Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Arde Köln Zentrum This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Auf der Ruhr 5, Altstadt-Nord, 50667 Cologne, Germany

#195 of 231 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1491 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.5
    Great location for seeing the sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small for a double .. could only just get around the beds to the use the bathroom

    The staff were really friendly and the hotel was in a good location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    3.3
    Awful would not recommend at all actually a rip off even though the location was good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and the hotel.

    The room was very dirty and the dust still on the chair, The walls had some blood stains or something a like. The headboard was stained also along with the lamp shade. This room needed a really good clean actually needs renovating from top to bottom. Very disappointed for the money is an under statement.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.3
    Buffet breakfast and location
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally non-existent soundproofing. Middle-aged guests incredibly noisy and inconsiderate at dawn and during breakfast. No elevator in that area of ​​3 floors. Uncomfortable and very thin feather pillow.

    Buffet breakfast and location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.0
    Tiny room and bathroom but excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny, poky room. Even more tiny bathroom. Those were the main negatives. Apart from that, centrally located and excellent staff.

    The staff is extremely helpful, friendly and courteous, including the breakfast staff. The room size though was a shoebox, there was literally no extra space apart from the bed and a side table which was broken. Same for the bathroom, there was no place to move. The toilet seat needs replacement but the room and bathroom were very clean. Breakfast was more than plenty, even though the coffee was pretty bad. Overall the value was fair at best - if it was a bigger room, it would be a good value because it’s centrally located and the staff were very professional and pleasant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    Was pleasant experience of Cologne. The central location of the Hotel makes for convenient exploring
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel CAN do with a bit of attention. Fresh coat of paint, clean carpets and small details like shower doors that work properly etc will make for a much better stay. The feel from outside is not welcoming. Dirty entrance and poor signage. Fix these and people will be more impressed with what they get for what they pay.

    The location is ideal for seeing Cologne. Budget hotel, couldn't ask more of them. Breakfast was good, bedding was clean and overall stay was pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    3.8
    It's not worth what it costs
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are quite small. The bathroom was completely dirty. There was hair (not mine) in the shower. No one removed them during the three days I was there. There was no soap in the dispenser at my arrival. The toilet lid was full of spots. The type of them it is not possible to remove because the material is porous. The bed was quite uncomfortable (too soft) and the pillow smelled bad. To be honest, ubication is the only good feature of this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location in centre of Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and decor a little dated. WiFi poor outside of reception area.

    Comfy beds. Staff were friendly and helpful. Towels were changed daily and you could request a more thorough clean of room. Excellent location. Decent breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location, sufficient lodging
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of the work I do while traveling I need a reliable internet connection. This one was sketchy and when available only in the lobby. If you don’t have a great need for that I would highly recommend it.

    Location was prime - close to train station but far enough away to be out of high touristy area. Room was small but clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast were outstanding and the had fresh fruit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room didn't have air conditioning and we were there with a very hot weather, so our night sleeping were a little uncomfortable.

    The breakfast were outstanding and the had fresh fruit (pineapple and melon). The staff also provide us very useful information.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.0
    Central but cramped
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dated interiors and old furniture. Rooms were small (we had one for 2 people and one for 3). No fans or air conditioning, although that is not unusual for a small hotel. Noise from other rooms.

    Location is close to shopping streets and a short walk to the Cathedral and restaurants. Breakfast was included in the room price and we had a reasonable choice of cold meats, fruits and cheese.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.0
    Location yes, comfort NO
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am never one to put a bad review anywhere, however, I asked for a room with a double bed as I was staying with my partner... we received two singles (again, I am not one to complain so I wasn’t going to bother reception), the room was sooo tiny, the photos on booking.com didn’t show how tiny it was. The room had no fans, we stayed in the beginning of August in 34 degree celcuius heat and the room was an actual hot box. There was a window that couldn’t be opened hardly at all, it was just so hot at night, neither of us got any sleep. Even outside in the corridors were just constantly hot. I’m guessing in the winter this hotel would be much better as they had heaters everywhere, just no fans to cater for the warmer times of the year?

    Location and staff were great. However, it is almost in the ‘slum’ if you may call it

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not get any answer on my request for a late check inn. I was through booking.com. Wiifii not working with Samsung telephone.

    Very central close to station. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location, good staff, good breakfast, but wifi not working
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi is important for my work, which was not working -- a big disappointment.

    Good location and the staff allowing me to leave my bags after the check-out time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Would stay again but only because of breakfast :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - dirty carpets - tiny room - clogged shower - no fan or A/C - old and worn pillows - no coffee/tea maker in our room

    - awesome buffet breakfast!!! it was a true highlight of our stay - good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.4
    A budget hotel, good for one-night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower curtains in the bath were untidy and shower taps were broken, but I stayed in an economy single room so you get what you payed for.

    This hotel is situated in an excellent location, only 5-10 mins walk to Cologne Cathedral and main train station. Decent breakfast in the morning. Helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    3.8
    Regrettable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only the location was good, and the breakfast ok... the rest was just appalling...no airco, very small room, TV not working, smelling of smoke, very noisy, defensive staff, just such an awful experience all over....

    Location good Breakfast ok

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    3.3
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed, room was in third floor and very hot during night. The floor was old carpet and very dirty. The shower didn't have a curtain so the floor was wet when you want to use toilet. The WiFi also didn't work at all neither in room nor in breakfast room.

    The location and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    4.6
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a double room where they put 3 single beds. No place to walk at all in the room. In facilities section they mention Elevator but there was none. We had to climb to the 2nd floor with our luggage. No wifi. When I inquired receptionist replied with smile that on 2nd floor you wont get, did I chose my floor? It was very hot in the room with no AC or fan. At last they put switch cable lead on the top of the bed so that we can charge our phones...It was not safe at all. Imagine next to your pillow there is a socket cable lead.

    Location Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Great hotel as long as you check in before 10pm!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we came back in the evening, two different guests were stuck outside the hotel and told us they had planned for late check in, but the check in area was completely locked off and no one was around. We tried to help them by calling (at which point the front desk rang) and emailing as well as trying to figure out if they had been given a code for the key lock boxes and they hadn’t. One guest left with their significant other, the other was a younger guy who was stuck. I gave him my duvet and I’m assuming he slept on the floor in the main area of the hotel since there were no benches or chairs... while our stay was great this could have just as easily been us as we usually check in late, but got in around 20:30 this time. We felt really bad for them!

    Our room was great and everything was as expected.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    3.8
    Book another hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is old and has very poor staying conditions. Even if the price is low, that does not justifies this hotel being one of the worst hotels I had been. You can see the stains on the carpets already on main hotel stairs. Now imagine the rooms... The breakfast could be ok but when you have bad cooked eggs and coffee being served from old (bad looking) broken pots, it says very much about how much the hotel cares about the guests. I left to take breakfast somewhere else. Do yourself a favor and book another hotel, don't fall on the photographs decision because the smell of old hotel is also there...

    Only the location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice B&B Hotel with good breakfast and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was little bit hot in room -- there wasn't any air conditions or fans. Small sized TV (we didn't watch it though).

    Pretty good breakfast with wide choice of products. Room has its own bathroom with toilet, shower, 5 towels (2 pp + 1 for foot). Nice location - just 5 minutes walk from Cologne Church, river, bridge and all breweries and bars. There was free water - it was cool feature.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.6
    The location and breakfast were both decent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tired looking and dirty. I had to wear my sandals at all times as the carpet was sticky. I was only staying one night but couldn’t wait to get out of there. Couldn’t recommend this hotel.

    The location and breakfast were both decent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    2.9
    Nothing GOOD
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad and old hotel even the sign broken(I was not sure if this hotel in Germany!I felt like one of 3rd world country) Small bed even hostel bed more better.small room like a prison.shower water while I did shower changed alone one time so hot burn my body one time very cold.even no elevator I need to take my bag on the 3rd floor via small stairs. Staff not helpful at all

    Nothing GOOD

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - there was no internet or wifi at the room, only at the reception and even there the internet connection was so bad it's basically unusable - room was really small - first morning went to have breakfast later and they had already run out of most of the stuff, so selection was really minimal - we were unable to lock the room door properly as the sides of the locking mechanism didn't match and you had to push the door up to be able to lock it - had rule that you were not allowed to eat or drink your own food and beverage in the room, but the hotel didn't provide their own food and beverage either - no air conditioning - bathroom water tap had signs of hot and cold water mixed

    - breakfast was ok, nothing amazing, there wasn't anything sweet offered on the breakfast - good location, just couple of minutes walk from central railway station and grocery store

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    A nice no-frills hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, really. However, the reception desk is not working past 10.00pm—but you get a key from the entrance door. The breakfast was good and filling but I hated their Filterkaffee. However, there is an espresso place just nearby.

    I stayed in a single room. I was pleasantly surprised by how large and comfortable the bed was (the pillow could have been harder). The bathroom felt a bit cramped but the hotel's location was perfect—it is a stone's throw from the major shopping district(s), an U-Bahn station, cafes, and restaurants. There are some construction activities going on in a building in the vicinity on Tunisstrasse, so for the time being, when coming from the Dom and the Hauptbahnhof, the hotel is best accessible via Minoritenstrasse/Breite Strasse.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice place to stay - but you need to get on time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I told the hotel I was coming late, didn't get any answer to my calls nor to my email, and when I got there it was closed - Me, my wife and my one-year-old kid had to look for another hotel at 1 a. m. We couldn't find the place using Google Maps, because the GPS made us turn in circle for half an hour, so it's better to look carefully beforhand - it's easy to get there, once you know where it is. The room was not very big, the bed occupies almost all the room, and you've got to be careful with your fingers when you open the closet, because it's quite close to the bathroom door. They don't have air conditioning, and the night we stayed it was really hot.

    The staff does the best to give you a good stay at the hotel and they were specially kind and cute with our little kid. It is located near to the historical center, so you can just walk from the central station, but it not so easy to get there if you're not familiar with the city. The breakfast was very good too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is very well placed, just few minutes away from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked triple room with 1 double and 1 single bed, but I was given 3 single beds in the room which was a double one according to their room's plan. The reception closes at 10pm. I had some problems with noisy neighbors (5 persons in a one double room) and I was unable to address this problem to the staff (count on yourself or the police in worst case scenario).

    The hotel is very well placed, just few minutes away from the center and the Dom and with the plenty of shops, supermarkets and cafes nearby. The neighboring streets are quiet at nights. The bed was comfortable and the linen was clean. Also breakfast was good, but you should be fast enough to have the omelet as it's limited to first several guests))

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    acceptable for just one night with my teenage son
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture and bathroom from the 60s-70s, room small, bathroom very small - rooms need substantial renovation.

    location very central and quiet, friendly staff, breakfast good average, comfortable mattress - value for money OK!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    Nice sourroundings, but a really bad experience!!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed made a lot of noise, but they changed the room. I forgot something very important for me insde the room on 4th June and I received it at home on 23 june because they send it on 15 june, but they told me that it was already sent on 6th june. The old women from the morning reception was very impolite by phone and she did not want to send me the receipt of the post office, although she charged my credit card without authorization,. So I should talk to Booking that help me a lot. Thanks Booking.

    Very nice situation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.8
    Very uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot. It was like sleeping in an oven. It was on the ground floor so I was unable to open the window and feel safe. There was no fan. The carpet in the room was filthy. The bottle of water that was supplied had already been opened. The breakfast was supposed to be available until 1000am but when arrived at 0930 there was basically nothing left and they couldn’t even give me a boiled egg.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Very nice place to stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I do not like that the lift is not working after 10pm. It is not convinient. Our room was extremly small

    Very nice and helpful staff, lovely breakfasts, The hotel is very close to Doom, public transport and city centrter yet it is quiet place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    do not get attracted with the price level. If you look a bit of comfort, stay away from this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worst thing about the room was the absence of the the air conditioning. For a city like Cologne you may question the necessity of the air conditioning obviously you are mistaken. Because of the humidity, especially the nights are worse than the daytime.

    A friend who recommended this hotel told that they had great breakfast. I would not choose the word great but they provide good breakfast and that is the only positive aspect about this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, breakfast and rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the single room my son stayed in. Unfortunately the double was given to him and once he saw the big difference he was disappointed. They were in the same rate just one was a single and one a double, but they appeared to be very different.

    Our double bedroom was wonderful. However the single was so so. The single was very small, good for sleeping only.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.6
    Not worthy of price paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was pre charged for the room based on information provided on the booking.com web site. When we arrived, we were advisedthe WIFI was not working, and only available for staff. There was no hot water; repair was taking place. I pre paid based on information provided; there was no indication wifi was not working, and there was no hot water. Once booked and paid for, as a customer; I was out of luck. I would suggest this is a violation of the, Consumer Protection Act, and or a Breach of Contract.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    3.8
    Pay an Extra $10-15/night and Find a Much Better Place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ugh, where to start. Although inexpensive, the value for the money is not there. Basically I had to cut my stay short because I could not sleep in the room (see below). For an extra $10 - 15 a night much better places can be had. The noise from the street was unbearable except for the hours of ~1 - 4 when it is still noisy but bearable (note: I am used to sleeping in big cities). For example, there was a loud large truck idling under my window from 5 – 7:30 one morning. In two nights I MAY have gotten 5 hours of sleep. The general cleanliness could have been much better. The shower head was completely broken. When I informed the hotel staff I was told "Yes, we know." No outside food or drinks allowed in the rooms. And I mean none. Food I can understand, but I was stopped and not allowed to bring a bottle of water up. Because of the medicine I take I need to stay well hydrated or I can have a seizure; when I explained this I was still not allowed to bring up the water bottle. The wifi is free, but very slow and completely unreliable to the point of unusable. The windows do not open far, and therefore the room gets very hot and stuffy (it got up to . No outlet in bathroom to use electric shaver etc. The whole hotel needs an interior make over. Not because of the fact that the fixtures and furnishings are dated, which I would not have had a problem with, but because they are worn out/dirty. The blue carpet in my room was more brown from the stains than blue and there were cigarette burns all over the carpet. This was the first time that I have been to a place where the dirty towels from the bathroom floor were simply hung back up. If you watch TV (I don't so this was not a problem for me) the TV is the same size as my 12" laptop display. Not only is the TV small, but the rooms are tiny. Mine fit a double bed, with enough room to put in a wardrobe and a chair squeezed in so tight that it was touching the bed!

    About a 10 min walk to/from the central train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    Good location
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very poor WiFi connection! No elevator acsess to most of the rooms on the upper floors

    Good location Clean room Soft bed Breakfast (incl. fresh fruits/fruit salad)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.3
    The room was nice for one person.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need too much time for the check-in, everyone was there because you have to do exactly at 15:00 the check in, but is a waste of time because the staff was really slow and not in a good mood for work.

    The room was nice for one person.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    3.3
    DO NOT STAY HERE unless you are okay with a 1 star experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely uncomfortable, the mattress seemed to be about 50+ years old and I had to change hotels after 1 night as it was too uncomfortable. I described my room as a jail cell - it was very cramped, smelt musty, there were cracks on the walls, and strange stains on the carpet. Honestly, there are much better places - and this place shouldn't really be called a Hotel. It's more like a 1 star motel. Also, I booked partly because I saw some reviews raving about the breakfast and free fruit at reception (2 of my favourite things) but the breakfast was really mediocre and there was no fruit for the day, not even any fruit at all at breakfast on the Friday morning. The man who appeared to be the owner or general manager was disinterested and unfriendly, and he forgot my request for an extra towel altogether even tho I asked him to his face. The girl at reception who checked me in also quite unfriendly and I just didn't feel very welcome there. English was also poor for both of them which in the tourism/hotel industry, you'd think they'd have picked up a bit more of, including my questions about room cleaning. My requests online prior to the stay (asking if I could leave luggage for the day after check out) were also completely ignored even tho I asked weeks in advance.

    Location is good. Quiet but within 10min walk of the main train station and all attractions and the river.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator

    Very clean hotel with super nice staff. Good selection at breakfast- it was tasty :) Do not expect 5star facilities though -it is a great hotel for its price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice room met our needs and a great price and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Confusion about the price and extra room tax charges caused a curt response from the clerk. I could not verify the charge so I just paid it but my booking.com confirmation also said that it was included. Turns out it was not charged originally so all is good but it was very unclear.

    Nice efficient room clean and a nice breakfast with friendly work staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    Location is great. Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff. Pillows are awful. Very small, limited accommodations. Old.

    Location is great. Nice breakfast. Don’t expect much else. Basically clean. Very outdated. Worn. Old. Breakfast staff was great. Reception staff was slow, seemed confused, overwhelmed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.0
    It was nice to stay at hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had assumed that the hotel has WiFi, but on reaching the hotel, the management informed that the hotel does not have WiFi, this was great disappointment, as being a business travel, needed WiFi for correspondence.

    the hotel seemed okay and was comfortable. From the main Train station it is a pleasant walk to the hotel through through the historical sites and also cafes, shopping places and so on. The hotel is also located at a very convenient and lively place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Location is excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture can be not expensive in such a hotel but it is time to renovate them

    Location is excellent. Good breakfast. Pleasant personal. Clean new towels and bed linen.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    The main objective to stay at a place with efficient transport to TH Koln was adequately achieved.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was rather too small.

    I was visiting Cologne for the opening weekend session of a blended learning program at Technical University Koln. Location of the hotel provided an excellent public transport connection with TH Koln.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    I live in this hotel in Sunday evening so the price is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing is not good is no elevator in this hotel, so the guest with big luggage should think about it.

    I live in this hotel in Sunday evening so the price is really low, and even included the breakfast, the bed are very big for single person and the decoration of hotel are very nice, it is located in the central of business street, and it is very quiet at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    The location is perfect, right near the shopping street, 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn’t work even near reception. When I booked the room I was charged at the moment and next day the message came, that my card isn’t valid and I must to enter a valid card to avoid of annulation of my booking, so I entered the card again and was charged again, so I had been charged twice, the hotel didn’t answer to any messages I’d been sending through booking.com. I had to call to Booking.com customer service. The money was returned, but I still hadn’t got any message.

    The location is perfect, right near the shopping street, 5 min to the cathedral and train station. Breakfast is good, place is quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Odd but cheap!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As other reviews say, the hotel decor is very outdated and/or shabby. Also, there are other quirks, such as my shower being directly in my room rather than in the bathroom next to it. Definitely not luxury, but nothing majorly wrong.

    The location is great and, despite the large number of quirks, I felt safe and comfortable here. The staff are friendly and speak English, even if they aren't particularly efficient. Also, the wifi worked in my bedroom despite the staff telling me it wouldn't. Given the price and location, this feels like decent value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    4.6
    Not value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all the bathroom was too small. Moreover the building is too old - you understand it easily in the rooms. Bad wify connection. Last but not least I was asked to pay about 12 euros during the check out for city taxes. It is not a money matter but they should have informed me earlier.

    The only thing I liked about the peoperty was the location. In the city centre - 5 minutes footwalk from central train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    3.8
    with regard to the location, the maximum price per night would be equivalent to 40 EUR
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    problems with checkin, very uncultivated, neglected equipment of common areas - reception, lobby, entrances. the advertised offer of equipment did not coincide with the reality

    location, no more no less.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    Great location, friendly staff and essentials covered - but it's not luxury!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I checked in I got told I had to pay €5 in tax to the city of Cologne. This wasn't mentioned when I booked. The room had no kettle and there was a white sheet covering the window so I couldn't let much natural light in.

    The staff were helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Great place for a sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem I would say I had would be that there wasn't a 24 hour reception, but it's open til 8 which is handy enough.

    Location mostly. Great place if you simply want somewhere to sleep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little pricy, probably due to the karnival. the room and the bathroom were super small, definitely not appropriate for 3 people.

    Nice small hotel in city center, perfect location. Ok if you plan a short stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.1
    Hotel is cosy, clean and extremely well situated
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    my room was very small and breakfast was served with delay. But coffee was good! no staff at the reception in morning, kitchen lady tried to help with very limited language skills.

    Hotel is cosy, clean and extremely well situated

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    4.2
    They lie about the description
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a family room they don't have and end up with 2 single rooms fitted with 4 beds All inside very old and ripped. The beds had much smaller duvets as in the picture

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    6.7
    Recommend for the location, but it is small
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom is REALLY small, as well as the bathroom. The building is also a bit old, as well as the courtains in the rooms. This kinda makes the staff efforts to clean a bit lost, as you feel the dusty atmosphere. (they do clean the room properly though!) It was an ok hotel, but I felt it was a bit overpriced for what is offered.

    The hotel as an outstanding location for tourism and the beds were very confortable. The breakfast was also ok and the staff is really nice and helpful!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.8
    A great location for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel does not look very impressve from the outside however we were pleasantly surprised once inside.

    A great location and friendly staff. A nice selection of foods for breakfast. The room was perfectly satisfactory for a short stay trip.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.3
    A comfortable stay in the center of Cologne.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi didn't really work though it showed that it was connected. I guess the signal was too weak.

    The bed was comfortable, the breakfast was good, the position was excellent. I really appreciate the combination of being so central and having breakfast included, all for a reasonable price. Many better hotels are either too far, too expensive, or available but without breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.2
    Very good value hotel for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels were a bit small

    Location was excellent . Room was very quiet despite being in the centre of Cologne. Breakfast was ample and plenty of hot coffee.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    6.7
    Clean, good location but desperately needs new towels and refurbish the 80s room decore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double room however our room was a twin when I questioned this at reception they had no other rooms available and said we could put the beds together. The map on the back of the door for fire evacuation clearly shows that it is Ment to be a single room. Hotel very dated with head boards and other furnishings in the room from the 80s. There was a hole in the sink so could not fill up. The towel were not matching and thread bare. The pillow were very thin and mattress to soft.

    Clean hotel in a good location close to the cathedral and 5-10 min walk to central train station. Breakfast was typical continental ( coffee, orange juice, roll, ham, cheese and selection of yoghurts. There was hard boiled eggs and scrabbled egg/ omelette. Basic and practical, no frills hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    6.7
    Very enjoyable, lots of shopping and Christmas markets close to hand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gentleman on duty in the evening quite brusque; bar closed at 8.45pm and you are ushered out so he can lock up.

    From photo's thought Hotel looked more like a Youth Hostel but I was wrong. It was very clean, beds exceptionally comfy & continental breakfast was more than adequate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.6
    Room is small with no tea making facility, no hair dresser.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room is small with no tea making facility, no hair dresser. Towels are very old. Bed too soft and most all our room curtains only cover the half windows.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice small hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi available only at lobby. Very nice receptionist, but the lady serving breakfast was not really too friendly.

    Nice small hotel close to the main train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    It's a beautiful & quaint hotel just steps away from the Dom, you can't go wrong!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really have nothing bad to say about this hotel, the stay was perfect!

    The hotel was no more than 5 or 6 minutes away (walking) from the Kölner Dom and the Bahn Station but it was located on a quiet street making it perfect to relax at night. The room could be considered small by some but for us as a couple it was perfect. The decoration in the hotel was tasteful, old european style. Breakfast was included in the price which was really great considering most places charge extra for that and the breakfast was a varied buffet with eggs, sausage, cold cuts, different types of cheese and bread, cereal, milk, fruit juices, etc. I'll definitely go back in a heartbeat when I visit Köln again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Clean, very well located, met expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    The location was excellent, the rooms were very clean, the breakfast room was bright, sunlite and colourful, the quality and variety of the breakfast was good. Photo's were clear and accurate. A bit like the old days, but never asked for the credit card 'till checking out. Trust.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Convenience of central location and great breakfasts outweighed the small room size for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely small. We could barely pass each other between the beds. There was no space for furniture like bedside tables. Room was a little beat up, although still clean. We would have liked to have wireless in our room. Admittedly the description said it was not available in all rooms, but it sure would help international travelers to have it.

    The breakfasts were great and in a pleasant dining room. The location was very good--near lots of shops and restaurants and convenient to the city sights. The beds were good and bathroom very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    The position is perfect!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The position is perfect! I would not ask more. The man at the reception was really nice and helped me with the travel connections. I certainly recomment this place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.1
    Price-quality is excellent.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The personnel at the breakfast. The waitress really didn't like her job i guess. Breakfast itself is basic, but ok.

    Price-quality is excellent. Its cheap, near the center. Don't expect much luxury, but very suitable for a night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable and reliable but rather dated hotel just fine for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cooked breakfast is a bit limited and not best quality

    Convenient 2* level hotel for central Köln with perfectly adequate and comfortable accommodation but now a bit dated in outfitting. Rooms at front can be a bit noisy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.4
    Not a good experience, no hot water, but location was great
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are small, even for European standards, cleanliness is ok-ish, no amenities, no iron, no hair dryer, and the hot water was out for 3 days.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    4.6
    If you only wish to sleep (in a so-so bed) this Hotel is okay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well the fact that the beds were pre-WWII and the pillow was yet another piece of cloth stuffed into a sack. Next to that there was no warm water on day 1. They fixed it. No warm water on day 2.... Some reviewers say the breakfast was good... The scrambled egg was actually either not an egg or not one that I recognize. The rest was to sweet on sugar, not a lot of choice in bread. The Kaiser bread was nice though...

    Not that much

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Fab little find!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are basic, probably need updating soon but overall suitable for purpose.

    very accommodating staff, prime location, extremely reasonable. The hotel was ideal for a quick stop over, breakfast was lovely and the bar area was very inviting

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    - close to the main train station, old town, supermarket;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - bathroom door is very close to the bed; - pillows might have more stuffing in them.

    - close to the main train station, old town, supermarket; - sufficient and tasty breakfast; - professional staff; - nice early check-in option.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    4.6
    I don't recommend it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very old hotel, looks quite dirty. Poor lighting. No elevator. No 24h reception

    Good location and one of the cheapest options I could find in the city center without having to share the bedromm and/or toilet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They ask that guests don't eat or drink anything in the room that isn't purchased at the hotel ... as the bar area closes at 8pm with no staff about to serve you if you're arriving back after this time can make this request problematic. I'm a diabetic so need fluids with me, especially as my trip included a concert at the arena and I needed drinks with me afterwards. With the heat it wasn't feasible not to have a drink with me in the room.

    The room was perfect for a solo traveller, the shower room was great and breakfast was well laid out. I had to leave early on the day of departure, before reception opened, so they gave me instructions on where to leave my key. Everything else was also well explained to me. There's a metro station within walking distance and isn't too far from the main train station either (a 5-10 minute walk).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    Location was good for me, 10 min walk from the train station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was weak

    Location was good for me, 10 min walk from the train station and the Dome. I was happy with the price and breakfast was good. Door was not soundproofed, but there was no noise during the night.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Arde Köln Zentrum traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: