Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stadt-gut-Hotel Baltic Hotel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hansestr. 11, St Lorenz, 23558 Lübeck, Germany

#21 of 47 hotels in Lübeck

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 934 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is close to the Alt Stadt. Just few minutes away and you are in the hearth of the city. Train station is just in front of. Very friendly staff. Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    ... Not much to say considering the snowy weather we got :(

    The place is nice and staff is fiendly, family feeling. Very good English speaking. Breakfast was good and we had some extra attention details due to Easter season :) Nice. Location is good, 5 to 10 min walking to center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    all in all it's a very strategic place walking distance to historic places. Just kindly improve the wifi strength though but all in all i would recommend this to friends. Cleanliness is EXCELLENT. I would book to this hotel again if i had the chance again. I forgot my British adapter, pls lend it to guests who need it. :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Staff is a bit cold and indifferent regarding guests. - Breakfast is ok, nothing special but nothing poor.

    - Location is pretty good in front of the train and bus stations. - Price is excellent for the services it offers. - Rooms are clean, spacious with the necessary things to have a very pleasant stay. I would come back without any problem.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No elevator, which we cannot help because it's a rather old house ;)

    RIGHT in front of ZOB which is extremely convenient for travelers. Nicest staff in the front desk (not necessarily well English speaking but always helpful). Sweet breakfast. Quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is only limited parking opportunity at the hotel. They have two spots in front of the house and a garage for another two cars. It basically goes 'first come first serve'. We were lucky to be on time to get a spot inside the garage.

    Very clean and comfortable room with good beds. Friendly and helpful staff. Simple but good breakfast. About 10 minutes walking distance to the center. Hotel is located in front of the main train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside that I found was not having elevators/lifts which might be an issue for some tourists.

    The convenient location, cleanliness, good breakfast, comfortable and cosy room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs but because it's an older place, we knew what to expect.

    We had a room with a balcony and it was super quiet. Bathroom was new and very functional and super clean. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Likely the most sumptuous breakfast we have ever enjoyed in our many European hotel stops. The stairway to the third floor was a small challenge with heavy baggage, we now in our 80s. The room was appropriate sized with a balcony with a view to the gardens below. Very reasonably prized for the location, itself within a few blocks of the Tor!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This room for this price would have been wonderful in Paris, but in Lübeck I was expecting more quality (larger room, better mattress, ...) .

    Not too expensive hotel, easily accessible by train and/or bus. Wifi worked very well (even though a sign in the reception said it didn't)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Speaking English to the staff can be challenging. The stair was narrow and steep. The 4-bed room was small and there was no kettle in the room.

    The location of the hotel was good. It was next to the train station and all the main attractions can be easily reached within 10-15 min by foot. The staff at reception and breakfast was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -

    Great position near train station and town, and unlike other cities, area round hauptbahnhof is pleasant. Quiet, friendly and room with balcony was good value and lovely to come back to.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Arrived at the hotel late at night (12:15) due to a traffic jam, but no receptionist was available. A note on the door read that I should pick up the keys to my room at the reception desk of another hotel, which was, however, closed at that time. I had to bang the door of the other hotel for quite a time before its receptionist showed up (by that time I was already about to leave and search for some other accommodation, totally stressed out). In such situations I would expect the staff to get in touch with me in advance and make sure the key is kept in a reliable place. - One of the receptionists does not speak English at all. Quite remarkable these days! - An extremely small bathroom. Elderly people would, in my opinion, have serious difficulties in using it due to not having enough space to turn around. Due to the stress I experienced in connection with the key retrieval and a high parking fee (added to the accommodation fee), I would not go for this again. Even though it is not the fault of the hotel that the road in front of it is under construction, I would expect a better tip for a cheap parking lot than the poor plan I got by email (e.g. an exact address I could navigate to). I have seen much better deals in Germany for this price.

    Cleanliness, could withdraw cash from the reception desk in order to pay quite a high parking fee in the nearby garage.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Internet. It said there was Internet but it never worked the entire time I was there.

    Very close to the bus and train station, but you didn't need either. Old Town, with the Holsten Gate, is just about 5 minutes away - walking. Perfect place to stay if you are interested in touring the Old Town of Lubeck.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. Too soft pillows, but this is typical german hotels pillow.

    Nice small hotel in front of main bus station. Rooms are big and bathroom is really nice and good size. Breakfast included in the room price. Good wifi. Great check-in/out time 12h/12h.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The layout of the breakfast table was not very good. A queue built up easily and people were in each others' way when they wanted to pick up something from the table.

    Very good cheeses and the dark bread was excellent. A little more choice of whole gain bread would be nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator and also step up to the hotel front(maybe 5 steps?). It was hard work to move up and down my heavy luggages to 3rd floor. Small room.

    Garden view and window view were great. Close to the station and just front of ZOB, it means that some apart from the city center. Excellent breakfast with well decorated table.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located several blocks from the old city center and if you ask for a room in the back, there is no street noise. We had a nice room with a small balcony. The breakfast was good and sharing tables with other guests made for some great conversations.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    small jugs for we English who like milk in our tea. being told on booking that the room is up 62 stairs with no lift, not a problem for me , but could be for some

    the location is the best in the city, easy access to everything. room small but everything one needed, great bathroom, everywhere spotless, amazing breakfast no need to eat again until evening. Friendly helpful staff,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The person who checked us out did not speak much English, which resulted in an inadvertent overcharge for our room. The hotel apologised and refunded the overcharge following an email

    The location was good, the breakfast one of the best we had in Germany

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi slow.

    My mattress was new and firm, and I slept well on it. But if your mattress isn't comfortable for you, you can ask them to swap it. They have a storeroom on the top floor, full of mattresses of varying softness. Rooms are modern and clean. Conveniently close to the station, yet no noise from outside. Some noise between rooms, not enough to disturb a light sleeper like me. Superb breakfast There's no fitness room, but after climbing to the top floor it's the last thing you need. The manager is approachable and considerate.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too soft beds for my taste and too big pillows. It's a matter of taste. But my fault cos I normally bring my own pillow- this time I forgot.

    The breakfast was great. Nice variation of cheese, good bread, fruit and vegetables. Eggs, scrambled eggs. Coffee and tea. Olives, antipasti, everyone can find something. Very quiet room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a good choice for anyone with heavy luggage, as there are many narrow winding stairs to the four floors and there is no lift. No facilities for making hot drinks, though a kettle and mugs can be provided from the kitchen if requested. Front rooms would possibly be noisy, as the building faces the bus station.

    Convenient location near train and bus stations, with easy walking distance to the town centre. Quiet, adequately sized room, comfortable bed, two chairs, excellent bathroom and good storage space. Added bonus for some rooms - delightful balconies with chairs, looking out over neighbouring gardens. Good breakfast, pleasant, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All was good great food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very helpful receptionist

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The own was extremely helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift and the free parking is very limited

    Location was very handy and allows dogs, room was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room a little bit cold.

    Big room, clean and confortable. Hotel is just few minutes on foot from center of Lubeck.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful location, room was really confortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice staff!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no elevator.

    The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was really good and there was a balcony, which we liked very much.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stays close to bus station. Very comfortable to travel, no taxi needed from train, a bit noisy though.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast 😋, big room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Near bus and train stations. Good breakfast and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was good. Nice location, nice room, good breakfast, very friendly and helpful hotel staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was good, gentleman at the desk very helpful, breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient location close to the railway station and within walking distance of the old town. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big bright room with balcony. Huge bathroom. Friendly manager.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was no parking from the hotel

    easy access to the key although we arrived late, nice and big room and great bathroom with bath tub and shower

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    Varied breakfast offerings

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no elevator, small room

    great location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything was very practical: Internet access from the reception without hazzle, excellent bathroom!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a little difficult as there were limited spaces, but overall not a big deal.

    Excellent location to the city of Lubeck. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, close to the station and easy walking distance from Lubeck centre. Made to feel very welcome by the staff. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no elevator.

    the location is very nice. Very close to a station, in front of bus stations. not so far from the old town. Room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the open WiFi in hotel is not good.

    The location is good, close to train station and bus station. breakfast is very good. the staff is very nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service, bed and breakfast excellent. Even helped us with glutenfreebread. Close too citycentre and communications.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed could have been a bit firmer for my liking.

    Breakfast was excellent and staff were friendly. Room was functional and clean with a good shower and spotlessly clean ensuite bathroom

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff, really nice breakfast, good location near the central train station and also near the city center. Good wifi connection and very clean room! :)

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The people were helpful and friendly, the room was pleasant and quiet, the breakfasts were very good and it is just a short walk from the railway station. We enjoyed our stay in this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    One member of staff we met was lovely, the other was rather sour.

    Came by train so very easy to get to. Didn't bother me but imagine if you were at the front of hotel in the summer, you'd have to choose between stuffy and noise from bus station after 5am. Easy to get into town.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room was quite small (four beds in it), but it worked. The street does not offer many places to park a car, but we could hire a garage for 5 euros in a street nearby.

    Located near the historical center of the city. Good breakfast! We had a room with a terrace. Our stay was calm.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    1. I was arriving to the hotel quite late - around midnight and called one day in advance to confirm my stay. The booking receipt said that there is a private parking in the hotel but the receptionist said that there too many bookings today and the private parking is fully occuped. It was not a good news for those who arriving at midnight with two sleepy kids... I was lucky and found a free parking spot on the street though. 2. Some duvet covers were with holes but quite clean.

    1. Good location of the hotel to the historical center of the city. 2. Friendly personnel in the hotel

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The guy at the reception was very helpful - I asked for a quiet room, and he put me in a nice, clean and very quiet room on the top floor. I slept very well.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The room is small, simple but comfort. The staff are very friendly. The breakfast is simple but very nice. I enjoy the stay and will stay here next time.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was small, but it was so clean and comfortably furnished that I almost didn't feel that.

    Good location, nice, friendly always helpful staff, good wifi connection, very clean room.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stairs

    Very near city centre and train/bus stations so ideal for our short visit

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was very comfortable and clean.The wi-fi functions well. Friendly staff, very good breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Clean, comfortable and friendly with great views of the mountains.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    not enough parking places slow and not reliable WiFi connection

    friendly and nice personal clean, comfy room good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    breakfast, location, shower, breakfast room with the Christmas tree

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Frozen bread rolls heated in a microwave.Otherwise good

    Very nice with good clean rooms and good location

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    small breakfasts, very basic rooms, windows next to the street and busy bus depot

    Close to the railway station

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No elevator. Stayed at 3rd floor.

    Nice staff. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Parking was not what we expected as I booked it. The staff did not speak English, that complicated things.

    The owner arranged late arrival well.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were rather a lot of stairs which could be a problem for some

    Good location for exploring Lubeck Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very handy for central Lubeck , only a few minutes walk, and with private parking

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A bit worn out, old carpets. Smoking on balkony.

    Short walk from Railway station

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly staff. Comfortable and quiet room. Good choice for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only stairway access, so difficult for less mobile travelers.

    Excellent overall. Perfect location for Lubeck, and owner/staff are great.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a lot of stairs

    The location was verry good, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unfortunately, when I was trying to have a shower around 10pm. There was no warm water....

    The location is good.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - very good breakfast - next to the central station

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Stadt-gut-Hotel Baltic Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: