Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Atlantic Hotel Universum This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Wiener Str. 4, Horn-Lehe, 28359 Bremen, Germany

#22 of 65 hotels in Bremen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 895 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Very calm location next to the Bürgerpark and the beach of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bus connections of the public transport are very limited during weekends. However tram 6 is not far away and offers alternatives.

    Very calm location next to the Bürgerpark and the beach of the Stadtwaldsee (excellent for joggers/swimmers)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Will stay here in next Bremen trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None.

    Although the parking is not free of charge, but I still like the campus atmosphere. I'm appreciated of being welcome by the nice lady inside of front desk. She is so helpful and try her best to arrange everything include meals, parking, coupons and campus map. As for the location, it is very easy to access high way. There is a big park closed to the hotel. Of course, a museum is neighbored to. I did not try it, but I think the family with kids will like it. I had two dinners in the on-site restaurant. Good dishes and soups. Bears? Very good. A rich breakfast is beyond my expectations. That's great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay, highly recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was spacious and good for working on my laptop. Quiet environment. Breakfast was truly excellent with much choice and high quality food, the best I ever had in a hotel. Taxis were available and tram 6 to the center was within walking distance. Staff very friendly, would stay there again when in Bemen. Perfect for business or leisure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    The exterior of the hotel looked rather functional but the interior was very comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent breakfast choice of both hot and cold food, everything you could wish for. Great selection of fresh juices and good quality hot drinks. Large coffee pot on every table if you wanted it. Excellent value for 9 Euros, you could help yourself to as much as you liked. The staff were all very professional and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Very nice and quiet for business traveler.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice and quiet for business traveler, maybe also nice for tourist, but I did not have any time to see anything interesting in the neighborhood. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    Satisfying and very friendly Staff.
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is extra Breakfast is extra. Was missing a good Deal for at least Parking and Breakfast.

    Nice Breakfast and good quality at the Restaurant. Clean Rooms and very friendly Staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    6.3
    location was great for my business purposes
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Plus Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very noisy due to problem with Air con system, I reported it but nothing could be done to resolve problem

    location was great for my business purposes

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Breakfast is brilliant, place is very nice, and there is a...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-Fi is kicking you out during the day several times, so you need to check-in there again, it is not that difficult, but can be pretty annoying

    Breakfast is brilliant, place is very nice, and there is a university 50m swimming pool 15 minutes of walk!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    -- extremely good breakfast;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -- a little bit far from the city center, takes ~25 min by tram to get to Altstadt (although of course you know that when booking, so it's not really a problem).

    -- extremely good breakfast; -- nice green area around the hotel; -- tea kettle in the room; Overall it was a pleasant experience. Recommended to anyone whom the hotel location fits nicely:-)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    Hotel is right next dor to Universum where we went with our 2 grandsons. The rooms are good the beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No airconditioning in the rooms!!! When we stayed it was quite warm and very humid so difficult to sleep without an aircon!!

    Eccellent breakfast with good coffee!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    pay for parking, and no air-conditioning in the rooms, unless you upgrade to a more expensive room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    having to pay for parking per night 10 euro ! or they said park it a couple of streets away ? did'nt look safe. the other major problem, it was warm that evening and the room has no air-conditioning, for a new hotel i find this strange, so we opened the window to let in fresh air but we were bombarded with mosquitoes

    modern hotel and room, good restaurant at the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel close to the university
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite far away from the city centre and requires a tram ride of about 20 minutes. The staff struggled a bit with English sometimes and my German is unfortunately not very good anymore.

    Nice practical hotel adjacent to the science museum. Good parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Atlantic Hotel for your Bremen stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room cleaner was premature in calling at our room at 9.00am on the day of departure (10.00am leaving time).

    Good restaurant, good bar, great staff, English spoken too. A good 20 min walk into town through the lovely park or catch the bus outside the hotel. The Altstadt is lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel for conferences
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm not a huge fan of shower curtains - especially when they are hung so that they touch you when showering (like in this bathroom). Again, would be nice to have separate saunas. Room was a bit dark -- the lights were more mood lighting instead of functional.

    Breakfast was really super - everything I wanted & more, very comfortable beds, and extremely helpful and friendly employees! Free bottle of water - something I always appreciate! Nice little sauna area (1 sauna) - I went late, so I had it all to myself. Might be nice to have 2 - one for women & one for men. I was there on business, so it would have been sliiiiiiiiiiightly awkward for me to sit naked with my male colleagues/potential customers. Not far from the main train station (about €12 cab ride/€25 from airport). Next to a cool science museum & park (for joggers/walkers/fresh air aficionados). I also liked the free fruit bowl near reception - nice touch!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.9
    Nice stop-over to enjoy an excellent food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is far from the center (15€ one way per taxi). The hotel decoration is dull globally. The sauna is fine, but only opened at the end of the day.

    The best is the food, breakfast is generous and good quality and the restaurant chief is a "cordon bleu", amazingly good recipe! The room is clean with plenty of space. The staff is professional and kind.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    8.3
    Staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast offered many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi, lame shaving mirror, lamp that only could be switched off by pulling out the plug. Ah well relatively small inconveniences ..

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast offered many choices, tramline 6 brings you into the city centre in 19mins, huge park adjacent to the hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.9
    Good for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No offer to lend children's bed despite 2,5 yr old with us. Luckily we brought (could have asked, not sure if it's even available). Poor English skills, even from young staff. No child seat at restaurant. Language barriers got us a sparky bottle of water instead of still. Had to ask for children's menu, even with our Son evidently present. Parking is €10/night and at own risk 👎🏻 Room at third floor. No a/c and with outdoors concert, open windows was not an option. Beds are comfortable but a bit hard.

    Nice and relatively new hotel, nice standards. Extreme tender veal rump steak at restaurant. Girlfriend had caesar salad, also great and good proportions.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast choice was very good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As I had to reduce my stay for one night, I was referred to Booking.com and had to que-wait on phone for more then 30 minutes. Than had still to wait on phone while Boking.com was getting approval/confirmation from the hotel. --> Why had I to contact booking.com per hotel directives in 1st. place, when booking.com needed confirmation from the hotel, opposed to directly being cancelled by hotel?

    Breakfast choice was very good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Ventilation insufficient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ventilation insufficient

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lightning

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice and cozy hotel. Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms could have been bigger, I've found it a little small for a family of four

    They have given plush toys to the kids which I think is nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location if you're by car. Great breakfast and a very good evening bar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred free car parking

    Very nice stay and experience. Right next to Universum which was a big advantage. Had a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay, close to the university buildings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit cold

    Very tasty restaurant, good german breakfast, friendly staff, good parking facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.1
    Basic
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food, clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    Overall pleasant experience
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall pleasant experience

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    The cleanliness and the comfy bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constant login in to the WiFi

    The cleanliness and the comfy bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.9
    Comfy room, great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only one towel per person, females like a hair towel too.

    Comfy bed, nice bathroom with a bath and a great breakfast service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Wifi could be more practical .
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi could be more practical .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    breakfast super with active, helpful nice personel
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast super with active, helpful nice personel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    7.5
    Staff friendly and helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.5
    Great stuff and nice surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price per value, a bit far from the centre

    Great stuff and nice surroundings

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.2
    Recommended stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, spacious and clean rooms, good food.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    9.2
    Tasty breakfast, friendly staff, close to the Museum of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tasty breakfast, friendly staff, close to the Museum of Science and Bremen University, very clean room, big windows

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    10
    Excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    9.6
    Very good hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a fitness room

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.3
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decent location. Short train into the city and easy access to the airport. Nice staff and facilities.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Great hotel, near the university but a bit far away from the city center Enjoyed the stay there.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast excellent. Room very comfortable and clean. Courtesy of the staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.6
    Nice modern place near the university
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, nice, modern architecture, good mattress, very quiet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.3
    Very good room and excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free parking

    Very good room and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    8.3
    Very nice hotel but could do with aircon in all rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con in our rooms so had to leave window open and mosquitoes flew in and bothered us.

    Staff were very nice and breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    8.3
    The location of the hotel is very nice, great for a quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The economy rooms are located on the first floor.

    The location of the hotel is very nice, great for a quiet weekend. Friendly personnel and good breakfast. The rooms are comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    8.3
    Breakfast was fantastic, so many options.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The "double bed" was just two singles side-by-side instead of a double.

    Breakfast was fantastic, so many options. Mattress quality was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    7.9
    Nice modern hotel, good breakfast and well situated if you...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perhaps location with public transport is a bit far.

    Nice modern hotel, good breakfast and well situated if you need to go the University area, otherwise too far from the city center.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    8.8
    Nice, business-oriented hotel with excellent buffet...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The economy room has tons of little leaflets reminding the occupant of the room being economy. Rather far from center.

    Nice, business-oriented hotel with excellent buffet breakfast. Close to university campus and businesses.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    8.8
    - Location in quite neighborhood but close to center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - Table lamp was not working. - No AC in room although other rooms had it. - Shower soap container was close to empty by check in.

    - Location in quite neighborhood but close to center. - Breakfast buffet was perfect for 9 euros. In other hotels you pay double this for less than half the variety. - Very friendly staff. - Nice choice of furniture inside rooms.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    7.9
    Friendly staff, willing to make your stay memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were insufficient towels, which meant we had to get more, even though I had booked for 2 adults. The shower rooms fan wasn't working which meant that the room quickly steamed up. I would have expected better.

    Friendly staff, willing to make your stay memorable. The evening meal was excellently prepared and presented. A generous breakfast was provided in the morning.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    8.8
    Very clean and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Outside Parking for 10€/night

    Very clean and modern.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    7.5
    good facilties and breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    good facilties and breakfast. clean and good service.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    8.3
    Good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Few non-german TV channels

    Good breakfast Spacious rooms Complimentary water

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    8.8
    Friendly staff and good German breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff and good German breakfast. Rooms are not equipped with iron, but as I asked to one of the staff, he immediately brought one to me.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    10
    Excellent breakfast, kind staff, clean and comfortable!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent breakfast, kind staff, clean and comfortable! I recommend!

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    7.9
    Clean, modern, friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location a bit awkward unless on university or technology park business.

    Clean, modern, friendly hotel Good breakfast Good local transport

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    8.3
    excellent restaurant, confort et situation proche de...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    excellent restaurant, confort et situation proche de l'université.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.9
    Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air circulation in room

    Breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.6
    The style and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The style and location.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast and dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sauna not included. No room for the bike except the garage.

    Breakfast and dinner. Confort. Situation.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    8.3
    Forest around hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Forest around hotel

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    10
    The romm eas clean and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The romm eas clean and nice. The breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    10
    Although we stayed for one night the hotel has a very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Although we stayed for one night the hotel has a very good location with secure parking. Very clean and good service.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room is a bit of small, esp, when we put an extra bed for our kid.

    Breakfast Clean room Good service

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    9.2
    - Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - Breakfast - Dinner in restaurant - Friendly personal - Good WiFi

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    7.1
    Having to pay for the pillows!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Having to pay for the pillows!!!

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Browse Atlantic Hotel Universum traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: