Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Aurora This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Im Gewerbepark 24, 91093 Heßdorf, Germany

#2 of 2 hotels in Heßdorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 373 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Good "on the road" hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception during arrival, totally not interested, no welcome word, no info about restaurant and breakfast. The next day staff however was very friendly and helpful.

    Breakfast, rooms and beds are ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Good quality hotel for traveling by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is not very convenient. There are the road and commercial zone next to the hotel. (However without noise.) Not too good coffee in the breakfast. You can also get coffee free with you when you check-out, but the coffee is really poor.

    Very good, clean and quietly room. Good breakfast (perhaps except coffee). Nice hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, nice room and a very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This Motel is in an excellent location right next to the A3 but fully soundproofed, with airconditioning in the rooms so no road noise for us, the windows can be opened if you require, good sized rooms. Lift to all floors certainly helps and the reception staff were helpful and to a point encouraged mixing with other guests a little. The Breakfast buffet was good, with some warm options and a good selection. We had got there earlier than we thought, so called in at the Rewe store on the approach road as they have a Coffee and Cake shop with comfortable seating and English speaking staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Very good location, welcoming staff and a good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We last stayed at the Aurora 4 Years ago, when they had no hot drink facilities in the rooms despite advertising them and I left reviews reflecting this. NOW they do have a decent sized Kettle, sachets of Coffee& Tea Sugar and Creamer. This was a nice surprise, as when I booked on here they were not mentioned! This hotel is Ideally located right on the A3 junction at Heissdorf, our room was facing away from the Autobahn and even with the window open could hardly hear it. A comfy room, a very good Breakfast spread and welcoming staff with good English skills, AND an Ideal location. We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic value for money. Very clean and specious room; well equipped (hair drier, kettle - tea and coffee, digital alarm clock, electric shutters, air-con, big telly with foreign channels); well insulated, quite room. Friendly staff. Good location for long distance travellers, it's just off of the motorway. Restaurants and shops nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    Quiet and relaxing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Might be more people in check-in would be appreciate....it looks like a bit "desert"

    Quiet and relaxing...just 500 far from highway exit and close to business place around

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.1
    Not worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked this because it said there was a restaurant and a bar. We had driven from Hungary and found there was no restaurant or bar. There is a Thai restaurant which is nearby but it was full, I'm allergic to peanuts which is the base of Thai food, and my wife doesn't like it. An advertised restaurant means one on site to me. A refrigerator with beer is not a bar. On our main holiday of the year my wife and I had eat McDonald's. This is not a joke. One electric socket did not work and some fittings were loose in the bathroom. I booked a double room but we got a twin. Not worth 100 Euros. I often use booking.com but I have lost confidence in them as this is not what was advertised. I will not book again through them until this hotel is removed from there web site.

    Clean, staff pleasant, plenty of parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Whirlwind visit but very good impression generally good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On morning of departure awaiting pre booked taxi .... receptionist had told taxi driver no one staying there by our name .... never asked us if we were waiting for a taxi despite sitting opposite her with suitcases etc .. almost made late for interview!

    Very friendly and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect 1 Night Stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very delicius food, and a lots of type (i love german kitchen). The rooms are clean and quiet (place is next to the motorway). Staff very friendly (they speak english too).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.7
    Ok, but room for improvement despite excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive. 120 euro's for one night is enough. Third bed in room for 5 yo kid costs 20 euro and isn't exactly a bargain. Lack of bar or summer terrace was disappointment. Terrace opening in few days/weeks.

    Excellent mobility next to A3. Ideal for overnight stop. Clean rooms, decent breakfast. 3th time we stay here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    In general good and we will come again.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We traveled by car from Zagreb to Brussels. After 700 km of heavy driving, when we arrived at the hotel, about 7 pm, we could not have dinner. The personal told us they had a lot of guests and no dinner.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    5.0
    First night the automatic outer curtains didn't close...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night the automatic outer curtains didn't close (there are only inner decorative curtains), second night the lights kept flickering. Staff eventually helped, emphasis on eventually.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Best stop on A3 I ever had. Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the best location ever for an over night when crossing Germany. Highly recommend this hotel. Staff were extremely helpful and the hotel even has smoking rooms which is rare these days!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Great experience like everytime.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in rooms.

    Great experience like everytime. Free parking, easy access from A3.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Good breakfasts, clean rooms, plenty of places to park.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine.

    Good breakfasts, clean rooms, plenty of places to park. Perfect place for a one night stop on the way.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Along the highway close to Neurenberg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non attractive environment on Autohof

    Quick check in Close to the high way, but no disturbance by noice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    Simple nice hotel.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Simple nice hotel. very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    good position for business travelers
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good position for business travelers

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.1
    Close to the motorway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the room was non-smoking, it smelled of cigarettes. The night receptionist was unfriendly.

    Close to the motorway

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was quite poor.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was quite poor. In the bathroom I had a towel with a hole in it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.6
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was slowly.

    Big and conformable room, have a parking, rich breakfast. The location is near A3

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    Is located close to the highway, is clean and confortable!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is located close to the highway, is clean and confortable!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    It was cozy and clean.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no king size beds so we had to sleep in separate beds.

    It was cozy and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Good hotel for overnight stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately arrived on day restaurant was closed........

    Great location very close to motorway. Easy parking friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Good overnight stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location close to motorway ideal for overnight stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    The bed extra
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed extra

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    8.8
    Very close to highway and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interior looks a bit outdated

    Very clean room and very fast check-in

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, 2 mins from the motorway. Perfect accomodation for a night. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    8.8
    Great place to spend a night if you are traveling across...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Little too pricey

    Great place to spend a night if you are traveling across Germany! 3 minutes off the highway Grocery store, shops & restaurants right by the hotel Staff spoke English very well Free parking Good WiFi 30 min from Nuremberg

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    6.7
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The idea was to have the whole family of 5 in 1 suite on this last day of our vacation. Our booked room was not available or ready so (after an improvised wait) we were forced to split in separate rooms. Massive disappointment. The amount of dust on 2 serving plates suggested that both our rooms were not cleaned properly for a while.

    Excellent breakfast. Fast WIFI. Good bathroom. Bed ok. Friendly staff. Cold drinks.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    4.6
    great location just of the motorway with plenty of parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    too expensive, not very clean (sheet had brown stains on it), staff not friendly or helpful, will not come again

    great location just of the motorway with plenty of parking and a good breakfast, but that's about it

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.2
    Excellent place and location if you are travelling through...
    • Couple

    Not super easy to find. Would be better if they would have better post signs.

    Excellent place and location if you are travelling through Germany (we were on 12 h drive to Slovenia). Good hotel, relatively easy to find (not good posted), nice staff, easy check in (we did it after midnight).

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    7.1
    Close to autobahn, easy to find without sat nav, beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Single beds were very small. Hotel restaurant not open but 2 within walking distance

    Close to autobahn, easy to find without sat nav, beautiful roof terrace, clean spacious room Staff very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    9.6
    New rooms, built for business people travelling in Germany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    New rooms, built for business people travelling in Germany. Super quite room. Excellent breakfast. Few minutes walking to restaurants, supermarket, drugstores etc.. Location for tourists with car is perfect, 20 minutes by car to Nuremberg, 30 minutes to Bamberg, and 50 minutes to Rotherburg ob der Tauber.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    10
    Excellent hotel if you need to stay by the motorway en route...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent hotel if you need to stay by the motorway en route through Germany. My dog is always welcome here too which is great. Great staff too. Love it.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    8.3
    Great location just of the motorway.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Although the restaurant wasn't open on Friday evenings the staff told us of a Thai restaurant just 2 minutes walk away. Very good value and huge portions!

    Great location just of the motorway. Breakfast was really good and plenty of parking.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    4.2
    Arrived at the Hotel on Monday, 5th January at 5.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We did book two rooms, and were assigned Room 202 and 204. Room 204 was not cleaned properly, it was dusty and cold. There was no heating in the room, we did report this to the Receptionist, although he was friendly and tried to rectify the problem, still the room was very cold, and the receptionist specifically said that he is not an engineer and does not know what was wrong with the heating system. Had to sleep in the cold, and did not sleep most of the night. When leaving the hotel, at 9.00pm on Tuesday, we did point out this problem to the Lady Receptionist on duty, and her response to our complaint was: "OK". Did not get what she meant by saying "OK". Very disappointed we left the hotel and will never come back.

    Arrived at the Hotel on Monday, 5th January at 5.00pm It was easy to access Hotel from the Motorway, although there were no signs or directions to the hotel, when we left the motorway. Receptionist was helpful and confirming our booking was done professionally and politely.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    5.0
    Clean and good breakfast
    • Couple

    Internet,had to stand in corridor,receptionist unhelpfull

    Clean and good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.3
    Good hotel, good breakfast, just next to the A3
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Surroundings are not very attractive

    Good hotel, good breakfast, just next to the A3

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    close to the motorway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    close to the motorway

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    5.8
    No restaurtan
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No restaurtan

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    10
    Great hotel, use it often.
    • Couple

    Great hotel, use it often. All round excellent service and stay

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    9.6
    great staff, lovely modern big room (family suite) great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    great staff, lovely modern big room (family suite) great value breakfast too!

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly staff.
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff.

There are also 38 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44