Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Opal Hotel

Mainzer Str. 34, 55743 Idar-Oberstein, Germany

#17 of 17 hotels in Idar-Oberstein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 344 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    We love staying at the Opal each year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe more rooms with showers.

    Center of City of Idar, Oberstein, friendly and helpful staff. We were pleasantly surprised at the newly designed Breakfast Room overlooking Idar. We go to The Opal Hotel in Idar Oberstein every year as the service, value, and location is the best for us. Schönen Dank.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.1
    oke
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the window coudn`t open and there is no ventalition. the next day we asked for the key, the problem was sollved. the towels and floor mat where gone after they cleaned the room.

    friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    Cozy and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plug outlets were not near the bed. The phone did not work so we could not call reception to book a taxi. There was no kettle or things to have tea/coffee. The key card was also really sensitive and did not work the first time around.

    The staff were absolutely delightful and pleasant. We enjoyed the jewelry displays and even bought two robot USB / charging hubs because they looked cool. The location was great - near the train station and near some restaurants. The beds were comfortable and we had a fantastic view on the 13th floor.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Rock hound trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of pillows and place to put toiletries in bathroom. Not fault of hotel but location is noisy, street sweeper at 4.30am

    Staff lovely, nice big room with viewof valley. Comfy beds. Nice breakfast included. Access to all mine sites.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Good Location, helpful staff, easy check-in/check-out,...
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was a little too soft for my taste but overall comfortable, and the room could do with a little extra lighting. It would also be great to have coffee/tea making facilities in the room or lobby and a mini fridge perhaps, considering everything in town closes extremely early.

    Good Location, helpful staff, easy check-in/check-out, very spacious and spotless clean rooms. Overall enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    6.7
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall hotel felt like an old apartment complex . Needs serious updating and renovation.

    View overlooking the town from our room was great. Staff were friendly and nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    6.3
    Nice people, but kind of isolated location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking costs, and for what you pay it should be included. Nothing really much around there to do except the museum if you like semi-precious stones. The rooms need a make-over....look like they were designed by someone stuck in the 70's...not that I didn't like the seventies...but mostly the music, not the furniture so much. No mini bar in room....had to put my beer on the windowsill.

    The staff were nice, and breakfast was pretty good. Good view over the city from the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    4.2
    As far as the hotel is concerned: Nice view but that's it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed a few days so enough time to get an impression of the hotel. Personnel: No personnel in the evening and at night (only a phone number). Personnel was uninterested (probably also due to the understaffing during Christmas) with a few exceptions. We actually got told off for not paying upon arrival. Although we wanted to do so, there was nobody there since we arrived in the evening (i.e. we got the card key of the room from a box after entering a code and the reception was only open the next morning). The fire alarm went off in the middle of the night, unsure whether to evacuate, and we actually saw firemen walking through our hallway, but the next day we were not informed by personnel about what had happened. Room: We had a suite for 2 but requested to stay there with 3 people (allowed upon paying an extra fee). Upon arrival the room was not ready (no extra towels, no bed made... for the 3rd person) and a bit chilly. After calling them (since they left as of 17:00 on 26/12 - we arrived at 17:30), they came back and quickly the sleeping couch was "made" (we got a pillow and a blanket, but only upon request (!) a "mattress" cover as well) but the extra towels, we only got the day after. It was an uncomfortable sleeping couch (back pain). There were only 2 sitting chairs and 2 drinking glasses instead of 3 ... (for 3 persons...) Bathroom had shower, toilet and a sink (no complimentary toiletries or hair dryer - but this was not advertised so we brought our own hair dryer)... not maintained well either (white paint on ceiling was brushing off). Room was surely not sound-proof, not modern, there was no safety deposit box, and not allergy free (= carpet)... unlike what is advertised. Breakfast was basic (orange juice tasted very cheap), not as much variety as shown on the pictures. Hotel: The hotel seems quite worn out and abandoned (which is fortunate since there was only 1 lift for 7 floors = 12th until 19th floor).

    View was very nice. Some nice restaurants close by. Breakfast OK.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.5
    Great views in a standard premise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were last renovated at least 2 decades ago. But you get what you pay.

    Great view from the rooms located as of the 14th floor.nice restaurant and bar opposite the premise.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel in a wonderful area. Check out the mines.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel could help a bit to find 'free parking' in the area. It is possible, but as an outsider it is difficult to find a spot.

    Breakfast was served on the 19th floor, so with a perfect view over the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    3.3
    Siper old hotel,dont respect the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Siper old hotel,dont respect the money

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location. Safe car park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    Bussiness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge/mini bar or AC, dirty windows and curtains

    The view on the city is amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.8
    it was ok, nice view fro the 16th
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was waiting 10 minutes for my check out and nobody was there!!!

    it was ok, nice view fro the 16th

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.3
    Staff is very good
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charge for the car park not good No variety of breakfast Orange juice is tasless

    Staff is very good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    5.8
    Basic hotel for business travellers on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old facilities, very basic breakfast, ugly building

    The size of the room, the cleanliness

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    5.4
    Staff at reception very kind but room old and not clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception very kind but room old and not clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.9
    Great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room

    Great location. Great Choice of breakfast. Nice staff. Beautiful views. Clean room, Good value

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.5
    It was a good stay and I will go their again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cover for the twin bed is tow single covers and sound isolation is very poor

    Very nice location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    More than adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A/C

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    Excellent Great Hotel, I stayed at the hotel because it was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent Great Hotel, I stayed at the hotel because it was a good deal and a few blocks from my conference. The room was comfortable and I slept well on the full size bed. Modern bathroom, clean, Reach breakfast, friendly stuff, I had a great stay. I arrived at 9:30am and the room was ready. The location is perfect. The service was wonderful I enjoyed my time at the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    7.5
    Bed was very comfortable, easy parking access, restaurants...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Scrambled eggs at breakfast very very salty, please cheff, let the people salt their own eggs :-)

    Bed was very comfortable, easy parking access, restaurants nearby, and the view.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    9.6
    The location was really nice and the hotel was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed kept separating and was very annoying. It was two twin push together but they slide apart on I kept falling through it.

    The location was really nice and the hotel was clean.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    7.9
    The location and city view from the room window.
    • Couple

    I am very sure I arrived to hotel before the reception close at night fortunately I saw one of the staff and made the check-in

    The location and city view from the room window.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    5.4
    Very comfortable climate control in rooms ensured great air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Impossibly far away from most attractions and even amenities and consequent use of taxis eats into budget. Hotel can best be summed up as tired and almost defeated.

    Very comfortable climate control in rooms ensured great air quality. Everything else was 'good enough' for the money spent.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    10
    I"ll recommended this hotel to my friends
    • Solo traveller

    I"ll recommended this hotel to my friends

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    9.2
    Loved the great view of the whole town from the hotel.
    • Group

    Only small complaint about the room were the pillows,too thin.

    Loved the great view of the whole town from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    10
    everythinv was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing

    everythinv was good

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    5.8
    Lightning switch in room was broken
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lightning switch in room was broken

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    9.2
    The view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The plumbing

    The view. The size of the room, and the service. Stuff was great.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    9.2
    The location is great and very friendly stuff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is great and very friendly stuff. Though it was a very short stay, I just stayed for 5-6 hours. Still enjoyed my stay!

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They forgotvto clean the room

    Location

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast Location

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful views , all amenities I needed .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beautiful views , all amenities I needed . No frills but very clean and friendly

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.5
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    10
    very friendly staff !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very friendly staff ! rich breakfast conveniently located. cosy bar

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    10
    very coftable and freindly hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very coftable and freindly hotel

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    10
    Everything I like about hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The heater didn't give enough heat in the room, it was kind of cold while the heater was on

    Everything I like about hotel

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: