Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Astoria

Brennerstr. 17, St. Georg, 20099 Hamburg, Germany

#285 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1547 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    6

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location seems to in a Red Light district. One evening returning to the hotel I counted 11 prostitutes working the street. The hotel staff did not seem concerned with this when I pointed it out to them. I asked if the police were ever called to deal with the matter to which the reply was "no".

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sound insulation of the rooms if very poor, so if like me you like a quiet hotel, maybe this isn't the best choice. The street is quite busy and with a lot of prostitutes.

    Very central and conveniently located. Ultimately good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. Didn’t like walking back to the hotel at night, even though it was close to the station. And the noises in the hallway at night.

    The inside of the hotel was much more modern than the facade. Breakfast was simple but good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street where the hotel is was full of hookers and the place is close to Hamburg hbf, which is one of the worst neighbourhood in Hamburg. No conditioned air.

    Nice breakfast Everything was clean and working Kind staff. Reception open 24/7

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too small and the wind was blowing through the window so it was quite cool. The area near the hotel is not very friendly looking

    The personnel is good, the hotel is quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. Becomes quite uncomfortable when people start lining up out on the footpath outside the hotel during night.

    Friendly staff and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    in simple terms another hotel with an honest indication of what to expect .

    The entrance was surrounded by prostitutes and the brothel was next door , my room had no windows and a bucket under my sink to collect the water i had to flush down toilet when i complained the staff replied what do you want for the money when i insisted on a move it was above the front door with prostitutes bellow my window and dealers shouting and fighting all night . it is on a street surrounded by dealers pimps and prostitutes i felt in danger all the time and i have traveled the world extensively . mother on their webpage is the truth i am extremely angry

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Neighborhood location is great, plenty of restaurants and main train station is 5 minutes walk. Issue is that there are plenty of crack heads and prostitutes around, lots of drinking involved.

    Great Staff, Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I've been charged of the amount of my stay on the credit card used for the reservation while I chose to pay on site (I would rather have chosen another credit card, since the one I used for reservation was on a different currency, so I lost almost 7 euros because of the FX rate)

    Really good location, staff always available, quiet and clean room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    About hotel description it's mentioned Parking, it's false, it took me about 1.5 hours to find parking 2 blocks far away from hotel, another thing mentioned, desk, it's also false, bedroom just with bed, no desk, no bureaus and no so clean, all noise from outside comes into bedroom since door was not sealed, dining room dirty with limited items. I don't recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am not personally happy with your staff who received us during check in on 29th march by 11pm. I was with my wife and he was not behaving in a good manner towards us. Apart from the check in experience overall the hotel was good and i would personally appreciate the effort your staffs take to maintain the quality of food and the check out experience was good as well. Kindly please advise your staffs to behave good towards couples who visit during late night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My biggest complain would be the constanly interrumpting of the staff during sleeping hours. My second complain is fact that there was only one person working during breakfast time, in whitch ment the food would not be replaiced.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are not sound proof, so you hear other guests, bathroom is really small but almost clean. Be aware that the street is popular among ladies of night profession - so perhaps not the best place for staying with children.

    The breakfast was good, friendly stuff, really close to the railway station, great value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door lock was kind of horrible. My room lock looked like a bit too old. It took you so much time to lock and open in and out and it was really noise. You have nothing to further lock from the inside of the room. The room was pretty small (single room) and you can heard almost everything from other rooms. The street was at the back where not in Main Street, a bit feel not that safe and a bit too dark. The “fan” in the bathroom is the way made tooooooo much loud and noisy. It can be shut down if you turned off the light. The pillow is too “weak”.... need to fill more stuffing ...

    The receptionists were are kind, helpful and friendly. The location was easy to be found even it’s not in the Main big Street. The room was clean and comfort that good enough with the price. Breakfast was very good, you can have few choices which are good. Lidl, real and train station are nearby for 5-10 mins walk. The Hot water supplier for shower is very good. The city map is super useful and good for use in short trip. You can get it from the reception for free. I will stay again there if I go to Hamburg again if they can somehow change the better door lock.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The daily breakfast provided by the hotel wraps up before the time they state - so try to eat at least an hour before the time they say it finishes. The area (st. Georg) is known for prostitution, but you get used to seeing the same women outside doorways, and men staring at you or making comments (if like me, you're a woman travelling alone). I wouldn't stay in this area if I had children but for the convenience of being close to Hamburg's central station (which is also horrible- dark, dirty, drunks, beggars) then it is good.

    The hotel was fairly modern inside and clean. The location was convenient and the staff were mostly friendly. Breakfast had a pretty good selection of food. Wifi was quite reliable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 2 double and 1 single bedroom. They were located together (which we had asked for). But while the double bedrooms were renovated and 'value for money', the single bedroom was not.. it was small, old and had only a rooftop window! As we only stayed for 2 nights we did not bother. And breakfast was fine!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the most modern, but great price and service, good value for money

    Staff very friendly and let us drop off our luggage before check in and even after check out for the entire day

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no kettle in the room, but I think this is more common in British hotels so maybe not a given in Germany. Outside, the area was a bit rough, but saying that we had no trouble, and it was nice and quiet despite this.

    The bed was huge and really comfortable, and the shower had excellent water pressure. The breakfast (continental) exceeded expectations, and the staff were very happy to help and always ready with a smile.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was really cold! No heating inside it. If you arrive after 9h45 to breakfast all the good stuff (eggs, toast, milk) is gone already - and they don’t replace it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sketchy area, but not unsafe. Small room including bathroom but okay for one person.

    Basic hotel, fine for my needs. Area kind of sketchy but I knew about it. Great that it is close to the central station and shopping streets.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small room. The hotel is located in an area with huge prostitution.Very dangerous area especially after 10pm. Absolutely NOT suitable especially for families. Building is old. No sound insulation. Frequent elevator malfunction.

    Decent breakfast. Renovated bathrooms although not ergonomic. Relatively clean room. Good wifi network. Good heating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no draining in the bathroom floor so, if you spill water, it will stay there. Heating was turned off when we arrived and it was cold outside, cold inside. If you visit in winter, make a request for them to turn heating on before you arrive.

    The place is close to the Central Train Station and easy to find. Breakfast was delicious and diversified, we really enjoyed it. Staff was friendly and reception open around the clock. There is also a storage facility to leave your luggage.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in a single room , the room was very small but it doesn't matter when you go there just for sleeping :) my only complain is about the street , not really the best one but I didn't feel unsafe , just felt uncomfortable walking around there and the Turkish guys and prostitutes staring at me! :( anywAy, I still recommend the hotel if u want stay close to the train station(city center) and pay a fair value with breakfast included!

    Staff was nice and helpful, the room was ready at 12:00am ,before check in time and that was a plus :) breakfast is good and had everything I needed (eggs, brown bread , coffee...) , even though the bathroom is really small the shower is very good ! Wifi worked perfectly!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The light in the corridors was constantly off. The door to our room 22 couldn't be fully open because of the floor. The shower was a dead trap - sleezy and much higher then the rest. There was no drain in the bathroom floor so it stayed wet for the whole stay. The breakfast was tiny, almost no choice so better scip it.

    The location near centrum. Next to the hotel entrance is a center for drug addicts so the ones hanging outside together with other working ladies on the street gave us a lot of compliments and sexoffers each time we passed by.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom smelling moldy, shower curtain not clean. The staff seemed insecure. Not the friendliest neighbourhood.

    Good beds. Breakfast was OK. Staff stayed up all night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very old and not very comfortable room. Heating works, but it was really cold in the bathroom nevertheless. Almost all the sockets in the room were not working, however they were fixed the next day I've notified the reception.

    WiFi worked well, breakfast is quite good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area a bit suspect at night lots of prostitutes on the streets around hotel and on walk from train station

    Hotel lovely and great value. Clean rooms and short walk from train station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The neighbourhood was dodgy with quite a lot of prostitutes and shady characters on the street outside. I also suspect the pictures have been changed to some degree, as the reality did not live up to them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room that they showed in internet it´s a complete Lie. The furniture and room are really old and unconfortable, besides really small.

    I olnly LIKE THE DINNING ROOM

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival at the location I was surprised to find the street full of prostitutes. I would have liked to sleep long in the morning, but the staff cleaning the neighbouring rooms were a bit noisy.

    Friendly staff. Clean room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the hotel is near the main railway station, the prostitutes lounging about just outside the hotel provided a somewhat sketchy ambience. Although I never felt in danger, this did frighten my teenage daughter. I would recommend a room not facing the street as the noise at night from carousers and early morning rubbish pickup was a nuisance.

    The room was very large, clean and the staff was very nice. The breakfast had an extensive selection and the young woman in charge was very friendly and helpful. The metro was a short walk away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift doesnt go all the way up, theres still some stairs to climb. The room was not super clean but acceptable. The Hotel is not very close to central station, its about 10 min walking distance. Attention: The Hotel is located in a very dodgy area, better known as the "hooker corner". Prostitutes are waiting up and down the street! Also, the breakfast was awful. Bad eggs and old bread. No fruit.

    Staff was friendly and helpful. We got a free upgrade due to difficulties with our room. They let us borrow an umbrella.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is great, very powerful. I kept flooding the bathroom though. The big issue for some people with Astoria will be it's location. The area is a bit of a red light, it didn't appear insafe but there were protitutes on the street all day. Lots of street drinking. The area is dirty and chaotic. It's was a good spot for me to locate - close to everything. I imagine some people might find it a bit too gritty though.

    The hotel is a perfectly good budget hotel. Very clean and comfortable. Nice polite staff. It's conveniently located for the main train station, access to airport, proximity to attractions (although see below). Nearby Lange Rihe is good for coffee and food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not same with the pictures on booking.com, the room was have no windows and smells bad no fresh air. Breakfast was very bad no fresh foods.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area of which we stayed didn't feel safe and definitely wasn't clean - which obviously isn't the hotels fault but wouldn't recommend especially if wandering around in the evening. The breakfast selection was limited. the noise from the streets at night was very loud and unnerving. The doors throughout the building were a mission to open and close.

    Only positive of this hotel was the shower water pressure.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seedy area, room too small, a little noisy on the street side.

    The room was clean and had the basics. Breakfast was included. Close to central station. Close to restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was awful. Very tight, Shower cabin wasn't equipped with sliding doors, only with curtains, so water was flowing all around and stayed on the floor because there's no drain on the floor...

    Location near Central Station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - We were welcomed with a floating turd in the WC. Yey! for such unexpected surprise! - Bathroom musty smelly. - Staff barely speaks english. Their attitude was like they were giving you a favour by just listening to what you have to say. - The area is very intimidating at dusk: 'working girls' everywhere; hordes of men refugees (can't give a d4mn being labelled as racist, it was what I had just seen!); weirdos breaking bottles; and other night critters lurking and making noise around... - On the above. The noise produced made our sleep hell. The hotel could have tackled this by double glassing every window but hasn't.

    * Decent breakfast * 5mins walking from/to Hamburg Hbf (rail central station). In general, walking distance to every main tourist spots in Hamburg (Rathaus, Miniatur Wunderland, Old warehouses, etc). Unless you have walking difficulties more than 10mins, or you're just a plain lazy lard@rse!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom tiny

    I liked that the reception was available 24/7 because my plane was delayed by 6 hours and I only arrived at 0100 hrs and was welcomed by the receptionist.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is close to the main train station and all public transport, but dodgy subjects have taken up the street and its not very nice to walk to and from the hotel. Not that we felt threatened, but walking amongst low-level prostitutes and immigrants of various color is not quite the vacation experience you might want.

    Room was great - big, clean, bright (we were on 3rd floor). Bed was good. Bathroom had all the needed stuff. Staff is nice. Breakfast is good (basic but good quality). Wifi was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area was rough with lots of african and afghans hanging around in groups. Still felt reasonably safe tho and it was close to the station which is fantastic.

    Nice breakfast and staff. Cheap accomodation so you have to be realistic..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was clean but a very strong bad smell came out from the pluming making the stay in the room quite uncomfortable

    Good location near the train station.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't great being English I love a fry up but this is very hard to find in contenienal Europe. I'd rather have sausage & bacon not cheese & ham. The hotel is in a quite dodgey street and made me feel uncomfortable walking back at night. Window didn't block out external noise very well but this did die down later in the evening.

    Room was fantastic value. Room was a good size. Bed was comfy. Bath room was good with a good shower. Only a few minutes walk from the main train station. Staff were friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. Room was clean & curtains did well to block out the light from the street outside.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. It was a clean room with a shower and breakfast. did the job!

    Just there for 1 night. Clean rooms, friendly staff. nice breakfast. Comfy beds. Not far from main station.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I left my room early morning 5/01.17, when I arrived after my walk at noon abt 12.00. there wasn't my room maked up still ,even I left message outdoors that should be done,,,,i'm disappointed

    I didn't have any croissants

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location near central station good access everywhere but neighborhood not so nice surrounding by prostitutes very comfortable bed but tiny small bathroom and toilet located in the corner so only small people can use it don't use rooms downstairs becouse staff on corridor is preparing breakfast at 5am talking loud with out respect for guests but was nice anyway

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very small 1 person room, no table or desk, bathroom (almost too) small, squeaking stairs, elevator looks and feels like it's from the 50's.., for breakfast you need to walk to another nearby hotel, no international tv channels.

    Comfortable bed, clean room, friendly staff, cheap.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise from other rooms - ruined two nights of sleep The hotel-street is not for families - a lot of street-prostitutes and suspect types

    Breakfeast was decent Room and cleaning of it was fine

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in what can only be described as a ghetto, with seedy hookers in most doorways once midday has passed, wandering gangs and broken glass everywhere, highlighted by the sounds of sirens and some guy beating on a woman in the street below. The 'non-smoking hotel stank of stale cigarette smoke, and the smell permeated all of our clothes and luggage. The lift kept getting stuck, and the windows didn't seal properly. In addition, the single bottle of water level left with the water glasses was not listed in any information provided, but cost us 4 euro on checkout. No fridge in the room, or made availablr, no direct dial phone, and the small TV only had a few German channels available. I could go on, but won't.

    Check in staff were friendly. Breakfast was ok, not great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not nice neighborhood even the hotel is located near City center. Price did not correspond the quality, but because of the ongoing fair when all Hotels were booked, I had no choice.

    Employees were nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was positioned on the ground floor between the laundry and the kitchen, although I wasn't aware when I checked in. I struggled to get to sleep during the evening while washing machines were in use then was disturbed by the kitchen staff preparing breakfast in the morning. There appeared to be no sound-proofing. I didn't receive an itemized bill for my stay and requested one via the online system. I have yet to hear back from the hotel.

    Breakfast good, staff friendly. The room was sufficient for my needs.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel's location terrible full of prostitution accosted at least twice in area. some prostitutes hang out by entrance door.i would not recommend hotel because of this. room facilities good and conveniently located from central station. alarm magnet close to door handle a nuisance.

    all accoutrements in room fine and breakfast excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was next to kitchen => full kitchen noise as from 5 AM !!! all furniture was old and worn out very noisy from the other rooms + hall

    desk was very willing to relocate me for the second night to 1e floor

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is in the middle of the red light district - BUT from experience most German and Danish railway stations have the same thing. Yes you could see things going on, but I was not molested or given a hard time. So stay here with your eyes open. The hotel is clean and friendly and busy, so the Germans get it!!

    Easy access to the area I needed to be in in

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The WORST (unsafe, loud, lots of drinking and prostitution) neighbourhood you could stay in. The bathroom isn't the cleanest. Some of the staff was nice. I would NEVER stay here again.

    The breakfast was not the worst, but it wasn't terrific. Essentially you are paying for a breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is in an area which has full of gangsters and prostitutes in the evening. The wifi was very weak, only available near the reception desk. No wifi signal in the room at all. I stayed there for 4 nights and asked the staff to fix it but nothing was done.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    very bad location all around the hotel property were prostitutes and noise and very unsafe in the night .

    nothing was goo d in this hotel except the front desk staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What could have been better? proximity of the facility to the central train station

    No toiletries provided and four euro was charged for one bottle of water left for guests in the room. The beddings and towels were not changed for the four nights stay. The staff are friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny room that didn't look like the picture, cracks in the wall, dustbunnies on the floor, spiderwebs on the ceiling of the room, dust on the bed, uncomfortable mattress, dirty q-tip belonging to previous visitor in the bathroom, no curtain in the bathroom, dirty shower, really old and dirty elevator, very limited breakfast selection, cold cuts from discounter, rolls that tasted old, milk wasn't cooled, scary location, very loud (doors, walls, windows didn't keep out any noise)... don't go there if you can avoid it.

    Some of the people at the reception desk were nice, not too far from the city center, good coffee.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Many street girls around hotels. Uncomfortable to walk alone at night.

    Decent and clean for the price paid. Location is walking distance to central station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The square nearby and the street of the hotel are a bit dodgy. Old structure with loud pavement in the hallways.

    Very Nice breakfast and comfortable bed. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift looks very antique from 1960s and is not working sometimes The bathroom of the room looks old and dim.

    Breakfast is considered a bonus in contrast to the hotel condition. Generally the hotel is clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security: cruising area with many prostitutes; room stank heavily of smoke; old building. No air conditioning. Old window. Old elevator. Definitely needs refurbishing.

    Nice breakfast Nice staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the location was full of 'red light houses'. it was pretty noisy at night and the neighbors were very annoying

    it was near to the central station

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is reached via a 'red light' area which, although a bit seedy, is perfectly safe

    Good breakfast, friendly staff, powerful shower, good wifi, and less than 5 minutes' walk from the Central Station

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The owners of the hotel should carry about the neighborhood (openly a brothel...). Rooms could be a little bit bigger because you can't shut down a window without an instant feeling of airlessness.

    Situated in the inner center of the city of Hamburg, just a couple of footsteps from the Outer Alster Lake. Rooms are small but still comfortable enough, provided that you don't expect too much for the price (I did not).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sorrounding area it is not so good red zone type

    Service and attention

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prostitutes outside the property.

    Pretty close to town centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly and helpful. Great breakfast. Good central location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom is very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location.

    Friendly staff, well maintained.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaks in the bathroom sink

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps just having one towel ,yet did not ask for more.

    Everything was very clean, basic furnishings, good location if traveling by train.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street and neighborhood is very bad. Prostitutes and drugs addictive are everywhere.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Astoria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: