Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schweizer Hof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Wilhelmshöher Allee 288, Bad Wilhelmshoehe, 34131 Kassel, Germany

#16 of 54 hotels in Kassel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 404 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location - walking distance from the station...
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi connection on the fourth floor was very very very weak

    Excellent location - walking distance from the station Kassel-Wilhelmshöhe, tram station in front of the house. Lovely, thoughtful and very welcoming staff at the front desk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Facility for wheelchair user is not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility for wheelchair user is not good. Wheelchair friendly yes, accessibility not. We had a deluxe room, it was spacious but the bathroom is not wheelchair accessible. We had to use the toilet in the basement, even that was not easy since the elevator was very small. We literally had squeeze my husband in. If you are not a wheelchair user, it is quite good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stay and plan to return.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a nice property that worked well for us attending the Hannover Messe. The room rates were fair and the staff was helpful in several situations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.1
    good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed is too small for two persons, should be a queen size bed. there is no coffee in the room. The TV has no English channels.

    good location, clean and big room, nice breakfast. Friendly staff. tram tickets are provided for free.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.1
    Definitely not good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially not given the room type that was booked and confirmed. ie.comfort room with extra large bed. On complaint then given as booked. Shortage of crockery in breakfast room! We were not offered capaccino/espresso by the breakfast staff until the third and final morning of our stay.

    Friendly staff on reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent two day holiday in Kassel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very big, so much space! The room also contained a small kitchenette as well, and very large bathroom. Extremely good value for the money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Ideal comfort in Kassel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet connection was only available by the opened window in my third floor room. Ultimately, I found this to be a pleasant relief, rather than a hinderance. The wifi is strong and available everywhere on the ground floor.

    As a woman traveling alone and speaking only English, I found the Hotel Schweizer Hof to be the perfect place to call home in Kassel during Documenta 14. The staff was multilingual, courteous, and helpful. My quiet room on the third floor looked out over the residential rooftops and gorgeous landscape of Kassel. The main train station was an easy eight minute walk away from the hotel, and the tram system for local transportation was right across the street from the Schweizer Hof entrance. The price of my room included a complimentary pass for all public transportation during my stay. The shops, cafes, and restaurants in the immediate proximity of the Schweitzer Hof provided everything I needed. The hotel breakfast had something delicious for all tastes. Again, the staff is wonderful. I had an excellent visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a great location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator is small. No other dislikes.

    The room was of good size, with contemporary furniture. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful. The hotel gave us free tickets for the tram. The hotel is only a short walk from the railroad station. The tram stop is just outside the hotel. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel, but a bit expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Did not notice any climate control. Had a heater for winter, but no AC or fans for summer. - The toilet flush was very weak. Had to flush twice every time - Not worth the 175€ paid per night

    + Location was decent. Walking distance from main train station. + Tram stop in front of hotel + Free public transport pass + Room was big and clean + Helpful staff + Decent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    8.3
    A nice weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wi-fi connection - particularly at the rear of the hotel was poor.

    Very pleasant helpful staff. Booked a Classic single room but received a complementary upgrade to an apartment at the rear of the hotel - a very nice spacious room, very quiet. A five minute walk from the ICE railway station.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    2.5
    No Sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy Tram and busy road pay to park.

    Easy to find

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Good location, comfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was good.

    Comfortable Bed, good food and location. Tram ticket was included in the stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.3
    Staff must better...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom to small, parking too expensive, breakfast was not complete and a caos.

    Nice location, room was clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    Good value
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little too far from the Center of town

    Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Great public transport links
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Large room, excellent Spanish restaurant next door, great public transport links

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.7
    Poor room, way to small .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor room, way to small . Too much street noise at night !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too expensive due to Hanover Messe

    Very clean, and very well located hotel for travelers by train

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable room good breakfast with hot and cold choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was on the front and traffic noise due to tram lines and cobbles meant the window had to be shut to make this acceptable. No English channels on TV.

    Comfortable room good breakfast with hot and cold choice. Lift was a bonus for small hotel.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    5.8
    Friendly staff in the reception the evening we arrived,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The toilet could"nt flush, our children with but just towels for two. A kitchenette but no plates and no household equippment. The fridge was just on, not any cold on it when we arrived.

    Friendly staff in the reception the evening we arrived, helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    8.3
    The staff were very accommodating, we dont speak German and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very accommodating, we dont speak German and they assisted in English where possible. Also the hotel gave free tickets for the tram, which was right outside the door, for the weekend which was ideal.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.6
    Tram across the road,one stop from train station and also...
    • Couple

    Had an apartment but although there was a cooker and fridge there was no ware or pots.A kettle was supplied but we had nothing else to make a coffee-not even a cup!

    Tram across the road,one stop from train station and also goes to the town centre.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    9.6
    The staff are super friendly and I like that the tram stop...
    • Solo traveller

    The bed and pillow were not comfortable. No heating system to control temp of room.fa

    The staff are super friendly and I like that the tram stop going to the train station and city center is right next to the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    8.8
    professional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast service was fine and varied, but quantities offered were somewhat too limited. Newspapers available on the front desk should not be charged to the clients.

    professional staff

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    8.8
    It was really quiet and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was really quiet and friendly

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: