Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Atlas Posthotel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Marienplatz 12, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany

#32 of 36 hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1728 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got an excellent room on the third floor. It was nice and clean. Great location as you are at the center of Garmisch. Surrounded by many dining options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The top floor room over the front entrance took in the smell of smoke from the people outside. It would have been more appropriate if they had an area away from the entrance.

    The staff were excellent with accommodating our changes to the number of guests. A friend joined us last minute and they didn't have a problem with it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Picture of hotel looks like it is off by itself in secluded area. It is actually tightly bunched up with others in a row on the street. We stayed in apartment behind main hotel, so it was still quiet and secluded. Extra beds for apartment were located in the kitchen (?). One was soft and squeaky, the other was hard and unusable. We took the mattress off the squeaky frame and put it on top of the hard one, and my daughter was fine the final day.

    We stayed in one of two "apartment" houses behind main hotel. Worked out just great, and was better than main hotel. Very quiet neighborhood, convenient to the pedestrian area of town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking situation is difficult--one has to seek out the "cheaper" public parking lot where one only has to pay by the day, vs. by the hour. When we arrived at the hotel, in the middle of a heavy downpour, the lobby was clogged up with a large tour group of (possibly) Eastern Europeans, so it was difficult to struggle into the hotel with our luggage.

    This was an old-fashioned German hotel that I found very comfortable. Our room had LOTS of hanging and drawer space, not that we needed it since we only stayed one night. The bathroom was large and very comfortable. There were TWO restaurants on-site, one Italian and the other a sort of steak restaurant; we had a good meal at the latter, though it was a little on the expensive side. I very much enjoyed my stay right in the middle of downtown Garmisch, and would definitely stay there again! NOTE: I got the sense that it would be a great place to stay in winter if one was there to go skiing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Run down property despite construction company owner. Poor service during breakfast, disorganized, slow. Huge disappointment and absolute rip off. Will happily return to Garmisch-Partenkirchen but never again to Atlas Posthotel or any other property run by Kavun Gruppe.

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of parking,

    This facility was average ,,,the lack of parking on premise was not acceptable. Motel relies on public parking ,,If you can find it or a paid parking lot approximately 100 yards away. However this motel has excellent eating facilities !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed here many times in the past. When our flight was suddenly canceled we were forced to leave 2 days early. As soon as we learned of this situation we notified the desk. When we checked out they still made us pay for the unused two nights. We use booking.com because they usually are fair about emergency cancelations but the post refused.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had a juice at reception but no coffee or hot water. They suggested I ask the restaurant connected to the hotel for hot water but I would have rather had a hot water supply to help myself to. If you’re a light sleeper, the church bells may wake you up too early but it was fine for me, even with the windows open.

    Really great location. The rooms are very quiet, whether due to thick walls or spacing between guests. I chose this place because of a travel article. I think in future I’m better off reading reviews to find a place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The salads in the restaurant were mediocre and overpriced. The service was a little lacking.

    Breakfast here is fantastic! Lots of options including real eggs. The ladies the work the front desk make you feel very welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -the room is old...and a bit scary like a haunted house. -not much food choice of breakfast. -a bit far away from the train station when you were carrying large suitcases

    traditional characteristic building

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing i didn't like - i highly recommend the hotel. I live in Munich and my family were over from Ireland, perfect location for a ski getaway - 10 min walk to the ski slopes!

    i stayed in this hotel 10 years ago and i loved it then but i was very impressed to see they have renovated (great new restaurants) without losing the flair/style that makes the hotel what it is - I'm a fan!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The showering space is not well separated in the bathroom and the water would get on the floor in there.

    Location was great. Various options for breakfast. I also liked the welcoming drinks at the reception desk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We run internet business so we have to be online at all times. The WiFi was so poor in our room - we had to sit outside to get the signal. For us that was unacceptable. However it might be just that one unlucky room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They didn't have shampoo or conditioner in the shower, just the same hand soap next to the sink.

    Great location, helpful staff, and a comfortable room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front staff was not helpful. He didn’t bother giving us information about the hotel that was available in a brochure. We struggled to turn on the lights as a results, you had to insert the room key once inside. He never bothered to tell us. He gave us wrong info regarding the bus for our ski trip, then shrugged when I told him.?

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Softer mattress and alternative choice of pillows. English programmes on the TV's.

    The annexe apartment was roomy with good facilities for self catering and in bathroom (shower room). TV in bedroom and in Kitchen/Lounge area but no English programmes. Bedroom good size but mattress too hard for us. Hotel restaurant offering wine and steaks looked rather expensive and the second restaurant was mainly pizzas. Ate there once and found pizzas far too big for us (should have shared one).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Christian interior decorating was a bit over the top but it is an old style hotel

    The breakfast, location and cost were very good! The sauna was an added bonus after a days skiing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe because of the temperature of the weather is really freaking cold on that night, we felt that the warmer is not enough warm even though we open the highest one.

    The room is good and clean. Because you need to walk around 15mins from the train station so the hotel has provided the guest card for the guest to use for the transportation, that’s so sweet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Church bell nearby rang loudly every 15 minutes throughout the night, leading to a very broken night's sleep.

    Good location for easy access to ski bus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from 3rd floor room, little noisy from nightclub across street, but excellent for location and value.

    Fantastic location. Great size room for a single.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was in an ideal position in the the town. Ten minute walk form the station and close to all the town shops and bars. The breakfast on offer was very good and the service excellent . We travelled to watch the World Cup Downhill skiing and it was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double room at what was advertized as a three star level hotel. Instead was given a small apartment two blocks from the hotel. The apartment building was more like a college dorm for skiers. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have slept in in 25 years of teaveling in Germany. It was only a thin mattress on a wooden plank. There were loose floorboards and nails sticking up which caught yor foot and snarled socks. The entrance was filthy and run down with broken furniture. There was no decoration or pictures on the wall. Beakfast was supposed to be ready at 7 am and it never was, one day coffee wasnt ready, one day no bread had been delivered, one day no eggs were ready. I had linited time before my first business meetings so I never did get the breakfast I paid for. Totally unsatisfied avoid this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedrooms need a bit of a cosmetic refresh.

    Staff were wonderfully helpful. We really were hopeless with how a ski resort works. They helped with public transport and all ski related info. Attached restaurants are great. Breakfast was superb! Location is fantastic, close to most transport lines.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the lights in the bathroom did not work, which made the bathroom rather dark. And the shower head was broken, we were unable to adjust the height, and my 6’2” husband had some difficulty.

    The hotel was gorgeous! Breakfast was very delicious, the personally made omelet was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor lighting, lack of room facilities, tired decor, poor staff attitude, hard beds, poor wifi.

    A nice hotel right in the town centre - although right next to the town clock with goes ballistic from 7am!! The decor is quirky but rooms are very tired and some lack basic facilities like a fridge and lighting in the rooms is dreadful. Also, the beds are very hard which was not to our taste. We had a varied experience with the staff with some very helpful and some very not and quite rude which made things difficult at times. There are good facilities like a sauna and nice breakfast for a small price and free onsite parking. The hotel is in a great central location to get to all the tourist areas as well as all the bars and restaurants in the evening. Overall our stay was pleasant enough but the lack of attention to detail really lets the place down, especially for the price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited parking. No receptionist at 11 pm all by telecom on wall at entrance.

    Very good breakfast and unusually sausages and bacon available. Centrally located with a burger bar opposite which is open until 1 am. Suitable for late arrival.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Standard of Room was poor, booked a double ended up with a twin, requested another room which was worse than twin room so stayed in the twin room. This could be a great hotel if given some TLC.

    Location excellent. Staff Good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room was very small. Also the stairs were old and creaky and because of the location of my room , it did disturb. Although not the fault of the hotel guests were noisy at night. Perhaps signs requesting some respect for fellow guests should be issued

    I liked the location and the history of the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Lift was not working and carrying suitcases upto the 3rd floor was an effort. This should qualify as a refund actually for such an expensive property.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff and service were subpar. Restaurants and bar staff seem to suffer from inadequate supervision and management. Restaurants, especially the Steak house needs serious help. Service was exceedingly slow, i.e. waited 30 minutes for our drinks (wine and beer) and all 5 expensive steak dinners were sent back and then returned un eatable. Never had this happen during over 50 years of dining out. Baked potato insufficiently cooked and too hard in center to eat. Charged full price but offered a drink of grappa which no one really wanted. Similar experience at nearby tables as we overheard disgruntled customers complaining to waitstaff. Kitchen and food service management: wake up!!

    Good location. Old world charm and lots of historic character. Room was very clean. Bed area small but separate ‘living room’ was nice. Large, clean and modern bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some parts of hotel looking due for renovation - but this didn't spoil our stay, and the place is generally well kept. Staff could be a little friendlier, but were helpful nonetheless.

    Perfect central location in the town, very close to bus for ski areas, characterful old building, good breakfast, comfortable room and bed, good small sauna

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check in queue unreasonably long, same queue every night trying to get the room key.

    The central location is excellent walkable from the station and to the ski slopes.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the staff was not overly friendly. I had a relative call for me and my relative told me that the staff was not very pleasant about having to go up the stairs to tell me that I had a phone call. There were no phones in the rooms. TV's should atleast have CNN in English? Rooms were clean, bathroom tiny, bath towels were worn and not very luxurious. Location however is within walking distance to town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room needs updating. The carpet is worn, furniture missing parts and one lampshades was broken. It had 2 of 4 lights that worked overhead and the internet was spotty and very - very slow at less than 1.0mbps. The bathroom was nice but again dated with missing tile grout and on the first day no cold water - that made for one very hot but quick shower. We have been staying and recommending this hotel for years but honestly outside the new restaurants I do not think much has been updated in the last 20 years. If you elect to stay here I would suggest skipping the breakfasts which is unfortunate since it used to be one of the best, coffee was still great. With that we would stay here again, but it would be pretty far down the list and would select the apartment which was nice the last time we stayed there. Here is hoping for a renovation since this was and could again be a truly outstanding hotel.

    The location is outstanding,the outside of the hotel is beautiful, the staff is very nice and the coffee is good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Facilities feel a touch dated and could use a little touching up.

    Great location in the middle of Garmisch! Friendly, helpful staff. The pizza restaurant on the ground floor was tasty.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Narrow streets and plenty of cars, need to find parking by ourselves. Room was not as promised on photo, quite old. TV and bed in separate rooms. Bathroom is small. Breakfast is poor but OK.

    Central location, having streak (nice!) restaraunt at first floor and couple traditional bavarian restaraunts next door. Room is quite warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No doors to the separate rooms,the lights were motion detector type and did not shut all the way off; so it was very hard to sleep

    Great breakfast, great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few more plates & cutlery would have been useful for cooking in the unit.

    We stayed in an apartment which was spacious & comfortable. The location was great & close to the centre of town. A walkable distance to the train station. Staff at the hotel were helpful. The breakfast was ample.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insane amount of noise coming from drunk folks leaving Peaches Pub all night long. Quality of sleep was poor. Only negative about this hotel but it was a BIG one.

    Great location. Love nearby restaurant and deli. Love restaurants right in the Atlas Hotel. Always clean. Good price!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Check-in time started at 1500 which was a little late for my liking. However they had plenty of room to hold luggage so my wife and I could explore the city without carrying everything around.

    Bus tickets included for free transportation around the city. Also, very close to the Christmas market and shops.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower wouldn't stay in the right position no matter how much you tried to change it. The breakfast was a bit underwhelming for it's value of 11 euros. We could have used at least a larger variety of fruits.

    The hotel is pretty, with clean and well decorated rooms. The bathroom was also well equiped and clean. The location in Garmish-Patenkirchen is creat, at the heart of the city, within walking distance of the train.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would like to have water boiler in the room.

    Very nice big room, much better furnished than what I expected for the hotel level. In the city center though at a relatively short walking distance from the train station. I arrived way after midnight and easily found my way in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we booked the hotel was fully booked so we booked an apartment. The apartments are in two buildings in the second street behind the hotel. The first apartment they gave us was on the main street and on the ground floor right across the road from a bar and it was noisy. The furniture in the bedroom did not look like it was of any quality whatsoever. The bed creaked all night and we could barely sleep. It was also very cold. They did change our room.

    The next day they changed our room to one in the next building which was very good. It had a good kitchen fully equiped, a comfortable bed and the bathroom was good in both rooms. The standard in the two rooms was very different. The apartment though was very cold. The heating had not been turned on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would go back if the the check-out clerk on Oct 9th stops working there. Attractive but rude. She asked me to swipe my credit card, I did then the screen wanted me to confirm but with a choice of language between Deutch or English. I chose English but it got stuck. I kept pressing a confirm button, any button but it was not helping. She repeatedly asked me to read and (just confirm) which led to me to question why she works there when she is very rude. The experience was unlike with the check-in lady on Oct 8 I apologize but I ended up losing my temper. There is no excuse for being rude to customers but there is no excuse for me losing my temper.

    The restaurant waiters/cook at the restaurant steakhouse were very friendly and helpful. They know their steak and their wine. The front desk lady at check-in was friendly and courteous. Garmisch was a great place to visit. I've been there three times and would be back again. Room 113 was a suite. It had a whirlpool bath and a separate shower. It had a couch in a separate room and the bed and antique furnishings were excellent. It was a quiet room as I requested. Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I Stayed in yellow buliding and give us appartement in third flour and no one help to carry our bags also the window was without cover i mean sun come in our a head . Wifi very poor also parking u can found in public area and good price .the check in should at 13:00 no before ????

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the Suite because there are two men staying in the same room. According to the description from the website, there will be two single beds or one double bed inside. Therefore, i made a request to the booking which i need two single beds instead of one double bed. But when we checked in to the room, there is just one double bed! We went back to the front desk and talk with the front desk staff, she said that there is only one double bed in the room and never got two single beds. After that, i showed the confirmation to the staff, she said that this is the mistake from the Booking.com which they mentioned this mistake to them already. I paid 40 Euros more for two singled bed room but the staff cannot do anything to help us?! I think very dissapointed and then she informed us the last twin beds room was just booked yesterday. I am not satissfied with the staff performance and even the description of this hotel. If they do not have two single beds in the room, why they don’t send the email to us to clarify this issue?!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was very hot when we were there in August. And the rooms didn't have any fans. But they arranged a fan from the next night. The cleanliness was very poor as there was dust all around the room. The location was very good, right in the city centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were nice, however, the furniture is outdated and not the most comfortable. The fixtures in the bathroom were not of a commercial grade. The shower head broke and it took the entire day to fix.

    Proximity to the center of town. Everything is in walking distance. Great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of attention to detailed. seems like a hotel that was for generations run by a family and now run by a cooperation. Marketing top but the details are lacking and make no sense

    ITs a nice old hotel, very authentic

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When adjusting "(personalizing") my reservation on booking.com to add a third person booking.com says that an extra bed is free up to 19 years old. I was charged 50€ for an extra bed... but it turn out that the extra bed was actually the sofa already in the room, which turned into a bed! I WOULD JUST LIKE TO POINT OUT THAT THE INFORMATION ON BOOKING.COM SAYS THAT AN EXTRA BED IS 40€ I reserved a double room, and I was charged 4€ for the second person and 4€ for the third person..... The hotel is OK, for a european hotel, small and old. I feel totally ripped of instead of paying the advertised 218€ for two nights I ended up paying 276€

    Very well situated, in the old town center. The walk to the train station is really about a 15 - 20 minute walk. The bus stop is just in front of the hotel. Every hotel guest gets free bus pases!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unfriendly. Bathroom light was going out and a disco flash until it completely died. Informed the staff three times and it was never addressed. The hotel provides no parking and no assistance in locating parking and will send you to a park haus that has a three hour limit for overnight parking.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment didn't have a couch and the kitchen and bathroom was poorly. No soap, no pans,glasses and other things you expect there to be in an apartment. After asking 2 times at the reception we did get it but the staff was really not hospitable.

    Good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One waiter on duty on our first day was excellent. The rest of the staff seemed to lack adequate training. The range of items for breakfast was good but the eggs tended to get variable cooking treatment. Dinner was no more than satisfactory but had been great years ago when it was Clausings Posthotel.

    The location is truly excellent. The Pass for the local bus (a good service) was appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't take the breakfast since it is enough expensive. It is possible to make a good and cheapest breakfast in some nice place in the city center.

    This hotel is nice and very close to city center. Parking is not free but very cheep and close to the hotel. The ratio between price and quality is enough good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-out receptionist was awful, unfriendly, and couldn't be bothered to smile or look at our faces. The worst receptionist I've seen. The bathroom smelled horrible, the scent was from the sewage, for certain.

    Room was spacious, and comfortable. Location was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air conditioner in the rooms ,you need it with a hot weather afternoon In August.

    I like the hotel with a historical-religious style with a statuettes and dolls. You can reach restaurants coffee shops supermarkets and shopping by walking just cross the street beside the tarffic light within 1 minute .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionists were not professional and not friendly at all specially the young lady at the morning shift. I was checking out from the hotel when she asked me to pay extra fee about 250€. Therefore, I asked her what is this extra charge for? Meanly she answered me with (I dont wanna discuss this with you) then she printed out the bill.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Uncomfortable beds, not great food, and terrible parking area. We arrived late at night and since the six parking spots were taken the gentleman at the desk told me it was okay to park next to a wall (this late at night I was tired and didn't notice the no parking signs). The next morning I went to move my car and I had a 35 Euro parking ticket. The day time desk manager told me they would not do anything about the ticket and was absolutely no help. The hotel claims to have free parking, but they do not have enough for all of their guests and I got stuck with a parking ticket I now have to pay, no thanks to the staff. Also didn't know there would be an extra fee for the dog until after we booked our stay and got a message from the hotel.

    Good location, right by the shopping area and bus stop right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad hotel, I don't like the way they deal with me becouse I book 4 rooms but they give me 3 rooms which I discovered later after leaving the hotel and we were very tiyered and accept the rooms without checking the booking we have. in addtion they took 50 Euro from me for the addtional 2 beds. I need my mony back for the 4th room that they did not give it to me and the 50 Euro.???

    Nothing i like very bad hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The females receptionist weren't helpful but rude to us, and we booked two apartments and one room , they were all in separated buildings which we didn't prefer as a family, at least they could've managed to give us apartments at the same building, plus there is no porters to help on carrying the luggage.

    The male receptionist was friendly and helpful and the location is very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no soap in our room when there should have been. Front desk could have been slightly friendlier, but perhaps this is a cultural difference (European vs North American). The room also didn't have a fridge or kettle, but I guess that was because it was very basic booking.

    Great views from my room. We got GaPa cards during our stay so that we could use local buses free -- very helpful. Only 15 minutes walking from the central station, 10 minutes from tourist information, and surrounded by good restaurants. The bus stop to go to Eibsee lake is also right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They turn the hot water off during the night and turn it back on at 0500. If you have to leave before 0500 in the morning, I would suggest showering the night before or you won't get a shower!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a wonderful hotel. The staff was incredible. So easy to walk to everything in downtown Garmisch. Wonderful room which was quiet, peaceful and safe. Our mini schnauzer loved it! Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double room was very old fashioned, dark and a tad grubby. It could really do with a facelift. There was a connecting door to another room which was locked, but we could hear everything through it. There was a musty smell in the bathroom and the direction of the shower head in the bath means that it is almost impossible not to drown the floor when showering.

    The location of the hotel is central and the staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant has a nice outdoor seating area. Nearby on street parking is only 2.50 per day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I came to Atlas as a stranded traveler after having a bad situation with my previous host in Garmisch. The dark-haired young gentleman who helped check me in was so understanding and helped me calm down, and even brought me a delicious hot chocolate. When I checked out, the young lady with brown, wavy hair helped me figure out how to get to the train station and was incredibly sweet. I came to Atlas in need and they helped me so much. If I ever go to Garmisch again, I'll definitely stay there. I wish I had gotten the names of the staff who helped me, they deserve to be praised!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location good for getting around but it was extremly hot temps outside and no air conditioning plus had to have window open for air allowed traffic noise (and it was noisy) to make for a restlessight.

    Nice helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually nothing

    Clean bathroom, high speed wifi, nice view, spacious room, enogh electricity places to charge electronic devices, so close to the city center and food centers. A card was prepared to use public transport at the area free of charge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bed was to hard the bathroom shower didn"t work after room change I was looking into the alley with garbage noise and and smell when I asked and payed for a room with a view not happy will not return

    the location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Posthotel is situated on a great location in Garmisch. It used to have a lot of charm and one can still feel the aura of the good old times. But then a few years ago it was taken over by a group from a foreign culture and it all went downhill. The service is poor, the staff is barely able to work in tourism. The pictures on the Web site are old; there is now a kebab shop on the corner. We booked a room that was described as "Deluxe Apartment". The residence is actually two streets away in a separate building. While it is quite large, it is in a terribly poor condition - smelly, the garden overgrown with weed, the beds awfully soft. We were given a wi-fi password which did not work. Breakfast was equally disastrous. I definitely wish we had chosen a different establishment for our stay.

    Absolutely nothing to praise.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaning not well checked as our room was missing a basin plug, soap in the shower dispenser and sanitary bags. Also this was reported 3 times before actioned to fix (admittedly first 2 were evening/night staff) Also would have liked (complimentary) coffee either in the room or on arrival......

    Very lovely hotel, exquisite location, very clean room. Most staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was dark. There was a constant smoke smell from the steak house. It was very loud in the nights because of a nearby nightclub. The reception staff was the least friendly staff which I have experienced for a long time. We had to communicate with 3 different employees. The first one was a real grumpy guy, he was not smiling once, the second guy was slightly better, but also not really helpful, the lady in the morning did also not care at all. The wifi was not working, I had to use my mobile for the internet, our request to print a flight ticket was promised for the next day, but it was also to much expectation to get it done within 24 hours. We had to leave without the prints. There was no attempt at all to get it solved in another way or any friendly words. We are definitely not impressed with the friendliness.

    Central hotel, spacey rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking was in a public lot, about 100m up the street. No big deal except hauling our suitcases across the cobblestones.

    The hotel offers a full breakfast with good service, the front desk folks were very helpful and gave us good insights into things to see and do beyond what we got from the travelguides. The view from our room and the view from the bier garden in the front of hotel was just extraordinary. We did not eat dinner at the hotel, but the aromas were tantalizing. The wifi at the hotel The hotel is in a very convenient spot to grab dinner, do shopping, hop on the great bus service, and right across from the pedestrian zone. We would definitely stay here again. The price, service, and location all made it a bargain.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we had a shower. The tub with the shower head wasn't very comfortable.

    As a family of 4, the room:apartment we were in was wonderful! Huge! Close to everything!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although very clean: no soap in shower, no plug in basin. No plastic bags for toilet. It took 2 requests to get it fixed. (admittedly both staff were night staff who did not pass the problems on). It would have been nice to have a welcome coffee

    Proximity to town. Free bus ticket.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a single but was given a double. However, the room was a little run down and the bed was so hard even to sit on that it was like sleeping on the floor. I put my thin duvet underneath me some cushioning but then I was really cold. The town is so beautiful but the bells chime every half and hour so didn't sleep at all.

    Staff friendly and welcoming. Great location - central for everything. Breakfast can be taken inside or enjoyed outside in the sunshine and spectacular views. Steak restaurant adjacent. We had a wonderful time in Garmisch.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: