Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Old Town Hostel

Pappelallee 21, 10437 Berlin, Germany

#240 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 981 hostel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    old town hostel is in a great location but bring your ear plugs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff varied. Initial check in girl was not great and a bit rude . She rushed through book in procedure even though no one was waiting (eg "i already told you that" when i had to ask for Wi-Fi info twice" Then another day we had a wonderful guy who looked up some info for us and was generally great. Then the last day someone who did not want to leave his computer to talk to us. Not sure how you average that. Noise was an issue for us. You could hear outsole walking around all the time. Our room with stuffy without the windows open.

    Kitchen area great. Bathrooms clean although twice i had to go down and get toilet paper. Location brilliant especially for meals. Meet some nice people.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Clean hostel for those in a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy, but what you would expect given the location right in the heart of the night life in Prenzlauerberg

    Very clean hostel in an excellent location. Luggage room was useful to store luggage

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    private room was really comfortable, would recommend for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The common areas were functional and clean, not a social atmosphere for meeting other travellers or spending time in lounge areas. Common areas closed off by 10pm.

    private room was really comfortable, would recommend for anyone wanting a base but not needing to spend too much time at the hostel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would be nice to have something to hang towels in the room and to extend kitchen opening hours.

    Good location with lots of restaurants, bars, shops, tram/metro stops around, clean rooms and bathrooms, nice kitchen, helpful staff, great value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money if you're got strong legs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had not been cleaned (wet towels on the shelf by door, unmade bed, trash in the can) despite my checking at the desk early to be notified when it was clean (didn't happen either, I checked in at 3:30 pm). There is no lift in the building and my room was on the 5th floor - it was a challenge to get my bags up! Not recommended for the mobility impaired. Also, the kitchen (down on the 2nd floor) is locked from 10pm until 8 am - so if you get in late or rise early you won't be able to fix breakfast. There is no soap in the hall showers. The staff is friendly and tried to be helpful but I literally never saw the same clerk twice. The room was not cleaned during my stay.

    The room and bathrooms were clean and comfortable, and there is the M12 right outside the door. It's also walking distance to the U2, M10, and the Sunday flea market.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Good place to stay for 1-2days
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was clean, the bathroom and the toilet was separated. It was not bothering at all that it was shared as it was super clean. The hotel is in a nice area with coffee shops and it was easy to get anywhere by using either U-Bahn S-Bahn or the tramp. The staff was nice on the first day a map was given to us with the must visit places highlighted. Can only recommend this place :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.8
    Underwhelmed in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms and showers were dirty. Reception staff were not friendly or helpful. Room was exceptionally hot making sleep uncomfortable.

    The square outside the apartment is quite nice. Close to good restaurants and transport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.4
    Located in hip suburb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 4 toilets on our floor were frequently closed due to a plumbing issue. Bathrooms not always cleaned. Toilet paper ran out. Common room closed at 10pm so not much oppurtunity to socialise with other guests.

    Location was ok. Train and trams very close. Access to many good restaurants close by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff very helpful about where to go.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen was dirty because people didn't clean up after using it. Same thing goes to the toilet at night.

    Friendly staff very helpful about where to go. Showers were plenty. Room was clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    The common kitchen and living room are very beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water pressure is quite weak.

    The common kitchen and living room are very beautiful. The room is clean and tidy. The large window also gives sufficient sunlight.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    A great place to stay in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a problem with the wifi on my Mac (the login window wouldn't open). There were some noisy Americans in one of the rooms; lack of an open reception at night (0200-0300) resulted in other guests having to knock on the door and tell them to be quiet.

    I always have a good stay at the Old Town. The location is excellent. The rooms are basic but very clean, as are the restrooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Good for overnight in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator - this is hard if you have big luggages and the rooms are on the 2nd floor. Weird that the shower has timer - after few seconds the shower stops and you have to turn it on again.

    Kitchen and common areas are clean. Bathroom is clean also eventhough its shared. Receptionists are all helpful and friendly ☺️

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    - the pantry/kitchen management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    - bathroom is spacious but the water temperate is hard to control. It tends to be either too cold or too hot. - the room we were placed in was located at the end of the hallway and we had to open two hallway doors just to get in the main stairs and the bathroom area. - the electrical sockets available for each room is not enough. We stayed in a triple room and we only had 2 sockets. And the location of the sockets are not ideal as it's too far from the bed.

    - the pantry/kitchen management. People can put their food in the ref and label it if it's for personal consumption or for sharing which I think is quite nice as it also contributes to minimize food wasted. - internet works quite well

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Homely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint was the noise of other stayers. 3am - 6am opposite very thin doors and walls so when guests arent thinking of others you will get disturbed but that isnt the hostels fault!

    Bed was very cosy, hosts were bery attentive and friendly. Very helpful with information and willing to help in any way possible. Bathrooms ALWAYS clean and topped up, fresh towels and bath matts and refreshed soap and toilet roll always there. Kitchen and living spaces stunning and always sparlkling.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    As close to perfect as a stay could be
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    reception and kitchen opening late in the morning!

    When on the road I need a clean, comfortable and quiet room with reasonable facilities. In old Town hostel, I just got that. I appreciate in particular also the kitchen facilities, I never go to the restaurant alone, in a kitchen you know what you get and the money lasts longer. On the drawback side was the late opening - 08 does not leave much room for a hearty breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place for stay during short visit in Berlin. Nicely communicated, clean and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hostel service was really nice. They spoke fluent English and the room was available 30 mins before check in time. Hostel is located in quiet area in between of two U-bahn stations and near tram lines which goes straight to the city center. We preffered travelling on foot and it paid off becuase there was quite close to everything we needed. We stayed there for three nights. Bathrooms were clean and available even when hostel was fully booked. We recommend the place definietly and for sure will choose it once again. Towels and a hairdryer were provided.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    More like a nice hotel rather than a hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floors were squeacky, but all other guests were very quiet, which was nice

    Room, bathroom and kitchen was super clean, it is located in the best part of Berlin and even the coffee was ready made for you in the thermos in the morning. Can't recommend highly enough!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Sweet hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little light in the room. Not good condition(as i know, from April many little hotels turn off the condition) and noise isolation . Absence of soap or shower gel.

    The bed and bedclothes were very soft. Nice personal and stylish common rooms. Very good locality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    Great stay in the nicest area of Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some extra hooks on the wall to hang our coats are necessary, as well as a mirror. You can store some food/drinks in the fridge of the kitchen , but it is closed off between 22h-08h.

    -nice and cosy neighbourhood with very good places to eat and have a drink; and public transportation possibilities -friendly and helpfull staff -good matrasses -clean and good sized room -enough showers/toilets so you do not have to cue.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    super!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    These questions in english aren`t easy for me.

    The "Glutenfrei" Bakery was near and wonderfull! The Max Schmeling Halle is near too. Staff were so much friendly!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Good, pleasant stay. Shame about the little noises but not much can be done to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The floor was SUPER creaky so it meant that guests wandering about late in the evening or early in the morning meant you were woken if a light sleeper. Also, the noise of the tram and traffic at the front of the hostel also meant that some sleep was disrupted due to noise.

    Bed was really comfy, bedroom and bathroom very clean. Good kitchen facilities including dishwasher!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Conveniently located place in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor is made of creaky wood so yo will hear everyone going through the aisles and the stairs. I recommend some hearong protection

    The location is great. 15 minutes from Alexanderplatz. Thr attention from the staff was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    overall a nice stay! will come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    closed to the public transportation (and not too far away from the city center). situated in a quiet and safe neighborhood. excellent for a relaxing stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    The place was really good and close to the center. I recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of our rooms was a little bit cold and they couldn't provide more heat. Also, the hot water ran out one time.

    The morning coffee and the kindness of the staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    Good hostel in great area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building quirky floors noisy mornings when room is next to bathing/toilet area. Stay first floor if you don't like staircases.

    Clean, very helpful staff, fine room and common area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    3.8
    Kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in, the first room that was given to us wasn’t even cleaned. After we complained we got another room but the room wasn’t heated. It was so cold. We were freezing all the time. We were there during the winter and it was as cold as outside!!!!😖

    Kitchen

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    Cheap and fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were terrible and there was only one plug socket in a double room.

    Good value, good location, everything was clean and the room was warm. Staff were friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.8
    no comment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    sterile atmosphere in room, squeaky floors, paper thin doors, distance to U- and S- Bahn (subway system)

    cleanliness, posted rules for considerate behavior

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.7
    Free Coffee, which was also tasty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That heating tho.. weird. And also the room was clean, but there was a lot of dust. And you here EVERYTHING through that walls. You have to throw toilet paper into the waste bin..

    Free Coffee, which was also tasty! Cute kitchen. Clean bathrooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    6.7
    The hostel is located in a really nice district, there was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was pretty loud in the hostel - we could hear somebody walking in the room next to ours.

    The hostel is located in a really nice district, there was no problem with finding a place to eat nearby. The room was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    A quiet and clean place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints whatsoever.

    The Old Town Hostel has recently remodeled their public area, and the new, much larger kitchen is a nice facility. I've stayed here several times before, and as always the hotel is very clean and the other guests are very quiet. It is simply a very relaxing place to stay, in a great neighborhood.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.9
    Nice hostel in the centre of Düsseldorf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only bad thing were the noises of other guests, the walls and the floor must be very thin and any noise is easily heard (if you have a weak sleep you might wake up).

    Nice hostel in the centre of Düsseldorf. I booked it because there's only a 10 min walk from Max Schmeling Halle (I attended a concert there) and you have the underground and the tram next to the hostel. The room was like in the images: small and very simple, enough for 1-2 nights. The staff is very helpful (I checked in earlier and I could leave my luggage in the reception). The bathroom/shower is shared (there were two in my floor) but it was very clean and I didn't have to wait. Good value for money!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    Good location in pleasant neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Plenty of shared bathrooms and very clean but I prefer having my own bathroom and not having to go onto corridor to get to toilet

    great area of Berlin for cafes and nice neighbourhood

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    An awesome stay indeed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very loud when people is just walking or talking in the same floor outside the rooms. bring earplugs if you stay more than one night.

    Was super clean! and they offered free coffee and tea in the morning! also another discount if you return there, and I will definitely come back! the best if you go to see a concert at Max Schmeling Halle.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.9
    Good, but not great for a light sleeper.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud and squeaky floors kept me up at night, it affected me quiet a bit because I had trouble sleeping the previous nights in another hostel.

    Cool room lighting, comfortable bed. Clean bathrooms and towels are provided! The single room I was staying in was spacious and I had a very sweet view of the street! Nice quiet neighbourhood. Great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Very comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Great location, good cooking facilities and nice communal areas, lovely staff, clean and comfortable rooms and bathroom. I will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and cozy hostel.. you feel like at home! The location is good and by metro you can get easilly to the most important attractions! Definitely recommended! Ask for rooms in the first floor if you have heavy baggage! Only stairs...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice hostel with mood lights in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hostel is nice and made specifically for the hostel going people. Located in a quite neighborhood and its quite comfortable. Staff is good and respectable. Enough toilets and bathroom and I never found any difficulty in getting one. Tram leaves from the front of hostel and city center can be reached in 20-25 mins. Area is quite good and I enjoyed the overall stay specially to play with colorful lights in the room :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    Stay was too good. Local team just down below. Subway ( Metro) about 400 TDS away. Staff too good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be a kettle for tea/coffee in the room. Plus kitchen should be kept open for 24 hours. Such a good hostel does not have an elevator. Bad.

    Location and staff too friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    The large rooms, the availability of a fridge and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When the reception area is closed you cant use the kitchen, and the one day it was closed until 10am. So we had to go buy breakfast, instead of eating what we had in the fridge.

    The large rooms, the availability of a fridge and kitchenware.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    5.4
    It was in a top location , and was kind of funky and cool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets were dirty and after a few days I had bites on my skin I alerted staff but as the cleaner had gone for the day they advised someone would look the next day ... bathrooms weren't too clean and the shower didn't work well

    It was in a top location , and was kind of funky and cool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    Clean, modern, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from the hallway is very loud in the rooms. I was awoken many times by slamming doors, talking in the hallways and even footsteps down the hall. Not recommended for light sleepers.

    Located in a very trendy area of Berlin around lots of great restaurants and shops. Very close (less than 5 min walk) to U-bahn and tram stops. Clean and modern amenities. Attentive staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Clean, tidy and ideal for short stay in the heart of Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were woken in the night a few times by other guests playing loud music and people making noise in the corridor, although this only happened on a couple of occasions during a seven day stay.

    The location was excellent, just a short walk to the nearest U-Bahn station. The room was simple and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    6.7
    Nice location but not much offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very loud - everything echoed & we had very noisy people staying around us. Staff did not seem to mind they were running & yelling at 1am. Very irritating to sleep.

    Good size rooms, nice kitchen area for the morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Loved Old Town Hostel! 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At certain points in the day the shower was ice-cold, and I didn't like that the kitchen closed after a certain time in the evening. Other than that, nothing really else to say.

    The room was great, really light and spacious with big windows so there was lots of natural light. The street was really quiet at night so we slept really well. We were later told by a local we met that Prenzlauer Berg is 'the posh part' so would probably be a good hostel choice for families visiting for the first time. Bathrooms in hostels are usually daunting, but the bathrooms at Old Town Hostel were so clean and well kept. Connections into the other parts of the city were easy to get to with the trams and the nearest subway was just a 5 minute walk up the road. My friend and I are both vegan and found that we were actually in one of the best locations for vegan food and restaurants, other than going further south to Friedrichshain and Kreuzberg. All in all, would definitely stay at this hostel again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice hostel with good transport links to the rest of Berlin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to arrive quite late if trains have been delayed. Bathrooms are quite a walk away if your room happens to be at the end of a corridor. Bathrooms are very basic.

    Very easy to get public transport to other areas. Hostel staff were friendly and showed us the best things to do in our short time. Kitchen facilities were excellent and very clean. Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.8
    Find somewhere else if your young wanting a fun hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All families there so we were getting woken up at 6am by children in the corridor and shouted at for playing music at 10pm. Not exactly what you expect in a hostel... also staff were clueless at most things including places to eat and directions (sent us on a wild goose chase). Weren't given fresh towels for the entire 5 days either which was ridiculous and they didn't even change our bin so we had to take it out ourselves.

    The toilets were clean regularly and the kitchen is nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.1
    Hostel in Prenzlauer Berg - Good for a short term stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We inquired about some restaurants, but did not get a helpful answer. Also we found it kind of strange that a staff member in Berlin does only speak basic German and asks to change to English for basic communication. Rooms are quite clairaudient and ours was towards the street, so we could hear the tram and the people outside all night.

    Location is good in the area of Prenzlauer Berg, many restaurants etc. close by; metro station is not too far away

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.9
    Relatively comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift and staircase is narrow for a large suitcase. The house sound proofing is poor; I got woken up a few times by people walking down the stairs. It sounded like people pounding in the stairs.

    I like especially the counter staffs, who were helpful even after I check out of the hotel. Even though it is a single-shared bathroom, it is clean, equipped with good showers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Very good choice for Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    We stayed at this hostel for second time and it is really great place where to sleep in Berlin. It has very good location near to U-bahn, around is enough of restaurants, bars and cafes. The hostel is clean, comfortable and mostly very quite, there is nice and good equipped kitchen. Towels and hairdryer are in every room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Great value for money for overnight stays
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast room should have opened at 8am but was still closed. Since I was on a business trip this was quite stressful, as I had to leave for the meetings.

    Staff was nice, location great, and it was really quiet during the night, which was a miracle for a hostel. great place if you just stay for the night, might not be appropriate if you spend more time in the hostel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.3
    A perfect relaxing room in Berlin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -A more regulary changing of sheets and towels,if you stay for many days

    -nice room,with basic needs -very clean bathroom and common space(kitchen,with dishwasher!)(salon) -all day long free coffee and tea -in the middle of a nice neighborhood,with relaxing restaurants,pubs and shops. Close to the touristic areas. -very helpful and friendly personnel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.9
    OTA was well located(within 10 minutes of several stations...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only 1 light in the room, which seemed a little dim. Also spillover noise from traffic/f&b establishments could be heard at times. Having said that the experience was pleasant for a short stay.

    OTA was well located(within 10 minutes of several stations of the U-Bahn as well as trams) and the rooms were comfy. Staff were also friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice location, few steps from S and U-bahn stations.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception is closed between 10 PM and 8 AM. It means you can not leave your luggage in the early morning and/or collect it in the late evening.

    Nice location, few steps from S and U-bahn stations. My room and the shared bathroom were very clean. The staff is very friendly. Affordable. I can recommend to book this place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.2
    Clean and good location hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift.

    The staffs are really nice, and the room and bathrooms are super clean. There is tram station just 40m away which can take us directly to the Wall and the museum island, perfect!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Nice stay in Berlin in OTA
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room has enough light during day, but, the light was a bit less in room to read books and to work during night.

    Customer's Privacy, Host's honesty, customer oriented positive attitude, able to speak in English language. More than that helping customers whenever required.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    10
    Super nice hostel, clean, comfortable, and also a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's the best hostel I've ever been to. Beautiful kitchen and common areas, super clean, even the shared bathrooms were always spotless and free, great location ,surrounded by bars, restaurants and nice little shops, comfortable and warm twin bed room, the tram just in front, the tube a 5min walk, the train to the airport a 10min walk, Alex plaza a 30min walk, free tea, coffee and apples, very helpful and friendly staff. I'll definitely recommend it and hopefully come back soon. People who have never been into a hostel because of the shared bathroom, don't hesitate and go for Old Town hostel, you won't be disappointed! Well done guys! Thanks so much!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    5.0
    I feel disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I get up at 7.30am in the morning and want to have shower but NO hot water. At the evening I have to wait 30 minutes to have shower as someone inside already, we share with 15 rooms so if you want to shower, toilet...wait too long. After all not enough hot water, I have to quick wash only.

    I booked it online and I made mistake that wrong day 1 week but the man(reception) change it for me without any fee and really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    7.9
    Very nice kitchen and common space - you can cook there and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for a double room with one bed, but got a twin room that smelled really bad. The toilet and shower was far from the room, had to open few different doors in order to get there. Staff wasn't too friendly.

    Very nice kitchen and common space - you can cook there and have free drinks/fruits. Not too far from the city. The rooms and bathrooms were super clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    3.8
    Nothing because it was so terirble
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All things l don't like very noisy bathroom and toilet was sher and the water cold,the rooms have not facility for warming

    Nothing because it was so terirble

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.9
    Great place to stay in spring/summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even if it is written in the room that if you are cold you can always ask for the increase of the heating (or additional blankets) at the reception, that seems to be a problem. I can guess that the owner is trying to save money on heating during the low season.

    Very clean hostel in the great location. In the close neighborhood you can find all kind of great restaurants, bars and clubs.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    7.5
    staff was super friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    some bathrooms had only cold water, which was very poorly indicated unfortunately. Rooms are not very soundproof, could hear people in other rooms snoring...

    staff was super friendly good support and info service upfront!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    9.6
    Very nice place, I will definitely come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    crunchy floor on the 1st floor - I was always stressed if someone has waken up by my arrive at 3/4am even though I tried to be as silent as possible. Kitchen is closed after 22 o'clock.

    Clean bathroom, towels provided, helpful staff, equipped kitchen, floor heating, hair dryer provided, early check out was not a problem.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.2
    Nice place, kind people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and kind personal, possible to buy some little snakjs,cereals,milks atd. Also fresh coffee and tea for breakfast for free is nice and useful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.2
    Good for solo traveller wanting privacy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The old building had extremely sensitive floors. You could hear footsteps from upstairs and on your floor, so I felt like I had to tiptoe around my room and to the toilets any time of the day. The location of the hostel, while located to two metro stations, was definitely far away from anything to touristy.I also didn't feel like it had a strong community feel, which was a shame because I was a solo traveller.

    Getting from the train station to the hostel was easy, it's just one metro. The room was a good size, with three bathrooms/toilets on the floor. I liked the privacy of the rooms. It's next door to a delicious burger place too!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    10
    Great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great experience. The place is comfortable and very well placed. The girls from reception were lovely. Will probably be my first option next time I visit Berlin.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.8
    Great 'high end hostel'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen doesn't open until 8am, which creates a bit of a rush for breakfast, not ideal if you're in a hurry to get going. Not a social party hostel if that's what you're after, but great if you're looking for somewhere to explore Berlin from.

    Very clean hostel with plenty of bathrooms, kitchen is always clean and well equipped for cooking meals. Good location, close to metro running straight into the city centre and plenty of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.3
    Well maintained, cheap sleeping option
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Triple room was very small, but unless you plan to spend a lot of time there it is not an issue

    Very clean, quiet, common areas well maintained and spacious. Good internet connection and transports/facilities in the area. Value for money

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    8.3
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I didn't like so much was that there were some very little kids staying in a different room, opining the door most of the time; so, they cried and shouted in the corridor. I love kids, but parents shouldn't leave the door open like that.

    Good location and good price. My own room, toilets, shower rooms and kitchen were all clean. When I visit Berlin, I'll stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.1
    From the outside the hostel looks a bit shabby, but the...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the outside the hostel looks a bit shabby, but the inside is sober but fine. It's clean and quiet and the location in Prenzlauerberg is perfect.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.5
    one angry male receptionist, otherwise a good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    you don't have an access to the fridge and your food from 10 pm until 8 am. One evening we were eating and a visibly pissed off male receptionist came to tell us that we have to leave the kitchen at 9:45 (not 10:00 as we were told before) because he wants to go home. That was quite unpleasant.

    rooms and bathrooms were clean and nice, WiFi was a great surprise because you won't get it in every hostel and the location was super close to the center of the city.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    8.8
    Good clean modern hostel in a superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls were a little thin

    Brilliant location in P'berg. Super clean throughout. Staff were lovely and very helpful. The kitchen and sofas downstairs were really clean and modern and comfortable. I booked a room with shared facilities and it was a good size, and the twin beds were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    great location, great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    sometimes the tram can be heard at night but it's not a big deal

    location was fantastic and the staff was very friendly! our three person room was clean and comfy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.3
    Really nice neighbourhood, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - the cushens on the bed are terrible, cannot call them cushens - thin walls between the rooms and squeaking floors, in woke up a couple of times during the night when people in neighbouring room came home or were walking through their room (but I am a ight sleeper though)

    + friendly staff + the neighbourhood is very nice with many nice coffee shops and restaurants + public transport very close by (s/u bahn + tram) + room is simple, but got everything: good bed, small table + chair, lounge chair + bagage room to leave your bagage after check-out

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    the lightning in the room is very dark :(
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the lightning in the room is very dark :(

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Old Town Hostel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: