Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Essentis Ecohotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Weiskopffstr. 16/17, Treptow-Köpenick, 12459 Berlin, Germany

#363 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 297 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Good one
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel lost our booking due to some technical reason (booking.com didn't send us any notification about that). The room we'd booked was occupied, but we were offered a very comfortable 'upgraded' room for the price of our booking.

    We've missed the breakfast, but hosts made us tasty coffee with toast and jam :) The terrace with a river-view is just perfect. Really great location for those who come to concerts at Kindl-Bühne Wuhlheide.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.9
    The hotel had a nice smell everywhere and the lobby was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was confusion when checking out. This trip was a present from my parents and they had asked to settle the bill from the UK prior to my arrival. They were informed that this had been completed, however when I checked out I was advised that this was not the case and I had to settle the bill. I am a student with limited finances however, luckily I had enough to cover the bill. It appeared that my parents had not been charged and later reimbursed me which was fine but put a bit of a damper on the experience.

    The hotel had a nice smell everywhere and the lobby was nicely decorated

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    3.3
    Extremely poor standard disguised as "eco-friendly blah blah blah"
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Standard room is painfully basic and feels like 2 star. The bed was smelly and water was staying in the sink, awful bathroom with automatic extremely loud ventilator. Also very loud old fridge. Oh and they turn off free wi-fi from midnight until 6 am. The whole experience is like staying in a hostel for a price of a 3 star hotel.

    Lobby and Restaurant with outdoor part look good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    Brilliant eco friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a bit far from centre, although there is a tram station right at its doorstep

    The hotel is quaint and the lake right in the backyard was a delightful surprise!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.9
    Bio/vegan/what ever style... - be prepared if you don't agree with that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    May sound peculiar but we wasn't really aware of the fact that this hotel was/seems to be 100 % bio/eco/vegan style when it came to what the breakfast had to offer... Some of it was good, some of it not quite ok ( like rice/soya/almond/oat youghurt/milk) but no regular milk products. Might have to do with the vegan style, but why do they serve eggs then...?!🤔 Our boys are into gym and fitness without funny powders and stuff, theerefore they more or less cried over the breakfast that was served. Especially since I've told them before that the breakfast had very high likes from other guest... Honestly , our family loves vegetables but this was a bit too much of that... Please be consistent about what kind of guests that should be the best to stay at your hotel in the future. BTW - the staff is very friendly and helpful anyway.

    Nice location at the riverside. Easy to get out to the autobahn out of Berlin towards Dresden. Clean and comfortable family room for a family w. two boys aged 16.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    2.5
    Internet did not work properly, I can't work.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet did not work properly, I can't work. The breakfast simply the poorest I have ever seen and the quality very poor too. The staff could barely speak in English. A big spider was waiting for me the night I arrived.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    4.6
    what you pay for is what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dark with one of the lights not working. Some of the plugs were not working either. One of the pillows was more like a couch pillow rather than a bed pillow. There was something like dry glue on the hanging walk decoration and the floor lamp shade. Room service knocked on our door at 8:45 to clean the room. There was no sign that the toilet water was coming from a well or recycling making us believe it was dirty, they only told us when we asked at check out. There was no-one at the front desk or waiting for us when we checked in at 11pm, they told me they would leave the room card in a safe which made me anxious travelling with 2 young kids arriving in the dark area. The area is way too quiet at night and there isn't anything around for food or drink, at least to my knowledge. They have woolen blankets in the closet! Who offers woolen blankets these days in hotels...thankfully it was warm enough not to use. There is no TV in the room or lounge and they shut down the Wi-Fi at 12. Room carpet and dark maroon walls need to be renovated I think. The internet photos on booking showed very different and more modern rooms than ours. Vegan restaurant only and vending machine has only health food but on the other hand beer is there :-)

    It was quiet and the tram passes right outside the hotel. It was also cheap and generally clean. The bathroom was clean, hot water was available at all times. Bravo for the water recycling for the toilet.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    7.9
    Nice alternative for mainstream hotels
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to boil your own eggs.. complex and too time consuming when travelling

    Nice breakfest. Rooms very basic but sufficient and ok comfort. Good vegan restaurant and free parking.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.6
    Truly special
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can say all my expectations were met. Everything was on the pricier side, especially food, but I suppose not any more than what's standard for organic food if this quality. I had a very lovely stay.

    Excellent location by the Spree. Breakfast paid for separately but very special. Obviously, the organic and vegan food and care for sustainability are big attractors and did not disappoint.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    3.8
    Nightmare in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've booking for 3 person with confirmation but the room was only for two!!! The room was dirty and cold and bath room no comment!

    Nothing to do with the sponsored picture

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.2
    the best choice if you don't need to be in the middle of the busy city life
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the beds would separate when one rolls in between

    Location at the Spree river bank, with tram stop right in front of the hotel and free parking. Bio hotel concept that must appeal to anyone who wants to live healthy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    8.8
    View to boats on the river with vegan dining and breakfast - family friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All staff were new... very friendly and all spoke English but why was everybody new?

    Loved the well implemented sustainable theme and the idyllic location on the banks of the river Spree near the Spree Wald. Fresh air in the green lungs of Berlin. The hotel is spacious and features a yoga room and other relaxation areas. The ambience is held in wood and durable and carefree materials have been used throughout. The vegan kitchen offers a large choice - Tacos were our favourite - at an ok price. Coffee machine for vegan choices of milk replacement products does a good job! The place was kept clean and in excellent condition.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At promptly midnight the WiFi switched off (this was mentioned beforehand, though, but we simply overlooked it). When explained the reason, we felt it fitted the hotel theme/style. :)

    Very spacious, fresh, new looking room, super clean and nice details such as a small collection of related (children's) books & magazines, fresh water carafe. Spacious bathroom. Good, large beds! Warm and friendly welcome by the girl at the reception desk. Employees all went out of their way to accommodate us, even cooked a surprise dinner upon request which was absolutely d-e-l-i-c-i-o-u-s! Also a good breakfast with plenty of options and great to see extra effort was made to prevent the use of plastics, packaging etc. Not to forget: terrace with magnificent view on the Spree! Oh, and not unimportant, free and easy parking!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    4.6
    The nearby riverside of the Spree
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot: this hotel does not deserve 4 stars, it is maximum 3! Vegan kitchen, which you really have to like, an ugly, not quite renovated building from GDR-times, the unpleasant environment and not very clean condition of everything were quite disappointing for me.

    The nearby riverside of the Spree

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    5.8
    Olny vegetarina breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Olny vegetarina breakfast. Really poor offer

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.1
    Outside area/river side
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple diner

    Outside area/river side

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Very eco oriantated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very eco oriantated. Good simple organic food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    bio Breakfast and books supplied by hotel are very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bio Breakfast and books supplied by hotel are very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    The ecofriendly philosophy and organic vegan food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ecofriendly philosophy and organic vegan food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    3.3
    It was warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell distance from town no staff to meet you and key safe code wrong to had to wait in -4 temp for staff

    It was warm

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    Staff is very-very friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is very-very friendly!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.8
    good cost and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the place of hotel is little far from city center

    cost is quite good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.6
    Very good
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very helpful and nice! The restaurant is lovely!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.9
    The staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were great. Thanks

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.3
    Everything was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is far away from center.

    Everything was fine. Parking is next to the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.8
    Relaxing places
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vegetarian meal

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    6.3
    Location requires car for reasoable mobility
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location requires car for reasoable mobility

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi until 00:00

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    8.8
    Loved the vegan and vegetarian food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Internet seemed to be turned off at midnight, but that is not necessarily bad.

    Loved the vegan and vegetarian food!! We were on group family vacation with non-vegan/vegetarians and they really enjoyed the food also. Rooms were very clean.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    7.9
    The hotel was in the perfect location to get to the airport...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The color of the rooms was a little jarring.

    The hotel was in the perfect location to get to the airport the next morning. The parking was free for the night!!

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    9.2
    Me and the missus had a wonderful time here, the hotel has a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One thing we did not like was the distance from the town center - the hotel is quite far from it, although this allowed us to explore the city better.

    Me and the missus had a wonderful time here, the hotel has a very friendly atmosphere to it and we felt we were treated like family rather than strangers. Clean and modern suite, professional staff and a terrific menu - my girlfriend is a vegan but has a peanut allergy, and the chef was happy to prepare breakfast tailored to her needs! I am a steak lover but the delicious veg-friendly food served here had me thinking about converting. Overall a great experience and will definitely aim for this hotel in the future!

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group

    No reception staff at night. But we found this out only when we arrived. We struggled to get in for 5 -10 minutes. After that it was easy going

    Good value for money

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    7.1
    The atmosphere is very nice, the river is relaxing and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I didn't like the smell of the moquette, it was breathtaking. You should find a solution

    The atmosphere is very nice, the river is relaxing and the food is very good

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.9
    It's on the Spree;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's on the Spree; and it felt like you were staying at a river resort hotel. The tram is right in front of the hotel to take you to the U-Bahn which connects you to Alexanderplatz.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    5.8
    The staff was lovely!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Even after two nights, I still couldn't feel comfortable in the room.

    The staff was lovely! They went out of their way to try to make me feel more comfortable in the unseasonable heat and humidity that had descended upon us all...

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    Lovely hotel with frontage on the river Spree.
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely hotel with frontage on the river Spree. The superb restaurant has river views and you can also have breakfast on tables right by the river. Very good vegan and vegetarian food.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    6.7
    Restaurant has a good menu for vegans.
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant has a good menu for vegans. The vegetarian breakfast was super but you pay extra for it 15 EUR. It schould be better inclused in the room price for hotel guests.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    9.6
    Atmosphere, very friendly young staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Internet

    Atmosphere, very friendly young staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    7.9
    Very nice food for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Internet was not working properly

    Very nice food for breakfast. Very good service. People there was very helpful and kind all the time

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    9.2
    Vegan breakfast was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No midnight reception.

    Vegan breakfast was great

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    9.6
    vegan/vegetarian food, organic and locally sourced :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi connection was a bit poor in our room

    vegan/vegetarian food, organic and locally sourced :) yoga, meditation and healing workshops

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    Nice personal, cozy accomodation, good price and yummy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice personal, cozy accomodation, good price and yummy breakfast,everything seems to be perfect :)

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    10
    Location, atmosphere, staff and general sustainable concept...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    All fine

    Location, atmosphere, staff and general sustainable concept of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    7.9
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff. Nice and quiet location. Public transportation to center of Berlin was very easy.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: