Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of art Hotel Körschen 3 stars

Hindenburgstr. 6, Stadtkern, 45127 Essen, Germany

#16 of 68 hotels in Essen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 383 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As usually in hotels, very small bowls for cereals at breakfast, so I had to do what I always do: fill up two bowls.

    The room was very spacious (much more than in similar hotels in this price range) and bright (one balcony door and two windows). Very wide choice for breakfast (including smoked salmon). Very large bathroom (maybe I was lucky, due to the architecture of the building). Water heater for tea and coffee (usually not provided in Europe). Suitable chair for working.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is low key and with the furniture used, also looked a bit like that.

    Location near the centre and mid-way between that and the museum Folkwang

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could be better if we have a double bed instead of two single beds together.

    Very friendly staff, property is very close to Essen center which was very important for us. Room was so clean with a very nice room concept. It was like a jungle room with a nice balcony :) Thanks!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Digital pioneers magazine waiting in my room. Holiday feeling in Bali room. Wide range of fresh and exotic products for breakfast e.g. wholegrain bread, fig jam, orange honey, friendly and comforting service. Good night drink for free!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    I rarely end up giving a 10 but this is worth it for the money I (or rather my company) paid. Conveniently close -walking distance- to the lively center of Essen and railway station. Comfortable, quiet, welcoming, spacious, funny decoration. Good beds, bathrooms, lighting, furniture. Elevator. Parking. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was amazing! Great and refreshing concept. Complementary drinks, restaurant reservation and taxi reservations... Super helpful. Will come back next year!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is very convenient, close to the center and with a parking garage. Very friendly service, including a much appreciated welcome drink. The room furnishings are simple but very comfortable and with a personal touch

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in Essen because of Spiel (the boardgame convention). The hotel is near the city center and near the train station, so it's the perfect location to go to the convention, find a place to eat and the walk and get to know the city in the evening.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The room I received was different (downgraded) from what I actually reserved via Booking.com. Eventually, the staff was very nice and compensated me. - The bed in the single room was uncomfortable

    + Breakfast selection is very good + The room was very clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were too large for my liking. The room felt slightly cold, and I didn't find any adjustable heater or air conditioning.

    The staff was extremely friendly. The room was nice and clean and included a water boiler. Overall, the place had a cosy feel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ventilation in bathroom somewhat loud. Quickly got used to it though.

    Nice place. Very friendly and helpful staff. Quiet and simple in a good way. Clean. Not the place to go if you're looking for luxury and partying, but great if looking for somewhere to sleep and relax in the heart of the Ruhrgebiet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's a strong chemical smell in the hallway though thankfully not noticeable from inside the room. I think/hope it's due to the newness of the construction and that it will dissipate with time.

    Friendly and helpful staff, cute and clean room, great internet speed, lovely buffet-style breakfast that even had vegan options - thank you for that! I would be happy to stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It's not plite to open my room, when I'm sleeping. And if you finish my laudry services you also can not open my room by yourself.

    good location, near to city centre and train station. Nice staff, very kind and warm.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Close to the station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fig mustard, orange honey, freshly pressed orange juice, welcome drink, cappuccino with soymilk, free bottle of water and tea Friendly service!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the beds and pillows are uncomfortable

    Close to the train station, clean

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is the best. Super friendly and very welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was slow and buggy

    It's eclectic and artsy, a nice blend of originality and style in the rooms

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi very poor, bed not comfortable

    Price

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Perfect location. Very quiet room as requested. Friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely return next time in Essen.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for nothing,

    Generally I didn't like

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    the art

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ----

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditining. Some pillows are nto good.

    Friendly staff!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No airco

    Good breakfast Friendly and helpfull personal Hotelgarage at 5 EU a day

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi is not strong, always need to reconnect if your room is not close enough to the routers on each floor. Beds are ok but bit small, breakfast is good but maybe it's good idea to update the food every two days or so. *****ONE CRAZY THING : One staff actually opened my door at midnight while I was at sleep, I was a bit shocked I mean this is kind of out of the line... but he said its to check and make sure tomorrow we will pay the room fees ?! Or something like that... Maybe he worry that we will be gone without doing that, maybe it happened to hotel before so I could understand...but maybe you can do it not at this time of the day while people are sleeping... first time ever happened to me in hotels in my life.......crazy

    Staff friendly and willing to help, location close to Essen station only waking 5 mins. Rooms are clean, sound proof.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was at a time when there was a trade fair so the prices for all hotels were higher.

    Located within a five minute walk from the Hauptbahnhof. Very friendly staff. Helped with information about the attractions locally and how to get to them.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms appear abit sterile - tiles on all floors. Furniture is from IKEA (cheep range) and the price charged per night is way too much for the amenities provided. Breakfast starts at 06:45AM which is difficult if you have an early appointment to catch.

    The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. They even offered to organize the subway trips I needed. They are a real asset to the hotel. Location is excellent since the main station and subway stations are close by.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really. Parking charge really worst thing but only a few euros. So not too bad.

    Great breakfast. Good late check out times allowed. Location great. Knowledgeable staff. Helped every which way possible. Can't say enough to about staff and facilities just superb Highly recommended

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    That I had to leave

    Cool stuff and owner Really cool and and genuine Nice setting of the rooms simple clean and stylish Amazing. Breakfast 5* quilty

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Ceramic tiled floors throughout the hotel, corridors & rooms - amplify noise and make the hotel feel cold & unwelcoming. Just my personal taste though... Lift not operating during the night & early mornings. Having to use the rear, car-park entrance after 11.30pm. because front door kept locked as no 24hr concierge. Metal-framed beds, again cold & unwelcoming. Pile-driving noise throughout the day from building-site across the road.

    Very friendly, helpful staff. Good breakfast, typical of most German hotels. Coffee & tea making facilities in the room. Sex toy + batteries offered for sale in the convenience/medical cabinet on the wall in my room - took photo to amuse my friends.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff was *extremelly* nice, accomodating our early arrival and taking a lot of time to set us up with the (free) bikes. Nice room (I got a Beatles' themed room!), excellent localization (walking distance from train station), great stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very friendly and personal. furniture seems to come all from ikea but it was in good order. room was large enough and had all and above what I needed (even band-aid and earplugs)

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Couple

    location near to the train station, large room, availibility of bikes, broad breakfast (fresh fuit juice, fresh fruit salad, ... nothing missing) and the complete service by young very friendly people; we even got the announcement that due to an accident train connection could be a problem for our trip back home ... Thanks a lot!

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was an excellent small hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the room was a good size, well presented and clean. Breakfast was good with a wide range on offer.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    Very friendly staff. Original hotel and rooms. Nice decoration. Good situation at only 5 minutes walk from the railwaystation? Easy parking. Shops only at 3 minutes walk

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi stopped working late evening and was a bit patchy even when it was working

    Very courteous staff, nice breakfast spread with attention on quality and details. Large room. And in the end a small gift bag :-)

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi was a little bit unstable but maybe it was just my device fault.

    My favourite is the genius first-aid kit in the room. The location is perfect because it's close to Hbf. but far enough to be not bothered by the happenings at the Hbf. and something always happening there. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is plenty and has a good variation. You can use your wifi code on all of your devices.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    art Hotel really offers lots of art related surprises in rooms designs (each one is different) as well as in breakfast menu. Very comfortable and joyful place to stay, emanating good energy.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi is sometimes doesn't work. Staff at evening when I was checking in can not speak English very well and not helpful. Price is a bit of expensive in my opinion

    Breakfast is wonderful. Staff in the morning is very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Really annoying wifi, difficult to connect, slow uplink and regularly thrown out. The double bed is just two single beds next to each other with a gap between.

    Really friendly and helpful staff. Nice breakfast (for Germany) with e.g. freshly pressed orange juice. Free bikes to borrow. Within 10 minutes of walking distance form the central station and 5 minutes to the closes U-station.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Loved the slightly quirky, boutique style of the hotel. The location is great - close to the main station and a short walk from shops and restaurants. Best of all were the staff - really welcoming ... the glass of wine and hot water bottle were added bonuses!

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Personal touch. Friendly service.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very friendly staff. Great location. very clean, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room wasnt cleaned every day

    Excellent staff, great breakfast and great location.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Very nice staff, clean room and excellent beds, breakfast marvelous. Good location

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very thin walls, impossible to sleep if someone in neighbouring room is speaking

    friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Vibrator for sale appeared to be used

    Helpful staff, unique rooms, great facilities

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room smelt of cigarette smoke

    Nice staff

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Room is not clean enough, definitely needs repair especially in the bathroom, the price/quality ratio is definitely not correct

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi was tricky to access and often failed.

    stylish building; spacious rooms; very helpful friendly people

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was great, kind and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Design but basic

    Spacious room

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly hotel, centrally located in Essen with great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Everything was good and My Sweet Lord was there!!

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pillow too soft

    friendlness of staff

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Very good!!!!

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room and the hotel team.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    Very nice welcome. In this hotel you feel that the host does the most to make you a very comfortable stay. Great breakfast!

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Browse art Hotel Körschen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: