Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Art-Hotel Erlangen This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Äußere Brucker Straße 90, 91052 Erlangen, Germany

#14 of 23 hotels in Erlangen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 550 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.7
    Arrived 11.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Arrived 11.0, tired,dark, raining, door locked. Notice on door, couldn't read it, dark & in German. Luckily other German guests arrived read notice, made phone call. Was given code for a key box by door,got in went to bed. As far as I know I had no info that reception wouldn't be open & I didn't have a key box code.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.3
    The hotel stay would have been good if the hotel restaurant had been open.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel restaurant has a restaurant but we weren't told it was closed for holidays at the time of our visit. We had to walk 1 km to another hotel to get a meal, not welcome after riding 400 miles. If we had known of the restaurant closure on booking we would have chosen to stay in the other hotel.

    Secure underground car park for our motorcycles

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Cozy and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower gel could be better. The noise in the neighbor court in the mornings (at 5 am).

    Cozy and clean room. Nice reception service and restaurant. Be aware of their working hours. Good wi-fi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    Good location, friendly staff, spacious too
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot, but staff sacrificed there office fan for us- thank you!

    Good breakfast with tasty scrambled eggs! Spacious room and helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    3.8
    Stingy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a 3-story building but there is no elevator. The facilities are old. The corners in my room are not clean. But the most ridiculous is how stingy the hotel is on little amenities. I forgot my toothpaste and asked a woman with a manager tag if she could help. She said yes, then took the little tube of toothpaste out of a toothbrush set and gave it to me. Since I would stay in the hotel for 3 nights, I asked for another one. She promptly said no and suggested me to get it at the supermarket nearby. I think a simple NO at the beginning would have made me feel better. There were two bottles of free sparkling water when I checked in. But the supply would not be refilled in the following days after I finished the first two. And there was shower gel in room but no shampoo. Not so sure what the hotel wants to achieve with such stinginess.

    The breakfast is decent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    4.6
    Reception should be open 24 h a day
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived late (around 11:30 pm) and the reception was closed. Never informed we have to call before 10:30 pm to have the code to have our keys. Difficult to find a hotel at midnight ! Comparing with other hotels, for the same price, reception is always open, even the night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Helpful and Relaxing
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were especially thoughtful and accommodating. We were there for a family reunion and they were helpful with the logistics, making it easier for us to simply relax, reconnect, and enjoy one another.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    9.2
    Nice and clean hotel. Easy access to highway.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillow is very soft and tiny. It was not comfortable to sleep. It would be better to keep an extra pillow in the room to make the standard one thicker.

    Nice and clean hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    8.8
    Good hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maintenance needs more atterntion..some lighting does not work, daily supply is not complete (no new soap, no exchange of used glasses)

    very nice room good location Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.5
    For the next trip to Erlangen it will be my hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apples has been from New Zealand. I would prefer seasonal fruites from the own country.

    There is about 500m away a church with modern offers. In the same house as the hotel in September will open an italian restaurant! :) It´s near the innercity. The costs for a taxi ist about 8,-€

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    6.7
    Bareable but no cigar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a joke. The shower was a 2' x 2' cube. Excluding the shower the bathroom was about 4' x 5'. The hotel is not air conditioned and temp in the room was easily 90F. Our room was basically in the attic on the 4th level and was about the same size of a jail cell with no elevator. We are both 78 and lugging are luggage up to the room was not fun.

    The staff was great. The closeness to the Nuremberg airport. It was a 15 minute drive. A real positive was free secured parking. We paid 16 & 7 euros daily at 2 other locations. The facility looked like it was recently remodeled but my low rating was due to no elevator or A/C, otherwise I would have given it a top rating.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    5.8
    Check in closed at 4pm but website said it was open until...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in closed at 4pm but website said it was open until 10pm. Website advised there was a restaurant, however this is closed and we were not advised of this. After a 10 hour drive we did not want to drive further to get dinner. The breakfast, although good was not as good as on previous visits . We will not stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    6.7
    Nice but don't get a room on the street side
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room faced the main street was very noisy, as there was no air con we had the windows open so the noise was worse.

    I liked the courtyard - mini bar prices were really good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    Street noise during the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Street noise during the night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.0
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I like

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    The hotel was very well kept and the staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very well kept and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast was awesome!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and tranquil
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really tidy, great deluxe room and outside seating area for breakfast was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    With late check-in the key was left for me in the safe box...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With late check-in the key was left for me in the safe box outside and code provided via e-mail ahead of time. Free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant surprise
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pleasant welcome. Quite Room and nice room incl. High speed Internet Free parking Garage Great Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Delicious breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Delicious breakfast! Nice people!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    2.5
    Will not choose this hotel again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean, no elevator , window breaks

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.8
    Very close to Siemens and Areva facilities
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a very basic hotel, clean but not cosy or nicely decorated.

    Very close to Siemens and Areva facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.5
    We are return visitors
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Quiet car friendly location. Acquainted with owners son. Convenient access to Nürnberg, close to freeway entrance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.5
    It was fine, if unspectacular.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv was very limited for English speaking channels and breakfast was very basic. Old style key.

    Balcony was a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Great place to stay & walking distance to the Centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good - absolutely no adverse comments

    Private parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    More comfortable bed
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street is loud with windows but very convenient location close to center of town.

    Nice clean, modern

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice, clean, perfect for stay when travelling
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As usually nothing to complain.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.9
    There was to hot In the room air con Would have been Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was to hot In the room air con Would have been Nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    5.8
    The bed was uncomfortable, rooms too hot, shower too small!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The bed was uncomfortable, rooms too hot, shower too small!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    Nice little hotel with everything you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to single out in this section.

    Very good breakfast, comfy beds, covered parking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.2
    Am generally happy with the Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No entertainment (TV) in English

    Everything was to my satisfaction.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    5.4
    breakfast is good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower facilities are not robust Bed is not so good..

    breakfast is good Staff is fine

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.6
    Very Friendly folks and nice quiet place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were too soft, almost flat

    Very Friendly folks and nice quiet place

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    7.9
    the hotel is quite near of Nuremberg Messe.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed a little narrows.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    9.6
    Nice comfortable rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite (1-bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice comfortable rooms. Great Breakfast. And in the Hotel a Italian restaurant is located which is very good for dinners

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.6
    Clean and quet place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 20 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit cold in the room for me. The cushion was bad.

    Clean and quet place

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.2
    Value for money stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There has to be some power plugs near to your table and bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.5
    Price is very expensive for this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price is very expensive for this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.2
    We enjoyed staying there and had a nice breakfast with our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    We enjoyed staying there and had a nice breakfast with our family. Your employee (son) was an absolute delight

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    4.6
    Quiet and acceptable
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was tiny and the room very small. I expected more of an "Art-Hotel"

    It was very quiet

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    7.5
    The Wifi didn't work in my room, nor in the public area...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Wifi didn't work in my room, nor in the public area around my room door. I had to go to the reception desk for WiFi connection. Luckily, I was proposed to sit in a meeting room with WiFi connection.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    8.8
    I had a very pretty and quite suite, with a big couch, huge...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is not down town, walking to the city centre takes around 15min. There is not much happening around, except for the Italian restaurant in the hotel. Food was quite cheep but not very good. The curtain on the bath was quite too long and I was stepping on it all the time while taking a shower. No tea or coffee in the room, no magnifying mirror in the bath.

    I had a very pretty and quite suite, with a big couch, huge bathroom with a bath and comfortable double bed. A small toilet set was also available. Breakfast was great. It was also great that they offer fitness and spa.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    9.6
    Finally an Jotel in Erlangen with a decent availability of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast room is absolutely tiny .

    Finally an Jotel in Erlangen with a decent availability of parkings (on a public road) . The city is usually packed on saturday evenings last year it took me 1 hour to find a spot .

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    6.7
    The location was easy to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The showers were small which I found strange given the size of an average German.On booking the location breakfast was described as free on the site, on checking out it was itemised as costing 9 Euros-the food was well below that standard. I would have booked another location if I had realised that this was the case.

    The location was easy to find

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    8.8
    Clean,comfortable,modern rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi was poor in upper floors.The restaurant was basic but provided food after a long day driving from Amsterdam.No convenient alternatives nearby but plenty in town about 20 mins walk away.

    Clean,comfortable,modern rooms.we had a spacious suite.Staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.8
    The little Italian restaurant had great fresh food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi was weak.

    The little Italian restaurant had great fresh food.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    9.2
    Very nice hotel in Erlangen with a great view and design
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The reception should announce about the working time

    Very nice hotel in Erlangen with a great view and design

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    6.7
    Reception not always attended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception not always attended

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    7.9
    Free basement carpark n location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Free basement carpark n location.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    9.6
    The staff was very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was excellent for 3-star hotel

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel with a nice Italian restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice hotel with a nice Italian restaurant

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    8.8
    - very good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    - very good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    6.7
    Minibar
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    i would like to have a little bit more comfort, hairdryer was not so good,not much space in batheoom to put things

    Minibar

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    7.5
    Clean and quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of in-room tea facilities.

    Clean and quiet room. Good parking options. Tasty breakfast. Helpful staff. Reasonable minibar offer.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    8.3
    Italian food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Italian food Friendly Service

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    7.1
    Near from Nurnberg
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Near from Nurnberg

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: