Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bachmair am See This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Seestraße 47, 83700 Rottach-Egern, Germany

#16 of 20 hotels in Rottach-Egern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 457 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room in the further part of the building was quiet, and was located on the ground floor with a patio looking at the garden. Super breakfast that couldn't be more complete! And with a lovely view over the lake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel in general needs renovating / upgrading--it seems like time has stood still since the 1970's.

    Wonderful location and great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water temperature in the swimming pool is too low..

    Almost everything! The location is good, facing (not quite though) the Tegernsee. Parking is on the outside pavement ground near the hotel entrance, rather convenient. Wi-Fi is here just great: No password whatsoever and speed up to 96 Mbit/sec!! Breakfast is huge with even the beet juice available! Spa are is OK with swimming pool of moderate size but water temperature is pretty low at 24 degrees Celsius. Rooms are good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We ordered a room with a lake view and we got a cubicle with a view from the balcony that was to be shared with another party and did not even have a table, just two uncomfortable chairs and a board the was nailed into the balcony to be used as a table. After a next day complaint, we received an acceptable room with a partial lake view, which we happily accepted after the first one.

    Breakfast was fabulous and the room we got after a complaint was very nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mostly guests with age > 60 and up at the hotel, so depending on your kids' age, this might be a problem, however we didn't experience any problems

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband thought the sauna was a bit of a joke.

    The Beauty Farm was really, really nice. We loved the programme they offered and the lovely packages. The masseuse was very friendly and professional. Definitely coming back!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner and mosquitos were a problem at night.

    The location, internet,view, parking and things near the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Wifi Connection & Speed, Old Fashion Furniture & Key Door

    Location, Room Size & Staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything was fantastic!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice building, great hospitality, very authentic

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent size single rooms

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception gave twice incorrect information about reaching sight seeing spots. Rooms are a bit old for the price.

    Nice located, great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast buffet was great. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was very helpful, accommodating and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is a little outdated

    The breakfast had an impressive selection and my single room felt very homely

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    every thing was exe lent

    the bed needs help !

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Told them we had dogs ahead of time and they still put us in a high traffic area.

    Very helpful when we asked to move rooms because our dogs barked at the high traffic outside our door

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A memeber of our group started playing the piano (quietly and very beautifully) and member of staff asked sarcastically if he was the new pianist, as he replied that he could be, she said "Guests are not allowed to play".

    regal and beautiful, large rooms and a lovely bar. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    1)…but as first impressions go, it could be. Bachmair appears to be cobbling together a number of properties on the block under the name Bachmair am See (there is also the Bachmair-Weißach at the other end of town), so the room I was given was previously in the Park Hotel, accessible by underground passageway… and several long hallways … to the very end next to a vault-like door, unlocked and leading to unfinished attic space under the eaves. I suspect the isolation was due to having requested to bring my small, well-behaved cat (pets, particularly dogs, are often welcome in European hotels), but it’s a long, silent walk, the old-style lock clunking and echoing down the hall. 3)I do not know if the unused spaces ~sitting rooms, bars, even a spare reception desk~ are left unneeded now that the Bachmair is no longer the hot-spot it was decades ago (as depicted in photos in glass cases along the walls lining the lonely passageway, along with displays of items ostensibly for sale… somewhere) or if they are put to service during high season, which now it is not. Regardless, entering the Park Hotel’s front door and passing through the lobby, I half expected to see ghost clerks, bartenders, and porters in ancient livery. I took to greeting them myself. 5) but no kettle or tea things. I asked at the desk for an electric kettle to make tea in my room. Very soon at my door was a waiter carrying a tray with a thermal carafe and tea service. Room service. I sent it back and tried again. A functional kettle with a broken lid arrived. Hating to be a further bother, I accepted it at that. Fortunately, I did have my go-mug in which to prepare tea, but wouldn’t a cup and saucer have been a thoughtful gesture? 7) However, there are even more convenient rooms on the other side of the fire wall in what appears to have been yet another separate hotel in the past.

    2)But it was a lovely and spacious room, particularly for being a Pet Room, mountain- rather than lake-view. The whole of the place is well-maintained, if dated. 4) The amenities in the room include soap & shampoo, real washcloths (it may be that only Americans will appreciate this, but Euro hotels seldom have them), a dorm fridge, 6) As it turns out, and to give the benefit of the doubt, my room was, in fact, closer to the spa/sportzentrum/“Beauty Farm” area than are those in the main building. I had booked ahead several treatments. 8) I enjoyed my “royalty in exile” fantasy, sitting in the lounge -alone- overlooking the lake through a long wall of glass, padding down to the spa in my robe & slippers without passing a soul in the halls, even at breakfast ~which is exemplary, more later~ I could have had a dining room or two to myself. I graciously shared the sunroom and its pleasant garden view with the few other guests in appearance. Yes, breakfast! As full a German Früstück as you could ask for: fruit both whole & cut, Weißwurst & mustard, salmon & horseradish, breads & (surprisingly good) pastries & Bretzeln, jams & honeys, cheeses & sliced meats (I’m vegetarian, but it looks like a full spread), yogurt & quark, cereals, bacon & eggs, fruit & vegetable juices (sauerkraut & beet, I’m telling you!), plus tea and/or coffee. Outstanding. 10) Housekeeping ~whom I’d kept out with the door hanger for most of the week for fear of my cat escaping and having no need of their service~ is, evidently, amazing. After lunch, I took the cat for a walk in her pram, leaving the “Please Don’t” hanger in the room but not putting out the “Please do” hanger instead. There was no sign of a housekeeping cart left in the hall, being so late in their day. We were out for 45 minutes. The room had been serviced. So, overall, I cannot ascertain what their business model may be.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel has endless facilities, great views of lake, large comfortable rooms, great location all in a quiet and relaxing environment. Beautifully maintained gardens are spectacular.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We got a room with a terrace and it looked to a roof, so the garden was hidden, while there were plenty of empty rooms. This was the only bad point

    We knew this hotel from previous stay. Super. Elegant, well managed. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wierd- could not get any shampoo and conditioner ever- only body gel and hand lotion- a total failure to communicate with Housekeeping, everyday.

    Location great for local cross-country skiing, shopping, great food- get a lake-side view! Great fitness center, pool, breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    some of the features and amenities feel tired and need to be upgraded

    Homely Bavarian feel, cozy rooms and a great sumptuous breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Family with young children

    Expected the flat to have a washbasin and stove No refreshment facilities in room ( coffee, tea & kettle) Overpriced

    Spacious room

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Family with young children

    No tea/coffee facilities in room No still water

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room temperature not adjustable, too hot beds uncomfortable, bathroom too small, shower lousy no international TV channels

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Welcoming friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi was not the easiest to use

    Great location and very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bed mattress is discomfort

    Location and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wide variety of local Bavarian food for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Being worn out and in dire need of renovation

    the location and the decor

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: