Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Aster an der Messe 3 stars

Reichsstr. 105, Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 14052 Berlin, Germany

#485 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 695 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is for me worst hotel when I visited. Really bad staff. Really dirty floors. Really loud and we were scared from people banging the doors and we even can't sleep because some people were trying to open our door. Bad breakfast because of really limited options. Paying for 70 euros for this type is service is really bad. This hotel looks like a bed and breakfast and not your typical expected hotel.

    We can leave early

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rustic, old furnished, ugly rooms. Creaking floor on the corridor, you can hear all your neighbours coming back and locking theier doors. Lack of intimacy. :( Very basic breakfast, not very tasty...

    Great location. Free parking zone, no problem to find a parking place! Clean room full of sun light.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you get a room in the side of the main road it's noisy. The staff is not friendly. The courtins do not cover all the windows and you get a lot of sunlight starting very very early

    Breakfast is nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was very accomodating! I arrived very early and had an event to prepare for in the afternoon. They went out of their way to arrange for my room to be ready much earlier than the official check in time!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really annoyed us, probably the furniture could have been more modern

    Close to Messe Berlin Quiet location Metro stop 1 min walk away Clean rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking close to the hotel was problematic (parking zones with time limits); finally we left our car on free parking next to exhibition area (appx. 500 m from the hotel)

    location- very close to the metro station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the end of our stay we should check out at 6 am. So I ask the reseptiin to provid our breakfast at 6 and while our askjng was to late she accept it and do it

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was 4-night stay,but on two mornings the breakfast wasn't ready when it should be. Me and other customers had to wait until it was made, which was very improper. Also, I wish there were a kettle and a fridge in the room.

    The room was cozy and comfortable. It was quiet and warm,and I got a very good night rest. The location was very good, and breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff at Hotel an der Messe were pleasant and accommodating. The hotel room was clean and spacious for a family of four, with 2 sofa beds big enough for the kids. The hotel was situated in a neighborhood that was more residential and quiet, perfect for a family. There were many affordable places to eat and a supermarket, two blocks away. Easy access to the U-bahn (underground train system). The continental breakfast had a good variety of foods to choose from. The coffee was delicious! Enjoyed our stay at this quaint European hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was okay.

    A nice hotel in a townhouse, easy free parking across the street, near the underground, not far from the centre, with shops nearby and fast food restaurants open till late.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Interior was old-fashioned, windows were wooden and not really good and clean, doors were wooden was locked only for old-fashioned key - it would be very easy to break into. Room and bathroom needed renovation - fugue traces in bathroom, stain traces on the walls on quite old tapestry. TV quality was really bad (but TV itself was modern and OK)

    Rooms were big and bed was comfortable (if You like it soft). Clean in general, if You don't look to deep. It's in old tenement house, with really old elevator - it definitely has it's own atmosphere. Good location, just 2 minutes walk from U2, very easy to travel. Parking is in public, outside, but was not hard to park a car. Breakfast was with good ingredients and products, but choice is quite limited.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After the second day, we didn´t get toilet paper (it was almost finished when we got the room), the same for the soap for showering.

    The room was spacious, the breakfast was sufficient, it included boiled eggs, sausages, some fruits, yoghurt, bread, cheese, ham, cereals, juices coffee and tea. Wifi was also more than sufficient and clear what the password is.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stuff wasn't really friendly.

    This is weird hotel if you could call it hotel. It is clean but some weird old guy works on reception. He didn't speak any English but was also very unfriendly. Place is close to the train so you can reach city center in 15 min by subway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    amazing hotel. great stuff, great location near underground station, free public parking across the street, very good breakfast, big rooms, quiet location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dirt in the lift and the broken carpet on the stairs which is shared with other businesses.

    My room was quiet and clean and overlooked a courtyard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit of noise coming from the lobby as the room (12) is next to it. Small shower.

    Amazingly large room, bit of wear and tear evident, but beautiful old wood panelling all around, and a desk to work at - very useful for me. TV had the usual channels, worked well. I left too early for breakfast but the breakfast room looked nice. Good wifi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is true that the hotel is a bit dated but rooms and restrooms are clean, beds are comfortable, temp of water in shower is easy to regulate, and breakfast is quite good. Personnel are particularly nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is personal but only for me. I have knee issues so using the shower was slightly a challenge to enter. The carpet in the room was old as is the building but that also gives it charm.

    It is within walking distance from ZOB the bus station. Although if there was snow on the ground I would take a taxi as it is about 1 Km. The room was decent in size, the bed extremely comfortable and the TV has many channels. The room also had a safe. The staff were extremely courteous and knowledgeable. At breakfast the staff would approach and ask ask if there was anything they could do to help. I also liked the old style actual key that hangs on a brass knob. Nostalgia.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As it is an old building all the rooms are different. The standard rooms are quite small, so it is advisable to choose some of the premium rooms if you stay longer or need more space.

    Nice traditional building with local atmosphere. Good location near Theodor Heuss Platz and the Fair and Exhibition Ground. Very nice staff ready to help you with any issue.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old lift Staff at night didn't speak English Power sockets only behind the desk

    Location was right next to the ZOB bud terminal. Walk within 10 mins or 1 underground station away. Fast wifi Clean room and bathroom

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ground floor was a little bit noisy when you step on it.

    The room was clean and spacious. It was cleaned everyday by the cleaning lady. The breakfast was good and the staff was friendly. The location is about 50 m near the subway. Quiet neighborhood.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in a single room which was a bit small but ok for one night.

    It was nearby the metro stop. The neighbourhood was nice. Coffee at the breakfast is free to take away.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Man at the desk was quite cold and haven't spoken a single extra word.

    Our double room was extremely spacious equipped with some sofas and armchairs besides two bed and huge flat TV. Room had high ceilings and nice balcony. There is also a free parking spot in front of the hotel. Room was clean and breakfast were average.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is spread out over several floors and the elevator and hallways are very dirty, night porter not very friendly at front desk

    Location, old Berlin apartment building with high ceilings and charme, good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms, doors, windows and beds are old, but that's OK for the price.

    The room was perfect for a family with three kids, breakfast was nice though there is no hot milk and no croissants. Two minutes walk from the metro.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff a bit miserable / room not very big for a triple room with very small bathroom/ no instructions for safety deposit box, we had to ask for instructions/.

    Location close to Olympic stadium / comfy bed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow

    Generally everything was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture...no air-conditioning it was hot night....small T V...although it was expensive

    Staff.... location for my work

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit noise from the street

    Spacy room, tasty breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location near Messe Berlin. Good breakfast. Good price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini bar & fridge

    Location & value

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed was small

    bed place was small

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was poor

    Good location ro reach Messe

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location too far from main atractions in berlin need a car to move around

    The balcony's view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very shabby and run down. Carpeting worn, paint dated, tiny bathroom

    Nice variety in breakfast served. Great location, very close to train

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing special at all

    A nice guy working breakfast provided us with an early breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift broke down and working for days

    Polite staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is no minibar

    breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money, nice staff, good breakfast, good location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange mattresses all around the room?!

    Breakfest

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast ,cosy bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is good. Location is easy to find.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was close to the Ubarn, which made it easy to get around Berlin.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    really small bathroom

    Good location, friendly personnel. We were allowed to leave our luggeges passed our chek-out time - it really helped.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    it has to be renovated... no refrigerator in the room

    the position of the hotel is very near to the underground train station

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is very average and dated Bathroom was a bit dirty

    Location near a metro

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was quite poor. Wi-fi didn't work in the room

    very comfortable room. the hotel is very close to the subway station

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi in my room wasnt so good.

    Staff was great and helpfull

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too soft bed, occasional noise of U-Bahn

    Location near U2 to city center, Good breakfast, Wifi, Clean room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Simple, not too much variety but good and fresh breakfast. Friendly stuff, always willing to help.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It`s not a real hotel, it`s more like a pension. Was overprised, I paid 160 euro per night for a single room in March, that`s too much for that type of hotel.

    Very good location to the fair and to the Metro U2 that brings you directly to the city centre. Clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    a girl who was in reception on 25th evening was not kind..as I asked for a blanket, she was just asking some money....!!..need to helping if with kid..

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The carpet was old and needs replaced. The lighting is also poor.

    Excellent location close to the metro with free parking right out front. Breakfast was good with hot and cold choices.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    internet is bit slower..but still Okay to work with.. and at least the hotel should provide a kettle and two sachets of coffee/tea and sugar/day. It is not that costly affair.

    Excellent location, Clean, comfortable beds, close to U bhan (just 230 meters) and delicious breakfast , helpful staff..

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There had been a problem maybe between the Booking.com and the hotel. I requested for early check-in, the site informed us that it was okay, but the hotel refused.

    The location is near the metro and the bus station.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the quality of breakfast food. layout of room. difficulty in getting the lift. Staff not multi-lingual. no laundry service available for guests..

    The Location. Convenient to transportation, dining, and shopping.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No fridge in the room. No equipment for making coffee or tea.

    Breakfast - good but all days the same. Free parking on street, quite easy to find. Very close to metro station. Good conection to city center. Comfortable beds. Nearby many places to eat.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I think timeslot of breakfast is quite little - 9 to 10 am. Metro station is far from center - around 20 min to reach it, though the metro is close to hotel itself. Rooms are located very close to reception on 1st floor, which might disturb if you're looking for privacy.

    Personnel is very helpful, location is very close to metro station. Room are spacious.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Almost all usual things are very bad here, starting from security, service, comfort (very noisy, uncomfortable mattress, breakfast, or older gentleman at the front desk who can not remember that I paid 4 hours ago and asked me to pay again...) I will never book again.

    Location close to the Messe Berlin and Tube is only good thing here.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing really.

    Close to the Conference centre, and the metro to go into Berlin. Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast spread included. Good sized room.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small bed. The hotel located inside a building. As a genius Booking says I get 2 hours late checkout. Well, they give me only 30 minutes...

    Comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Shabby entrance, narrow escalates space to carry luggage. Above all i had booked room for 4, however we were given bed for 3 and hence had to share space with kids.

    Its close to underground subway.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Couple

    No tea and coffee making facilities, and no cold water you have to run the tap a long time to get it to run coolish. Very basic hotel would only stay there again for a stopover.

    Great location. Out of the centre, but lots of nice places to shop, eat or just get a drink. Bed was very comfortable. Great for one night and good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a room across from the Lobby and I could hear EVERYTHING. I could hear a t.v. coming from somewhere, anytime anybody walked, and the door buzzer not only at the Hotel front desk but also then again downstairs when People were buzzed in (it was hot so we had to have the Windows open). The wifi was also very hard to connect or stay connected to.

    The room was quite neat. Like it had been an old house converted to a Hotel. Very cool from a historical appreciation view. The room was clean and spacious. The breakfast was very good. I also liked that the Hotel provided Body wash and shampoo in the shower. I would stay here again but request a room on a different floor. The Hotel was also very Close to the ZOB which was convenient.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast, the cleanliness, the location. It is an old building and visually not appealing, yet it was perfect. When I first saw the bed I was convinced it would be uncomfortable. I was wrong, it was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi connection too slow , too little power socket in the room

    Very Near to the metro , hotel staffs is extremely helpful , computer and printing usage is free (available at the lobby)

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tight room, very old not modern, no air conditioning especially given the fact that I visited in June when Berlin is very hot. Lady staff was nice while male staff was rude.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    High noise level from street outside as well as inside hotel . Hotel is on first floor . Every body presses buzzer to get in first door and then a bell to get in second door .every thing is dated and dilapidated. It is a little over rated for 2 star hotel . It should be a one star .

    Proximity to ubahn station

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Not easy to find a parking place, lack of ventilation in the room.

    Very nice staff, spacy and clean room, really good breakfast. I would definitely come again.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The place has seen its best times, but there is nothing to complain about it. The price-quality ratio was good to me.

    There was wifi, clean rooms, good shower, a TV, wardrobe and breakfast, all for reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet was very poor, worked only 5 min.per 48 houres of my stay.

    Good location, close to metro station and also car parking is for free to park the car on the street (if you are able to find an empty place).

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Group

    The staff. We had so many special requests and every single of them was accepted without making us feel guilty we do so. Excellent staff. Very friendly. We arrived much earlier than we agreed, but we were treated as dear guests. Ah, there were so many little nice things, but in short - it was brilliant stay. The best value for money no doubt. The hotel is near to everything you would need. Near ZOB (bus station), S-Bahn is ~1km away. U-Bahn and city busses are 50-100m away. There are 2 big shops near, many restaurants, cafes. Even Tegel airport is just ~7km away. Not far is Ku'damm, Zoo and Schloss Charlottenburg. Just don't expect luxury...

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff very friendly, room very comfortable and clean, good breakfast. Although it's around 30min away from the city centre (alexanderplatz for example), the metro station is only one block away from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very unfriendly.

    The location was just perfect for us. The room was clean and the breakfast sufficient.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Couple

    you can hear the neighbours and not comfortable

    clean room only and good wifi signal

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Aster an der Messe traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: