Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Carathotel Basel/Weil am Rhein This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Alte Str. 58, 79576 Weil am Rhein, Germany

#11 of 23 hotels in Weil am Rhein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3615 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The position of the hotel means that Weil-am-Rhein centre is too far to walk, and the roads immediately surrounding are just one immense traffic jam. There is no point in leaving the hotel once you're installed - and anyway it has everything you want (including a sauna). One negative point was that the (incredibly powerful) shower was in the bathtub, requiring a high step up to get in, and a slippery huge step down at the end.... a source of danger there!!

    Superb room, hugely spacious and very, very comfortable. One of the best breakfasts ever - everything the heart could desire and more, in unlimited quantity. This was quite outstanding. The grounds of the hotel are nice, with sculptures, and an outside bar sitting area. They are dog friendly, but not overly so....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms need to be updated, and some of the furniture could be replaced.. I think if this hotel were upgraded it'd be fantastic, new carpet / white walls. It's been a bit left behind.

    The size of the rooms, The location to our event, it was close by but far enough that it was quiet. I really enjoyed our breakfast too. Concierge were highly professional and helpful. Very friendly to us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are expected a room like on the pictures but we got old, demode a room from '70 years of the last century. The room was very cold because the heat is turn off and outside temerature was -1 C°.

    Recepcioner Sebastian is very kind and he help us very much with his informacions and directions. Personal in restoran was so kind too, helpfull and they say hello with big smile!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is quite difficult to reach if you don't drive there and the neighborhood feels industrial. The facilities look old (a very 70s feeling to it all) and it's unfortunate because it makes it easy to assume things are not clean/well-maintained (which was not true at any point for us). To add to the feeling of outdated, we were given by booking.com the option to borrow bicycles, something we were looking forward to as we wanted to explore the area and particularly the point were the three countries meet, but we were told they no longer provide this service. Perhaps the hotel should update their booking.com entry?

    We pretty much picked the cheapest room that met our needs. There is plenty of parking space at the front of the hotel (and it's free). The building is one of the tallest in the neighborhood which means that you have good chances of having a decent view of the surrounding. The room has surprisingly large windows. A rather spacious and clean room with extra comfortable beds was waiting for us on the 5th floor. We slept well with no interruptions from neighboring rooms, passers by, or traffic. In the morning we were pleasantly surprised by the breakfast: eggs (boiled or scrambled), bacon, sausages, meatballs, salads, fresh fruit, pretzels, multiple types of bread, croissant, cheese, jams, honey (multiple types), freshly squeezed oranges (like really), coffee.. and these are only the things we tried..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old analog airconditioning, showering in bathtub/ and to much art in my opinion, room interior dated.

    Location ideal next to borders and highway, clean room, great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To much (scary for kids) art in all areas of hotel, old analog operated airco(no fresh air), old bathroom,no seperate shower, showring in bathtub, room interior dated.

    Location was great, nice breakfast, staff was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Convenient location, friendly staff and cozy environment. Best part is to have two supermarkets Aldi and Lidl within two minutes walk from the hotel and also McDonalds within easy reach. Overall had an amazing experience staying at the hotel. Definitely would love to go back again in near future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The new TV channel selection is extremely poor. No BBC World, CNN or Sky News. Vqery little choice now.

    The rooms are comfortable and quiet. The beds and the breakfast are excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though non smoking, our room smelled like a smoker had been in there. Also housekeeping didn't clean our room the first day and we had to ask for it

    Great breakfast. Looks like your standard hotel with all the facilities and a restaurant which makes things convenient

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe little old fashioned interior design but value for the money very good anyway

    Excellent price vs. quality. Big room incl very big bed. Very good breakfast; variety of choices. Kind staff and nice to have restaurant in the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the room was completely worn out. Greasy spots on the bed wall, a non-functioning 80ies radio/alarm clock console, a bathroom that looked exactly like it did when the Berlin Wall came tumbling down. It's not an expensive hotel, but it's just very unattractive to see huge greasy spots in any room. A little redecoration would go a long way...

    The staff is super friendly. Breakfast was superb: 4 kinds of fresh yoghurt, fresh fruit, crispy fresh brötchen, wonderful dark rye bread, great selection of cakes, home made jams. Someone in the kitchen really loves their work.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really - we also balance expectations for a stop-over hotel.

    Very convenient hotel for stop-over, offering good quality rooms (nothing fancy - it does the job). Breakfast was really nice and we enjoyed the Mexican restaurant upon arrival which thankfully didn't close too early. Parking space is great (not closed off). Very close to the highway.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is easy to get to and ideal for an overnight stop during my regular trips to or from Italy. The friendly and courteous staff, especially in the restaurant, needs to be complimented. Clean rooms, including the bathrooms, and the comfy beds made my numerous stays at the Carat very pleasant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Headboards in rooms need changing (very grubby) and could have done with an extra pillows in the rooms. We’ve done 10 hours of driving and don’t really want to have to go down to reception to ask for one.

    Excellent breakfast and very convenient location for us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner at Restaurant Hazienda could be improved. The Fajitas were not served hot. The accompanying sauces were not of sufficient quantity.

    Great location immediately adjacent to the A5 at the German/Swiss border. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well located in the WEIL industrial estate where I had business. For private trip I will have chosen other hotel in the vincinity or at best in France. So I recommand for business only!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife was a little disappointed that the tea-service stops at 18.00

    Third time at Carathotel. I like it better every time. Rooms are very large and comfortable, worthy of 5 stars. Staff are always friendly. The restaurant is good and the breakfast top class. Wonderful value for money. I wouldn't consider going anywhere else in the Basel area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - problem with wifi coverage,

    Everything else!!! Hotel is not brand new, but: - cleanliness of rooms and the whole hotel at a very high level - Very nice service, during breakfast, on reception and room service : After our check out, we forgot the mirror in the room ( 5th floor), and the lady from the room service brought this mirror to us, we were already outside hotel on car parking - plenty of parking space - just a few hundred meters from motorway

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff of both, the hotel and the restaurant are very courteous. The rooms are clean, beds are comfy, bathrooms are a bit old fashioned but clean. The great breakfast needs to be mentioned as well. Great value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interiors may need a renovation to be more modern looking

    I stayed in this hotel for a night in between transit so I haven't spent much time in and haven't tried all the services but based on my experience this hotel is extremely good value for money, spacious rooms and very rich breakfast. The staff is extremely helpful and the position was ideal for me as I was coming from the airport and needed something within short drive reach. Despite being old as I can tell from the interiors, the hotel is very well maintained

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, only the rooms look a bit dated but well kept.

    Nice staff, spacious room with nice view over to Basel. Very clean, furnished for the purpose it has to serve. Breakfast very big variety of fresh food. Can even press your own orange juice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could not get phone reception and therefore it was a bit difficult to use my phone for sms and calls. This might be an issue with the provider and not with the hotel though. You certainly need a car to get around.

    The Breakfast buffet is absolutely stunning. You almost can get everything. The rooms are spacious, quiet and well maintained. The beds are very comfortable. It is located close to the Motorway and Swiss boarder (Basel). Wifi worked very good and staff were very friendly. We've been her many times and will come back again next year.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not get phone reception and therefore it was a bit difficult to use my phone for sms and calls. This might be an issue with the provider and not with the hotel though.

    The Breakfast buffet is absolutely stunning. You almost can get everything. The rooms are spacious, quiet and well maintained. The beds are very comfortable. It is located close to the Motorway and Swiss boarder (Basel). Wifi worked very good and staff were very friendly. We've been her many times and will come back again next year.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is table service in the attached restaurant. Its very good but the service was a little slow.

    The rooms. Spacious, modern and stylish. You can walk straight up into the forest from the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been staying at the Carat repeatedly and have enjoyed our stay every time. It is a predictable experience: friendly staff, clean rooms and bathroom, comfortable beds, great value for money, and a great restaurant with great service staff on site, great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location. It was a built up area and a good walk to transport

    It took us at least 15 minutes to walk to the nearest tram stop. This hotel was otherwise very good and the meals were excellent, especially breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean and modern room (although my colleagues had older rooms...). Good breakfast. Location: Commercial area Close to the border. But very good to drive into Basel for work. Nice bar and area to sit outside the Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is in a busy light industrial site and very close to the Swiss border - lots of lorries - not much to do locally.

    The location had received quite a bit of adverse comment on its decor and general environment. We were pleasantly surprised by the reality with the friendliness of the entire staff team more than compensating for the slightly dated appearance. The on site restaurant was a bonus with an excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed at Carat hotel several times and could enjoy our stay every time to the fullest. Comfi beds, very friendly staff. The restaurant at the hotel is great, with delicious food and excelsnt service. The breakfast is remarkable with lots of choices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to Basel airport. But Taxi Was e20 coming and e35 return. Room a/c was not cooling at all.

    Staff was very helpful with our late night checkin. We did not have an adapter for our charger, and they were kind enough to lend us one. Breakfast was sumptuous. Best on our trip so far...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    This is as good as a hotel gets for its price. Spacious room, comfortable bed, clean and modern bathroom, great restaurant, well-stocked and serviced bar, professional and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we booked in and went to room to find it had not been cleaned or beds made (3.30pm),went down to reception and had to wait over20 mins to get it sorted(hot and sweaty,not a good first impression)

    very clean,nice breakfast,nice restaraunt,beer on the expensive side.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I travel a lot all over the world, I am involved in tourism. Alone, with family, with groups. I can say that I never was disappointing by German locations. All of them, as Carat also, clean, large space in the room, good breakfast, everything perfect. No emotion to go with tourists in Germany...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite hot. No air conditioning. Bath room hadn't been remodeled for a while. The tiles were worn out. Restaurant had decent food, but didn't serve the drink we ordered. After another request they brought out a different drink instead. They were all out. The drink they brought was way over the expiration date though. When we pointed this out, they didn't charge us for the drink and offered us coffee on the house.

    Good hotel if you're passing through. Near the main road. Nice and big room. Good breakfast facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great rooms, but for small children perhaps a bit dangerous, as the window (on the 7th floor) can be fully opened.

    Hotel doesn't look supercool on the outside but surprised us on the inside. Breakfast was outstanding! (Superior) rooms were very spacious (could fit 4 people easily if there would be that many beds).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a bit outdated but still comfortable nonetheless.

    Really loved the selection for breakfast, such variety and quite tasty. The Mexican restaurant was also unique and had nice dishes. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the location was conveniently close to the motorway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking says that children under 10 are free in existing bedding - 'existing bedding' means the same bed! The hotel policies and the "Booking" site don't link up. I cannot share my bed with my 10 year old. You may need to book an extra bed (for an additional cost). Just be sure you know what type of room you are getting.

    The staff was very accommodating! They moved us to a room that better fit our needs and then when that room's air conditioning was broken, they found us yet another room. This location, right over the border, provides a good value option for places to stay and still tour Switzerland without paying Swiss Franc prices. It is a good jumping off point for day trips to France, Germany, or Switzerland. Plenty of parking. Delicious and filling breakfast - good variety of breads, cheeses, jams, eggs, bacon, lachs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was very dated and had no air conditioning which in the middle of summer was pretty discusting. But other rooms had updated decor, bathrooms and air con so make sure you get one of those!

    Comfy bed, very lush breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The artwork was a little stressful😜. The painting over the bed was people drowning from a boat accident - I can still see that in my mind😳. & Being from central California we know southwestern cuisine quite well - they need help that restaurant.

    Convenient location and the staff was very responsive to us. Silly me, I needed a toothbrush and they did not have a little on site store but upon asking They had a nice little kit they gave me🙂. Kidding directions to get into the inner city was very helpful. It was a little issue to switch between euros and Swiss francs, but certainly doable. Oh yes, the breakfast were stellar!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airco did not work properly and in the other room it was not there. Pillows were too soft and no extra pillows in the room. Bathroom was dated with a curtain. Not very hygienic. We did not know we had to reserve a table in the hotel restaurant because it was fully booked. Lucky for us a staff member directed us to a fantastic grill house nearby. Thanks for that. We expected more for the price and stars.

    Easy to get on our way through Germany. Easy access and easy to find. Rooms were very large. Breakfast was amazing!!! And staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't that good they need to improve it a little bit.

    The location is good since I took it as a starting point for my other distinctions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sauna needs to be turned on in advance. It would be a plus to improve that area.

    Nice views from the room, breakfast is good and varied (international cheeses, salmon, eggs, homemade orange juice...), our room was really clean even being ancient and I liked the old radio embedded in the bedside table.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room (superior) very large. Too large for airco, can't cool poparly. Bathroom oldfashioned, needs to be updated. 60 yrs old. Also room is very old. Need to make reservation for restaurant, fully booked. Hotel and room not 4* worth. No luxury in hotel and/or room. Way overpriced. For that price a night we expect a lot more.

    Good location close to the border. Good hotel for one night. Room (superior) very large. Breakfast good. Friendly staff. Clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner or fridge. Had to open windows during hot night, could not fall asleep because of the noise. Very soft pillows. Dated furniture.

    Fast internet, great parking and super easy check in and out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only real item for improvement: there is no airconditioning in the room and the room was STEAMING hot! So warm that it was hardly possible to sleep even with the windows open. At least a fan would have helped.

    An outstanding hotel situated next to the highway. The moet fantastic and elaborate breakfast I ever had. Great and large room with a large and clean bathroom. Plenty of parking space.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean hotel with comfortable beds. Great evening meal in the on-site Mexican restaurant. Varied breakfast with very tasty sausages and bacon. Also cereals, fruit, croissants, freshly squeezed oranges etc available. Very helpful polite and attentive staff some speaking English. Shopping centre is a 15-20 minute walk away. This is the 6th time we have stayed here as a stopover and always found hotel to be of a high standard.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean hotel with comfortable beds. Great evening meal in the on-site Mexican restaurant. Varied breakfast with very tasty sausages and bacon. Also cereals, fruit, croissants, freshly squeezed oranges etc available. Very helpful polite and attentive staff some speaking English. Shopping centre is a 15-20 minute walk away. This is the 5th time we have stayed here and always found hotel to be of a high standard.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are not driving and unfamiliar with the area, it's a little hard to get to by public transport - but that's a choice.

    Room was very comfortable, staff were very attentive and helpful - and it's a 15min drive from Basel Airport. There are a lot of other facilities, like the restaurant and spa which I didn't have time to seek out. There's free coffee in the lobby (within certain times).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff I encountered apart from 2 were very dismissive. I had been looking forward to experiencing good service based on previous reviews but this was not my experience I'm afraid. On arrival the Receptionist who checked me in was unable to provide any information on things to do in the area and she said that there were no buses operating because it was Sunday yet from my bedroom window I saw several buses going up and down the street. At breakfast all of the staff except one were unpleasant. I stood near the bar waiting to be seated and was never acknowledged nor greeted. Your servers just kept walking past me and never once said good morning, smiled or invited me to take a seat. I approached an older server who invited me to choose my seat and then offered coffee. The 2nd morning it was more of the same. The photos are deceptive. The hotel needs updating. My headboard was very dirty and the mattress was very hard. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

    I found only 2 friendly staff members during my stay. They were a short older lady with white hair in the restaurant at Breakfast on my first morning and the Receptionist who checked me out. All other staff were unfriendly and dismissive. The room attendant did a good job cleaning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't have air conditioner and the room was very hot. We couldn't sleep with open windows because the mosquitos.

    The breakfast is very good. Lot of variety.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing the hotel could change about its location. It is in an industrial park; therefore, you need a car or taxi to get to nearby Basel. Nevertheless, the hotel has most services that a traveler needs so that should not discourage one from booking this hotel.

    The staff, service and facilities were great. Parking was ample and easy to park. Access to main highways and shopping center also is easy. Parking is free at the shopping center nearby in a large parking garage. It should meet any traveler's needs. The breakfast was one of the most complete we have seen during the past two months of travel, and it was included in the room price. The hotel price was far lower than those in nearby Basel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and hotel a bit tired. Windows open fully even though we were on 7th floor which was very dangerous.

    Good breakfast and the bar was gteat especially the friendly barman.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room too hot, didn't find air clim. The floor was no smoking, but I could smell smoke from some room.

    Big room for the guests with dog ! Personnel really agreable and helpful. Restaurant ideal for dinner, and the breakfast worth take the time !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location which was perfect for our overnight stay after arriving at Basel Airport late. Ample parking, friendly staff, good food and value for money. We left the next day refreshed for our onward journey.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not being able to charge our evening meal at the restaurant to the room

    Lovely big room, very comfortable bed, good wifi , excellent variety on the breakfast buffet

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room very dated, no tea/coffee facilities. Right on a busy road, only restaurant on site was Mexican.

    Room was large, bed comfortable, lots of onsite free parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like the fact that the website said that there was a shuttle to the airport ...there was no shuttle . we paid 35$ for a cab ride...that is over the top...

    the staff was great and the restaurant was very good...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room did not have safe box and coffee making facilities. toiletries were not very high quality and for me with curvy hair I had to have my own conditioner.

    We were travelling to Switzerland and decided to stay one night at the border, so this hotel was located at the best place. Room was comfortable and clean, breakfast was very good. I asked for electric kettle and it was in the room after five minutes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Artwork in room was grim. Showers in sauna (at 6pm) would not emit warm water despite being turned fully up.

    Chosen by us for its location near Euroairport as we had to off-hire our car by 0730.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The value for the money is very good. There were a wide variety of food in the breakfast and the staff where very nice. At the entrance, there were complimentary coffee and drinks for the guests.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the decor is a little outdated.

    good location if you are with a car, lots of parking and next to the motorway junction. Friendly staff and good value cocktails at the bar. I liked the bar actually, nice decor, with books etc. Breakfast was good and they provided gluten free bread without notice. Comfy bed, and quiet spacious rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast didn't show any signs what food is what except for lactose free food That would be interesting if you know what sort of salami or meat or even cheese you are consuming

    It's ok for the value of money you pay especially if you cross the borders you will have to pay at least the double for even less

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel offered an airport shuttle service which we chose to use thinking they had their own transport. But all they do is order you a taxi from and to airport which took about 15 minutes each way and cost more than the Ryanair return flight fare for two people. Hotel situated in an area of commercial/ retail buildings and about 3 to 4 miles from Basel city centre so not a lot to do in the evenings which equates to the cost being cheaper than city centre. Nearest tram stop was about 700 yards away which took about 15 minutes to walk but that was not a problem to us as we do not mind walking but could deter some people. There is a bus stop outside hotel but was told it was not reliable.

    We booked a comfort room for four nights. Hotel is actually in Germany and situated in a commercial/retail area about 3 to 4 miles from Basel City centre. Nearest tram stop is about 700 yards from Hotel . Room was on the 9th floor with good views and was more than adequate with large comfy bed and two armchairs. It was very clean with bath and shower which was very good. We ate in the Hazienda restaurant on two nights and apart from a mix up with booking a table on one night it was excellent. Food was very good and reasonably priced compared to Basel city centre. Breakfasts were the best we have ever had. You could squeeze your own orange juice. Plenty of selection of cereals fresh fruit, meats and cheeses, bread jam and pastries and even Prosecco to finish if you were up for it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you don't have a car, the location is actually quite problematic. Notably if you want to get to basel by public transport: 15-20 min walk to the tram station and then it's a 20 min ride to th town. You can book a taxi via the hotel which will cost ~30 EUR into Basel though.

    helpful staff and comfortable, clean hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Area was bit industrial with no quick link on foot to local town.

    Wee bit odd having driven through Switzerland from French alps to find a Mexican restaurant in a German hotel. Food was good though and very good breakfast too. Location was convenient for motorway and Euroairport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are some painted pictures hanged on the walls which look scary.

    The location is amazing as it is in Germany but very close to France & Switzerland, Basel is very few kilometers and the center of Basel can be reached by tram number 8 which is around 1 km far from the hotel. The parking is for free and very big with enough space for all cars.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs some upgrading. The net curtains were torn. There was a mark on the wall where a picture had previously hung. The control for the shower was difficult to adjust as the water pressure was so high.

    Very large room, quiet and comfortable bed. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay on check in and not tunning a bill tor the stay as we ate in the Hazienda restaurant and had to pay separately

    Excellent breakfast, plenty of free parking and the beds were amazing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we failed to wait for dinner and couldn't eat at the Mexican restaurant.

    Easy to find near the highway, easy parking, very comfy bed and good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms could do with an upgrade.

    Good location, near the city and the airport. Ample free parking, very good Mexican restaurant. Probably the best breakfast I 've encountered in this life, both in quantity and quality.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very old fashioned and really not suitable as an airport hotel. There is no shuttle like announced, and the taxi was 30 Euro for a short drive, because they put an extra fee for going through France...

    The only thing really 4 star here was the breakfast buffet!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a tired Hotel with old apartments and also with old furnitures. The carpet is not very well cleaned and smells "old".

    The breakfast and the the mexican restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ah...if only a kettle and tea bags were provided in the rooms for a lete night cuppa.

    Everything was great. But special mention goes to the bed and the breakfast which I describe as exceptional. I always stay there en route through Europe.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a very unpleasant episode at the hotel, as we could not find anymore the money which we left in the room. Of course we were not cautious to leave money in the room, and we can't prove that we were robbed at the hotel, but the feedback of the hotel after we informed them about the episode was not appropriate for a 4-star (not even for a 2-star)

    very good breakfast, easy parking, close to the highway

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast water were not understanding a drop of english:) to order coffee with milk was a little challenge

    receptions was super nice, room is big, fast can make your own fresh orange juice

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: