Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Astoria This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Jahnstrasse 72, Friedrichstadt, 40215 Düsseldorf, Germany

#37 of 197 hotels in Düsseldorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 668 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The backyard was really noisy with people talking into the late (and very warm) night.

    Really good sized room and excellent breakfast. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Parking is conveniently located just across the road.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpeted floor

    The good location with garage for the car (€9/day). We walked to the railway station as well as to the shopping streets. Breakfast is delicious, staff very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good standard for business travelling, very good breakfast, location in city, close to centrum. Available hotel parking - important, there is more or less no chance to park on street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    As we come for the biggest wine convention in the world that takes place every year, business hotel should be prepared for it. One day we waited for a taxi for almost what seemed like hours and second day for 1 hour exactly. In any other city with the similar event, hotels provide a shuttle too the event. This hotel was fully booked with the patrons that came for Prowein specifically . The hotel was not prepared which is unacceptable. Another problem my office manager needed to leave 2 days earlier and the owner of the hotel told her that if her room will be sold he will gladly reimburse her for those nights. The day she left, and with no refund for the 2 nights, one of our colleagues accidentally entered that room where our office manager stayed, the room was occupied by another guest. when I asked the owner to pay me back for unused nights and confronted him about a different guest in the room, he started to look for an excuse like : "Yes but this guest was transferred from the first floor and the room was not sold". I am sorry, but I paid for that room and if you put someone into to my room, I have to be reimbursed! It is totally irrelevant where this customer came from downstairs, upstairs, or the moon, the fact remained that it is paid by me and therefore should have remained mine even if empty. Although the staff was quite friendly and tried to be helpful, the incident with the owner left me completely disappointed. I feel as though i was robbed. It does not matter if it is 300E, 500E or even 20E, the behavior is unacceptable, if not unlawful. We visit Prowein in Dusseldorf every year, it is getting bigger each year. It would be beneficial for the city hotels to prepare for it better, given they have the entire year do make arrangements. Also after what i have witnessed at Rate Hotel Astoria, i would not recommend it.

    All stuff was good and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noting to dislike at all

    It is a very nice place to stay. The staff are truly superb and so pleasant. It makes a real change to stay somewhere where the staff really care. Its is also a very reasonable cost and well placed from a location point of view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was on the top floor (the 4th) so I needed to use the elevator. When I used it to reach my room, I felt it swinging which made me quite dizzy.

    Nice staffs, good breakfast, quite area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind and considerate hotel owner, very baby friendly hotel (we have a 5 month old baby), and all communication was clear, friendly and swift in English. Bed and pillows were comfortable and temperature in the hotel was pleasantly warm. When you get off the highway, the hotel is very closeby, parking at hotel possible and everything is on walking distance (i.e. Altstadt & JP epicenter).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great host, very friendy people! Parking is grat, rooms are very big and clean. Breakfast is delicious and extremely friendly. Highly recommend this hotel if you’re staying in Dusseldorf. Nice and quiet location, close by the Ubahn and easy access to the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts were incredibly nice. The location is great with many stations just a few blocks away. Walking distance to the Kö. Hotel was nice and clean. Breakfast also good. It had everything we needed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was very poor. Had to get a discount (which I got) as it was unusable at my desk and non-existent in the bedroom.

    Large room that was actually a suite. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedding had an unusual smell - didn't smell very fresh. For what I paid, I felt like more should have been on offer, such as evening snack or meal options.

    The breakfast was nice with fresh bread and plenty of choice, although I would've liked some fresh fruit. The staff were friendly and attentive. The room was basic but clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water could have been hotter.

    Spacious room, large comfy double bed, two recliner arm chairs, ITV channel, separate toilet and washbasin, very large bathroom with twin washbasins, coffee machine and safety deposit box. Breakfast very good too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small elevator.

    Very good breakfast buffet. Very quiet and clean room. No charge for international phone call. Good location. In a walking distance to Konigsalle and old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street was very loud. Its summer, so we slept with both windows open. Maybe in winter is quiet.

    Personal very friendly and helpful. Beautiful and clean room, Big and cosy, breakfast simple but very good. The hotel was very pet friendly, that makes a big difference for me. Because made us feel welcome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our flight info was changed and we found a hotel in booking .. we were tired waiting in airoport so making booking we did not show the age of children... (it was our mistake).. The manager in the hotel was very nice to us... he gave the candies for the children.. also he bring the matrases for us... room was for 3 but we were 5 .... and the next day he aloud to stay till 14:00 .... the excellent stuff !!! thank You...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very warm welcoming place. Felt more like a family guest house over a hotel. Love the hospitality and the accommodations were exactly what I needed for my quick visit for the Tour de France. Clean, friendly, functional. Great location - a quiet neighborhood, clean and safe but just a quick walk in all four directions quickly puts you on the public transportation routes and major streets.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Good value for the money.

    I love it that there was a mini bar, a nice bed and a bath tub. Also free wi-fi, nice staff and included breakfast. All fab!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too high priced and very simple breakfast. I asked for a coffee to bring to the room in an late afternoon, this was not possible. . . . . .very poor service and rooms and decoration was like 80`s.

    Location was oki and size of room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's really economy level hotel. The room looked quite worn out.

    People at the reception were very nice. Breakfast was very good. Wi-fi was just perfect. Location is very close to metro. Peaceful environment.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I stayed in was a very generous size and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was amazing. All staff were very helpful and kind, answering my queries and making sure I had a pleasset stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, except may be an extra pillow for the bed

    the size of the room was really enjoyable, the hotel is quiet and bed comfortable. The breakfast was really good with a lot of choice, staff was very nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi fi did not work in my room - I had to move to the breakfast room. Bathroom very small, no shelf in the shower. Very expensive.

    Very friendly & helpful staff. Clean and neat & comfortable. Lovely breakfast & coffee. Good location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillow are not comfy

    The breakfast is very good for the hotel ranking. The location is good near nice restauants, subway station and tram in front of the hotel. The staf courteous Not a luxury hotel but clean and a very good price

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was expecting a big room as per many comments. Mine was decent but not big.

    Great price per quality ratio. Nice location: calm and secure neighbourhood but within short distance from "Kö" and the Altstadt.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi was awful.

    I really enjoyed the breakfast. Nice breads, croissants, yogurt, some meats, poached eggs, etc. The room was spacious and comfortable. The bed was comfortable. Everything was very clean. It was very quiet.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi connection was very poor in my room. As I travelled for business, having a wifi connection was very important for me. Therefore, it was impossible to work in the hotel. The towels were dirty like they had been on the floor. There were no ceiling lamps in the room, so the room was very dark. The bathroom floor was sticky. Did not enjoy the breakfast...

    The staff was friendly and let me check-in an hour before the official time.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The hotel is very quiet and in a residential area but only 15 mins walk from Alstadt or railway station. As Dusseldorf is "busy" the Astoria is an oasis of calm. It is 2 mins walk from a tram stop also.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is good for car access (and parking possible onsite on request) but is 20 minutes walk from the centre of the old town / pedestrian restaurant area

    Excellent breakfast. Very good vairiety of bread, fresh fruit salad, interesting range of fish - meat - vegetable dishes all freshly made. Very quiet hotel. Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small negative was the wifi tended to drop out.

    Super friendly service, quiet inner-city location, clean, spacious rooms & an amazing breakfast! We absolutely loved our stay & will stay here again if we return to Düsseldorf.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was in a single room on the ground floor and I had a problem with the noise and lights from the cars arriving to and from the parking. Otherwise, it is a very quite area.

    Location is great, breakfast fresh and delicious, room and bathroom very clean. If I ever go back to Düsseldorf (and I hope I will, because I liked it a lot), hotel Astoria will be my second home.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor In Room A Little Old Fashiomd, But Superb Value For Money...

    Massive Rooms, More Like A Suite Than A Room..... Very Very Friendly Staff... After A Very Hot Night We Were Welcomed Back To The Hotel With A COmplimentary Cold Drink As We Collected Our Keys....

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor is a bit dated.

    The beds were very comfortable and it was a very quiet hotel. Breakfast had a lot of variety and good quality. Solid WiFi throughout the building.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    small point, but the bed was a little too hard.

    15 minute walk from the altstadt so nice and quiet location.Breakfast is excellent, Room also came with English channels on tv BBC & ITV.Staff couldn't have done any more to make us feel welcome. Mario even printed our flight tickets for us. The room came with a safe and a mini bar which was restocked every day(sadly, not the safe). I couldnt reccommend this hotel enough. I informed Mario(owner) that we would return next year for our 34th anniversary and we certainly will.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor internet connection

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was really nice and always willing to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quietness, clean rooms, breakfast, size.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old, lift a bit small

    Super friendly staffs, good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noicy

    Spacious and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Everthing is perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard bed

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vey ordinary Decor dated Breakfast poor Not value for money - shop around

    helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was nice person and service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is good and the room is comfortable.The staff is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The price is too high during the fair period.

    Breakfast is nice but hope can have more choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit off of the beaten path in a sketchy neighborhood

    Loved the clean simple yet casually elegant accommodation and room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfasr buffet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful cozy hotel very near the center

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big room, great service, veg breakfast options

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great breakfast. Value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    Excellent breakfast, not far from public transport, helpful and kind staff. We had an overtimed meeting and they helped us with late check-out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and helpful staff. Quiet location but still within a walkable distance from Düsseldorf Hauptbahnhof.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really hot room, no airco.

    Quite

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy access from the railway station by local bus.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is old and the couch wasn't clean.

    Breakfast and the staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Professional staff, good service, confy place

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a perfect stay! Really nice staff and great breakfast :p

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Incredibly friendly and solution oriented personnel. Excellent breakfast. Car parking place

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfort and clenanliness !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi in room very sketchy

    Friendly staff, good breakfast size of triple.room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door lock was a bit shabby. There was no water boiler to borrow.

    The living room was quite large.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable, great value

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a great location and very quiet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot nearby to do- eating drinking etc Rooms need modernising

    Very clean, quiet, not too far from underground

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi hardly worked

    Friendly staff, about a 20 minute walk from the train station. In fairness I wasn't there much

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable and clean room, excellent location, good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms need remodelling fast...very poor

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bed was not very comfortable.

    The property is nice and very clean. The staff is super friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is small so come early

    Nice walk to the old town no need to get a taxi and very nice owners

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable beds, good breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, great staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spring bed Location

    Owner is a nice guy Breakfast is standard

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Warm welcome, clean and comfortable room and good continental breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Astoria traveller photo gallery