Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Astoria This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hannoversche Str.51-53, 37075 Göttingen, Germany

#22 of 24 hotels in Göttingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 759 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The mattress is so thin and saggy to cause a backpain. The internet connection is not stable. One day I cannot access the internet from my PC at all.

    The staff were friendly. The location is best for University and MPI guests. The breakfast area is clean and cozy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.8
    Not the best in Gottingen I think
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fresh fruit at breakfast apart from a fruit salad which contains sugar - putting a few apples or kiwis in a bowl doesn't take much effort. Very loud, they started cutting bushes in front of my room at 7AM on a Saturday morning - needless to say that my relaxing morning after a hard week of work was far from relaxing.

    Staff was friendly, plenty of parking space

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    The rooms were perfect, beds were comfy, bathroom was...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were perfect, beds were comfy, bathroom was amazing and clean. We grabbed a quick breakfast, it was good. The staff speaks english and is polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    Clean and neat.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    They told they can't check me in on Sunday, if I didn't have friend it would have became problem, but they offered another hotel. While check out also same issue but it would have been convenient if they could have informed earlier. I took the other hotel option and it was nice and near to Station...

    Clean and neat. Near to office locaton.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    Adequate hotel to explore the city center
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast choice could be better (more fresh stuff and more pastry).

    We stayed only one night and for that the hotel was good - the room was fine, the bed comfortable, even the late check-in (thanks Deutsche Bahn) functioned well. The breakfast was good for one morning. The later check-out was also well thanks to friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice staff, awesome breakfast, would go there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet (free wifi) accessibility depends on the location of your room within the hotel and could be just fine or poor, therefore.

    Very great options for individual breakfast choise and very good quality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.3
    Great for a stop-over near the autobahn
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Average breakfast, location was not the best for sightseeing - it's located in an industrial area close to noisy roads. The rooms were quiet though with good noise cancelling windows.

    It was easy to find near the A7 autobahn and free parking at the hotel - perfect for a one night stopover. We had two rooms, with a door between them. Very convenient for group travellers or families.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    5.0
    Offers rooms on booking.com, but has no reception at night. "Please find another hotel"
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel offered rooms on booking.com. I booked and then when you come to the Hotel, there is no one at reception, just a phone number that you can call. When you call they tell you that you have reserved after the staff left and that you cannot pick up your key at the cooperation Partner around the corner. They tell you to find another Hotel. Hotels like this should be kicked out of booking.com, because it destroys the value of booking online, when you need a Hotel and then end up somewhere in the middle of nowhere and the Hotel says "sorry"

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't anything to really complain about but not the most modern hotel and 30min walk from centre.

    Breakfast was good and organised gluten and Lactose free breakfast. Free parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.1
    总体来讲,性价比还可以。
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room is not cleaned every day, we stay in this hotel for five days: 2nd day the whole room is not cleaned; 5th day the washing room is not cleaned. We sincerely hope the above can be prevented in future.

    Very good breakfast, very big room! Easy for parking, and near to high way!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.8
    Good value, comfortable hotel in a pretty town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was intermittent - the signal dropped out completely a few times - but ultimately it was enough to get by. I did crave some coffee when I arrived. Would have been nice to have some in the room - or easy/obvious indication of where to get some quickly. No TV in English - this maybe an unreasonable request - but when you have arrived, exhausted from a journey and just want to crash out in front of the TV - there must be loads of visitors that would like something available in English - that's not just CNN.

    Very pleasant environment - nice selection of good quality food for breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff - welcoming. Clean room, comfortable bed. Everything was straightforward. Despite being a little way out of town it is well served by buses straight into town and the train station. It's also reasonably close to the University. I would certainly recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.9
    Was pretty goof and enjoyed it
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room did not have a nice view and the ceiling was not high enough that give an uncomfortable feeling

    I liked the location because its two minutes walking from the bus station and near the city center as well

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    4.2
    The bed was comfortable and room was clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was facing the road and hence noisy at night. The lady at the reception was not at all helpful. When asked for a cup of coffee said I have to go outside the hotel and find a cafe.Also, she did not even help me find a bus time table. Even the staffs at the breakfast were cold as they did not greet the guests.

    The bed was comfortable and room was clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Good place to stay in Göttingen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location, clean. Staff are kind and ready to help.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Helpful reception!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Helpful reception!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Every thing, Room, Breakfast, Hotel personal, etc
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    Every thing, Room, Breakfast, Hotel personal, etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice room and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor internet connection

    Nice room and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    the Breakfast was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast was very good and the staff was friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were rather old-fashioned and dusty.

    Breakfast was very good and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.1
    The manager it wasn’t very nice
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager it wasn’t very nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.5
    It was good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was pretty bad (Very slow)

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.8
    Large breakfast, friendly staff, price
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No early check in, english of staff approximative, it is a bit far from the city center

    Large breakfast, friendly staff, price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.5
    OK, good value, will stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    Good Value

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    It was good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night lift cannot use

    Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.0
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection was bad. I could not use the internet at all despite changing rooms

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.9
    Good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    5.0
    Wifi does not work
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi does not work

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.3
    Pillow is disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillow is disaster Supplies in bathroom is not enough Breakfast is not good enough

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    2.5
    Horrible experience...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very high temperature into each room proposed by hôtel staff The hotel welcome The breakfast The very noisy place

    Leave this place

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.5
    You have to walk for 15 t0 30 min, to reach downtown of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Information at the Hotel about downtown.

    You have to walk for 15 t0 30 min, to reach downtown of Göttingen, which is lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.6
    Everything was just great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was just great. That was the second time we stayed at this Hotel and we will definitely stay there again if we visit Goettingen.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast was great!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was not quite well!

    Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast was great!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi connection was not quite well!

    Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.2
    Very nice!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was really comfy. The breakfast was great, and the staff really nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    8.8
    good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    pillow is too soft.

    nice breakfast, nice staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    6.7
    decent place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nice and neat hotel with friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    7.9
    It is a nice place in te city.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel wifi was weak, the signal level was low, but I could find a free hotspot.

    It is a nice place in te city.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    6.7
    Breakfast is fine for me.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel's wifi is too slow. Recommend to use t-mobile's wifi.

    Breakfast is fine for me. Reasonable price.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    6.7
    Simple and close to the city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The curtains did not keep the light out. Therefore i woke up much too early.

    Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    8.8
    Convenient location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Insufficient parking with a lot a vans and people taking up two spaces.

    The bed was really comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    9.6
    Good location in Gottingen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Clean well organized german hotel, large rooms. very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    10
    Wonderful breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    4.6
    convenient hotel but staff could have been more helpful with information,
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no communication with the guests at all don't buy the bottle water small bottle costs 4.50 Eurp

    easy location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    6.7
    The room was very clean
    • Solo traveller

    I would be happy to have a small fridge in the room It was very warm in the room The bed was rather narrow The Internet connection worked, but the quality was not that great The location is good for people who are traveling with a car, but not using public transport

    The room was very clean The personal was friendly and helpful The breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    7.5
    Location, easy parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A lot of maintenance work was being carried out. The sound proofing in the rooms is very poor as neighbours could be heard talking. Could do with a more modern card key lock system.

    Location, easy parking

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    6.3
    clean rooms and nice brakfast
    • Group

    the staff couldn't find my booking, and additionally couldn't speak English what was really problematic, after 15-20 minutes they still couldn't find my reservation and gave me some other rooms; and the invoice was on different name

    clean rooms and nice brakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    5.0
    the room was clean and comfortable
    • Solo traveller

    internet wi-fi didn't work in my room and I had to stay in the lobby to use it. clean towels did smell of smoke! just half of people working there (at the reception) was able to speak English!

    the room was clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    7.1
    Clean room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wireless internet is dramatically bad. When I mentioned this, I was told that the network could just be temporarily busy. Well, then it was temporarily busy regardless when I tried. I was here for business, and I prefer having to pay for a good internet connection than have a lousy free one.

    Clean room Good bathroom with hot water Good bed Nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    5.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room too hot. There was no air conditioning. Even a fan would be helpful. It wasn't even summer . We were there in autumn. Our room had the afternoon sun which made it heat up. We did complain but we weren't offered another room.

    Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    7.9
    One of the best showers I've ever had, coming from a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The pillows were too soft

    One of the best showers I've ever had, coming from a British perspective of general poor showers! Loved the choice of teas at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    8.8
    Those staff who spoke English were lovely, and very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    There was no air-con, which shouldn't be a surprise as Göttingen isn't a particularly hot place usually, but it was while we were there. There was no kettle in the room, and no room-service. I asked in advance for gluten-free bread to be available at breakfast but it was not.

    Those staff who spoke English were lovely, and very helpful. The room was beautiful, clean and very comfortable (except the temperature). Breakfast was delicious, and very german!

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    6.7
    Clean hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very noisy at night, many heavy trucks going around the hotel. Thin curtains in the room don't allow to make dark to sleep. High colesterol breakfast.

    Clean hotel

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.9
    This is a three stars hotel that could really get a star...
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel it is not very central and the location it is not really beatiful. However, I find still the hotel very nice and well connected to the city center.

    This is a three stars hotel that could really get a star more. The rooms looks new, well furnished and very clean. I would book this hotel again.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    7.5
    Nice and comfortable room, very clean, good breakfast, kind...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Located quite far from the center (no restaurants and nothing around); very bad WiFi connection in the rooms.

    Nice and comfortable room, very clean, good breakfast, kind and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    6.7
    Enough close
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too hot in the room

    Enough close

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    6.3
    Near the Highway.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Receptionist don't speak English. Bad pillow.

    Near the Highway.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    7.9
    Clean rooms, service during breakfast, spaces with plenty of...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Service at the reception.

    Clean rooms, service during breakfast, spaces with plenty of light and good decoration.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    7.5
    The WiFi speed is horrible.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The WiFi speed is horrible.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    7.1
    Good hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - not sufficient parking places - service at bar extremely slow - staff was not friendly at all

    Good hotel.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    5.0
    Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bad ventilation in the bathroom, dirty room and bathroom

    Comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The curtains were too thin, allowing quite a lot of street light into the room at night.

    Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    8.8
    Τhe cleanliness, comfort and location.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Lacking of small fridge

    Τhe cleanliness, comfort and location. Also the breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    5.4
    Closeness to city and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were quite impersonal. Bathroom fittings were falling off

    Closeness to city and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    6.7
    Central area for business and shopping
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Central area for business and shopping

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    8.3
    very cleaned
    • Solo traveller

    la connection wifi qui stoppe toutes les 3min. very bad wifi connection

    very cleaned

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    7.9
    Clean, nice, good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Horrible wifi, almost doesnt exist.

    Clean, nice, good location

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    5.8
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi

    Breakfast

There are also 54 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Guests also reviewed these properties: