Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Art Hotel Köln 3 stars

Heidestraße 225, Wahnheide, 51147 Cologne, Germany

#192 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 210 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no receptionist and getting the keys and entering the building was rather complicated. The room was very dated and musty and the towels were incredibly rough, my partner scratched his face with it when drying off. The room was also cold.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Here was literally the worst breakfast among all European hotels which I visited ever. For 8.50 you get no hot, no porridge, melted unnatural cheese from supermarket packs like Hochland, no coffee machine, very bad and cheap toster which makes toasts overcooked, also very poor quality toasts bread, etc. etc. Concerning that you can go outside and buy much more better foods to eat for yourself in ALDI for that breakfast price of 8.50. Also, when I arrived, it was VERY cold in a room, and the heater regulator was set to 4 degrees Celsium (39 F). Absolutely no noise insulation - you can hear like EVERYTHING that's happening on your floor. Also when checked-in, there was only one administrator, and she can't speak English almost at all. Good thing I knew German a little bit (much better than her English) - otherwist you may end up staying outside on a street if you come after 18pm, cause the door is being closed at that time.

    Good location - you can get from Cologne airport in nearly 30 minutes including walking from Porz-Wahn S-Bahn station. Also, there are 2 supermarkets right nearby: ALDI and REWE.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived late in the day so they would have left key for me to enter alone. Bit expensive for what it was.

    Close to airport. Reception not 24 hours so they got up early to take my payment upon departure.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is slightly far from the city but easily accessible by train. However, slightly expensive for its distance from the city.

    Friendly staff, clean room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you arrive after 19h - you need to ring the bell hard to be told the code for the key box and wait few minutes before you get the code to get the key. Breakfast was very basic.

    The location is not too far from the airport and taxi ride is only 16 euro, but at 75 euro it is over priced.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worst experience of trip so far. Room had large skylight with no blind. Proprietor told me that he had "intended to get it fixed". No offer to change room or anything. No elevator, breakfast not included despite very high price.

    Room reasonably large and attractive, bed quite comfortable. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit tired but still very clean.

    Location within 10 minute taxi ride if the airport. Good selection of restaurants nearby. Great for an early morning flight out of Cologne

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The linen was clean but a bit dated. They needed to provide an extra pillow & you had to pay extra for the bottle of water in the room. There was a good spread at breakfast but the milk was a bit sour for the cereal. Breakfast was also an extra charge.

    Easy to find, great location to the airport &I not far from the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet is rather slow.

    It's located in a quiet suburb. There is an Aldi supermarkt within walking distance. A Bäckerie and few restaurants across the road.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe a little pricey, but there were several big events happening at the time on Cologne so it was to be expected.

    I only stayed there one night as I was attending a concert in town. As a bed and shower it was entirely sufficient. Friendly staff and good facilities. About half an hour walk from the station (Porz-Wahn) along well lit streets and about an hour walk from the Airport/Coach Station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To get to airport or Cologne center it takes to go with bus and train, so it is better to stay if you are traveling with car. I sent a early check in request in booking.com, but did not received answer within 36 hours (but staff allowed to check in us earlier when we arrived).

    Friendly staff. A lot of restaraunts nearby.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I'd made my booking weeks before, but when I called the day before my arrival to confirm the room was ready, they had no clue I was coming. On the day of my check-out, I showed the person at the desk that they'd already charged me for the room. However, she insisted I had to pay again, which I had to do (otherwise she wouldn't let me leave). The first charge disappeared from my account two weeks later, but until then two charges were discounted from my account balance. When I called them and emailed them to confront them with this charge, they weren't helpful and insisted they had to talk to the manager -no manager emailed me or called me to solve this problem. Breakfast is ridiculously expensive -I recommend the bakery just in front of the hotel.

    Convenient if you're traveling to DLR/EAC. Clean, good wi-fi.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is good enough for browsing and the necessities but could be improved for watching videos (i.e. YouTube).

    Comfy beds, spacious rooms. Perfect location if you're visiting the DLR/European Space Agency. Within walking distance of the Porz-Wahn SBahn train station in case you want to travel into Cologne centre, to the airport, etc. Staff were surprisingly willing to accommodate our need to leave earlier than breakfast would usually begin.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly reception

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    only 8 mins driving distance to the airport

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi only worked intermittently.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sink was clogged and the water was unable to drain. It was a little bit cold in the room at night.

    Most of the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central heating rooms were not warm poor radiator.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillow wasn't too soft for me

    It was a small hotel so very quiet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good quality but really expensive.

    Close to our work meeting. Nice breakfast and large room. Possible to arrive late even if desk is closed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have no negative criticism. It might be too far from the city for some people, but that was no problem to me.

    Nice little comfortable and clean room. Helpful staff- upfront and straight-to-the-point. Two cheap supermarkets close by and several restaurants. Only a 20 minute walk away from Porz-Wahn train station, from where the train quickly takes you to the center of the city!

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No reception, the doors were closed lights off. Had to call the contact number to get the key from a coffer near the entrance. It was quite cold during the night and the heating was not working. The quality of bedding isn't good enough.

    It was really close to the airport, which was really convenient for us to catch our flight back home. It was quite.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was very cold. The heating was off when I got into the room and it took almost two hours to have the room warm. The pillowcases did not seem so clean.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very small room, me and ma colleague had absolutely similar rooms, but my room was charged as a room for 2 persons and his room as a room for 1

    Not far from dlr site

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    not really something. All was fine. Maybe because it was 2 beds together,instead of 1 double - but was cosy anyway!

    was cosy, we arrived late, and it took a small time till we understood that the code we needed to enter is for post box, where the keys were, not for the door itself!:) But after we got a clue all was nice and fine. Staff very helpfull! Nice!

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi and difficult to connect

    Very good location with big room and kitchen

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    every thing was bad plus i have paid the diposet by card and paid again and hotel but they diposet still not released back to me.

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small room

    Quiet area

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    They do not accept payment by credit card for extras such as minibar, ONLY CASH!!!

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lousy WiFi reception.

    Clean room, comfortable bed.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Browse Art Hotel Köln traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: