Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Barbarossa 3 stars

Luisenstrasse 36-38, 76137 Karlsruhe, Germany

#29 of 45 hotels in Karlsruhe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 591 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unprofessional client service at reception desk. I tried to ask a question and was interrupted three times by the lady at reception before I could complete my question.

    Rooms are comfortable and spacious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some towels were either dirty or with holes and they seemed old. The bathroom had no privacy from the room, it wasn't a separate room and the door was almost transparent. The wall next to the bed was dirty with even a killed bug on it.

    The decoration was nice and the location was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel itself was good, but I think the area was not very nice, but we didn't have any problems.

    It was a nice hotel. The room was clean and good, also the breakfast was good. It is close to the central station and the zoo.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny bathroom

    Small but very clean room, good wifi, excellent breakfast, located at walking distance from both the railway station and the city center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very good (smoothies, various freshly sliced fruits, good scrambled egg), the room (probably recently renovated) had a very bright, modern yet comfy interior design. Comfy bed, room always very clean, in general almost no noise to be heard from other rooms. Staff was very friendly. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little small. Reception isn't open between 14:00 and 16:00.

    Good hotel in a vibrant area.My small room was totally adequate if a little cramped. Bathroom was small functional but very clean. Staff incredibly friendly. Good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a strong feeling of being a ‘Familienbetrieb’ - it’s always refreshing to find a local hotel that isn’t a chain, but has high standards. The place is in the process of being renovated, and I was in one of the nicest, most renovated rooms. I paid well under €100 per night for a very good quality ‘business room’ - extremely good value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    my room was on the street and it was a bit noisy outside in the morning. Could not have had a lay in if I wanted one

    The room was extra spacious, the bathroom brand new and the shower very large

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast not fully worth the money, bread rolls cheap bake-off, no choice for allergic people (e.g. gluten or lactose), coffee from machine not great. Second lamp at bed: switching on hard to figure out (by pressing light switch together with the window rolls!) . No electrical plugs near bed. No door to bathroom, which is fine alone, but maybe less charming with two people. Facilities for snacks and drinks limited (however, there are grocery stores close-by).

    Nice renovated rooms, big rooms, facilities rooms fine. Everything you need at no extra costs. Free Wifi. Free bottle of water. Quiet location. Friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast with good number of choices for non-allergic people.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My single room did not have a toilet door, no problem, the air suction works very well. But in a double room I would really miss the privacy without a door even when travel with my wife. A sliding door would be possible to install with minor changes. Just need to put the switch on the other side.

    Same like another customer already wrote, I arrived after 9 p.m. and friendly staff came back to showed me the parking facility for 5 Euro/night. Great breakfast for European taste.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small and the furniture/carpet was old and tired. The bathroom was way too small - the toilet was positioned under the sink and the shower stall was way too small for anyone larger than normal size.

    The staff was pleasant to deal with.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Not really the hotel's fault, but I was surprised by the amount of graffiti in the immediate vicinity. The neighborhood itself felt reasonably safe.

    My wife, infant son and I had a fantastic stay at the Barbarossa. The hotel provided a baby cot and was very helpful. The breakfasts were awesome and great value: 10 euro for a comprehensive buffet. The location was great, too: around 15 minutes walk to the center of the city, and minutes away from a tram stop and coin-operated laundry.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-Fi very bad, unusable during the day. Safe box was from another era... It required a Deutsch Mark to work! Unusable... Surroundings are not very pleasant.

    Good price, very kind personnel. Shower was really good. Great Italian Restaurant in only 5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unencrypted Wi-Fi

    Staff is friendly, understanding, efficient. Even the small room I had booked was so efficiently organized that I felt immediately fine with it

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The WiFi required registration. I think it should not be needed; I don't like registering my email in a lot of different places because then you get spam. I think just giving the customers the WiFi password should be sufficient, like in most other hotels I visited.

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are exquisite and have very good furniture. I liked the taste with which they were done. The toilets are very modern and functional. I particularly liked the large shower.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't get the wifi to work The room was quite warm I would have appreciated a fan

    I arrived after reception had closed but the hotel had given me very clear instructions on how to get in

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comfort, a lot of noise outside and inside. The isolation is bad. The hotel is clean. The reception is not open late,but they have a good solution for late arrivals. Parking is also diffucult and iT likes not to be a safe place for your car!

    The price

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not allocated the room we actually booked.

    Clean and comfortable. Nice staff. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the single room is too small.

    location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matress was not flat, can hear neighbours using toilet.

    Clean, good Internet, breakfast ok, freandly stuff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating could be better

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Neighbourhood was a bit sketchy.

    It was a clean place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was great but nearly impossible to find and then get too, owing to road works in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Group
    • Small Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small shoer/toilet, felt like a camping wagon.

    Staff was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen is not fully furnished with cooking utensils.

    Very nice apartment. Fresh and modern look. Very clean. It is recently renovated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had a great stay at hotel Barbarossa, would definetly go there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's very small room and not comfortable

    It"s near transportation

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room for this much money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit small, but had all the needed facilities.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was great, the rooms clean, staff was really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best place for quality/price

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for money paid

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not prepared when I arrive. Very small room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff called me before my arrival and waited for me, I felt very well taken care of. The room was small but clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good hotel but missing air conditionning

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Solo traveller

    It's my own fault but I didn't pay attention to the reception opening hours and arrived to find no-one there. Luckily someone arrived very promptly so I could check in. Be sure to let the hotel know your arrival time in advance!

    Very comfortable room. Booked the smallest budget room but it was more than adequate. Would stay again.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Check-in time was only until 21h, I arrived at 21h30 and luckily there was still someone inside to let me in. Parking was not indicated, I had to leave my car on the road while I asked the reception where to park.

    Great location with private parking nearby

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was small but i was informed about that in order to be able to cancel if i want. The room was small but very nice and clean, great bed, great 29inch tv and clean bathroom, fully new.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small rooms.

    Convenient location about 10-15 minutes walking to the train station and to the center of the city. Perfect price/quality ratio for economical travel.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were a bit cool. I had to ask several times to figure out their system for getting onto WiFi and some staff members were more congenial than others.

    The room was big and airy. Very nice.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    1) Internet stops working every night at 2am sharply. 2) Reception was unattended half of the time by day. Nobody is on site at night, and the "reception" number actually connects to another building in another part of town, from where they'd rather not come over to help you, unless you really need them. You are on your own if you need minor assistance, such as asking noisy neighbors to be quiet. 3) Publicity is misleading: (A) it's not a 3 stars; it's 2 stars at most. (B) Photos of room do not match the actual room, which is more spartan and has older furniture. (C) They say they speak Russian and English, but they couldn't understand over the phone my wife -a native English speaker- who just wanted to be connected with my room. 4) There were works on roof and side of building from ~8am to 4-5pm.

    Despite not having the best reputation among some local friends of mine, the neighborhood looked nice to me, with modern art galleries, a cinema, a multi-ethnic spirit, and classical musicians training from their apartments. Also, Karlsruhe is not huge, the center is at walking distance, and public transportation works very well.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very hot night, should have spotted no air-con, but what made it worse was the mattress plastic type cover, which really did make you perspire

    Clean and functional

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    All Rooms are not the same. for the same price you might get different room quality mine was on upper side but there is worst rooms,

    Location is in vicinity of conference center.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    In my case, the free WiFi was working either on computer, or on mobile - it was ok though.

    Great friendly & helpful staff! Location is perfect if you plan to visit the centre of the city or to follow the touristic spots map. Luggage storing after checkout and a free WiFi. Cool modern interiors :)

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent new rooms, Great tasty breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room phone was Not working. Very old phone. Not 24 hrs reception At least reception should be open till 11pm

    Rooms and cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This isn't specific to this hotel, but what is it with expensive European breakfast?

    Staff were friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Way too expensive for the type of hotel.

    Clean and the staff was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    budget bedroom; very pleasant and cooperative staff

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi sometimes slow, reception closes at 9pm

    good location, close tu the center and to public transportation. New rooms, nice design

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was perfect. Good Wifi connection and parking on the street for free, while doing business in the center (walking distance).

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    staff and location; very calm

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    no coffee in the room facility

    friendliness of staff, great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff at the reception was excellent, helpful and kind.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel and rooms were very clean and comfortable. Lady of the hotel was very nice and helpful. Within walking distance of most things. Great stay.

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Browse Hotel Barbarossa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: