Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Augustiner Tor

Bodanstr. 18, 78462 Konstanz, Germany

Review score

Based on 941 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon in the room and quite warm, less airflow in the summer.

    Augustiner Tor is the place we always prefer when staying in Constance. Very central, close by to everything you need. Close to parking at Lago‘s Mall as well. Modern Garni Hotel in town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Baby bed costs extra.

    The breakfast was good and the location was perfect bang in the city centre. Rooms were large and clean. Definitely will visit again. All in all excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived shortly after 2 p.m. and actually let the hotel know in advance I would be there between 2 and 3 p.m. - I was therefore a bit surprised when they informed me that the room was not yet ready. I really needed the bathroom and I was told the only available is in the room, but I can actually already take my things there and use it. This would be perfectly okay, I would not even mind the room not being made yet as long as it would be somewhat private by that point already - but all the rooms were widely opened to the corridor for the cleaning staff - and I had huge doubts if I can leave my things there, including computer for work I needed for the rest of the week. Thankfully my room was on the floor where there is also the reception during winter (2nd floor) - but otherwise the house is open to anyone to enter (the summer time reception is actually just behind entrance door, but not so during winter time). In the end nothing happened but it was not a comfortable feeling. I also felt the room was quite dark in the evening - no overhead light, just a few lamps - I was not able to work there well in the evening. But generally the staff of the hotel was nice and helpful.

    Very good choice of breakfast food; comfortable bed; central location, close to the train station (direct connection to the airport Zürich) and local buses. Pass for local city transport available (as part of the tourist city tax) - but you must ask for it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds... I initially booked four rooms for my party of nine. Booking.com offered double and triple rooms. My party of nine included three married couples and three single adults. I called the hotel directly to make sure that the triple room would accommodate three single adults, the man who answered said that it was not possible for three people to each have their own bed in a triple room. At this point I booked a fifth room via booking.com for the single adult so that three single adults could sleep in their separate beds. Once in Germany and exhausted, I mentioned all this to the lady a the front desk, she informed me that at this point it did not matter what I had booked as she could not make any changes since I had booked the reservations through booking.com. I handed out the keys and everyone went directly to their rooms for a much needed nights rest. Over breakfast the next morning we were discussing our nights sleep and the sleeping arrangements. One married couple had what looked like a king bed but they kept falling between the two twin beds that were pushed together. One side of this so called king bed was sunken in the middle while the other side was firm. This same room had a very nice and comfortable looking sofa bed where both the arm rests were removable. This room was also located at the end of the hall where the staff stored stacks of dirty laundry.

    Great breakfast (though the beautiful sunshine shone in peoples eyes at 8am) Great towel warmers

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No staff after 2:00 pm. A do-it yourself hotel. WiFi not offered, had to be requested. Room much smaller than depicted in photos.

    Good location, clean room, elevator.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor issues- our room hadn't been cleaned before we went in but the Cleaning staff arrived within a few minutes to clean it before we had reported it so great service. Towels were poor quality for a 3 star hotel.

    Great location. Large room. Very comfortable. Excellent service from reception staff both on check in and check out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    didn't see any staff, the reservation desk is only occupied from 7am to early afternoon, I arrived late and checked myself in on a computer terminal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was problem with the WiFi and wasn'solved during our stay.The bathroom wasn't quite in order.

    Perfect location-just opposite the train station and the port..In the heart of the old town.Small and quiet hotel, though near to the one of the main streets.Fine breakfast in a charming restaurant .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we got was not cleaned when we came. No Wi-Fi information at the room.

    Nice location, very good breakfast with fresh vegetables and fruit, and many types of bread. Easy self-check in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no air-condition, so very hot room, very noisy room with open window, parking in garage of shopping mall.

    good breakfast, close to the centrum of town, bus ticket for free from hotel, kind girl at reception

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos are not compatible with actual conditions.They include numerous facilities in the photos out of which only few are present.TV is very small, windows are not comfortable to see outside and other lack of facilities. Overall it is not worth to pay such a high amount for this hotel

    Location is very comfortable for one day trip

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was nothing special and only till 10 o clock. Espescially on the weekends, this is too early. I suggest: breakfast till 11am and checkout till 12am.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The billing was not done correctly!! I was charged extra and had to get it corrected. Also, the information that the reception will be closed and no breakfast will be served on 24,25 of Christmas was not mentioned while I booked the hotel! They charged me the same amount even without breakfast!! :(

    Great location and clean rooms

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small window, dark in the room. The beds have not been very comfortable. Breakfast was cancelled with no prior notice. Just written at a paper at the entrance door. No receptionist or stafff available the whole day. Overall not a real hotel, more like a room rental with no service.

    Clean and room size ok

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect room for a solo traveller or couple. Gorgeous breakfast room - conservatory on the 2nd level. Good sized room and bathroom. Beautiful marble bathroom. Lift for easy access. Great location in centre of shopping district and close to train station.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was supposed to be ready at 14. We arrived at 14:30, we got a key card from the machine and found out our room was open and not done yet. We asked at the reception and they just told us it is not ready and it will be ready in half an hour. She did not appology at all, she just looked at us like it was normal and what do we want! The breakfast was not very good.

    The Location was great!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room for 3 people is a bit small, not much space. Would be great to have 3 single beds.

    Located in the center, at breakfast you have wide range of choice The self check-in its a really good idea

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    מלון מאד מאד בסיסי, מתאים לתרמילאים. להתרחק בקיץ, יותר דומה לסאונה יבשה. , very hot rooms. very basic hotel stay away in the summer! lousy service

    אולי נסבל בחורף. may be a bit better in the winter

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Being out all day and really just needing a bed a wash and a roof for the night I have little to grumble about. Minor quibbles were that the shower holder was held up with a cable tie because the flexible mount was too loose, and that the shower door leaked onto the floor. Nothing else springs to mind

    Central location next to station, harbour and old town. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was enough to start the day with sliced meats, cheese, breads, cereals, fruit and coffee, tea and fruit juices. The room and shower were clean and tidied every morning. The cleaning staff kindly let me dry a jacket in the tumble drier having got soaked the night before. Communication was good, having informed them I'd be arriving late I got a quick reply saying what to do because the reception closed at 8pm. The auto-check in at the door worked fine (make sure you've got the reservation number handy)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced. The room wasn't cleaned properly - there was dust on the floor, the trash bin wasn't emptied. The breakfast is basic - nothing warm.

    Well... it's in the old town, close to everything. The WiFi works well.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked and payed for an apartment room, we got one room with two beds.

    Great location, in the centar of the town. Only the parking is not so close to the hotel. The staff was good, the breakfast was perfect. Clean rooms with everything you need in a hotel. The only problem was, that we paid for an apartment room and we got one room with two beds. We expected the room to be bigger since we were with two young children.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated. No air-con so hard to breath in rooms when hot outside. Expensive as you get little apart of location.

    Location of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    be aware that after late hours you need to do the check-in by yourself at the hotel entrance (a machine will walk your way through)

    Staff and location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    localization and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were old, made noise every time you made a move... Sofa in the room was dirty.

    Breakfast was good. Quiet room. Clean and big bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was quite unfriendly during breakfast...

    Great located!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, exelent lication, rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room cleaning sevrice is bad

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air condition. Even no bottle of water proposed for such a price!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the proximity with the shopping area , the lake, public transportation

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi didnt work

    the position is comfortable, the breakfast was good and the room was wide and clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - no hot dishes at all

    Rooms are new and nice, staff was beyond friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, overpriced.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no free parking options.

    Nice and clean hotel, very close to everthing what you need.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in was awful depending on the girl in the reception. She would need a training course in behavior against customers.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking problems, noise

    Hotel is in the city centre

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed not confortable

    location and Cleanliness

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that it didn't have a 24 hour reception and air conditioning.

    The staff were pleasant and spoke very good English.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is cold

    Nothing special

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillow was too flat

    Beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud and hot rooms broken fixtures

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were excellent others need to understand customer service

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Door of shower room can't control the water out of the shower area. So the bathroom floor is wet of water. The staff annoy me a little.

    Breakfast and location are excellent.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Cramped breakfast counter, poorly provisioned. Very small TV in the room. A bit characterless (part of chain with Constantia and Zeppelin, I think). Overall, I didn't think it was particuarly good value for money.

    The location was very handy a short walk from the train station. Clean. The receptionist was helpful. The bathroom was a seperate room unlike the one we had in the Constantia!

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Discovered the bed was broken and there was nobody available to assist as the reception is not 24h

    Very clean, central location, friendly staff, nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Some of the Bathroom plumbing items need attention. Drain plunger broken in the sink. Shower lever also broken.

    Other than the minor negative comments, we had a good experience and could definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    -reception staffed only until 2000 -breakfast not great but ok -you can hear the traffic a bit

    -central location close to station and old town -modern room -free wifi

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I think locks on the door are really broken, after you lock it from inside, I could open the door but deadbolt was still out and couldn't close the door - after few pushes to handle it went ok Breakfast was nothing special Also do not eat the apples on breakfast, they are old and mine was brown inside, maybe rotten?

    Clean hotel with friendly stuff

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I thought we were having two double beds but one was a couch opened (that wasn't comfortable) and the parking was 18/day (14/day plus 4 for the overnight hours of the garage) rather than 14.

    Easy to access. Close to the mall and Sea Life (our destination). Close to train/bus station and access to the waterfront. We love Constance so we enjoyed our days of meandering and it was a great place for that. Breakfast was in a good location and bright with a good variety of meat, veggie, rolls and fruit with standard cereal choices.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Upon entering our room the door closed, locked and broke! It took a few phone calls and about 20 minutes before we could get out! The staff were very apologetic and moved us to other room immediately. No harm done and it makes for a memorable experience. Check your door before closing it.

    A clean hotel that is close to the trains and shops. We enjoyed the range of nearby restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only a very small bag of shampoo and shower gel is provided.

    The self check-in system is convenient and easy to use. The location is just in the city center. It is very close to the central train station, old town and Bodensee.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The beds were a bit creaky.

    Great location and friendly, helpful staff. Good variety continental breakfast kept our kids happy. Clean bathroom and great shower! We were quite comfortable in our quadruple room - two adults and two small children (3 and 5 years old).

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Receiving I/C telephone calls. No details in room (including on phone) of DDI number directly to room. Reception closes at 8pm. After which some automated check in. Unclear how that would working with a booking made with www.booking.com

    Very very clean Good selection for breakfast Wifi worked!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lots of spiders in the room- on a plus, no mozzies! Smoke smell in the room but we aired it out quickly enough.

    After hours check in was fantastic! Simple and easy to check in as we arrived very late. We got a large corner room overlooking the Main Street. Spacious and fantastic location!!!

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place has no parking - parking around comes with a 14€ price tag for the day.

    It was the cheapest hotel I could find in Konstanz. I suppose it's good enough for a night, but that's about it.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    In the rooms, there are to many spiders and dead spider's or insects bloods on the fenders

    Location is perfect, in the city heart breakfast is good You should prefer whit complecency

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The place was so hot when we reach there , there are no air condition , there is no parking for the car the location was ok ,i checked out after 2 hours from reaching the hotel i we cant stand the heat in the hotel

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not all rooms have air conditioning as an option so we had to move to the top floor with little view as it was 32 degrees during our visit. Parking nearby for 2 days cost us 28 Euros. The breakfast is basic. There is no room service.

    The location is excellent and the staff helpful.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They had the wrong room and then our room was not ready. There was no internet access. The breakfast was very basic. The parking was quite a distance away and very expensive. (It was a long walk with luggage and 2 young children).

    The location was quite good and the room was nice and large.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the rooms were not cleaned properly; basic items were missing such as wifi. The staff could not even provide us with a shower cap. The first baby cot we got had a damaged base and we were charged for the baby cot which is quite unusual, especially considering how much we were paying for the room.

    the location is great and the ambience as you walk in is nice

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Horrible bed, very hard. Pillow also really bad. Large, uneven, and, well, uncomfortable. Short beds. Very dusty. Dark - as in not adequately lit; the walls are bright - rooms. A torch would come in handy when you need anything from the closet... Too dark to read at desk.

    The breakfast was basic but nice. Large variety of breads. Boiled eggs, juice, fruit etc. Good coffee.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Should have more tv programs

    Cleanliness ,room service ,staff there was an albanian member who helped me a lot . I don't remember his name .

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Brilliant location!

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location couldn't have been better

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent full breakfast. Friendly staff. Room was very clean.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One of the blinds wouldn't stay up to enjoy the view

    Fantastic location & views/balcony! Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very good location for visitor without driving. Clean and comfort. Breakfast is good and dinning room is super.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly staff, good bike parking, very close to everything and easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was great, as it's a walking distance from the main station.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the wifi connection was limited.

    the location really was great.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms without AC.

    Clean and big room.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No parking

    Right at the center of town, close to everything

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: