Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Astra This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Steinhövelstraße 6, 89075 Ulm, Germany

#43 of 47 hotels in Ulm

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 807 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a fan would have been useful in the room it was very hot - however we are in the middle of a heat wave so we do understand its hot!

    Free parking, good breakfast which was served for quite a long time in the morning, attentive staff, clean rooms, good bathroom, quiet location (half hour walk to old town e.g ulm munster, there were buses from the main road but we walked it including late at night and felt safe enough).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.3
    Good quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought for the price of the room there should have been tea & coffee making facilities.

    Good quiet location. Few shops within walking distance. Nice breakfast both sweet and savoury.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    The hotel was just what I was expecting for the money,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift was showing it's age but it did not detract from the enjoyment.

    The hotel was just what I was expecting for the money, around 60 Euros. All the facilities in the room worked. It was in a quiet area of town, but within easy walking distance of the main centre of town. The receptionist lent my pal and I an umbrella each as it looked like it was about to rain. The motorcycles were stored overnight in an underground car-park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    Ok for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duvets were grubby, they had clean sheets on but I dread to think what stains were on them. I didn't look any further as it would have put me off. Bed ok but pillow really floppy and hardly worth calling a pillow!

    Location not too bad, little walk out of town but easily accessible

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Hotel Astra, Ulm - a swift journey with adequate place to rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toaletries could have been a little bit better. A frigo would do good.

    Close to Ulm Hausbanhof, we reach Hotel Astra quite soon. A swift atmosphere with unforgettable walkways through different parts of the city. Gentle staff and a nice vintage room. A bathroom never floods and a beautiful, yet simple breakfest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice Staff, but nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It looks like a 3 Stars Hotel, but I think the price is too high for it. I paid 65€ with breakfast included, but neither Room or Breakfast was so impressive.

    The staff and the easyness to check in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast was fair.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant in the hotel Rooms, especially bathrooms were not clean at all. The room for our children had a sigaret smell.

    Breakfast was fair. I have a gluten allergy that I mentioned during reservation. Breakfast including gluten-free options.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.1
    The hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable and the people...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Somewhat of a problem were the beds and mattresses, which were not too comfortable. However, for a short stay, this wasn't much of a problem.

    The hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable and the people were very polite. For its price, it was very nice. It was located 1.5 km from the town center, which we accessed by foot or bus (bus #4 runs regularly between the hotel and the center / train station).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.5
    We needed a cheap hotel for a few days whilst visiting brother in hospital; the hotel was cheap and
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Although there was hand soap and shampoo sachets there was so shower gel.

    Lovely breakfast. Although the room décor was dated the room was clean and tidy. There was plenty of hot water in the shower.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Hotel Astra is a place to be
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Astra is a fantatic hotel with fantatic workers. Their rooms are very clean with all toiletories avialable. The breakfast have all types of menus. and there is car parking ready. I will strongly recomend hotel Astra to any body.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.9
    Friendly and quiet. Very good breakfast.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could have been better, but that is being picky.

    Off the road in a side street so quiet, good bed so slept well. The breakfast was very good and varied. No rush 7-10 with limitless coffee.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    3.3
    reception seemed reasonable the lift was poor dirty matt in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    reception seemed reasonable the lift was poor dirty matt in the was filthy 1st floor lighting wasnt working you stepped out of the lift it was pitch black once in the room it was poor pillows were dirty mattress filthy bathroom was no better i wouldnt recommend anyone to stay there i think booking .com should take places of this nature of there web site you state this as 3.3 i would say 1.0

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.1
    Beds were extremely comfortable, staff were very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains didn't stop light from entering the room very well. There is maybe spaces for 5 cars outside the property which are usually full throughout the day in which case parking on the road is not permitted and your only other option is to pay for parking which is 6.50€ per day.

    Beds were extremely comfortable, staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    2.9
    Not anymore stay away from this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked I wasn't informed that the lift was out of order ! At arrival the concierge was eating a sandwich then no hot water in the morning (no info either) the answer from the front desk was...have a nice day !!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little cold in the evening and early morning. The staff explained that the heating was off because of the summer season. The materass was a little uncomfortable. On the whole it was pleasant. What I would expect from a 3 star accomodation.

    The property was clean. Regular, good room service. The location was nice and quite. The breakfast was also good. The receptionists were friendly, always ready to help and most of them spoke English.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    Cleanliness is good.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little out-dated.

    Cleanliness is good. It is a good place to spend the night or get a few hours of rest, especially if you have been driving for a long time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    I would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast wasn't included with my room, and I think the add-on price was too high. I wish breakfast were included. I had a cup of coffee and a roll only, and eventually the woman on duty said she would 'only' charge me 5 euro instead of 9.50, but I think that was a lot for a cup of coffee and a roll. The woman on duty in the morning wasn't as friendly as the woman on the phone. It would have made a lot of difference if she was a little more friendly. Adding on the taxi charges in effect makes the cost of this accommodation more expensive if you don't drive to it . (It cost me almost 20 euros to take a taxi to pick up my rental car, and about 12 euros to come from the bus station.) I would still recommend this hotel, though, and I would stay again. Hopefully I would get to meet the owners next time.

    I liked how friendly the (I think) owner was when I phoned to say due to unfortunate travel delays I would not be arriving until the next morning. She seemed very kind and caring. She told me when the staff would be in in the morning and said I could come as soon as they were there. Due to the delay I missed a night's sleep, but I had a nap in the morning in the room before check-out time. My room was very clean and seemed fine. I was happy there for my few short hours.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.0
    Basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was basic and difficult to get past the wash basin into the shower. Bed was too low and uncomfortable Bed sheet did not fit the bed Put you up in same room looked like it needed to be thrown away Bar closed at 10pm and no drinks allowed up in your room Parking was on street and not much room min 20 min walk to edge of town No food facilities on site in evening with nearest a pizza takeout attached to a petrol station Really suited for back-packers just looking to get some sleep

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.6
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ?

    Excellent service. Beer at arrival in site of "ruhetag" our 5 motorcycles parked in the private garage. The host drove us to an open resturant in the next willage and that resturant owner drove us back after dinner. On top of that very comfortable room and great brekfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.9
    good layover accomodations for short stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi only available in the lobby. bit too warm in the room despite the window being open.

    staff was kind to leave our key since we arrived very late. Nice breakfast and staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    4.6
    Okay for an overnight transit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room properly cleaned. Hotel is just "old and tired". Wifi not available in rooms. Non-smoking, but strong smell of cigarettes in foyer and in air-con.

    price. location for transiting through

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.8
    Simple, older but good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms aren´t the newest, but for the price it was absolutely ok.

    Breakfast was simple and really good. It was calm there. Friendly and helpful stuff... Really close to exhibition centre. You can have a dog with you.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Nice and clean
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very kind and helpful. The center is in the near.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    The staff was really friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was really friendly and helpful. This is a great option, well located. Good value for money :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    The cosiness of my room and the slanting roof
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The cosiness of my room and the slanting roof

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    The rooms were clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was varied, generous.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Garage for storing our bikes.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.4
    ok as a stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor stairway lighting,grumpy meeting on checkout, garden a mess

    nice breakfast, lovely area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent breakfast, very kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast, very kind staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Clean and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean and comfortable room. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Close to tourist places about 20 min walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to tourist places about 20 min walk. Clean and tidy good breakfast too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Excellent breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    Quiet, clean
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    80's furniture, and I'm not talking about the style...

    Quiet, clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    Right balance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best option for free parking, good price and convenient to go the the city

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    Did what we needed a stay in ulm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee facilty

    Easy access to room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff, clean room with good bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, clean room with good bed. Good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    4.6
    Old property, poor breakfast and limited offer of food...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old property, poor breakfast and limited offer of food choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    3.8
    One time and never more
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was dirt Water was not enough and shower was damage Elevator in bad condition Light in the stairs doesn’t work

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking a problem

    Excellent breakfast and friendly service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Very helpful receptions!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful receptions! Very pleasant people! Easy to park in front of hotel. Clean and simple. Definitely good place to stay on your way.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.4
    The price was the lowest in town.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If this is a 3* hotel, then Dacia is like Mercedes.

    The price was the lowest in town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    Staff very friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor dated and shower quite dirty.

    Staff very friendly and accommodating. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    4.6
    1970's East Germany themed room !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room themed on 70's east Germany. Receptionist needs to look up occasionally and expand vocabulary from "Nein"

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    All was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was fine

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    Clean rooms and nice stuff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean rooms and nice stuff. The breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    5.8
    Did not eat.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds was not very god....

    Did not eat..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant Stay in Ulm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -rooms were a little dated

    -staff was very helpful and friendly -breakfast was tasty -bed was comfortable -easy check in/out

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    6.7
    Only for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi didn't function continuously, it was quite bad. Breakfast wasn't rich.

    Calm area

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasend stay for acceptable money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The clenliness shoul be improved.

    The location is very silence. The staff very helpfull.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    6.7
    Friendly staff and good breakfast
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - room was not that clean - shower was broken - wifi works only with one device at a time

    - the staff was really nice - breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    2.5
    To avoid!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unpleasant staff, breakfast was poor and not good, the beds were unconfortable, the bathroom was old and in a bad condition

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    9.2
    The breakfast was very good (vegetable, fresh fruits, yogurt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A kettle for boiling water would be fine.

    The breakfast was very good (vegetable, fresh fruits, yogurt were included).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    7.5
    The breakfast was very good and very varied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have stayed at this hotel before but this time we did think the cleanliness in the rooms could have been better.

    The breakfast was very good and very varied. The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful and speak very good English. The city of Ulm is really good to visit, with a wonderful cathedral and a historical centre with lots of great restaurants with delicious food.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    4.6
    instead of 2 single bed ,it could have been better with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    a better bath room

    instead of 2 single bed ,it could have been better with a bed in the middle

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    7.1
    Basic accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    shower screen needs updating, although functional.

    Basic accomodation. Excellent breakfast. Secure parking in garage

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    8.3
    Good location and the bus stop is nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good location and the bus stop is nearby. Peaceful area. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    8.8
    Calm and quiet.
    • Couple

    Calm and quiet.

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: