Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Art Hotel Weimar This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Freiherr vom Stein Allee 3a/b, 99425 Weimar, Germany

#9 of 27 hotels in Weimar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 598 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 27

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    7.9
    The room was very comfortable and clean, the staff is nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel property is very nice and a great value, there were just some things that didn’t quite match what I expected. I read that it was a hotel and restaurant but I didn’t realize the restaurant only serves breakfast. I liked that there was a mini-bar but I think it should have included some light snacks. And lastly... I read that people really like the property for its location. The neighborhood it’s in is nice, but it’s pretty far to walk to get into town and I don’t like walking around Weimar residential streets after dark. It’s VERY dark there. Nice and quiet, but if you arrive after dark and haven’t had dinner... you can’t easily get to any restaurants or grocery stores. Just things to be aware of!

    The room was very comfortable and clean, the staff is nice and the breakfast is very good!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.6
    Great!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was super nice. Breakfast really good. And it is located really close to Bauhaus University. To the center is 10 min walk. Really good option to visit Weimar

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is very good, a short foot walk to the center. The staff is superb- friendly and hospitable. Especially we liked the breakfast 😉

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.1
    Noise problem on the first night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was an error regarding my booking. Upon my arrival, they cannot find my booking at all on the system. Fortunately, there was a room on the second floor available, and I was able to stay there for two nights according to my booking. However, there was a wedding reception in the restaurant, which was directly below me. The party went on until around 1.30-2 am and I could not get any sleep. The staff could not control their guests as it was a wedding, and the hotel was otherwise fully-booked. I understood the position of the staff, but if I had been informed before hand, at least I'd have acknowledged the situation and contemplating on my stay. Considering that there was a problem regarding my booking at the first place, surely it can be handled better. In all fairness, the second night was quiet and the breakfast was pretty nice.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. The hotel is located in a residential area, therefore it was pretty quiet at night, and Park an der Ilm is just a block away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Exceptional modern, artistic hotel located in the cultural gem of a city. A must visit city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Came to Weimar as almost an afterthought pit stop on the way to Berlin. Weimar: home of Schiller, Goethe, and Buchenwald. My expectations were blown away. I highly recommend anyone traveling to Berlin to check out this underrated small city, and specifically the Art Hotel Weimar. Weimar is not as well known as other German cities, which made for refreshingly less crowds. Location is walking distance to the old town where you can visit the Schiller Museum, Goethe House, find some shade in a cobblestone lined courtyard and indulge in a delectable gelato or schnitzel and watch horse drawn carriages go by. The Art Hotel itself is fairly new and in a quiet leafy neighborhood. The rooms were clean and spacious, and adorned with interesting artwork (Hence, the Art Hotel). Modern hotel yet very welcoming, with a nice sauna as well to relax in. I've been to about 20 different cities in Europe, and the breakfast buffet here was the best I've had at any hotel. A 5 star breakfast experience. The service was exquisite at the Art Hotel. The owner (Werner) exceeded and surpassed my expectations as well. He was doing everything from serving eggs and smoked salmon at the buffet, to greeting guests with a smile at the reception desk. He also was kind enough to give us a ride to the train station and shared some history about Weimar. Will stay again at the Art Hotel next time in in Weimar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed the residential location with beautiful homes,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    First impression wasn't good; we arrived at 2:30pm and the room wasn't ready, so we asked to use the bathroom and were sent to the breakfast room in the basement. The bathroom was dirty, no TP, no paper towels just a used cloth towel, the sink was dirty and a daddy-long-legs was firmly at home in the corner. We were very concerned that the room would be the same. Night receptionist was sullen.

    Enjoyed the residential location with beautiful homes, mature trees and gardens. About 15 minute walk to downtown. Breakfast was good. Room was OK; beds nearly on the floor, making it difficult to get out and pillows flat. Shower floor extremely slippy. The room had all the makings for coffee/tea but no kettle. Asked at the front desk and was told to get coffee in reception...where's the kettle? Upon request, they provided vouchers for a gym about 17 minutes walk away; it was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice and warm stay in Weimar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No restaurant close by but you can get delivery food in your room. One of the bed structure was broken.

    The breakfast is very good and rich. We got upgraded into a lovely spacious room under the wooden roof. Nice and quiet location, close to a beautiful parc, 10 minutes away from Goethe garden house. I recommend the sauna also!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location to explore Weimar as family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was somewhat okay. TV did not work.

    Very friendly welcome by owner. Spacious, quiet room for entire family. Great sauna & hammam with essence, bathrobe & towels provided. Floor heating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    Great breakfast selection, plenty of fresh fruit, vegetables...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing missing was a cappuccino, but the rest was great

    Great breakfast selection, plenty of fresh fruit, vegetables, fresh baked goods, eggs made to order

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really enjoyed our stay at the Art Hotel. The 10 minute walk into Weimar centre through the park is lovely. The room was spacious and we liked the tea-making facilities. It is extremely easy to access from the Autobahn and there is free parking, if not in the hotel's private parking, then simply on the street in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    A place to spend a relaxing trip in Weimar!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi signal inside the room was weak and unstable.

    The staff was very friendly. The room was clean. Mattress and pillow are comfortable. The location is in a nice greenery quiet residential area where in a walking range to the city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    We booked a family room (traveling with 2 small children).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a family room (traveling with 2 small children). The room was huge and very comfortable. We were arriving quite late, close to the end of the check-in end and the hotel called us to inquire about our whereabouts. That was kind and friendly. We appreciated that. The staff is very friendly and professional. The location is excellent if traveling by car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was terrific.

    Breakfast was wonderful. Plus there was a small refrigerator and mini bar. Free parking.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Great way to experience Weimar!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Neighborhood, great staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Very nice breakfasts, with grilled vegetables.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice breakfasts, with grilled vegetables. Nice staff. Good price for the quality offered.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    Spacy rooms, friendly staff, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacy rooms, friendly staff, perfect location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the loft style room, lots of room for parents and teens. Short walk into town through the park that Goethe lived in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Good located and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi did not work and no hot water in the morning. Probably temporary problems, bad luck for us.

    Good located and very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Great breakfast buffet, super quiet and nice neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, carrying heavy suitcases upstairs was difficult but the staff helped.

    Great breakfast buffet, super quiet and nice neighborhood

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Excellent breakfast, perfect staff, very nice sauna, quite...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast, perfect staff, very nice sauna, quite place near the old town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.6
    very friendly staff, perfect location, super breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a little bit soft bed....

    very friendly staff, perfect location, super breakfast....and art hotel style bauhaus.......

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Very good place to stay in Weimar/Thueringen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pleasant hotel with very good breakfasts. Old town can easily be reached on foot in 10-15 minutes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.1
    All fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice room, great location, staff seems to be new to the business and a bit experienced but friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Excellent Hotel!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love everything about this hotel! Stylish bauhaus inspired design, pleasant staff, good breakfast and short walk to town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Very nice and accomodating staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and accomodating staff!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful place, very friendly staff, perfect breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful place, very friendly staff, perfect breakfast...and genius locci ...Weimar.....one word "great"...

    Stayed in September 2017

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 27

Browse Art Hotel Weimar traveller photo gallery