Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Astor Kiel by Campanile This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Holstenplatz 1-2, 24103 Kiel, Germany

#34 of 44 hotels in Kiel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1217 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had e tickets to the football which I got printed at reception by Leah. When I got to the ground only one of my two tickets worked. Someone else had already used the other one to get into the ground.

    Location was outstanding & the rooftop bar was excellent. Views of Kiel from there were amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    Good choice for transit stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and facilities therein need renovation.

    Perfect for short stays for it is close to the city center as well as train station and ferry terminals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    My stay at the hotel was exactly what I wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The 'golvlist' (I don't know the English) is missing many corners in the corridors and there are many small gaps on the bottom edges of the doors but I heard some hammering during the day so I assume the work isn't yet finished.

    clean, staff friendly (eager & helpful), well-situated, quiet, good value, very civilized.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    Short but enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little harder to find parking close by due to construction work going on within the city centre - but otherwise fine

    Breakfast area on the 10th floor has great views over the city

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.6
    Exellent
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    An extra pillow

    Couldn't be more central. Free overnight parking behind the old Post office across the road. Bus stop 30 seconds walk away. Train station 6-7 minutes. Shopping centre 2-3 mins. Large clean spacious rooms with very effective central heating. A very smart Campus Suite for breakfeast a hundred metres away. Fantastic value for money. Highly recomended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    Good place to stay in Kiel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is older, but renovated and clean.

    Comfortable room, love the tea and coffee maker in room, great view, perfect locytion, and excellent breakfast buffet. Friendly staff! Astor bar is also nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    A good location and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No parking. And not much decorations in the room. A bed, a desk and a bathroom, that's it. Also, everything echoes in the halls, so even if guests don't mean to be loud, noises get loud anyway.

    A good location and clean rooms. Very close to restaurants, the ferry (Sweden/Norway) terminals etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    4.6
    where is my laptop ?
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left my laptop at the hotel by my mistake on 12th Sep. The next day I asked to return the laptop by courier, my expense. However, today 18th Sep., I haven't received the laptop. They said it was delivered. I called 20 times to the hotel, but it was really difficult to contact the person. The action is the worst !! Bad service!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    I´ve stayed there a full month and it was a pleasant stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi is not the fastest but easy to use.

    The location is directly in the city center, opposite of the Sparkasse Arena (concert venue) and only several 100 meters aways from the central station, and a bus station / taxis stand are directly at the hotel. Fantastic views of the city from the rooms and the bar / breakfast room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.3
    The location close to the railway station is a plus.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building gives impression of being a skansen from the 60s. In a way it does has its "climate" but windows do not protect form the noise form the outside and walls are also thin and not very soundproof... . Another complain on the room pricing. I was in Kiel accidentally during the Kieler Woche and the room price was up through the roof for the poor quality it was. Breakfast for 10Euro is also quite overpriced.

    The location close to the railway station is a plus. For a night or two the offered facilities are ok

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    5.4
    Not so good value for money, as I found it expensive, room size ok but bathroom really old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is small and looks really old, the main color in the room was brown/red. Compared to the room itself, it felt not really nice. The room looks more modern, and the bathroom was really old. It looks like the hotel had been refurbished but not entirely, the bathrooms are still there from the old age, old and small.

    The hotel is located in the city center. On the top floor, it offers a great view. Breakfast is also good value for money as it is quite cheap for what you get. The size of the room is good, however it is different with the bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    7.1
    The rooms are big and with a fantasitic view.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hooks in the bathroom, no klenex and a close up mirror.

    The rooms are big and with a fantasitic view. It not a luxary hotel but have certain facilities like the breakfast room on top of the building with a nice view. Have a bar also on top of the building. Location the best in Kiel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.3
    Fantastic view and delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be perfect with a double bed, instead of two single beds, as our youngest child was supposed to sleep there with us

    Our room was fantastic; 9th floor with panoramic view on 2 sides. Big room, nice bathroom. Very good welcome by the staff. Breakfast was very good and varied.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    5.4
    Location was good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I never gave such a negative review but this place deserves it: the hotel staff during check in was very unfriendly to us with sulky faces. Next day when they clean the room they did not left any towels and when i requested some towels from the reception they said they have no towels or anything, just two hand towels left in the whole facility. The hotel garage was always full, rooms were old but i guess they are renovating, staff is cold and unfriendly

    Location was good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    9.2
    cosy central with 1960s flair
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    perfect central location, the original 1960s building with beautiful breakfast room on the top floor, just slightly renovated (which is only good : ).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.1
    Great location, clean but small room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Location and clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    2.9
    Smallest Room ever
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smallest Room ever

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff are very friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.0
    location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not very clean. Especially the shower The door to my room kept making noises when somebody walked past due to the draft.

    location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.1
    THE VIEW
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI SUCKED

    THE VIEW

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.8
    Only one open whole night in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfest with perfect view!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.9
    In The sentrum of Kiel and the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In The sentrum of Kiel and the old town. Breakfest.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    9.2
    Very bad wi-fi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad wi-fi

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    6.3
    Near to Kiel Hbf
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got very very small room, so that made the price too high

    Near to Kiel Hbf

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    8.3
    Good, ideally located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had this time was not the same standard as the one we had last year. The room was a little run down and needs renovating.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.5
    good stay.mike was too cooperative on front desk.wishing him all the best !
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    wi fi

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.3
    A Great Getaway Weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel had everything we needed, with good food, free WiFi

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    5.8
    Eh. I'm sure there are worse in Kiel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could definitely use a remodel and a GOOD cleaning.

    view from breakfast room was nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    5.4
    Personnel was welcoming and wifi was available.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old interiour, seems like I am 20 years ago.

    Personnel was welcoming and wifi was available.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    5.4
    Waited 1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited 1.5 hours to check in even after 3pm

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    2.5
    Old and dodgy place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and dodgy place. Don't go there.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    2.9
    Läget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was dirty, especially the bathroom and the curtains was dirty. Later at the evening we tried to visit the bar. We who visit the hotel couldnt come in to the hotel bar because it was booked! At the breakfast we couldnt get any seats bacause it was full, we was rekommended to come back after 20 min, we did, still no room. And the staff just do nothing. Many things at the brakfast was empty the staff just talked with each other, thats not the way to solve a problem.

    Läget

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    8.8
    Great value and a really good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Little bit of a lack of attention to detail - a few niggles, nothing which would stop me staying again, but irritations e.g shower didn't keep a constant temperature and shower head didn't stay in place. Also remote for TV didn't work.

    Great value and a really good location. Breakfast is also really impressive.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.9
    The views from our room were great, the room was basic but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was two twins pushed together that were separated too easily.

    The views from our room were great, the room was basic but comfortable, and the Altstadt and other points of interest were just a couple of minutes walk away so it was very convenient. Also just a 5 minute walk to train station and cruise ships.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    6.7
    The location is fantastic in the middle of shopping and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked air conditioning in room. It was extremely hot during day and if windows opened too much traffic noise. It did cool down quite a lot at night though.

    The location is fantastic in the middle of shopping and close to ferry/cruise ports.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    7.5
    This is a previous luxury hotel, is renovated to appear...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room utilization was a bit weird

    This is a previous luxury hotel, is renovated to appear farly modern, but not as flashy as it probably was in its glory days. It's rear to get such good view in this price bracket.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    7.9
    Breakfast was very nice and service overall was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very limited selection of English-language TV channels - just BBC World News.

    Breakfast was very nice and service overall was very good. Very handy for the city centre and the ferry terminals.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.6
    Conveniently near railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My fault. Very far from Ostuferhafen for cruise ship

    Conveniently near railway station

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    8.0
    Very cold in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very cold in the room.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    6.7
    Very good position, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very bad internet conection (wi-fi)

    Very good position, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    9.2
    Nice location, nice view from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loud music at night.. Maybe from a disco nearby.

    Nice location, nice view from our room. Next to the Christmas market.

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    5.4
    Noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    8.8
    The location & value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The flooring was pathetic.

    The location & value for money...

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    9.6
    very nice view on the city from the room and the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very nice view on the city from the room and the breakfast area; nice, clean rooms and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    4.6
    The hotel is in the middle of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bathroom was quite old and there was some mud on the wall

    The hotel is in the middle of the city

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    7.1
    It was a peaceful environment, well located, staff could...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was a peaceful environment, well located, staff could speak English

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    5.8
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too noisy. Needs air conditioning as opening windows increased street noise levels

    Central location

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    9.2
    Delicious breakfasts and placed directly in the center of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Delicious breakfasts and placed directly in the center of town

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    9.6
    Location,hotel comfort and staff excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Awesome in every aspect.

    Location,hotel comfort and staff excellent

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.2
    Central to city and transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Central to city and transport.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    9.6
    NUOSTABUS VIESBUTIS PACIAM CENTRE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    TRUPUTI SUMAZINTI KAINA

    NUOSTABUS VIESBUTIS PACIAM CENTRE!LABAI GERAS APTARNAVIMAS,LABAI SVARU,PUIKUS PERSONALAS,SKANUS PUSRYCIAI!

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    7.5
    Great location för shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location för shopping. Room comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    8.8
    Excelent location, near from the railway station, harbour,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excelent location, near from the railway station, harbour, city center and Sparkassenarena. Ideal for THW Kiel fans.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.2
    Location, breakfast and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Need a cooler in the rooms

    Location, breakfast and value for money

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    9.2
    Perfect location, close to the Railway Station and old town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect location, close to the Railway Station and old town. Nice view, if upper floors selected. Good value for money.

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: