Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Salzburger Straße 2-6, 83435 Bad Reichenhall, Germany

#18 of 23 hotels in Bad Reichenhall

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1084 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.3
    Still trading on its past!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the worst check ins ever! Just handed the key! Not accompanied to the room; difficult to find. Offered to pay, thank heavens, I didn't. Too busy, I was told. Room 359, clean but dark, bathroom from the seventies with broken gel dispenser. No radio, a remarkably poor selection of TV channels. Not to mention a half bottle of mineral water at 3,50! The half board meal was a 'Buffett' with a very poor selection. No vegetarian or fish. I decided to check out the following morning only to be told that I could only do this via Booking.Com which I did. This hotel is trading on it's past! I cannot recommend it!

    The location! The breakfast just about did it, but beware of baseball cap wearers!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    A most enjoyable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet did not work very well. No air-conditioning.

    An old grand hotel with a lot of charm. Very friendly staff. Large breakfast room. Very nice pool. Excellent location; all of Bad Reichenhall is just out the door!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    We had a superior double room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a superior double room. It had a balcony that overlooked a wonderful park and with an awesome view onto the mountains. The breakfast buffet was exceptionally good and the beautiful breakfast hall had large windows with a view onto the beautiful park that I mentioned before. Staff was professional and courteous! The room were very clean and very spacious. This is a wonderful hotel with character! When I say character I mean it is not like other very good hotels that are just simply new and cold and boring! While we were at Bad Reichenhall we saw some of the other hotels that we looked at before we did our final booking. We were so glad we didn’t book at some of these other hotels! The other hotels look like boring, cold, new building blocks! No thanks to that! Bad Reichenhall has history, so it is only fitting to stay at a hotel that has history and character! And, the location is awesome as well! It is right at the center of Bad Reichenhall and by a pedestrian zone that has a lot of nice stores, restaurants, etc... Plus, from this hotel everything is easily accessible. There are many beautiful and old paintings in the hotel. Have a look at those as well! In this hotel there is also a spa and swimming pool and fitness center and more! Well-behaved dogs are allowed for a little fee and there is parking that belongs to the hotel. When/If we get the chance to go back to Bad Reichenhall we will definitely stay at this hotel again! We loved it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    A fabulous place to stay.....for lots of reasons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There wasn't anything at all that we didn't like. The hotel was just perfect.

    The hotel is very central to everything ...even to sightseeing to Austria. Fabulous swimming pool. Excellent staff - so clean, helpful, friendly. The rooms are lovely....so spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    4.6
    Nice breakfast, nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They didn't inform us from the beginning about the parking (we found out at check out that daily fee was 7 eur daily but we paid for outdoor parking 10 eur daily). The radiator was turned off taking account of outside temperature. Very unfriendly staff.

    Nice breakfast, nice location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    This is without doubt a beautiful old Hotel with all of the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is without doubt a beautiful old Hotel with all of the magic beautiful old Hotels have. Where do we start to describe how good it really is, service in the Bar of an afternoon is way above average. Breakfast is incredible but then in the evening they have Breakfast again with a totally different selection, now we have called it Breakfast rather than Dinner because while Breakfast is included to our amazement so is Dinner. Bad Reichenhall is without doubt one of the most beautiful parts of Germany and this Hotel only makes it better.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Eventhough the hotel accepts dogs, we were not allowed to...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Eventhough the hotel accepts dogs, we were not allowed to have our dog with us at breakfast in the restaurant. A special location could maybe be given for those of us with dogs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.1
    VERY DIFFICULT TO FIND IF ARRIVING BY CAR
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Virtually impossible to find the hotel by car. Even with sat nav it took me 30 mins to find it. Bad signage - does not have Wyndham sign . If I hadn’t already paid I would have gone elsewhere, they need to address the signage and directions. . Had to walk from their car park.

    Beauty Salon staff were fabulous, helpful and delightful. Breakfast was disappointing. My room was comfortable and porter helpful .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Old style elegance in delightful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite difficult to find by car, not helped by booking.com directions !

    Grand old hotel with style and up-to-date, quiet for sleeping although on main pedestrian street - perfect location. Wonderful grounds which lovely to stroll in or sit in the sun. Staff helpful and friendly. Dining room coped well with large numbers for breakfast. Strongly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Absolutely worth visiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely splendid hotel, it was like going back in time to the 1920-s, a high society patina from that time with clean and modern facilities, great swimming pool, specious rooms and bathrooms. Attentive staff, fabulous park, numerous halls and restaurants zones. Axel Stuberl good quality traditional food and amazing Dark Bock beer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Grand Budapest Hotel in real life :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom required a bit renovation. I could close the warm water.

    The breakfast and lunch was excellent. The staff is very polite. The hotel is a bit old fashioned, if you liked the grand budapest hotel movie you will love this hotel. The park is very pretty, there is a small lake in it with fishes. You can even touch them.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.7
    Alltogether a hotel which has the potential do perform better,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room had no airconditioning, no room safe room was not made up next day alltogether not worth the money

    breakfast was OK, swimming pool very good personnel was friendly: as a compensation for the not-made up room, they gave me the parking for free

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    2.5
    Bad Reichenhall is nice the Hotel is rundown and we would certainly not stay in this Hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The conditions of our room the bad service the quality of the food. The standard of the room did not match anything like we had seen in the brochure. The bathroom was moldy, where when I took a bath flakes of the mold ended in the bath. The WLAN was not working. Every evening there were a busload full of tourist and they were always placed in rooms in the same corridor. The standard of the evening meal was very disappointing as we did not know if it was a Menu or Buffet. When it was a Menu it was more like canteen food, when it was buffet we at least had salads to choose from. The state of the park garden which did not look as clean as the brochure described it. The fishpond is overstocked and one guest who is a fisherman had rescued trouts lying on the grass as they tried to find oxygenated water. And we saw 4 dead fishes in the Water. Whilst we appreciate that we were given another room after complaining, it does not compensate for our disappointing stay. We have written a complaint, but up to date we have not even received an explanation or reply. Very bad service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.3
    Better places to try
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a historical hotel so that in itself is a cool experience but with that also comes lots of outdated features. There is no AC or fans in the room which makes for a hot stay in August. We used the hotel to visit the Eagles Nest and I wouldn't recommend it.

    It's a historical building. Breakfast was great and the grounds are pretty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.3
    Very good location, a little bit away from the rest of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing worth mentioning.

    Very good location, a little bit away from the rest of social life but since the town is not big, it is not an issue. Just 5 min walk from all the shops and restaurants. Very friendly and helpful staff, nice swimming-pool and sauna, beautiful park. Standard room is hardly for double occupancy but OK for a single use. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    However we enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window in dining room needed paint and/or change..carpet in bedroom very worn and tissue on the bed was torn,you feel it's a grand Hotel but lacks ' doing up ' money question ?

    Very comfortable beds nice breakfast buffet and also the AxelStübli had nice food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    Overall we think it is a good hotel. Breakfast the next day was great. If the no - aircon and the fl
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was big and comfy. Views were not that great as we had the side looking at the inside courtyard. As we walked into the room the windows were open as it was a warmish day and there was no air con! in the room. The windows however also did not have any fly screens! The result of this was that our room was full of small mosquito-like flies. :-( The staff finally came and hoovered the flies away. It was not too pleasant and for a 4* hotel we just expected more. At night we had to open the windows again ( no air con) and just hoped no flies would get in. Thank goodness it rained all night :-)

    Overall the Hotel itself is very nice. Great location in Bad Reichenhall. Classic ambiente, royal feeling. We were welcomed nicely, the staff was professional and very friendly. Parking was not 100% straight forward as you needed to drive to the back of property and with with all the one-way streets not straight forward. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.4
    Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a very tired and old fashioned hotel that used to be grand. The room was very cramped, tacky sun protection on the balcony. No air conditioning during the recent heatwave. Russian neighbours singing loudly to tinny radio music .....

    Lovely location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.9
    Grand old hotel in need of love and attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a four star property there were no basic amenities such as shampoo, conditioner, lotions etc. in the bathroom. There were no porters. Carpets and decor were very dated and in definite need of replacement. Extensive gardens including a small lake were in definite need of care. Lawns needed mowing and heldges needed grooming. Apparently there are no funds for this. The Sunday afternoon reception person was in dire need of some training in customer service and smiling. Internet was initially difficult to establish.

    Grand old property with a once lovely garden which is now uncared for. Finances have dried up! Staff were mostly helpful, breakfast was plentiful and guest rooms and bathrooms were large. Bed was surprisingly comfortable. Indoor pool was popular. House taxi charges fixed price of €30 to Salzburg airport. This place could be amazing. There was reasonable English spoken at reception. Once a grand spa hotel, it is now utilized by many bus groups.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a corner room, so we had enough ventilation. Our companions had one window, and it was uncomfortable. Some of the furniture was scratched up.The shower dripped.

    Good breakfast, helpful front desk staff, nice historic hotel, conveniently located in the pedestrian zone. The indoor swimming pool was very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Very nice "classical" Grand Hotel-atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool are would benefit from an upgrade of facilities

    Very nice "classical" Grand Hotel-atmosphere. Beautiful house and location, breakfast room luxurious and with a breath-taking view of the park. The swimming pool is not deep enough.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful starting point
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hot on the first day and second night. There wasn't a fan or air conditioning, so it was a bit uncomfortable. Had trouble finding the hotel using the address on the website. Navigation wanted us to drive on a pedestrian street, but the hotel staff gave us a better street and directions to get to the hotel.

    Breakfast was excellent, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the pool was great and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.6
    Superb location, a little bit dated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel it's showing its age. Don't expect state of the art tech.

    Superb location. If you can, book a park view room and prepare for a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.2
    Very grand hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening buffet tended to be very repetitive and food often only lukewarm.

    Very pleasant staff and outstanding location. Breakfast buffet excellent and dining room staff absolutely first class. Hotel located in a central location and well appointed with beautiful gardens.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    6.3
    First and Last
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls in the 3th floor on the right are full of marks of the house keeping car which they just drag on the walls making holes one it . From the inside of our room #341 it looks like someone got locked and they forced the lock until they broke it , but they never repair it so the damage is still there. Inside of the shower the holders were broken so the cable shower had to stay all the time in the floor cause it was not possible to hang it where it belongs, In front of of the WC the one Which is only for woman was only offering ice cold water As soon as you turn it to warm water was nothing going out so also not possible to use. I understand that the concept of the place is antique furniture but that doesn't mean the walls or the furniture should be falling a part . Going down to the Sauna and pool area we opened some wrong doors to find the place and they were rooms out of service with broken furniture full of dust and not clean at all This ones exactly in front of the area were the kids supposed to play . In the pool area there's a bar which we never saw any person , but they have a telephone, so we call to see if it was possible to order some water and they said in a very bad tone that is not allowed to drink at the pool . So there is a bar but also out of service, The breakfast was pretty good , and many other thinks which were positive and we will also mention them but I have to say that we were disappointed , the location and the place its wonderful but there is many details very easy to solve to make the place a beautiful to stay and I am sorry that In this case my comments are not positive as always . Before we left I wrote an email to the Hotel to tell my " unlikes" directly to the manager and to keep it between us but until now We didn't receive any answer back Not booking.com standards in my own experience.

    The location is great , just at the door you find a beautiful street full of shops , restaurants a cinema , surrounded by the Mountains , nice place for a walk .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.9
    Great wellness getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet in our room was very old and worn out, and in need of being replaced, but everything else in the room was fine.

    Very "grand" with the elegance of past times. Very friendly. Although we were traveling with a baby and a dog, we were made to feel totally welcome. The pool, and the garden were both a dream. Loved having a nice bathtub in the bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    7.9
    Spacious and stylish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Provided with feather bedding despite requesting hypoallergenic bedding on booking form (feathers exacerbate asthma). Had to ask on arrival for bedding to be changed. Restaurant closed for six weeks

    Spacious and stylish. Breakfast overlooking the park. Sense of grandeur and position in town

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    This hotel is fantastic .... we just loved being there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was all ...just perfect - thank you.

    The reception staff ...helpful, nice, friendly. Swimming pool - excellent. Hotel - marvellous. All 7 of us (family) had a fabulous 4 nights at this wonderful hotel. It's central to everything...great location in the town. We'll be back next year ...hopefully February

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice grand old lady of a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were clean, but were likely last updated in the early 80's. Pool was only open until 9 pm.

    Nice grand old lady of a hotel. Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.2
    This hotel was once a grand opulent hotel and it could be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was once a grand opulent hotel and it could be that again with a bit of sprucing up. However, our accommodations were wonderful... the room was very large and comfortable and we certainly enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was stupendous! We would stay here again. Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    7.1
    Nice big room, but malfunctioning radiator meant room was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice big room, but malfunctioning radiator meant room was too hot and windows had to be left open a little despite smokers standing underneath. Car park was hard to find from main road.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    5.4
    Cheaply run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything done on the cheap! Cheap food for breakfast, no fresh milk for coffee, had to get a separate wifi code for each device each day from reception; rooms dated. We had requested rooms next to each other and had received a reply from the hotel saying this was no problem. Upon check in, our rooms weren't even on the same floor. Half an hour and several rooms later, e got the rooms we had requested. One receptionist did her upmost to help us during our stay. Disappointing.

    Nice pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    5.4
    A little overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife and me stepped barefooted on a spike between The carpet and The bathroom. Seems like some list was missing. The reception was on The walking street and Hard to find. Long walk with luggage. The view from The room was a rusty roof in The backyard. From The website We have expected something better for that price.

    The size and bed and The walk-in closet. Big and wide Hall.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    9.6
    Great central location for everything in Bad Reichenhall and the Berchtesgaden area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Bathroom decor, paint peeling off tiles that had been painted over.

    Fabulous breakfast, such a great selection. Lovely pool, gardens, service, view of mountains and gardens from balcony, helpful staff, clean, upmarket hotel, robes and swimming towels provided as well as bathroom towels, a guest card given for discounted local bus travel and tourist entrance fees for attractions, the 'Health Garden' was directly opposite hotel where you can relax on chairs and loungers as well as enjoying the performances of the local Philharmonic Orchestra.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.9
    They really shouldn't mention their spa facilities (until fixed)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -everything is pretty old and needs to be updated -the fact that the pool was closed (due to technical issues) was a big disappointment -sauna/showers/changing rooms in serious need of renovation

    -central location in Bad Reichenhall -grand hotel charm (even if in need of an update) -friendly staff -lovely mountain view -beautiful garden -nice breakfast with a lot of choice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    10
    A wonderful city & great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location of the hotel is a bit had to locate but after you're there it is wonderful. It's in the middle of the beautiful shopping/restaurant area that is mostly free of cars so you can walk around & enjoy the area. Lots of fountains with the sound of bubbling water all around you. The man at the reception was VERY nice & helpful. The breakfast was excellent & extensive in a lovely large restaurant. I would definitely recommend the hotel. it's very close to the Eagle's Nest, lakes & Salzburg. Prices are very reasonable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    6.7
    Old glory and not updated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet Style dinner and nearly always the same food. Bathroom very small, asking for a bathroom with walk in shower was not possible, smell in the bathroom like sewage, could not be solved during the stay.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.1
    Good historical hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Too noisy outside room early morning and evening. Most negative: Half board conditions very unclear. Axelstüberl not interesting food. Shower in bathroom difficult to handle Room had no safe..

    Garden, outside bar, pool and sauna, breakfast, the Park Restaurant. Service personal nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    7.5
    Classic hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a long drive and were looking forward to relaxing and eating at the Hotel but the restaurant was closed, we were tired but had to find somewhere to eat in town. Also, from early morning, in the pedestrian area below, there were loud voices from people who seem to congregate in a seating area outside the Hotel. As there was no air conditioning, we had to keep the window open, which meant an early rise for already tired people.

    The room was large and spacious, typical Bavarian property with dark wood furniture and carpets, very traditional, if just a little tired. The location was great and the breakfast had plenty of choice. The hotel is set in a small parkland area and is very pretty, ask for a parkside room if you can.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    5.4
    A Bit Short of A SPA
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were not open, pool. Spa treatment personnel was not at location, working between Salzburg and Bad Richenhall. Was not told of a city tax, till check-out. Inside facility needed repairs. Salt room was only open during certain hours a day, and only 4 times.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    3.8
    Horrible experience at a supposedly amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible experience avoid at all costs. I had booked 2 months earlier and specified 2 rooms close to each other as we were travelling with our kids ages 10 and 7. I was told that reservation missed the request and the rooms available were on different floors. On asking for anything we got 165 and 164. Both rooms had a musty odor and were extremely hot. 165 had no phone when I asked I was told that it was broken. The TV was ancient and did not work properly. The much touted swimming pool was under repair. There was no Porter available. We were given two options of 168 and 105 which were on opposite ends, with 168 looking like a single room. The rooms had lousy WiFi and mobile signal the only way to get a signal was to open the window and lean out! It gets better the restaurant axel stubble is a disaster. It took 10 minutes to take the order, 30 minutes to get the food as 'too many tables had ordered' the joke is that there were 7 to 8 tables out of a capacity of 25 odd. There is no way that this is is a 4 star hotel or worthy of the Wyndham name. Never ever again.

    The location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    4.2
    Swimming pool out of action
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because of hot weather we needed the windows open. Our room overlooked the kitchen and so we had the constant smell of cooking food. Not good. Reason we booked this hotel was because of the pool only to find it closed for use.....Pointed this out and was told to visit the local spa at extra cost.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    8.8
    Great value in a gorgeous, central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The beds were quite hard and the pillows too soft, the combination gave me neck-ache so had to ask for extra pillows.

    Nothing was too much trouble, the staff were incredibly helpful. The hotel is beautiful and the grounds are well-kept and peaceful to wander round.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    6.3
    Ok location but hotel needs renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel seems old and need renovation. Our balcony seemed very unsecure and we did not dare to use it. We choose this hotel because of the pool but it was closed due to technical. Bad parking facilities.

    Ok breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    6.3
    The hotel is situated in the nices part of the German Alps.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel could really benefit from some extra maintenance. Everything is just shabby. Broken mirrors and continuously dripping tabs/ shower heads in the bathrooms. Old and used carpets in the rooms with uncleanable edges and corners. The swimming pool is run down. Lost glory everywhere.

    The hotel is situated in the nices part of the German Alps. It has a lovely pre- war decoration style. The rooms are comfortably spacious. The staff was friebdly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay at Bad Reichenhall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the hotel is a bit old and the moquette is everywhere.

    Breakfast amazing, full of every kind of food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel garden and lack not as clean as before. no ac in hotel. limited tv channels

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    This is a grand hotel, yes a little bit worn, but only added to the ambience of the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall charm of hotel, great breakfast, great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    Great room, balcony, bath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and sauna outdated, but overall ok.

    Great room, balcony, bath.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.5
    Could do with a little renovation, but still a very nice flair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in first room was old, Pipe was leaking. We could move into another room

    Bar and breakfast, architecture of the building and park was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.0
    House, garden view, the restaurant room and the atmosphere,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    House, garden view, the restaurant room and the atmosphere, watching the snowing in the morning and to relax

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    Hotel is great but eat elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The in house restaurant is not good. Worst fried potatoes in Germany

    Friendly. Lovely large too. Bath. Breakfast is excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    3.8
    Never again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, Gym

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs upgrading. Buffet dinner could be tastier

    Location and price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    i shall be there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i shall be there again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Perfect again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi

    The atention, the service, breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    4.6
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't like our stay at the hotel. It definitely needs an overall renovation. There was even a dead fish in the pond.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Best breakfast buffet I have had at any European hotel I have stayed at

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    Great selection for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You have to drive into the pedestrian area to park.

    Great selection for breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    It's Good in Bad Reichenhall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities in room

    Breakfasts and Bar Staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.5
    A weekend in Bad Reichenhall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel would soon need a little updating.

    Big room with extra walk-in wardrobe was excellent. Lovely breakfast and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was lovely, but the same choices every day

    Good location, lovely breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.8
    Most of the staff were friendly and spoke English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel´s decor is a bit dated.

    Most of the staff were friendly and spoke English. The breakfast food was really good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.5
    Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Property is dated

    Nice staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    7.5
    unnecessary difficulties with WiFi connection
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    unnecessary difficulties with WiFi connection

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    7.9
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    sauna and pool are far and difficult to find.

    location Nice staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    9.6
    Very nice!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice! Oldfashioned good service!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    5.4
    Big but old
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a old hotel and need full renovation

    Almost nothing Breakfast was good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Good hotel, Great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location, Restaurant

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    We already booked our next visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious rooms, nice breakfasts, super helpful and friendly stuff, beautiful and huge garden, just perfect location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    10
    Stayed 3 years ago. The improvement since Wyndham took over is very noticeable. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zero

    Staff were brilliant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    7.9
    Faded charm and charming with it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was sparsely decorated and some fittings showed their age

    Wonderful faded charm

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    7.5
    ok, but difficult with young children (age 4)
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sauna and Wellness area Service staff in Axelmannsstubn

    Reception and Breakfast restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: