Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Astoria This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Mathystr. 22, 76133 Karlsruhe, Germany

Review score

Based on 671 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    An excellent place to stay in Karlsruhe
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel. Within walking distance of the city center. Breakfast was AWESOME. The price was great and quality of our stay exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfy room for 2 people, nice breakfast, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Easy and very early check-in, from 11:00. The room was as expected from the description and the pictures. Ours was at the back side of the buidling, so we didn't have the noise from the road and the tram passing by. Wi-fi was good. Nice breakfast, with stuff ready to help when needed. Location was also good, equal distance from the train station and the area with restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Great city exploring base
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioner would be nice and room toward street can be noisy because of close tram station.

    Clean, good location, new furniture, very polite receptionist and excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Pretty good especially if you like the atmospheric rumble of trams 🙂
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ear plugs were needed (for room at front on 2nd floor) as trams run outside front of hotel from early morning to late at night. Fan was needed as had to close windows because of tram noise.

    Ear plugs were provided. Fan was provided. Single bed large and comfy. Good breakfast. Friendly staff. Very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Nice and well located hotel with helpful staff, very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nothing. Breakfast was great, with helpful staff

    Good location, between train station and downtown, you can walk to both and arrive in about 15 minutes. Two tram stations nearby (one in front). Very quiet during the night. Good mattress, confortable room with two beds, closet, TV, table and an armchair.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    Overall OK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was very much cigarette-smoke in the corridor at the second evening. The shower had only a curtain and not a cabin. Only stairs to the 4th floor (no elevator).

    The breakfast was great. The room at the backside of the Hotel was very quiet (open Windows all night Long). Very nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Great bedding, I had a terrace to enjoy the breeze and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weird smell from the bathroom air circulation that usually comes from cockroach hatch in old building walls. Not a pleasant experience using the shower or bathroom.

    Great bedding, I had a terrace to enjoy the breeze and the day light. Great place to drink beer. Penny Discount mart 5 min walk made my evening snacks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect just the bathroom had weird smell...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect just the bathroom had weird smell from the air circulator. Awesome breakfast. Right in front of the KVV station for Tram or Sbahn (2.5 euro for one way 6.4 euros for all day)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel in a grey city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The receptionist didn't speak english. Thank you google translate :)

    The room was comfirtable and clean. There are parking spots in the street near the hotel (with parking meter during the day) Breakfast was great !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    value for money - very close to all public transports: in Karlsruhe always use bus: cheap an fast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was a bit cold, so I had to keep the door with the other bedroom always open (stinks and wet). Some of the tents were either short (in the bathroom!!) or broken.

    I've been in an apartment close to the hotel (overbooking??), so I was alone in a 50 sqmt-double room: 1 noisy (10 mts from tram station) 1 very silent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    We had a very special stay! I deffinitely reccomned the place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was perfect for us as it is not far away from the Central Train Station and we traveled a lot. Very comfortable and cosy beds. A distinguished view from the window :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Location of hotel,very clean,wonderfully breakfast,easy to...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of hotel,very clean,wonderfully breakfast,easy to reach all destinations more and more good hotel.Thanks a lot.Next travel I will stay only in this hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location, super breakfast, great for the price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was clean, but a bit old-fashioned.

    Plenty and good quality breakfast. Room is proper size, free tea and coffee in the room. I liked that there was a small fridge as well. The bed was comfortable. Personal was helpful and nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money, a little bit outside the centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was mediocre. As with many hotels like this in Germany, there was no lift.

    Large room with comfortable bed. BBC News on the TV. Good Wifi. Tram stops right in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    Cleaning very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When ww atrizes at the hotel the reception it was closrd and the te was no informarion about late check in. I called, and the employee help me.

    Cleaning very good. The room very comfortable, location excelent and very good and with vários.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.5
    Good, but expensive
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too expensive for the value. The building and the rooms were a bit outdated, in addition it smelled of dampness in the whole building and the room. So if there would be an elevator and the room/building wouldn't be outdated and smell wetty, the money would be worth.

    The staff was friendly, although have been seen very rarely. The location was well located.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel to spend the night
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not the biggest. I also had the room which had a door to the terrace, and had no other window. This meant that I had to choose between privacy and a breath of fresh air, or some natural light. That was a significant downside, especially since the wall had enough space to add a smaller window. Also, the double bed was just two normal beds stuck together, and they kept drifting apart.

    The mattress was comfortable. There was a tea/coffee station in the room, which I thought was very nice. I am someone who prefers to save money and prepare my own meals rather than rely on fast food, so the water boiler and the 2 trays in the room were a welcome addition. The room also had a fan with a stand, which was great because I could move it to suit my needs. The breakfast was very good, with a not so large, but tasty selection, and the coffee was served in a thermos at each table, along with everything you need to prepare it to your taste. It was good coffee too. I only stopped for one night, but I felt comfortable, and would choose it again. The price isn't the cheapest, but it's worth the money for the breakfast and the location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.9
    Everything was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There is no elevator in the hotel, but it was not a problem for us.

    Everything was OK. I liked that there was a tea pot and a small refrigerator in the room. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    6.7
    Good value and a convenient location in Karlsruhe
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no desk chair in the room there was a small desk space but the only chair in the room was not at the desk and didn't look like it would be the right height for use as a desk chair. The room I had (47) overlooked the street in front of the hotel. There were trams running until very late at night, and the window was open due to the heat, so the room was quite noisy. There was free coffee and tea, and an electric kettle to heat water, but it was not replenished during my stay (4 nights)

    Good value - simple accommodations, but a good price. The location was convenient for me - an easy walk to the Bahnhof, Kongresshalle, Zoo, Ettlinger Tor, and Marktplatz.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    6.3
    good location
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning, but only a fun ventilating the hot air, so i had to choose between sleeping in a noisy background or sweating like a hell; no hot water until i reported it (luckily I did it early so in about 2 hours it has been fixed). The bed and the bathroom were clean, but I didn't felt the same about the carpet that was kinda dusty, mostly behind the bed (like no one cleaned there for months - a thick layer of dust was visible). A notebook and a pen in room would be useful for someone wanting to make some notes (i couldn't find one at the reception either)

    Good location, close to the center and a tram station just next to the property, free wifi, a kettle available in the room for making coffee or tea and a city map, good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    Good, but checking-in was tricky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No-one on evening reception, even at a peak time like 6-8pm: needed to phone and get a keycode, and giving my name and other info through the phone and language difference was tricky. Tea & coffee supplies not restocked.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    Super helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super helpful staff. Great breakfast for 10euro/night. Rooms are perfect, mine also had a mini-fridge. Beds were super comfy. Trams stops right in front hotel, main train station is 8 minutes away from the hotelby walk. Shopping centre close hotel. Would definitely return if I'm in Karlsruhe again

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.1
    Good value for the price but very loud
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I recommend spending some money for new windows as the hotel is on the corner of a bunch of major tram lines and you can hear them on the tracks late at night and very early in the morning.

    Interior was modern and new, bed was comfy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Clean, well located, helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Curiously, the reception does not work after 20:00, so if you come later (as we did) get ready to call the operator and ask for the code to get your key out of the key-box. The tap hole in a shower cabin worked a bit too slowly.

    The hotel is located right in between the central railway station and the city center, both reachable by foot. Very clean, very quiet (our windows were to the yard), substantial breakfast included. Helpful staff. A boiling pot and tea-bags/instant coffee in the room. Very reasonable price/quality rate.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise, small bedroom, no people for checking at 14: 00

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    Simple no nonsense hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Airconditioning

    Simple no nonsense hotel. Cheap and perfect as a travel stop over.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Good price, good room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good price, good room. I recommend this hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel in Karlsruhe
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom.

    Greste staff that helped us althou we arrived around 21.30. Very good breakefast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy

    Central location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    The reception guy was very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Relation quality/price not ok.

    The reception guy was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.0
    Large room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 floor without elevator!! Furnitures so old!

    Large room Position not so far to the center

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Great breakfast, especially the potato rolls with chesse...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great breakfast, especially the potato rolls with chesse filling, and lots of vegetables. Also, fast and stable/reliable wi-fi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    5.4
    Not good for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. Trams often pass and make a lot of noise as early as 5 in the morning

    Being clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    wonderful experience!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    the breakfast is better than expected.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Good place in the city.
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good place in the city. Room so spacious and quiet. Good continental breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice room, excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    When you're on the top floor, it is a long stairs without elevator.

    Nice room, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Good and clean, friendly staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good and clean, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.5
    Coffee for breakfast was poor quality.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Coffee for breakfast was poor quality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    A perfect place.
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negatives.

    All was perfect. Clean, comfy and quiet. Pets are welcome. Had a good rest after long driving. Good breakfast in the morning.Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    I stayed in the apartment. I have not seen other rooms.
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big room's.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.3
    Low budget Hotel near the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can reach the city in a few minutes. Good breakfast with green seats. Three beds in one room available.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.0
    Hotel nema organiziran parking pa to predstavlja problem.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel nema organiziran parking pa to predstavlja problem...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    Great access, well thought out room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was fab.

    Easy access, super clean, nice thoughtful touches in the room. This one is a gem. We had a double room with a balcony.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.9
    short distance to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no elevator

    short distance to the train station. good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    Normal stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast tables are not clean with the needed periodicity. There are no lift. Beds aren't very good

    Everything is correct

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    8.8
    Breakfast was really good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    8.3
    Really good place for this price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice room, good breakfast, free access to computer on the floor.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.5
    noisy trams outside
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noisy trams outside

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    6.3
    Closed reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Few shelters. Reception was open only in the morning, no service later

    The room is nice. Big window ligth. Big enough

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    7.9
    Basic but inexpensive hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wall to wall carpeting. Some noise from tram.

    Good bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    8.8
    + clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - not all personnel spoke English (but they were friendly and helpful nonetheless)

    + clean + new furniture + good WiFi + nice breakfest

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    8.3
    Location, friendly staff and most importantly early check-in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It's on Main Street so for some of you, it may sound loud but for us- it was ok. We asked for a room away from tram lines

    Location, friendly staff and most importantly early check-in.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    10
    The location is excellent, just opposite a tram stop and not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    How to enter the hotel is very confusing initially. The door is plastered with signs, saying you should call 10 on the phone (which we didn't notice was there), a check-in machine (which required a code we didn't have), and various other information. After a good amount of time had elapsed, we realised there was indeed a doorbell and we were subsequently let in. Please get rid of all those notices and just put up one sign detailing how to get in etc., it'd be much less confusing.

    The location is excellent, just opposite a tram stop and not far from the main train station. Breakfast was excellent, great variety, we were spoilt for choice.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    7.9
    Breakfast was good - a lot of choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was a bit close to the breakfast room - it felt a bit clairaudient.

    Breakfast was good - a lot of choices. Also fresh fruits. The bed was good to sleep in. Arriving late was no problem as well. Very central.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    7.9
    Staff was very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was a tram stop just in front of the hotel. Trams going frequently until late night hours, earplugs recommended. The hotel provides some. I had to change the room during my stay, because the hotel was booked out.

    Staff was very friendly. Rooms in the first floor have recelty been renovated.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    8.3
    We forgot to ask for a non-smoking room, but could switch...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our first room was in the smoking allowed floor and had a dog next door, which wasn't very nice and woke us up in the morning, but the non-smoking room we switched to was perfect.

    We forgot to ask for a non-smoking room, but could switch the next day without a problem. Very friendly staff, a good range of breakfast. A short walk to the city centre, the zoo and the palace, a good location. Loved the shower.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    9.6
    Extremely clean and well run hotel with a very spacious and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    86 stairs to our room and no lift so forgetting something you left in the car was not a good idea. Asked a staff member if it was ok to park directly outside the hotel and was told this was o.k. only to recieve a parking ticket (was very specific).

    Extremely clean and well run hotel with a very spacious and well appointed functional room. Breakfast had a good variety each day with hot and cold options.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    9.2
    The reception is not staffed all the time, but check-in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The reception is not staffed all the time, but check-in works flawlessly via a telephone at the entrance. The furniture is new and the room is clean.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    10
    Easy location to get from train station to hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints.

    Easy location to get from train station to hotel. Although the reception was closed, the automated system made it easy to get my key and check in. Breakfast was very good. Room was quiet and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    6.7
    Comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As my wife & I have mobility issues a bit disappointed that hotel did not have a lift. Only stairs available to get to our first floor room.

    Comfortable bed. Good Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    8.8
    we had a nice, comfortable and quiet room on the upper store...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    but where's no lift

    we had a nice, comfortable and quiet room on the upper store what we asked for, easy check in, excellent breakfast, nice location, we had no problems in parking

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    8.3
    Close to the city center and 10 min from the train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel on 4 floors with no elevator, but was not really a problem.

    Close to the city center and 10 min from the train station. Confortable room. Continental breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    8.3
    Clean & good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Front of hotel noisy with trams during night. Had to have windows open although we were supplied with ear plugs so shouldn't complain too much as good location & very clean.Fan in room.Enjoyed our stay.

    Clean & good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    8.8
    Only stayed one night but wished I'd stayed more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The shower was a little wonky and the staff didn't speak great english - but they were great at working with me and google translate to communicate. Very limited check in hours, though.

    Only stayed one night but wished I'd stayed more. No AC but a fan kept the room nice and cool, room was comfortable (although I was super jet-lagged at the time), and breakfast was delicious!

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    7.1
    I enjoyed the good location, cleanliness of the room and...
    • Solo traveller

    Honestly, the only problem was the appalling wifi. It never stayed connected and reception was awful. It might sound picky, but I was there with a foreign phone so I expected some wifi to cut down on roaming charges.

    I enjoyed the good location, cleanliness of the room and nice view, as well as the comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    8.3
    The room and common areas were very clean and fresh.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed at the Astoria in June and kept the windows open at night. However on two successive nights (Thursday and Friday) there were people in the vicinity who were making a lot of noise rather late at night. They were not associated with the hotel, so there wasn't much that could be done about it. There was very little interaction with the hotel staff, and they have a quirky way to allow you to enter the hotel the first time. The front door is locked and you use the telephone by the door to call someone, who gives you a code to enter into a device near the phone, and the device then dispenses a magnetic key card. It works, but I've never seen that system before.

    The room and common areas were very clean and fresh. The location is convenient to the Bahnhof, Kongresszentrum, and Marktplatz, and directly on a tram line. The breakfast had a good assortment of meat, cheese, veggies, yogurt, and rolls.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    7.5
    I liked the position of the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had issues with keys. Couldn't unlock the room and got another one - which is bothering when happens in 12AM.

    I liked the position of the hotel. I covered my distances by foot. Room is modest but bed is comfortable and bathroom is renewed. Breakfast was better than expected.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    7.5
    Location is very good;
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing...But as the reception is open only the morning, I am asking if there is something happenned at the late of the night, what can we do ?

    Location is very good; very close to the railway station... Hotel is also very close to the city center... Tram stop is in front of the hotel.... Super....

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    7.1
    Well centered, close to the train station (20 min by foot)...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some rooms give view out on the road with trams and its noisy. No air conditioning but just a ventilator. Flush in the toilet working bad.

    Well centered, close to the train station (20 min by foot) and main sightseeings. Self check-in. Good price.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    6.7
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Did not have a bad experience, but it wasn't good either. Very hot day. When I arrived, it took 10 minutes just to get someone to buzz me in.

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    7.5
    The staff was friendly, a rich breakfast and good WiFi...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The fact that the key is not handed to you personally but by a complicated "telefon-operated" machine at the front door. No one at the reception in the night

    The staff was friendly, a rich breakfast and good WiFi connection

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    10
    Our room was located next to the tram line.
    • Solo traveller

    Probably the fan which automatically started turn on the bathroom light was a bit annoying but assuming it needs good ventilate function or something.

    Our room was located next to the tram line. However, it was so quiet that we slept well. The breakfast was great and the staff was very helpful. We were in a non-smoking room and did not smell any cigarettes.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    3.3
    It is clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On my reservation print out, it says that we would be able to get public parking at a rate of 6 euro without having to reserve in advance. It also says non smoking. The room smelled like cigarette. There was no one at the reception and the person on the intercom was not able to direct us to any parking facilities. We had to park on the street and pay for the night. We did not understand the signs for the parking and no one wwas there to help. When I pointed this out to the staff on the phone, she said I should know better as this is Germany! Even if she was right, this is not a way to talk to a client who contributes to her livelyhood! :( The room is also smaller that the pictures on the internet. Lots of misrepresentation. Not happy wiht this choice.

    It is clean!

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    7.1
    Automatic key machine and good explanation for use it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    View from window on first floor and courtyard. Only wall of next building.

    Automatic key machine and good explanation for use it. Breakfast was good. Quiet on weekend.

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: