Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Barbarossa This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Obermarkt 8 - 12, 78462 Konstanz, Germany

#9 of 33 hotels in Konstanz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 688 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Business and holiday trip was most enjoyable as this hotel had character and was really nice
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent property centrally located and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. All this area is expensive but this hotel was good value compared to others

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Adequate stay - not super extravagant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room adequate. Bed was not comfortable -2 mattresses placed on one-bed box. My son kicked/rolled over, it would wake me up. Curtains didn't block the light from outside. We couldn't sleep well @ all!

    Location of the hotel. The staff is friendly, but they do not go far and above to meet your needs. Breakfast was okay, too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Great historical place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though the parking was available, it was off-site, just a few-minute drive. So park first by the hotel on the square, even though it looks like a pedestrian-only street. And when unpacked, you will be provided with the key to the parking garage. Overall, I would not let it stop me from coming back to this hotel again, I loved staying there. I would get ready ahead of the trip, talk to the front desk and look up maps. For European travelers, this may not be an issue at all...American drivers on another hand are used to wider streets and maybe a little bit intimidated (I am one of them :-)

    1. Located downtown, so right in the middle of the historical district with a lot of restaurants and shopping around. 2. This hotel has a private parking available, a huge deciding factor for us. 3. The hotel itself is an interesting artifact by itself, we had a great time learning about it and it's history 4. Restaurant on site is very nice as well, good food, good service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is clean and comfortable. It is central and it’s possible to walk everywhere. They offer a parking not too far from the hotel, which is great because it’s so hard to find one in Konstanz, especially during the weekend. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    A little bit of luxury.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A well presented, delightful hotel in a beautiful setting. Very well appointed - extremely comfortable and spacious. Great restaurant and a lift! Wonderful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    Weather was not the best, but the staff tried to help all they could/even gave us an umbrella to use
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking, as is usually the case in the city center, was difficult.

    Very good location in the center of town. Staff very friendly but not very knowledgeable - did not give us good instructions on parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    Perfect Location
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast included many options and was plentiful. Rooms are a good size and comfortable. Dinner in the restaurant was lovely and the staff very friendly. Wifi consistant and easy. Location is perfect - right on the pedestrian area of Konstanz and a short walk to trains and ferries. Its a historic hotel full of character!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely building at great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inside the floor our room was on was a bit like a maze - it would be very helpful to have signs at the junctions indicating where the lift is or where Reception is - when I was going down to breakfast there was an older lady outside our door who was completely lost. They do have signs in the lift regarding parking on the square and when markets are on early morning so you will be towed.

    We were there on a Sunday and were able to park at St. Stephans Platz free until 9am next morning when its €2 an hour - staff were very helpful in this regard both cancelling our booking in their car park which is a bit away and advising where its OK to park on the square - don't park within the yellow lines as apparently you can get towed away. Hotel is on a square and seems to have a lovely cafe but it wasn't open when we were there - inside its been modernised, our room was really lovely and I had the best sleep of my holiday. Good breakfast with hot food selection and lots of fruit and veg. Konstanz is small so there are a lot of cafes, restaurants etc close by and the main shopping street is right around the corner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    The localisation was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was convenient to have a parking available. But it was a few hundreds meters away and it wasn't very convenient to have to fetch the key and then to give it back with all the luggages (but it's obviously the best solution in this case, with the situation of the hotel in the old town and no parking closer)

    The localisation was perfect. The hotel was very nice, the historic aspect was well used with the decoration etc The restaurant was very good. And the staff very nice and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Very good location, clean and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location, clean and comfortable room. Excellent breakfast and restaurant. Staff very welcoming and informative. Front facing rooms can be a bit noisy at night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    Charming hotel in the heart of the city
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to reach by car, we parked in a garage nearby and walked with the luggage to the hotel.

    Central location in the heart of the city. Very charming place, trying to keep the history of the place alive. Room was nice and clean, spacious bathroom with tub. Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Central location, very clean rooms and delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all but it is worth noting that the hotel parking is a ten minute walk from the hotel. It is secure but if you have any mobility problems or you are arriving by yourself in the dark then you may want to locate it on Google maps so you know exactly where it is (although the hotel will direct you to it and you can unload your luggage outside of the hotel).

    Excellent location for shopping and restaurants. Very good breakfast and clean room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Location, location - Very clean, good shower and comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was a bit pricey

    Location, location - Very clean, good shower and comfortable bed. Great breakfast, staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be back!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    7.1
    Nice period hotel but take a travel kettle!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea/coffee in room. No mini bar/ or refrigerator in room. Bathroom very small.

    Good location, helpful staff. Nice hotel with period features. Bed was firm which i like, and room itself quite large for Germany. Though for two might be a bit tight. Very good internet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.8
    - very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - unfortunately we've received wrong information from the staff about transport to Mainau island :(

    - very good breakfast - spacious elevator - a lot of flyers and brochures about activities around

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Wonderfully appointed Grand Dame
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the location of the hotel to the greeting at reception, our arrival was friendly and welcoming. Room was artfully decorated and recently renovated. Bathroom rain head shower was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    7.1
    Central but overrated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom, especially the shower is very small. Bed is very soft (not good if you have back problems) and small. Over 1.75m is risky.

    Very central, Wi-Fi works good. Good breakfast, very very clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    7.9
    nice historical hotel for a weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    internet barely working, breakfast buffet with some of the meat and cheese looking like it has been there for a bit too long

    very friendly and helpful staff, excellent location, nice historical setting.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    8.8
    Beatiful historical hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Strong smell of cooking in the corridors -Two seperate beds instead of one double bed

    Beatiful historical hotel, we really loved it! We paid 99 Euroes for a night on October 2016. The Location was great, near everything in the old city. The hotel style is gorgeous and the staff is pleasent. Clean and lareg shower. The breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    7.1
    Location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival we found out that hotel parking for 9 euros is only available for those who call to the hotel in advance. This info was missing on booking confirmation. As a result we had to park at municipal parking for 18 euros.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    6.3
    Worth to stay for its ambiance and breakfast :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We reserved a double bed, but we got a twin. It was not very comfortable because they get seperated when sleeping!! Also the room was really smaller than what we saw in photographs :(

    We learnt this hotel via Lonely Planet Germany. The atmosphere and to wake up in an almost 600 year old building was great! The breakfast was really delicious!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    7.5
    Great location, attentive staff, the rooms in the 4th floor can get better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was rather small, and bed was not comfortable enough. No air-conditioning either.

    The location was amazing, right in the center of the town. Breakfast was nice and the restaurant in the first floor. The staff were very attentive.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    We had a nice spacious room, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a nice spacious room, clean.. Very pleasant. We would stay here again, preferred to the other place that we have stayed when in Konstanz

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    absolutely fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    absolutely fantastic. great room and great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room and building, very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed the location, facilities and staff efficiency
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything. One word can be worth a hundred.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Great Location, awesome retro styling!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Location, awesome retro styling!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    The bathroom did just have a slider.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom did just have a slider. Seems to be modern and an option if it's narrow but I still love my privacy sometimes :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Only and biggest problem is parkimg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only and biggest problem is parkimg

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Very good quality delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you would like to buy extra water it is expensive 1 bottle 5 euro

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Great experience, perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little small but for a one night stay it was fine.

    Great experience, perfect location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    great central location in historical house, great big room furnished with lovely old pieces
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great central location, nice old historical room with view on the square and streets, big modern bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice and comfortable hotel, excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny room, the private parking is quite far.

    High standard hotel, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.8
    Lovely room and delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    4.6
    A bit disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yellow water came out of the hotel tap so I couldn't shower. It was old and quite run down.

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.8
    Good location in the Center of Konstanz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Good location, clean and comfortable room, very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Good location, clean and comfortable room, very good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom

    Excellent location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.9
    Aerconditon is nessesery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aerconditon is nessesery.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    The building is beautiful, the breakfast was fantastic, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave

    The building is beautiful, the breakfast was fantastic, and the staff was so helpful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.9
    Excellent position!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is 500 my far away form the hotel. A closer parking would be highly appreciated.

    Position

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.9
    We were just in one evening out next morning didn't eat in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All ok

    Environment, Location, Character

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Helpful staff and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    Helpful staff and comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    7.5
    A historic hotel in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room on the small side!

    lovely building / good bed / good shower great location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful old world hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit over heated.

    The decor in this old hotel was wonderful and the rooms very nice. The breakfast was one of the best we had in Europe.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.6
    Good location with beautiful building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi not stable

    Good location with beautiful building Kind staff Breakfast is OK

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    8.8
    Perfect for a short sightseeing trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't find anything

    Perfect location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some outside noise. However with windows closed you could hear nothing.

    Excellent room. Very big. Breakfast was good. We will use the hotel again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    7.9
    Great location, clean room, abundant breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom with glass door (not much privacy in the bathroom)

    Great location, clean room, abundant breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    10
    Historical building with nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historical building with nice rooms. The kid bed was for free. Very good breakfast. Very kind staff. Good restaurant, inside and outside

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    5.8
    location is good for tourists but loud in the night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Old fashion place, outdated, glass window/door between bed and toilet, internet no working,car parking 500m distance, noisy inside, poor breakfast

    location is good for tourists but loud in the night

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location for shopping and a freshly decorated room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The parking is secure but is a walk away - across the road and in a residential area. No problem for us but late at night, on my own, I would have felt a little disorientated on how to get back to the hotel (the parking garage has a couple of exits so maybe go back through the main door). Stopping outside the hotel is difficult on market days so if you have trouble walking do take this into consideration.

    Excellent location for shopping and a freshly decorated room with a comfortable bed. No problem with our small dog and a tasty breakfast in the morning.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    7.9
    The staff was very friendly and hospitable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A small insect on mattress, but in general was very clean and warm.

    The staff was very friendly and hospitable. Perfect location (in the pedestrian road)

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    7.1
    Central location, old historical building with nostalgic but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Reception guy grouched when we asked if we could check out 15minutes later. In the bathroom there was only one paper roll and not even a whole one.

    Central location, old historical building with nostalgic but modern atmosphere, spacious room nicely decorated, Free WiFi, flexible on checking in time although it was Christmas Eve (they left a letter for us on the door with all needed information).

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    10
    Great location, very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is a little bit small.

    Great location, very friendly and helpful staff. Quiet. Very comfortable bed, new bathroom, lovely breakfast room.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    9.6
    Clean bathroom, There was mineral water when we first...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Heating wasn't adjustable

    Clean bathroom, There was mineral water when we first arrived and the room was nicely aired. The lift is helpful.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: