Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Barbara This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Poststraße 4, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany

#11 of 50 hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 901 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only drawbacks were no A/C and no lift. Had the weather not been so warm this would not have mattered.

    The rooms was large and charming. The innkeepers were amazing - they did our laundry and put it back in the room for $10.00 Euro. Location 200 metres from Hbh.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were travelling with our 18-month-old and the hotel was not geared for a toddler. Right from the breakfast room to the actual rooms themselves. The staff were pleasant but unwilling to be flexible which can make all the difference when travelling with a baby. I do think the hotel should consider implementing a policy of no children under the age of three.

    The hotel was in a good location and a nice place to stay if you are a couple or passing through for business.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location (central railway station, university, and old town easily reachable on foot in less than 5 minutes), friendly staff, breakfast with many choice possibilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is construction in the neighborhood so views are hampered and walks inconvenient but it appears to be almost done. I didn’t mind the lack of elevator but it could be difficult for someone with mobility issues.

    The hotel was not far from the he station. You could comfortably walk there, but it was far enough away you didn’t hear the trains. It was an easy walk to the shops, restaurants, & sights. The staff was accommodating to our needs. We arrived early and the staff held our luggage. Most places do, but check in was done, and upon our return the bags were in and he room. This was as especially convenient because it did not have an elevator. Room 22 has a balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately as I was the last guest to arrive I got a downstairs room which was a little noisy whilst the staff were getting breakfast ready

    The breakfast was lovely and the hosts paid a lot of attention to nice details such as the silverware for coffee and milk as well as a sweet rose on the breakfast table.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice location, helpful staff (most were speaking French, all English), I was lucky to have a room with a small balcony giving on the back of the hotel. The hotel can give you a ticket to park your car in the train station (Bahnhof) parking (2 min away from the hotel) for 12€ / 24h (if you stay more, you just pay the difference, 2€/h). If you arrive early, you can get the ticket and do the check-in later. The breakfast is nice, lot of choice, good coffee. Wifi worked well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I am not quite used to the breakfast there; I hope there would be more vegetables.

    The environment is quiet and staff are very friendly. The location is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was friendly and helpful, the room nicely decorated. The bathroom was rather small but looked new and was very clean. The beds are comfy and the location is perfect, very close to the oldtown! Delicious breakfast was served until 10.30. Parking is available in a nearby garage at a fair price. We'd book this hotel again anytime, it was a great choice!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have a family in the room above you, good luck, the running and jumping of the kids in the room above reverberates through the roof.

    Well situated. The staff are really friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no possibility to get a warm drink (tea/coffee) in the room or the lobby

    it was possible to regulate the heating in the room there was an extra-blanket in the closet there was a towel-heater in the bathroom the breakfast buffet was really good in choices (salty/sweet) and quality (the "broetchen" were delicious). I especially appreciated to get a "Kaennchen" of coffee and not just a cup (even when it's refillable, it's nice to have the warm pot on your table) and the bottles of sparkling and still water!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift unfortunately in this old building so I was offered a room on the "ground floor" . Please note there are still steps to reach that level (equal to 1st floor level really). The room was well appointed but rather on the small size, good job I only stayed the one night.

    Very good location, only 10 easy walking minutes from the cathedral/town centre. And quiet location right by the train station. Very good surprise of an excellent rich breakfast. Worth coming back for!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Did not truly appreciate to have 2 small blankets instead of having a large one for my girlfriend and I.

    The staff is truly amazing and helpful. Assisted my with dinner reservations and doubts I had about the region.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    just 5 minutes walk to train station and tram, and 8-10 minutes to center. clean and has a very nice breakfast included in the rate. wifi is quite good. price/confort ratio is quite reasonable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not that I didn't like it, but the breakfast could had been a bit more varied. For example: no espresso based coffee drinks, no bacon, no scrambled eggs.

    Cozy room, fresh (aka "new") bathroom. Well located, close to the train station and close to the town center. Good bread for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift but since only several floors not a big problem - except for old people

    Room more like a suite and in ver good condition. All really clean. Central but quiet location, good breakfast, helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we had was on the uppermost level (lots of stairs) in the peaked roof of the facility, so the ceiling sloped in over the bed, so one could not stand straight next to the bed.

    Staff were friendly. Good breakfast. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the middle of the town which doesn't sound much but in the evening, when you are tired, it feels a bit of a walk to find a restaurant. The breakfast room could have been bigger but we always found a table. However, we found the system of putting a 'reserved' sign on the tables for 4 (to stop individual travellers using them) confusing. To be fair, we were not aware that this is done in some hotels but, as in this case, the breakfast room was small, it caused some embarrassment for my husband and me when we thought all the tables had been reserved and queried why. Perhaps some notification in advance would have saved our embarrassment as we would have been aware of the situation. With the language difficulties, it was difficult to understand the situation and we felt awkward for the rest of our stay.

    This is a lovely hotel, tucked away in a side street, near the railway station (but not so near that you can see it). Our room was not huge but a nice size but we were lucky enough to have the only bathroom and it was very spacious and well equipped. There is no air conditioning but we had a fan and didn't find it too hot. Our friend had a single room on the ground floor which was a bit compact but she found it to be fine otherwise. Again, the shower room was a good size and well equipped. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is no lift in the hotel but we had our bags carried up the stairs to our room on the first floor and there was always someone happy to help when needed. The breakfast was very good and had everything you would want.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location close to center - 2 min walk. Public parking house 5 min walk from hotel - hotel provide discounted ticket. Good breakfast and small yard/garden. Will come back if we go to Freiburg again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The temperature in the rooms at night (very warm). Fans were provided but sleeping was still uncomfortable.

    The breakfast, helpfulness and flexibility of staff, location and amazingly clean! Vielen Dank!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in a great location - a 10 minute walk to the Munster in the aldstadt.. It's also cheap and easy if you have a car. We were able to pull up on the street outside for a few minutes whilst we unloaded and then ywe drove a block away to a multi-storey. The hotel gave us a ticket for two nights when we arrived - at a cost of 12 euro a night ( good for Freiburg). We paid the hotel when we checked out so it couldn't have been easier. Breakfast was good - cold meats, breads , cereals and fresh fruits. They also cooked a boiled egg to order. Staff were friendly. Wifi was also good. The bed was firm and comfy but only one pillow and lumpy. It is an old house - it has the benefits of a lovely atmosphere but also some of the pitfalls such as no lift. The worst of all was the temperature of the room. We stayed in June with temperatures of mid 30.'s. We had one of the bigger rooms but it was small..... and with no air conditioning it was an unbearable sweat box. We found a fan and it helped a little but not enough to get a good nights sleep. We couldn't leave the the windows open during the day because they have a pigeon problem. We would come back in the winter but would not consider returning in the summer.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most comfortable bed this trip - firmer than the usual soft bed. Wonderful breakfast. Beautiful decor. Charming place. Very convenient near to train station n supermarket / DM store. Friendly owners. Free parking in front of hotel till morning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had some issues with the television, but that was minor.

    The staff is friendly and very helpful. We had a room with a lovely balcony which we enjoyed. The breakfast was very good. Hotel Barbara is in a convenient location for exploring Alt Stadt. Many good eateries are near by.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not a real problem to us but there is no lift in the hotel.

    This was the best family run small hotel that we have ever stayed in. We stayed for 5 nights. Breakfast was excellent with the breakfast bar continually refreshed with a broad choice. For the English there were boiled eggs and orange marmalade available. All the food was of high quality and very fresh. We stayed in room 25 which as requested was quiet and spacious and overlooked an internal quadrangle which was peaceful and had small gardens. The staff were very helpful and spoke English, French and German. The hotel is in a quiet, pleasant street a short walk from Freiburg Hbf station. Restaurants and bars in the Altstadt and the lovely walk up the Schlossberg are all within easy walking distance. Beds and bathroom facilities were of top quality. Look no further for somewhere to stay in Freiburg!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very helpful. I needed a dentist whilst staying over Easter and the staff helped locate one nearby on call. Beautiful town and walking distance to the Black Forest. Hotel very comfortable. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Situation was good, quiet at night. The room was lovely and we had a fabulous balcony. The staff were very friendly and were more than happy to help with us with tourist information we needed. Would definately stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought it was a great place.

    Sweet room. I had one with a balcony. Wonderful breakfast with generous array of bread rolls, marmalade, meat and yogurts, juices, etc. The servers kept on top of replenishing food. The bed was comfortable. Location was good, about a 5 minute walk from the train station. THere is a fantastic restaurant "Bengal" steps away from the front door. I will stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative thing was that as a small heritage hotel there was no lift so getting heavy bags up the stairs was inconvenient.

    The hotel was an easy stroll from the station and only a few minutes from the old city and city centre. The room was not large but was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was in the customary style for a small German hotel and quite satisfactory.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi often didn't work in my room

    Very close to the central station Located in a peaceful area Staff were nice and kind, I felt like at home Breakfast was included and nice Room was clean and tidy I used laundry service, it was quick and done perfectly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a block from the rail station, this once grand hotel seems a little tired. Instead of an elevator there is a broad staircase. The bathroom was modern and bright; the room particularly quiet. Breakfast was a little weak, nothing hot, no eggs.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed one night with our baby girl. The staff was very friendly and tried fulfill our wishes before arrival (we had phoned with some questions). The room had a lovely little balcony, unfortunately it was cold outside. And the breakfast was great! I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are very friendly and the hotel situated down a quiet road just off the centre of town and a short walk from the station. There are a number of restaurants surrounding and its easy to find something to your taste. Breakfast in the hotel is outstanding.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed turned out to be twin beds pushed together, but not properly fixated, so kept on moving apart throughout the night. Bathroom with slightly off smell (potentially due to the age of the building)

    Breakfast buffet was very nice, convenient but quietly located, walking distance to train station & all major sites.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator! … we had to carry luggage up three flights of stairs! Also, parking was in a garage two long blocks away and cost 10 Euros per day. Only one room in the hotel has a bathtub, so our request for a tub could not be accommodated.

    Lovely older hotel that has been renovated to include modern conveniences. Lots of character, lovely breakfast, and helpful staff. Very conveniently located near downtown area.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean and tidy, great atmosphere, staff very friendly, polite and helpful. Very good location, 2 minutes' walk from the railway station. Excellent bed and shower. Great value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to be aware quite a few stairs, which were ok, but if you are challenged by this, need to inform hotel when booking a room.

    Location excellent,staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A delightful small hotel in traditional style and on a nice quiet road. It has a ‘family run’ atmosphere. It is very close to both the station and old town. Staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast excellent. Get as large a room as you want to afford if you are staying longer than a few days. Also, as there is no lift, asking for a room on a lower floor might be a good thing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small and we felt a bit pricey.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great. Garden although small was also nice. Hotel was very clean. Nice big ensuite bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, small and noisy staircase. No iron in room (was supposed to have one). Minibar not cold enough. Breakfast could be better.

    Very friendly staff. Good location. Clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was great.

    Pretty hotel in a quiet street, a minute's walk from the train station and 2 minutes walk to the old town. I had a room with a big balcony overlooking the garden. Lovely bathroom and hearty breakfast. Staff were really friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sockets in the room wouldn't work with all plugs.

    Friendly staff who welcome the diversity of tourists and spoke English as well as Arabic, amazing location and Zora the young lady who was in charge of helping out with the hotel's very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Elevator and air conditioning are not available.

    In general a nice hotel with a friendly and efficient staff on an excellent location near the center and the railway station. We had a rather small room with a very nice balcony.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is truly a gem! It's very, very close to Freiburg's train station, right at the edge of the Altstadt, and so very close to restaurants, cafes, and shops. The staff were SO friendly, even helping to carry my 25 kg bag up the stairs. I speak German, so I can't comment on their English skills, but I assume they're good. Either way, they were very nice, and I will definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely room with balcony in a beautiful old building close to train station. Great staff and beautiful breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard beds. Lawn moving att 0800 saturday morning not OK!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location, great breakfast, welcoming staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed could have been a little softer

    Lovely warm room and lots of hot water. Good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location. Amazing stuff. Super good breakfast. Will come back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, just minutes walk from train station, yet right beside the beautiful old town. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great. Really liked the shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing in particular.

    Clean and comfortable room, good breakfast and friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable and close to the altstadt

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good breakfast,clean room,extremely friendly staff.Perfectly situated,and despite being near the train station very quiet room.loved Freiburg

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Certainly exceeding the standard of 3 star hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing much!

    Excellent or should I say Ausgezeichnet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location ..... short walk to train station and in to town centre Friendly, welcoming host Good selection for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very bright at 5am. No curtains in the room, just a cream blind.

    Beautiful hotel and very friendly host and staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets were scratchy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent, and the breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, family run with pride.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad internet connection. I was there for 4 nights and the internet didn't work at all.

    Small and cosy Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a great experience.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice place for a night over in Freiburg im Breisgau.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    great location between station and town centre. very tastefully decorated. a one off rather than a chain

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom a bit small but great for one night :D

    Very helpful staff, very friendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and charming. Wonderful breakfast included.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First time I stayed at this hotel. I was positively surprised! Will definitely come again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff. Great location. Very nice hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The furniture in the rooms is contemporary low-cost hotel standard, clean and in order but not matching the authentic atmosphere of the building.

    Hotel is in beautiful old Jugendstil building close to the train station. The building is well restored (windows are from wood and not from plastic) and maintained. The publicly accessible parts of the hotel match well the authentic style of the building. Decorations, artwork and furniture are also placed well.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room on the first floor was very very comfortable. However, every time someone came to the reception desk, I could hear the talking.

    Breakfast was delicious. Egg cooked to perfection. The internet went down while I was working. The staff worked tirelessly to get it up and running again. I finished my work. The hotel allowed me to leave my luggage after checkout until my train time, with no extra charges.

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Every time I left my room, I climbed three flights. No lift.

    Simple, but comfortable. Room was pristine. Breakfast delicious. Coffee superb. My egg was cooked perfectly.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful woman on evening front desk duty Sunday 11 October, 2015 - I was driving and had a very difficult time finding the hotel in the dark streets. I called the hotel from my cell and this clerk stayed on the phone with me for several minutes guiding me to the hotel. We'll be forever grateful.

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Barbara traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: