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good environment. Room is big and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    7.9
    Spacious room beyond expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spacious room beyond expectation. Not sure whether we were lucky or we received the standard type of room.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    7.9
    Everything was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great! Very close to the city center and the beautiful promenade on the river Elbe.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    The beverages in the hotel lobby are two expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The beverages in the hotel lobby are two expensive. It takes 11 Euro for 2 beers and 1 Fanta.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.6
    Friendly helpful staff and lovely spacious accommodation in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly helpful staff and lovely spacious accommodation in a great location.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    7.9
    Parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were given a room for disabled. No air conditioning. Room equipment and breakfast could be better.

    Parking. Location.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    Great breakfast, easy parking on site, friendly, helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great breakfast, easy parking on site, friendly, helpful staff. Good pool, which is considerably larger than the photos imply.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.9
    A well equipped comfortable apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor wifi in room

    A well equipped comfortable apartment

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    8.3
    We had a family apartment for four and had plenty of room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had a family apartment for four and had plenty of room. It was nice having a kitchenette. The breakfast was plentiful and very good.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    8.8
    Friendly place and plenty to do if you do a bit of research...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly place and plenty to do if you do a bit of research in the tourist information centre.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi

    Great location. Good facilities.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast was awesome, staff very friendly and professional-
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    overall it was clean but not every corner...

    Breakfast was awesome, staff very friendly and professional-

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    10
    Nice room , very good beds and comfort .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice room , very good beds and comfort . Garage underneed the accomodation .

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    10
    Very comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very comfortable room. Super breakfast and very helpful staff. They made us feel so welcome - we wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    8.8
    location, clean, very good wi fi signal,spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not a hotel, so no much personal help, just a front desk.

    location, clean, very good wi fi signal,spacious room.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    7.5
    Quiet green area, nice balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amenities weren't 4-star

    Quiet green area, nice balcony

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    7.1
    big size room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    too poor wifi signal

    big size room

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Browse Apparthotel Steiger Bad Schandau traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: