Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Astoria Hotel 3 stars

Bruchhausenstr. 4, 54290 Trier, Germany

#26 of 43 hotels in Trier

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 323 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator (for people with big/heavy luggage). A few things, especially in bathroom, could be renovated. There were construction works not far away from the hotel, but, of course, they will not last forever. I'd love to have pastries for breakfast in the future! Overall, the stay was pleasant and I definitely can recommend the property!

    Very nice and friendly staff. Good location, really close to the Porta Nigra. Good breakfast, even with fresh strawberry (but, unfortunately, without pastries - only various types of breads, which are fresh and tasty, by the way). Welcome drink was a nice gesture!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on a busy street so there was noise but it really settled down at night so no problem sleeping.

    Nice location for visiting Trier. Room was small but fine. The morning breakfast was very nice and the welcome drink was a special touch. We could walk from the train station and also to the attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be wonderful if European accommodation not just Astoria provided tea and coffee making facilities

    Beds comfy, close to town, owners were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have had a few more options (different cheeses or types of yogurt). The walls in the rooms are not thick - I could hear people going up and down the stairs. It wasn't a problem, but is worth mentioning.

    The hotel was in a convenient location. The room was very clean. It was perfect for a short trip.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi fi works on a hot spot - so constant logging back in and not quick

    Champagne on arrival and friendly welcome Breakfast room was spotless and continental breakfast was very nice Room was spacious Location was good for all local sights and transport Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator! This was difficult but staff helped us.

    This is a very convenient place to stay, you can walk anywhere. Parking was underground and secure. Breakfast was excellent. Staff helpful and polite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Décor was rather tired.

    Good location for seeing Trier on foot. Able to park right outside. Excellent breakfast in a nice dining room looking onto rear garden.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hosts are exceptionally personable. They explain how to get around Trier and what to see. The breakfast is expansive and delightful, and there's an outdoor patio in a rose garden, where some small birds come to eat breakfast too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The original listing on Booking.com did not specify that the parking had to be reserved. That detail came to light only after the booking was made.

    Good breakfast and a great location. The staff were outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi signal weak and unsteady.

    Strange asian style furbishment which we found nice though. good breakfast, we also enjoyed a complimentary welcome Drink. location was great just a stone's throw away from Trier old town pedestrian area. good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air-con......no tea making facilities.......about £10 overpriced for what's delivered.......parking is 100m away and costs an extra £6

    great breakfast.............comfortable room..........good bed.......good bathroom

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The exterior of the hotel was being painted and the temporary scaffolding/hoarding made the room very dark

    Extremely helpful at reception - we had a bag stolen in Brussels which contained our return train tickets - the hotel did a brilliant job of reprinting our tickets despite problems with our getting access to our emails from abroad. It was good not having to worry about how we would get home! The hotel is very individual and a nice change from hotel chains. We also enjoyed being able to watch the birds (including black redstart) feeding on the birdtable outside the breakfast room. It was also good to have two comfortable chairs in the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice family run hotel. The owners were very friendly and even opened breakfast a few minutes early for us so we could eat before catching our train to our next destination. It is within easy walking distance of all the major tourist attractions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Charming and helpful owners are taking very good care of the guests. Very familiar atmosphere. Excellent breakfast - including champagne! Great location. Car park in garage available. Hotel located near Mosel and city. Walking distance to tourist attractions and railway station, where bikes can be rented. With bikes you can cycle along Mosel and reach wonderful small villages. Walking paths can also be found nearby. Astoria can greatly be recommended! Margareta and Lars - Sweden

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was warm so we left the window open which was noisy.

    Staff were incredibly fabulous! breakfast was delightful. Location close to city center; restaurants and walking distance to the "sights"!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing wrong at all, I liked the place a lot.

    Nice quiet genteel hotel within a few minutes walk of the town centre and the Mosel. Room was spacious, comfortable and warm. Hosts were were friendly and despite speaking perfect English they were prepared to put up with my dodgy German.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit old style and rooms should be a bit renovated (floor and furniture). Some additional basic services could be provided, such as a kettle or a mini-bar.

    Location is great, 5 minutes from central square and Porta Nigra. Breakfast was good, with different options and fresh products. Staff was nice and helpful. Garage is easy to reach however there are plenty of parking options in the city.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Designed for a more mature setting. Not specifically set for younger travelers. The cocktail bar did not open and was one of the reasons we chose the hotel.

    Staff was friendly and the breakfast was yummy. Close to event we were attending. It worked for the price we wanted and was located where we needed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV set - very small and uncomfortable to watch ( there was room enough for a larger screen)

    excellent breakfast very good location - ca.10 minute walk to the historic centre friendly and helpful staff car parking in the nearby

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room curtains let through daylight very early interrupting sleep. Why not complement with or change for impermeable ones?

    Breakfast very ok for the price. Parking in garage had been reserved in advance and costs only 5.70 euros. Very convenient and very close by. Room a bit small but cosy. Stairs (no lift) very steep but we could reserve room on first floor, ok. Reception speaks good English and is friendly.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of elevator.

    The room was comfortable and clean. Very friendly staff and very nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soundproofing between rooms. The WLAN was a joke.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Stated flexibility of breakfast times was not available.

    Excellent choice of buffet breakfast. Location close to all city centre amenities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking is so difficult. we took so looooong time to find a spot.

    self-organized hotel. the decorations are nice, like home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv didn’t work No lift Small rooms

    Good breakfast. Good position Complimentary drink

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its the Boutique hotel with special atmosphere of home cosyness .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all perfect and great value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet and breakfast.

    Location. Keys that open front door and room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff were excellent. highly recommended. Breakfast was also excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was charming and homey, tastefully decorated. The location was very good the proprietors were helpful and informative.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit oldfashioned

    Central location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise but not a hotel problem. The local cars and people are happy and loud.

    Great property and walking distance to the historic area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bed.

    Staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If it is very hot weather, air conditioning would be good to have

    Very friendly staff, nice welcome, silent, good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, welcome drink, secure bicycle parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking off site for an additional 6 Euro

    Complimentary Drink on Check-In. Short walk to downtown.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy traffic in strret

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are very accommodating and helpful. Plentiful and good breakfasts. Rooms clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such welcoming hosts. Handy location. Great breakfast. A good spot to see the city. Fantastic value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was very good including breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would remove all carpets from the Hotel.

    Very good breakfast and with eggs cooked in a perfect way.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast. Loved the special boiled egg opener.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to the town center and the Porta Nigra just a 5 min walk. Owners are fluent in German and English. Secure Parking. Excellent Breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator in the hotel.

    Nice room, good breakfast. Hotel situated near the center. Staff speaks also in English.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked every thing.

    Excellent breakfast. Owner was available, very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no lift.

    The Staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was really nice. The rooms was cosy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, not a real problem.

    The location with parking very close. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had our breakfast at the hotel on Easter Sunday. It was a delighted experience with the little surprises of Easter bunnies and Easter eggs. The hosts were friendly and hospitable. We liked the welcome drinks as well. The hotel is well located (really close to the city center) and has its own parking (also really close). Very convenient for people coming with cars.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing would have happily stayed longer if time allowed

    we arrived late due to traffic problems were directed to secure parking and our room was ready with all that we recquired the breakfast was beyond expectations as was the friendliness helpfulness and service provided by all at the astoria, good value and can recommend with confidence

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The location is good , we walk 15mins from train station in Trier .Near all main attractive and market . I never expect that a glass of Champagne for welcome drink ! My partner love the little detail inside hotel , e.g : a lovely egg opener , a pictures on the wall.....

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice owners who really warmly make you feel at home. Tidy rooms, little oldish but in a cosy way. The hotel is just in the corner of the old town of Trier. Cheap place to the car in a parkinghouse in the neighbourhood.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This is a small family-operated hotel in the very center of Trier, very close to major attractions - Porta Nigra, Hauptmarkt, and the cathedral. I arrived late, and they were waiting for me. They greeted us with free drinks, and helped find parking in the street because their small parking lot was full. Despite its location in the middle of Trier, the street is quiet, so our sleep was uninterrupted. The breakfast was included into this very inexpensive booking, and the breakfast room looks like a museum. They also managed to accomplish our special request - 2 separate beds (we are father and daughter). Last thing - they speak English quite well. We would recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Trier's one way system and road works make it a nightmare to get to ... but I can't really blame the hotel for that!

    The friendly and helpful owner really made an effort to make us feel at home ... highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good choice for breakfast, great location nearby all the sights, parking just up the street, comfortable room with best shower ever!

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great hosts, small but very nice room with plenty of space for luggage. wonderful breakfast in a beautiful room. space for parking in a close by private garage. terrific value

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All was just great.

    I liked very much the kindness and friendliness of the owners of the hotel. They give us all the necessary information about the town and surroundings. Also there was a cup of champagne for welcome and we even received it also in the second day of staying. The hotel is very close to all major tourist attractions. Inside the hotel the room was very clean and decorated in a vintage style which we loved. The breakfast is ok and so is the coffee. I have nothing to complain about. It was just great and for sure we plan to return there.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little bit far from train station.

    Good Breakfast.Friendly Staff.They also have welcome drink.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Outdated english style of the interior. Small bathroom

    Checkin incl complementary drinks Near city centre Beds Breakfast Clean

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean - close to downtown

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints!

    Friendly staff, comfy bed, clean and great breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The close proximity to the walking zone and some excellent restaurants. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No elevator.

    Great location near attractions.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean, well appointed room; comprehensive superb breakfast and welcoming staff

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing!

    Quirky in a very nice way, very friendly staff, great location, super breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner was a bit unpleasant

    Close to town center

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    停車場

    location, breakfast , service, staff

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly owner. Extremely helpful in identifying major sites. One of the best breakfasts of our 15 day trip.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms need to be update. The wallpaper is dated

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Near to the city center. Nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bizarre buffet breakfast where you had to ask for the "precious" ham and cheese !

    great location , value

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Perfect location.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very nice and helpfull staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nice Hotel

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: