Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Avena

Hallesche Str.13, 99734 Nordhausen, Germany

#6 of 12 hotels in Nordhausen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 212 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 17

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange smell in the rooms. Tiny bathroom - I had to leave door open when helping my child out, because there was no space for the two of us with the door closed. There was mineral water in the room, but bottle opener was not provided.

    Good value for money. We booked a double room and asked for an extra bed for our child - we got an extra room (connected to ours) included in the price. Breakfast quite decent, with good variety of food for everyone.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    6 flights of stairs and no lift. Booked a double bed and got 2 singles.

    Breakfast was good and enjoyed it.close to shops and restaurants.esay to find hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn't work and as reception isn't occupied after 9.30pm I couldn't tell anyone. Location was not central (but was convenient for location of my meeting).

    Good standard German buffet breakfast. Good value for money for budget business traveller. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WIFI was a little inconsistent

    We travelled as a family, with our two adult children so we booked two twin rooms.When we arrived we were offered interconnecting rooms to make communication easier, at no extra cost. These rooms were bigger and in an improved location within the hotel . Breakfast: Fresh food. Good variety of food. We were offered fresh coffee continuously. When I informed the staff that we were leaving the hotel at 5.30am the next day, before breakfast , the lady in charge said she'd make us a breakfast pack to take with us. This pack had more than enough food including fruit, sandwiches, boiled eggs drinks and yogurt :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    for my purposes, this was exactly right and ,for me, nothing could have been better.

    this was exactly the type of hotel I was looking for as it has no frills, but provides clean adequate overnight accommodation, with no restaurant facilities for evening meals, although there are nearby eating establishments. The breakfast was excellent and the staff happy and helpful. Best described as the sort of place catering for supervisory level contractors.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small. No fans or air con in room.

    Beautiful breakfast served early. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was adjacent to a housing estate and could smell cigarette smoke everywhere

    Surprisingly quiet at night but hard to find somewhere to eat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good rooms clean and staff absolutely lovely good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    facilities and comfort was awful and bedroom was dirty

    workers were kind

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor quality TV in the room!

    Easy to reach on foot from station, quiet location, good bed and room and breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the manners at reception. no dress code for staff. the bed was most unsuitable, you had to climb over your partner to get out of bed. no lift. we were given a 3rd floor room, which was unsuitable we requested a lower floor, and got one.

    the location to steam railway.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to city centre, Calm

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Helpful receptionist, basic warm clean room, adequate buffet breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Wi fi was poor

    Perfect location, gorgeous breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good hotel. The city center is 15 min by foot, the train station is even closer. Nothing special, but it's good enough for the 1-night stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Place to store bike

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    old fashioned

    Price was good, friendly staff

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 17

Guests also reviewed these properties: