Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bad Emser Hof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Lahnstraße 6 - 7, 56130 Bad Ems, Germany

#5 of 16 hotels in Bad Ems

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 468 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.0
    Central location, great nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Watch out, the hotel is not equipped with air-conditioning. So at summer time you are going to suffer because of the heat during the night. The rooms were a bit dirty with dust on many furniture items. I wouldn't recommend getting update with the river view, as there is a noisy street next to the hotel, unless you stay on the very top floors. Breakfast was very average. My bed had terrible mattress.

    Central location, great nature. Friendly staff. There is a parking garage just around the corner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed it, food was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not find anything which I could complain about, would happily return to this area of Germany

    The hotel is located in a really nice position, on the riverside, access to Koblenz by rail is excellant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Very good location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room needs more care by cleaning people: toilet bowl was really dirty and dust in the room.

    Very good location; very friendly personnel; quite good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    Great little hotel with great views and good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please clean the remote control, it was a little grimy...

    This hotel may be a little outdated, but it makes up for it in many ways. The rooms with balcony and view of the river Lahn are great, the shower with a good amount of preassure, the bed was comfortable, and the heaters were sufficient to heat the room which is not always the case. A nice touch with the armchair with footrest! Breakfast was very good for the money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    I will definitely return!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really...

    Really friendly, helpful and thoughtful staff. Lovely breakfast. Food and service in the adjacent restaurant Estragon was fantastic, hotel staff recommended and reserved table to help with our late arrival.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.5
    Rhine Tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of facilities, no restaurant, no lounge areas to relax in, being charged for parking, very difficult access to parking area almost impossible to access for larger cars, traffic noise

    Excellent breakfast, spacious rooms, superb views, balcony, very courteous and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.6
    Our room appeared to have been recently renovated,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking at the hotel could be better. There was street parking across from the hotel, but you have to pay from 8am to 6pm. There is an indoor parking garage very near the hotel, but it must have been built with cars the size of a Mini in mind.

    Our room appeared to have been recently renovated, especially the bathroom. We could sit on our room's petite terrace and look out on the Lahn River below where locals were paddling canoes or sculling on the river. The hotel has a restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating. Food was very good (we also found several fine restaurants along the river). The Hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. The town folk we met in local shops were cordial and down to earth. We found Bad Ems to be pedestrian and bicycle friendly. The town is ideally located as a base for day trips to get to many scenic spots such as Deutsche Eck (confluence of the Mosel and Rhine rivers in Koblenz) and Burg Eltz castle.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    10
    Much better than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Estragon was closed on Sunday

    All employees, without exception, were extremely friendly, helpful and went beyond the call of duty. Breakfast was delightful, offering rare specialty meat, a variety of European and America breakfast items, fruit, cereal, and a large selection of tea. The breakfast room overlooks the river Lahn and old Bad Ems in all it's emperial beauty. Sauna and wellness area were large, beautiful and beyond expectation and I used it every day. Best of all was dining in the adjacent Restaurant Estragon. I was blown away by the high quality of food, the ambiente and the selection of rare Single Malts and fine Wine. This place deserves more stars in my humble opinion. I will definitely come back for another stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    Very Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with River View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was closed most of the time

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    Lovely walk along the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No private parking when it said there was.

    They have a lift.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Quieter than expected for a front room, over bars and streets, very quiet
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no cappuccino on Sunday (just Folgers brown water)

    cappuccino at breakfast 6 days. Doors within the room, extra quiet, helpful & friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Helpful, friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful, friendly people. Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location with nice views on the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are only paid public parking with limited time in front of the hotel.

    Room is big. Breakfast is nice. Close to city center with nice views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.9
    Cleanelyness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we didn't get breakfast at a special time

    Cleanelyness

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    10
    Well worth the drive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The workers were the most friendliest and professional people I've ever met.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    8.8
    The beds were comfortable, the room was large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Waiting staff at breakfast came in two categories: clueless and obsessive. Rudeness in different shades. the clueless didn't care and the obsessive wanted to know why we were refusing a Piccolo (sekt - a type of sparkling wine) at 9 am. It was clear that neither had gone to waiting school but perhaps they could be trained to be affable and pleasant as opposed to blunt and perfunctory. It is not just very nice for hotel guests to feel surrounded by cordial staff but it is essential for hotel atmosphere.

    The beds were comfortable, the room was large. The breakfast offered a good selection. The receptionist at arrival was welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    7.9
    I loved the location
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The charge for an extra person is a little too high especially if they are only there a couple hours.

    I loved the location The breakfast was delightful and the staff was very friendly

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.2
    My room was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    none

    My room was excellent

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    9.2
    Very nice and big room, beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice and big room, beautiful view. Breakfast is exceptional! There was no problem with WiFi connection.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff. Great breakfast. Quiet room.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly & accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No reception past 10.30.

    The staff were very friendly & accommodating.The hotel was in a lovely position with beautiful views from the front.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    10
    Good location next to river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location next to river. Comfortable rooms

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    9.2
    Staff, location, view (at front)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    lift not exactly modern but works just fine

    Staff, location, view (at front)

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: