Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Arcade-Hostel

Kieler Str. 385, Stellingen, 22525 Hamburg, Germany

#161 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 960 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location wasn't great, although it had an S-Bahn kind of close. Sometimes, the smell in the bedroom was pretty bad.

    The staff was great. It was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is in the room (unlike the toilet) it is a plus but it is very prone to flooding) The location is somewhat distant from both S- and U-bahn stations, you need to walk for 15 mins or so - but the neighbourhood is fine.

    The buffet breakfast is rich and delicious. The self check-in (key box) works like a charm, we basically seen no staff except for the breakfast. Everything was very clean and the baby cot was really great, our baby enjoyed playing in it and looking at the pictures on the blanket. The value for money is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls/floors are a bit thin, around 10 PM on a Saturday night could hear a chorus of talking, plumbing, sex, TV... but nothing a few earplugs couldn't help.

    Convenient to have the shower with the room. Beds were comfortable. Very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with WC
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not elevator.

    Staff was very nice and helpful! Location was also nice, even though it was not near by centrum, but it was easy to get from there to centrum. There was also some stores near by hotel so it's good! Room was nice and homey.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit cold in the morning, but I do like warm, so it might be only for me.

    Clean place, daily service, good facilities, tasty candies on reception :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was cold and small (but ok if you just sleep over). I found the distance to the bathroom inconvenient (end of hallway).

    Breakfast was great (charged extra). Location was reachable by public transport and easy to find, neighborhood quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not find any super or mini markets in the area

    Cozy and pleasant. Cleaning was taken care of very regurally, even the shared wc. Very friendly and helpful staff. Bus stop just 150m from the hostel, buses connect you easily to the airport, downtown or the metro stations

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was fine. Nothing outstanding at the property. For the price I would have expected a bit more. I stayed at the Merkur two weeks prior to my stay and it was cheaper with more comfort. In the room my TV broke and window / blind were broken. Breakfast started too late on the weekend for me to make use of it. Not many restaurants near the property for eating out. Reception opens late on the weekend and complicated my check-out but staff were quick on getting computer going for check-out... But not without a smart comment...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    People smoked in the parking under the windows and in the entrance. I understand that no smoking rule is within hostel limits only, but stuff could have taken more care about that.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    There aren't many possibilities to get a nice meal in the neighbourhood.

    Perfect place for us to stay overnight on the way to/from Scandinavia. Close to motorway but still fairly quiet location. The staff was friendly and spoke very good English.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free breakfast would have been nice, however, there is a supermarket 3 minutes away.

    Great location: 10 minutes from the S-bahn and the Metro which link directly to the city centre. Small rooms but well furnished and with private shower and sink. The toilets are clean. What more could you ask from a hostel?

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location: far from main attractions and public transportation, the appearance of the facility were not appealing at all (pictures were deceiving).

    The room and bathroom are neat and clean, the beds are ok and the breakfast was good and reasonable price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with WC
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lots could have been better if you wanted to be picky, but it was fine as advertised, ie budget accommodation. A few more coat hangers wouldn't have gone amiss. Also the heating came on in my room in the middle of summer!

    Value for money in an expensive city as long as you're OK using a very efficient 24/7 public transport system to get to the central areas. We didn't try the breakfast - plenty of cheap options in town. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is rather far from S-bahn Stellingen. I would suggest to go by bus which is much closer to the hotel, to the city center but it is still take ~45 mins.

    The room is very basic but clean and large enough for our family with 4 people. The staffs are very kind and helpful. There is a very good Croatian Restaurant near by, also Rewe supermarket in a walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    shared toilet.The location is far from the city center but close to gas stations and supermarkets

    The room was very clean,and the beds were comfortable.There's a private parking to leave the motorcycle during the night

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with WC
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I got a room for myself, with my own bathroom. It was very small, but excellent, very clean and the bed was so comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, staff was pleasant and there was parking in the rear of the building.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The facility is reasonably good; the rooms are cosy and fulfill the criteria for having a good stay. It is within 15-min walking distance from the nearest S-Bahn station from where you can reach anywhere relatively fast. The staff are really helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn't separated from the rest of the room. No private toilet, the public one was down the corridor.

    Quiet green neighborhood​ with good connection to roads and S-Bahn.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with WC
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was nothing really good or really bed at this place. Everything cheap and simple. I couldn't sleep well there and the coffe wasn't teasty. So I wasn't fit for the day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with WC
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    These were better than basic and good value for money.

    Even though we arrived late. They had a drop box and programmed it so our phone number released the key. Sorry we didn't stay long enough to eat breakfast. But we find that a good breakfast is key as food can be expensive if you eat out all the time.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with WC
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower is only very hot or hot. The walls are too thin, you could hear the steps, voices and showers of neighbours.

    The staff was really nice Good value for Hamburg accommodation

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much to see or do in the local area. You have to go into the city centre.

    Room and shared toilet were clean. Walkable distance to s-bahn railway (about 15 mins walk). Supermarket nearby (about 5 mins walk).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little away from the centre. But if u have a car, no issues

    Good parking , wifi and very friendly reception (not at all normal in germany!!) More than a hostel, less than a hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Weak and unreliable wifi during our stay. Tiny rooms. No soap for guests. No change of towels during four days.

    Polite staff. Nice breakfast room. Convenient car parking. Better have a GPS for orientation to find the property. Well located with bus and S-Bahn connections.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with WC
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small, which was fine to us, as we just stayed for a short trip and were essentially only in the hostel to sleep.

    The hostel is located very close (walking distance of 30 min) to the stadium, where we visited a concert. Also the city centre is easy to reach via public transportation. The hostel is located in a quiet backyard and features very friendly and helpful staff. The room (two persons with included bathroom) was small, yet impeccably clean and well furnished. The value for money was in my opinion superb.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit of soap/shampoo in the room will make the towels more useful :)

    Excellent accommodation as a whole. Very restful beds in quite rooms. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean place for a few days. Very nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with WC
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great as always. Very recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front desk personnel is not so friendly.

    Though the bed is small but it is comfortable. The toilet is large and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with WC
    • Stayed 1 night

    No double beds, not soundproof rooms.

    Breakfast was good, enough parking spaces.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Place was very clean, inexpensive, friendly staff, easy to access and perfect location. Booked in and out within 2 mins.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    perfect stay and very clean, comfortable shared bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice breakfast - lots of things to choose!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with WC
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff were very friendly

    The environment is very nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comfy beds, thin walls

    Near to a station + supermarket

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Room is clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldnt walk to town, but public transport only 400m away.

    Nice and quiet being hidden from the street. Very popular which is always a good sign.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noise

    friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The minifridge did not work well.

    Clean and comfortable. Very good price/quality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is quiet but not inspiring.

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was compact, but came with a desk and was comfortable. The shared bathroom wasnt that big of a deal as it was clean. The staff were nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was as advertised. Happy with what we got

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with WC
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Superfriendly staff, good breakfast for the price! Free parking.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the check in is until 22:00. We still got our key from the key box when we arrive around 23:00. The bed is comfortable we had a good sleep!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Internet was slow in the late evening hours.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with WC
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi is not stabile

    the stuffs here are GREAT!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff is very friendly and the location is near from zoo and the bigest metal record store. we will back there soon!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with WC
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a little far from the city centre but it is easy to reach by public transport

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is no private toilet in the room and the door of the bathroom didn't work well and there is no outfall so after I had taken a shower it seemed like I had went back to Venice. And there was no people at the reception after 22.00! I couldn't even find a hairdryer.

    The staff are ok.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    •the ashtraye and zone for chain smokers and cancers just at the entry, for the 80% who don't consume cancerogens,... ;-( •far away from center.

    •ok parking, •simplicity, nice people for management and clean staff -thanks to all of them-

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was small and the shower hard to get into (for a normal person). The wall are rather thin.

    This is a nice little place but don't look for luxury. The breakfast room is nicely done up, and the breakfast is great! Wifi is working well, and the property is well looked after. But the rooms are small and basic.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No bad experiences.

    Very good location, close to mainline bus stops, S-Bahn also accessible in 10-15 minutes on foot. Good restaurants and shops in the surrounding. House in backyard, therefore very quiet. Looks neat and clean, bed is comfortable - actually above a hostel's niveau. Shower in every room. Helpful staff, fixing problems quickly.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    reception was not opened 7/24, since we arrived late we could not get our room :( bed was too small

    easy to go by public transport, value of money, very clean, personnel was helpful

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Couple

    We had to stay longer in Bed that we wanted and so after a few days Beds startet to get a bit uncomfortable.

    The whole Staff and the facilities were perfect, friendly and comptent. WIFI was perfectly working, no fuss with time expiring keys or limit of the devices. The Rooms (we seen :) ) are like small Hotel Rooms, so no Bunk-Beds ore so, just a classic Hotel with a great and quiet Atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Could not find any negatives

    Staff very welcoming and helpful Facilities were good for a hostel Very quite - almost felt at home!

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too noisy

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    we arrived ver late and the staff were very helpful ensuring we were able to check ourselves in

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Clean rooms with great beds!

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    a nice place, not in the centre but in a green district of HH

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There's nothing to say :) everything is all right with this place.

    Free parking, friendly stuff, close to center (just 6 stops by train).

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Modest breakfast.

    Direct bus to the airport.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi connection

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pillows are not of the best quality, can be improved.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was a bit basic

    Off street parking

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Browse Arcade-Hostel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: