Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pension Unicat This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Karl Liebknecht Straße 26, 14482 Potsdam, Germany

#19 of 19 B&Bs and Inns in Potsdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 530 hotel reviews

6.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    5.6

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    6.5

  • Value for money

    6

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    6.7
    Decent value for money in good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Somewhat curt staff and limited interaction with them . I never saw them again after I picked up my keys. The room was nice and modern but could have been swept more often as it was gritty.

    Centrally located and nice set-up with plenty of shops to buy food in the vicinity.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    3.8
    In fact, just location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Not cleaned during a week. Mold in the shower. No toiletries - just rests of the hand soap. Bed uncomfortable - maybe worst I have seen. Staff ... well, we tried to leave two small rucksacks for half a day, this was refused (they say "busy, many people" - but we saw just empty restaurant and booking.com showed available rooms. Smoke from the yard is clearly felt in the corridors. They replied "no-show" for booking.com first, despite I had receipt about payment, then - "cancelled". I am very sure, this is to avoid negative opinion/evaluation. Good luck, I'd recommend to avoid this pension.

    In fact, just location...

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    Located in a quiet part of Potsdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cigarette smoke from restaurant coming in the room through the open windows late into the evening.

    Coffee machine in room and use of the semi-private kitchen. Host was cheerful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    It's a nice and pleasant stay...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Creaky floors and don't forget your toiletries...Hotel doesn't provide them..

    Comfort stay for a single person. Everything was clean and near to the Hbf and cost effective. Nice bakeries around the corner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Welcoming room close to sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room did not have air conditioning, a norm for Europe, so we left our window open. It was right above the restaurant and we could hear conversations and had some smoke drift in. The alley way also was smoky and it drifted into the hall but we did not notice it in our room. We were hoping for some area information from the proprietor but he had no time for that. We also did not realize that we were expected to pay in cash.

    Our room at Pension Unicat was a pretty with plenty of space and warm inviting décor. It looked as if it had some recent renovations. It was also sparkling clean. All the rooms are smoke free. You have to go into the restaurant next door to get the room key. The proprietor informed us that we had to pay in cash. That was a surprise as I did not see that on the advertisement for the room. Thankfully we had it. He gave us the keys and then waved us out as he was working the bar also. He spoke at least enough English for this transaction but we did not talk further to him. One key is for the alleyway that leads to the stairwell and the other is for your room. There is free street parking after 17:00 on the week days and after 12:00 on Saturday. Sunday was free all day. There are two bakeries within walking distance. We enjoyed fresh croissants for breakfast. There are some restaurants, including the one connected with the pension. We did not try them. Pension Unicat is near San Souci Palace and park. They are "must see" places. We only spent one night, but thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    It is value to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception was closed in the morning, however we managed to leave our key in nearby bakery.

    The room was very good for it's price, location is perfect (park, nice buildings, very quiet).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    A good place to stay, good location for travelling across Germany and into Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to fine a parking place and other guests talking loudly late at night in the corridor, I had to ask them to be quiet.

    Friendly staff, comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Overall price/quality relationtion is really good. Room is cozy. Location is perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Shower could be better. Water flow was just terrible. Also would be nice to have a microwave at least.

    There is no particular place to have breakfast, lunch or dinner. Expect for the Unicat Cafe across the street. The good thing is that there is a lot of bakeries and restaraunts around the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.0
    Located in a good position if you want to stay in Babelsberg...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I did not like the cleaning of the toilet, there wasn't a good smell. No windows or air filter in the toilet. Usually in a pension or hotel there is free shower gel and shampoo, but not here, just an already open hand soap. No breakfast at the Unicat restaurant. Payment only in cash

    Located in a good position if you want to stay in Babelsberg (but far away from Potsdam). Free wifi. The staff was good and able to speak in english.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.7
    Great location, but ask to see rooms before you get assigned the small one I was in
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Overall a great place, especially if you're staying for just one night. But.. 1) There is no parking provided with the Pension, but it is easy enough to find free parking just a few blocks away 2) The room I stayed in (if not all of them) are across the street from the restaurant part of the business inside a different building; I didn't mind but some people like staying in an "all in" place, and I did feel a little jealous when I walked past another Pension and saw people eating breakfast 3) The walls are very thin - I heard everything going on in the hallway and staircase, plus got to enjoy a neighbor singing in his shower, at 11pm :( 4) My room was super tiny, but was only a little cheaper (€10?) than all the other spacious rooms I saw when the cleaner was there. Since I am 195cm tall this is an issue for me. But to be honest, every last hotel on earth sticks you in their smallest room and I bet if I said the slightest thing the manager would have changed my room for me in a moment

    The location is terrific, very easy to get into Potsdam from it, plus there are so many places to eat or get a coffee, and a few bookstores. The manager is extremely involved with making sure his business runs correctly, and he is always approachable with any concerns you have.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    2.9
    The room are about x2-3 times overpriced.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was different from the one in the picture and was a lot worse, no cleaning (the bed was not made, the floor was sandy and dirty all the time, the dirty cups/plates were simply avoided by the maid and not washed for days!), no Internet in the room (needed to walk outside for that). I would say, it was about x3 times overpriced.

    Not far from the train station. The guys at the reception were nice.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.7
    Decent value for money, given the prices in Potsdam
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some of the staff was not that friendly :( Not everything in the room was functional.

    The location is good, it is located between the city center and the University (one train stop from each of those), and it takes only couple of minutes to reach the train station. It is located in a beautiful street. The restaurant is also good. Some of the staff is really friendly, and the owner is helpful and fast if needed. Given the prices in Potsdam, it is a decent value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.8
    The surroundings were ok, potsdam seems like a nice town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small, cramped, sheets missing, one of the rooms shared bathroom with other guests.

    The surroundings were ok, potsdam seems like a nice town with a lot of interesting history to explore.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    3.8
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, horrible beds, no wifi, unfriendly staff, building activities in the hotel.

    Good location to public transport

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit old type rooms but was ok and comfortable beds

    Everything was nearby restaurant, super market, bakery, train stop. Rooms big and clean .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Stayed only one night and were very satisfied. room too small for a longer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit small

    Nice clean room, good wifi, nice area with a lot of shops nearby

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Good bed and maybe breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV from the 60ies

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.2
    It was as good as the money I paid.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The flooring could be better.

    The room was clean. The wifi worked flawlessly. The owner/manager was helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.2
    far from the city centre, for accommodation that is, it is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    far from the city centre, for accommodation that is, it is very expensive

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.4
    no staff to solve your problem
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no staff to solve your problem

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    3.8
    Too much of a pain
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find and get access to room, would not visit again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    3.8
    Big room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty. Very weak water pressure in the shower. Unfriendly staff, availability only from 11am . Payment only cash.

    Big room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Sleeping in Potsdam
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was just a place to sleep on our tour up through Germany, the place was nice, clean and easy to find

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    3.3
    Near where I work
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dreadful smell, small place, noisy surroundings, no change of towels, and it is expensive. Not worth it at all!

    Near where I work

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    3.3
    Never going there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were untidy, bug traps in every corner. Everything smelled old. Beds were uncomfortable and noisy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    Unicat Pension - cash only....
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No suitable WiFi access in room. Cash payment only

    Quiet and peaceful place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    6.7
    I didn't like a toilet which was too small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like a toilet which was too small.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.5
    Ok to stay for a night or two
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are simple and small, but ok for a night or two

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.1
    Reasonably comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance way was shabby and dark.

    Separate lounge was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.3
    A great place to stay to discover Great history
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could improve a little on friendliness

    Excellent location, all mod cons and very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    5.8
    Parking, very small bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, very small bathroom

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    6.3
    It was good
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was very bad just that

    It was good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    7.5
    Quiet neighbourhood, nice restaurant, quite affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin walls and creaky floors, you always know what your neighbours doing

    Quiet neighbourhood, nice restaurant, quite affordable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    4.2
    The Wifi finally worked!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TV was old technology Too expensive for comfort Breakfast was not included Parking was complicated Service was complicated Uneven hot water in shower

    The Wifi finally worked! Glad it was only for a night... Looks better outside.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    10
    Great location plenty of places to eat At close to train and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds squeaked a lot but were comfortable. Minor negative.

    Great location plenty of places to eat At close to train and tram. Room tastefully decorated had everything we needed and room enough for 3. Great price.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    4.6
    Once we COMPLAINED we got a slightly better room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Terrible service Horrible, dark, dirty rokm to begin with. Not even in the hotel... Accross the road 100m away! No free parking

    Once we COMPLAINED we got a slightly better room... Close to the train station

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    4.6
    Location to train for Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room smelled disgusting, the free wifi was intermittent, the beds were uncomfortable and the bathroom light kept going off every 10 seconds even when you were on the toilet or in the shower.

    Location to train for Berlin.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    7.1
    Comfortable room with good facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi did not work and, despite telling the staff several times, nothing was done to fix it.

    Comfortable room with good facilities. The location (Babelsberg) is pretty, with restaurants and shops nearby.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    6.3
    close to S-Bahn, quiet neighborhood restaurant in the pension
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    You can not pay by card, lousy breakfast - a little vegetables!, problems with the shower in the bathroom

    close to S-Bahn, quiet neighborhood restaurant in the pension

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    5.0
    The room was decently furnished and warm.
    • Solo traveller

    There was no soap, nor shampoo in the bathroom. Even after asking the staff to fix this, nothing happened.

    The room was decently furnished and warm.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    6.7
    Aria nice and quite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Aria nice and quite... easy to go to the city ceter with the S-Bahn... was a nice stay

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    4.2
    Wifi didn't work
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi didn't work 12€ for 2 bottles of water

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    6.3
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small Bathroom

    Central location Near to the S-Bahn

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    7.5
    Quiet, good facilities, friendly staff, free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free Wifi did not work in our room. Had to cross the road to the restaurant.

    Quiet, good facilities, friendly staff, free parking.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Browse Pension Unicat traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: