Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Backstage Hotel

Prießnitzstr. 12, 01099 Dresden, Germany

#30 of 106 hotels in Dresden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 381 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is located in the bohemian district. Nearby there are many different restaurants, cafes, bars. To the tram - 5 minutes. 10-15 minutes to the main attractions of Dresden. Ticket machine - in the tram, takes only a coins. 2,30 euro one-time ticket, 6 - for one day, 9 - for day for family. The machines accepting cards are at large stops. The walk to the attraction takes 30-40 minutes. Very good breakfast from 7:30 am (13 euros). You can order Lanch-Box for 9. The door is opened with a button on the key fob. In the evening there is an entrance from the side of the river. Also open the button. Thanks to Julia!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service quality was disappointing. We were charged more than confirmed by Booking.com. As I inquired this, I was met with a pushy argument that we have to pay city tax which is knowen by everybody. I then saw, however, that even without the city tax the room rate charged was higher by 4 euro. After talking to Booking, they confirmed to me that i should neither be charged the extra 4 euro nor the city tax. I left a complaint on the hotels phone recorder, they called me back but instead of apologizing or anything, they insisted they are right and complained that I called them unfriendly. Well, even if I had been wrong, this is not hospitality. In view of the fact that it is a simple hotel with interior from the late 90s (though clean and a good location), I would not pay 80 euro again excl. breakfast to stay, esp. with this kind of treatment and attitude. Bottom, stay at other places or, at least, pay attention they about unlawful fees they charge.

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No elevator. Wifi is not stable. Bar and restaurant were closed all day. No air-conditioning.

    Friendly staff. Great breakfast. Interesting interior design.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the rooms look like in the photos, just a bit more kitschy. The feeling is that it's a very old place. I wish I just had a normal hotel room, but I guess it was my choice.

    very very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    reception is only open until 6.

    The breakfast had a great choice of fresh fruit (water melon and pineapple) and tasty Rote Grütze. The rooms were very pretty and spacious. We were a bit shocked that it was next to a Cabaret Show, the lonely planet description was a bit misleading, but finally it made the stay all the more fun and exciting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next to the hotel is a "revue" with a bar so it can be a bit loud, especially during the summer when people are sitting outside and guests sleeping with open windows...

    The decoration of the room was really original and the staff efficient to answer our questions and for recommandations

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was pretty disappointed that I tried to order breakfast for the last day, but from like 4pm on there was no one in the reception. I placed the bfast request at the door, someone took it at some point, but nobody showed up with my bfast the next day. I left hungry. I was also upset that I couldn't check in earlier or get any of the "Genius" extras I was supposed to, even though the room was already clean (I tried explaining, but again, the lady was relatively nice, but didn't understand what I was saying). At last, when I checked-out I asked why was I paying 13EUR more than was written in my reservation confirmation. The lady said "city tax". Then I told her I couldn't see it in my reservation and she said: "really small letters in the middle of it". I mean: they KNOW it is not well explained. I get it this tax has nothing to do with the hotel, and the lady blamed Booking.com when I questioned why don't they make it more clear to the client. Still, it REALLY annoyed me that I had to pay 27% of one overnight stay in a city tax that wasn't even specified in the booking confirmation. All in all, its a good option for the money, but I don't think I would stay there again. It's also pretty far from the town center.

    Super clean, huge room, nice deco, bathroom also had a good size, and the staff was nice, even though the lady in the reception didn't really speak English well. It has only 10 rooms and lots of privacy (in a sense that at certain points you don't even find anyone in the hotel to talk to). It is also relatively close to public transportation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    -No reception available after 16:00h (and no previous information about this issue). -No air conditioning. -No elevator to the 2nd floor. -Absolutely overpriced.

    Rooms are original

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They charge you extra for literally everything (room size, garage, water bottle in the room etc).

    Big room, more like apartment style. Interesting design, location is quite good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We forgot to register for breakfast, so we missed it.

    Nice and quiet. The bed was comfortable, as was the spacious room and bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some bad smell from the bathroom ventilation

    Super cozy bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Opening any door was very difficult.

    Was clean and unusual room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What a beautiful, enchanting place, extraordinary decor, loved it! And the bed was super comfortable. Convenient to public transportation as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They say there is a minibar, but this is without a fridge.

    Size of the room and location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bored and apathetic lady at the reception desk.

    Interesting furnishings.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee facilities in the room.

    Great terrace and quirky room!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dresden is superb and the location of the hotel is superb for the best nightlife area. It is quite a long way from the old town main tourist area but very close to the best part of the new town. The hotel designer has a great sense of humour and we appreciated that. The basement car park is shared with the wardrobe department of the nearby theatre - great costumes!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Scent in the hallway. Non functioning sockets/power outlets in bedroom. Receptionist, although nice, did not inform about breakfast times nor night door use.

    Crazy decor. amazing location. Generally good :)

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked conditioner for my hair.

    Excellent location, spacious room and balcony, comfortable bed, amazing shower and 12pm check out.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little understaffed, but they are friendly and helpful

    View, Comfort, Location is excellent, Large room, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was no AC and it was a very hot summer.

    The view and the closeness to the neustadt, the style and colors of the interior.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are amazing and every one has a different decor and is very unique.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tram ride away from main sights. Previous guests towel still in our bathroom

    Gaudy style bathroom and good location for bars and live music

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Browse Backstage Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: