Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Oranienburger Str. 52, Mitte, 10117 Berlin, Germany

#199 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2054 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was OK, there are bars close which could be noisy if you go to sleep early. But this was not an issue at all.

    Location is excellent with nice places to visit and to go for lunch/dinner pretty close. Room was also very good and excellent connection with tram and underground. Breakfast was also quite good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location of this property. Everything was in walking distance. Underground stop just round the corner and tram right outside.

    Lovely rooms. Great staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Basic but very comfortable rooms with great big window so very light. Friendly staff. Reasonably priced bike hire. Would definitely recommend for a city break to Berlin.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bottle of water in the room for 15 Euro extra is not really value for money

    The staff are so friendly and helpful, the bar area was shut whilst we were there but it’s never a problem as so much in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much amenities, should provide bedroom slippers, toothbrush and other amenities

    Location close to designer outlet mall and wembley stadium. nice bed. Friendly and cheerful receptionist.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a good view from southern rooms, due to nearby construction.

    Clean neat room. They had good quality bicycle. Location. Good kind staff. Good price. Safe box.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Feeling very uncomfortable and unfair to be asked to pay the deposit for the mini bar while checking in. The room service is inactive and negligent. The layout of the room is not convenient to the guests, and there is a big construction site right next to the hotel rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot. Air conditioning did not work (reported to front desk). Vent from bathroom of adjoining room connected to our room so noisy at times. Breakfast choice could have been better.

    Excellent location. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Convenient location in the walking distance from Museum Island, access to metro, tram & train just few minutes away. Pleasant staff and clean, nice rooms with huge windows which made them feel even more spacious. Great restaurants around for breakfast and dinner so be ready for the feast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was slippery, needed a shower curtain as water went on the floor easily. Room temperature changed from cool to warm during the night and room became too hot to sleep

    The room had most of what we needed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were too soft for my taste, bathtub I wouldn't prefer

    Location is awesome, room with full window, breakfast was delicious and the gentleman at the breakfast was very kind and professional

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was a bit disappointing. It was included in the price but I tried it once and never went again. there was zero variety - bread and some cold meats with juice. That's only a small complaint though, never really effected my stay at all.

    The convenient location. There was a Tram stop and an S Bahn station right outside. The Hotel itself was very modern and clean. The staff were nice and always with a smile. The room was a bit quirky with a floor to ceiling window and only a curtain separating the bed from the bathroom (Toilet was isolated though). The hotel itself was quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom and bathroom were divided for a thin curtain.

    Friendly, polite and helpful staff at the reception desk. Check-in and check-out were easy and quick. They upgraded my room at no extra charge! Complimentary water and apples in the room and also tea and coffee making facilities. The room was big enough, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Everything was very good except for the staff at the reception. One of the ladies was very disinterested and not so hospitable. Other than that the place was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is heated by aircondition. At night it seems like the bed was heated from underneath but I'm not sure.

    Huge window from ground to the ceiling. View was facing the street, the window is noise cancelling so it was perfect. Perfect location, everything in 10 minutes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom has an integrated shower, meaning if you shower, the water is all over the floor and your feet get wet every time you want to reuse it; but it's a minor issue.

    We had an atypically spacious room by the elevator; orientated into the courtyard, absolutely quiet. Big, clean, quiet, close to the city center, we were 100% satisfied.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I don't think I saw a single smile on staffs' faces except in the restaurant during breakfast. My room was on the first floor facing the street. Quite noisy even with soundproofing.

    Excellent location and modern rooms. Nice floor to ceiling window. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I arrived at 12 o'clock at night and was charged 60 euros by check in as guarantee for the mini bar. They gave them back by check out but it was the first time i was asked for something like that. Didn't make a good impression.

    Modern comfortable room with good view. Very clean hotel and great location, you can walk till the center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were very uncomfortable; the blackout curtains didn't cover the entire window so it is bright in the morning/ doesn't provide complete privacy

    Beds were comfy; good location for public transport; room was a good size

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast felt it was rationed. Staff seemed more interested in process than service.

    Great location. Perfect for excursions on foot or public transport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff at arrival was a little less friendly and helpfull (we arrived twenty minutes prior to check-in time, and where told in a blunt manner that we could not check-in yet, bye). At the actual check-in, conversation was brief. However, the lady that assisted us when we left was very friendly. Just maybe not a four star hotel? Tip: a ketlle and hairdryer in the room would be nice.

    Stayed here with my sister. Great location; enough restaurants and shops within walking distance (a great bakery for breakfast just across the street), the Hackescher Markt is a ten minute walk away, U-bahn Oranienburger Tor around the corner of the hotel, S-bahn Oranienburger Strasse at a 5 min walk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast - coffee was lousy and there were no fruit and a poor selection of cereals. When I asked for fruit or fruit salad as the morning before, she just answered; It is out, no more (at 8 o' clock in the morning). To make a capuccino for us took her forever. Younger woman with ponytail pretty unfriendly to me and to another older guest.

    great big room, clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What I did not like was the uninformed staff at the reception. When asked about the Berlin wall, they were clueless. Then they just printed out a sheet and gave to us.

    I liked the location of the hotel. There were some great restaurants close by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from room and noise from building site. Pillows were soft.

    Brill location. Very handy for most tourist locations. Near lots of restaurants and an amazing theatre (Friedrichstradt Palast). Good shower. Comfy bed. External blinds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location in city centre, lots within walking distance. Very comfortable room on the 6th floor, floor to ceiling windows, very light and airy. Simple but great value breakfast. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel starting to look a little tired, ongoing maintenance was being carried out during the day. An issue with the twin rooms we had ordered, they all turned out to be doubles - not suitable for six men!! I’m not sure if this is because hotel staff don’t read Booking.Com notes, or they are not visible to them. And while I’m talking about this site, when I book a hotel why do they constantly keep bombarding me with further e mails telling me of other offers - take me off the list, I’ve booked!!!!!!!!!

    Good location, decent English speaking staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at 14:30 and they said you have to wait until 15:00 to check in, and at 15:00 still not ready. We were waiting there and no one came to us saying the room was ready. Just let us waiting there! Even the room is already cleaned! And check out at 10:00.

    Room is comfort and clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At night it was hot in the room.

    Location was excellent, in the centre, you can go walking to the main interest places. Close to public transport - at the door tram stop, 50 metres from metro station, short walk to main station Berlin-Hauptbahnhof. Around the hotel a lot of shops, restaurants, very close to Friedrichstadt-Palast with great show! Very helpful staff - we got the accommodation already at 10 in the morning! The room was very clean and guiet, nicely designed. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    air con was a bit loud. also cant set the tv language to english (even to simply disable the german overlay, dont know though if the broadcast it hardcoded...) but these are minor things

    location is great, things around to see and alexanderplatz is nicely in walking distance. room size is great, clean, definitely worth the price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having an electric kettle in the room would be better.

    Good location, nicely decorated. The staff was attentive - they even got our rooms ready before noon! The room itself is nice with a good view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hard to sleep. Front room first floor lots of noise. Trams passing all night. In room Coffee / Tea would be nice. More pillows would help. Key cards had to be reprogrammed several times for lift and room, More English speaking channels on TV would be nice

    Bed was comfortable. Separate shower / toilet good, Staff nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were uncomfortable, no coffee/tea, no shower curtain so quite wet.

    Very clean, decent location near tram etc, right in food district. The cleaner seemed cheerful and friendly. Interesting room structure, only curtain separates bathroom and bedroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room card was broken. And it got 3 days to resolve the problem. Every morning and every evening we had 4-5 rounds to reception for saying that the key is not working... Again and again... And still, they could not solve the problem and they made us change the room. So we had to repack everything... The staff is unbelievably unprofessional. The night shift does not know german, she barely understands english. Which language did we supposed to talk? And the security is really poor, we stayed there at the new year's eve and the lobby was full with the hotel guests, because the staff were changing the key for NYE security? It was non-sense and even more insecure because they couldn't understand (interesting, though) if all these people were staying at the hotel or if they were someone else and... At the end, the staff was not even sorry for this key problem that happened to us and we didn't hear the word "sorry" for once. Really interesting...

    the location and the wide windows are good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    though I liked the breakfastI think it could improve a bit with more variety of food,maybe some bacon and egg?

    Confy bed,nicely decorated room with hughe window overlooking the street,you could even catch a glimpse of the fernsehetower.Nice and different solution with only a thin curtain around the bathroom area,it makes the room feel much bigger(the toilet has a door luckily)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got a top floor room witch was huge! Separate living room, separate room with great panoramic window and view over Berlin Mitte, separate beadroom and of course bathroom. We really enjoy our stay. Wide food selection for breakfast, good cofee. Be preapare to park on the street if your car is longer, they have automatic parking system and longer cars dont fit the system - in that case you will get parking permit to stay on the street. There is endless selection of restaurants around open till late. Train station 300m walking distance, nearest metro station < 50m.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature in the room was to high. There was a construction site outside so opening the windows was not possible.

    It was clean and the room was nicely decorated. Clean bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower/shampoo recipient was empty when we checked in, but we had our own toiletry anyways.

    The hotel is located very close to the center of the city. From Berlin Schönefeld airport I arrived to the hotel in 40 minutes using RE7 until Friedrichstraße station. The hotel It's clean and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. There was no shower curtain so bathroom floor got very wet and dangerously slippy. Hotel room over nightclub which had blaring music until 5am. Asked at reception at 11pm to move room and was just told they could do nothing about it and that it might get better around 2am.

    It was easy to get to the tourist attractions

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi broke down for a while. Made my way to reception in the middle of the night, they couldn't do anything - not ideal...

    Upgrade to Junior Suite in 7th floor - heavenly! - with great view and a lot of extra space. Loved it...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress and decor looked quite old, room was facing a busy road. No mirror to sit at (handy if you're getting ready in the morning)

    Location was excellent and room was a good size. Happy to have a bath and shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning didn’t work and the room was very stuffy (difficult to sleep). We asked for it to be checked and the lady at the reception desk said she would speak to a ‘colleague’. That evening we asked again and the receptionist had no note from the previous receptionist to say anything had been checked. She said the hotel was completely fully booked except a smoking room - we went to see it but I suffer from asthma and would not have been able to sleep in a smoky room. We gave up asking and had to resort to sleeping with the air con off and a window open. Not ideal! Will not return to the hotel or recommend to family and friends.

    Central enough hotel, good transport links.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too hot!! and even after turning the temperature in the room down it was still too hot. There are large opening windows but other rooms also have large opening windows looking directly into the room. So it is necessary to keep the curtains/blinds closed preventing the flow of air.

    The staff are friendly. The location is super. The price was good. Being able to leave our cases until our flight was brilliant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Soundproof could have been better.. One morning we've been woken up by a jackhammer on the outside, the other - because of drilling session in some other room (?!)

    Excellent location, few minutes till the nearest Metro station. Walking distance to most popular sights. The breakfast was OK, nothing fancy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel in Mitte, good location, connection to airport: U-bahn (60 m from hotel) + bus, 25 min by taxi(28-30€). Breakfast ok, also in the neighbourhood nice restaurants (vietnamese, middle-eastern, kebap, currywurst!) Not luxuryous but excellent for adults who like to explore the city and have a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot fault this hotel, we had a fabulous stay & the location was fantastic. If i had to make a complaint & i am being extremely picky, was that the pillows in the room were not great. I loved this hotel & would definitely go back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We was a little disappointed, because while booking we saw this nice room with a big window to the street. Instead we had a room to a not so nice backyard.

    Position, big rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was leaking water onto the floor. Staff come up right away and took care of issue. I was advised the shower was a new designee that was just re-done and it would need to be adjusted after I left. All in all it was not a big issue.

    The overall hotel was very nice. Staff all spoke English and answered all questions I had for the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast should have more variants and some articles run out pretty quickly.

    Quiet hotel and room was nice. Depending where the room is located the view is to the street (which is nice) or to the backyard (poor view, construction site). Possible to adjust room temperature and ventilation. Breakfast was good or less good, depending how many guests were in it at the same time. Good public transports (tram in front of the hotel and underground 100 m from the hotel). Food and drinks across the street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, absolutely nothing.

    I like everything: perfect location, friendly and helpful staff, comfort. This has been my second stay in this hotel and it was even better than previously, which had been great. The best hotel in Berlin. I have stayed also in other hotels in Berlin over the years but was usually disappointed with the accomodation or staff or both. I am not going to risk it and stay anywhere else when I go to Berlin in future.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road faced rooms may be noisy due to tram. Breakfast is a bit limited in choice.

    Well situated in Mitte near to Friedrichstrasse station and museum island. Clean. Comfort rooms. Large windows. Great value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ... but unfortunately, the lightproof curtain was not long enough to cover the whole window at night.

    The room was quiet and clean, the bed comfortable, the staff very friendly. The panoramic window in the room offers a nice view...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff not friendly but they also weren't very nice or happy to be there. There is no room service or even a restaurant or bar in the hotel. The beds and pillows were very uncomfortable. The price was not worth the accommodations.

    I liked the big windows in the hotel, and the spacious room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely soft matress, as in you sink in it. Asked for a single queen sized bed ahead of time, got two twin beds instead. Extremely noisy. When Asked for a quiet room we were first confronted by the lobby employee who told us it's not noisy and there was nothing she could do. Half an hour later she called and offered to move us which was pointless- we were exhausted after a long flight with two little kids and have already settled in. It was around midnight by this point. Next day we were moved to a suite by a very nice and patient hotel staff. Suite was adjacent to a conatru site. Again with two separate twin beds,which was extremely uncomfortable. Wall to wall carpeting had this greasy feel to it so walking around barefoot wasn't an option.

    Breakfast food + staff were very good and effective. Good hotel location 1/2 minutes away from the train. Good towel service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    pillow was weird and bathroom has no doors nor walls.

    location is perfect, close to subway station, severa good quality restaurantes and walk distance to main touristic attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast over the weekend was not good - several food items ran out, staff could not clear and clean dishes fast enough, so long wait for plates etc., but improved on Monday morning. Apart from breakfast, this hotel did not offer any restaurant or bar services.

    Very good east city (Mitte) location, good public transport access and with several good restaurants nearby. Staff were always very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was very warm, changing settings in the air condition didn't help. Not too thrilled with the bathroom solution (shower room had no walls).

    Great location in a area, clean room, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was good but breakfast. They did not have enough plates, glasses, spoons and knives etc. So we came to the breakfast and had to wait for one plate for couple of minutes, than for other one and so on. It was not a fault of hotel staff, they really worked very hard. Just buy more equipment..

    Everything was good but breakfast. They did not have enough plates, glasses, spoons and knives etc. So we came to the breakfast and had to wait for one plate for couple of minutes, than for other one and so on. It was not a fault of hotel staff, they really worked very hard. Just buy more equipment..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I needed to borrow a European adapter - had a box full of them, but none of them European! Shower design made for a very wet floor. A bit noisy from traffic below.

    Amazing breakfast! Comfy beds. Liked the efficiency.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit of a soulless hotel. No problems during my stay, but doubt I'll return to this place.

    Easy checkin/out. Quiet. Conveniently located for many things, and several decent restaurants on the street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room a little too small and the view out of the window ( it was another wall )

    Staff were really helpful , tidy rooms , and good bathroom . Close to the Museum Island , walking distance

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head was broken slightly although still worked fine with a bit of jiggling. Bed was a little soft for us.

    Great location with excellent restaurants and bars within minutes walk, easy transport links around the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A kettle in the room would have been nice.

    Room was larger than expected from the photos on the website (maybe we were given an upgrade). The room was at the back of the hotel so the view wasn't great but it was very quite with no outside noise which was great for a peaceful nights sleep. Found the bed comfortable with a good quality mattress and two different types of pillow. The room offered international TV channels, good wifi, hairdryer, safe, minibar iron & board on request. The hotel is located about 15 min walk or few minutes in a taxi from Berlin HBF. The Oranienburger underground station is a 2 minute walk away. Buy the 7 euro all day ticket if you plan to make a lots of journeys and don't forget the valid the ticket. Didn't eat breakfast in the hotel as we prefer to eat out and did find a great and very reasonability priced bakery directly across the road. Also a good range of bars and restaurants nearby with the PHO Vietnamese and NAMU sushi being our favourites. Friendly receptionist who offered advice and the usual maps etc helped make our stay enjoyable and found the hotel great for the price paid.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Modern and well situated hotel. The staff were wonderful - very helpful and polite (even when some guests were pushing it - very professional attitudes from all staff) The hotel could not be any better connected. The tram that takes you the few stops to the very heart is right outside. The U6 U-bahn (Metro) is a matter of steps around the corner, and many buses criss cross the area. You can even walk to and from everything from this hotel. It is essentially in the centre. The room was very comfortable and clean. The sound proofing must have been very good, as we didn't hear our neighbours at all. The lift was quick and uses the secure card login system (use your room security card to enter) A great nearby restaurant we found that did real German cuisine was Sophieneck. Well worth a visit. Old place with real original deco and artifacts. The food and service was brilliant. The starter alone was a good serving and very tasty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel within easy travel of Berlin's main sights. Very comfortable rooms. Good street view from the very large bedroom window. Friendly staff. Good quality breakfast. Overall excellent value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a cigarette smoke smell. I think a former guest had smoked in the room. We didn't complain about it, but if we had done so I believe the staff would have provided a solution.

    Great location in Berlin Mitte. We were upgraded to a bigger/fancier room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was terrific with M1 line just in front of the hotel (it goes to trains station). Walking distance to main part of the city. We had a view out the front, which was very interesting. So many international restaurants just outside the door.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not match the expectations. Was initially offered a smokers' room with a nasty smell. Managed to get it changed to another (smaller) room, which was OK, but definitely not worth the money. Depressing view to the court and a construction site with not much light coming in.

    Quietness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    ...but not one I would like to spend a lot of time in. There is no wall around the shower and sink area just a curtain. The room is too bright in the morning as the curtains are not enough.

    An interesting concept... The staff was brilliant though, as I forgot some clothes in the room and I was able to easily arrange for them to post them back to me.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to change rooms after one night because my room had a connecting door to the adjacent room and I could hear the woman next door cough and make other noises the whole night as if she was standing right next to me . The front desk was professional about my complaint but I then got a room facing the back yard which was quiet but extremely dark and nothing like the rooms in the front of the hotel with the big windows. Breakfast is not what you'd expect from a 4* hotel, even when sold as "the typical Berliner breakfast".

    Subway right in front.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a huge construction site next to the hotel which can be disturbing in the morning. Staff could speak English little bit better.

    Excellent location, trendy neighborhood, within a walking distance to almost all amenities. Nice and clean room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No curtain or door on the bathtub, so it was a bit cold when showering. Also weird bathroom sink design.

    Close to stations, cheerful street with coctail bars, gives free apples everyday, interesting breakfast, bed was extra comfy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was perfect, the metro was just around the corner and the tram just in front of the entrance. There was a bathtab instead of a shower, which was great. Very clean room, soundproof, with modern arrangement.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms bathroom was worn out and had mold or fungus. The toilet seat was dirty on arrival and was not cleaned properly! Housekeeping never vacuum cleaned the floor during 5 days stay. Very loud street - not possible to open the window if you want to sleep and no ventilation (or not enough for 2 people) in the room (just AC). Most of the staff needs extensive training. For example, the room for two was prepared for one person, when we complained we were offered to prepare the bed ourselves. Receptionist Susan was very unfriendly, messed up with the receipt, we had to wait about 15 mins to settle, and she didn't even feel or say sorry! Breakfast space is very limited and can hardly accommodate all guests in the morning, very uncomfortable.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar in the hotel was not open

    The location was great close to both U and S train systems. Close to restaurants , museums and about a 10 minute walk to the wonderful shopping district of Mitte.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The big window to the street wasn't that enjoyable. Had to have curtains closed all the time. The bath needs a shower curtain, otherwise the bathroom floor is all wet.

    The hotel was nicely located, very close to the Oranienburger Tor metro station and in front of the hotel was a tram stop. The neighbourhood itself wasn't anything special. The hotel was clean. The open bathroom concept was ok if hopping in the room naked isn't a problem for you. Ok value for your money.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: