Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Barbarossa This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Niederrheinstr. 365, Kaiserswerth, 40489 Düsseldorf, Germany

#38 of 197 hotels in Düsseldorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 244 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Short one night stop in transit to the airport.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the hairdryer did not work and it was not too easy to get in the room with the provided elecrtonic key.

    Good location, airport is easy to reach. Rooms are bigger than in other hotels. In 500 meters you can get to a charming little village at the bank of River Rhein. There are enough parking places at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    I have used this hotel 3 times over 2 years and can highly recommend for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A good hotel on the outskirts of Dusseldorf ideal for driving access. There is an U-Bahn station within 5 minutes walk that will take you directly to the AltStadt in about 15 mins and €2.80 (at the time of writing). Breakfast is ample and served in the airy dining room. This is a combination of traditional continental and also scrambled egg, bacon and sausage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.8
    Great stay for a rested early flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was leaking due to the design. Floor was wet afterwards no matter how you would aim the shower head. It is be more of a pain for the staff than for the guest otherwise all good.

    Accommodative very friendly helpful staff, breakfast was great. Bed was very comfortable not to hard or to soft mattress and the surroundings were quiet enough to keep the window tilted open.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Staff very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cost of breakfast a bit high, but probably typical for hotels now.

    Staff very nice and helpful. Location is excellent, a short walk to U station. Good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    A quaint little hotel near the airport with interesting things to do on a one day layover
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They only serve breakfast, and the beds are rock-hard.

    They had an excellent European breakfast in a beautiful lobby. The hotel is located near a quaint old village (Kaiserswerth) around the ruins of an old castle. The staff were really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    This common , but still makes me miserable .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This common , but still makes me miserable . a lot of hotels in Germany have this big pillow in the bed that you have to fold a few times just to make it high enough for your neck , and its just not comfortable . everything ells in this hotel was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Staff was excellent, very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I got the last parking spot, would be good to have a bit more or don't say you have parking if not enough for all guests.

    Staff was excellent, very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    The room was very big and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillow was extremely thin, which made sleeping not so comfortable. If you have a light sleep, you might be bothered by the noise of the airplanes.

    The room was very big and clean. Staff were nice. Breakfast buffet was very diverse.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.3
    That hotel was nice but it's wasn't that much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was honestly just mediocre. The beds weren't super comfy which is a big part of a hotel. The room was very minimal but modern and clean. And there wasn't a vent in the bathroom. I would not stay here again if I could stay somewhere just a little bit nicer.

    That hotel was nice but it's wasn't that much. Felt like I could have payed less for the same type of deal

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable overnight stay within an easy taxi ride of Dusseldorf Airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room faced a noisy road but we had the windows open; sound would have been eliminated if we'd closed them. No coffee making facilities which was a bit of a disappointment.

    Very friendly welcome at the end of a long day's travel. Little home-made pastries on the desk very welcome. No restaurant but if I'd read the hotel website properly I would have realised that! Staff directed us to a wonderful Bier Garten just down the road so no drama there. Room was large, well appointed and comfortable. Very agreeable toiletries. Breakfast great and plentiful with very attentive staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.2
    Perfect
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Only the room was a bit warm, even with windows opened.

    Friendly & helpful staff - easy check in and check out. Spacious room & bathroom. Excellent location, 7 min walk to the village.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    7.1
    Useful option for the airport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The key card activated electricity'buzzed' quite loudly when on - I'm quite a deep sleeper but found it disturbed me a bit.

    Friendly, welcoming staff, useful location near the airport, good shower

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    Great hotel with good pricing!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    Typically Düsseldorf area is pretty expensive, however this hotel showed decent price at decent score. Definitely worth a stay! Great staff, nice rooms, nice service and great breakfast. Will be staying always hear when near Düsseldorf Airport.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    7.5
    Decent hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet was not as terrible as some of the reviews, but it was definitely not great. I was unable to connect my laptop two of the nights, but for some reason could connect an iPhone and iPad. I do not think it would be great if I had to work from the hotel, but for my purposes, it was fine.

    This hotel is located within a 3 min walk to the International School. There is a cute village within 10 min walk, with some very good restaurants, grocery, and cute shops. The hotel room was a single room, and was a decent size- good bathroom, comfortable bed, mini- fridge- definitely not a 5 star hotel, but a good hotel, with a good breakfast and a pleasant, helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Definitely recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are always problems with wifi in hotels, they just don't seem to be reliable.

    Super kind staff, comfortable facilities, excellent tasty breakfast with many choices, good location, nice river walk to the high street with many nice cafes and restaurants, excellent recommendations from staff, free upgrade to a bigger room, which was really spacious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Best airport hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff and location! Best airport hotel ever!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    The staff was extra friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extra friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old and unpleasant smell in bathroom and the room

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    4.6
    Overall extremely disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single duvet on a double bed, one pillow supplied had to ask for a second pillow. Overall extremely disappointing.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.7
    der Late check out
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    der Late check out

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.8
    It was very quiet, great for people who don’t like crowds.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no food available in the evening. You have to go out to a restaurant if you want to eat.

    It’s very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    quite disctrict.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    quite disctrict. not far from messe

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Great staff, great facilities, great breakfast - but really small room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.7
    Coffee needs to be better quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee needs to be better quality.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel, easy access to the city center by metro.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nice hotel, easy access to the city center by metro. Acceptable price during fair days.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice breakfast, nice staff, good location and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice breakfast, nice staff, good location and good connection to th city train/metro.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Just what we wanted to visit my son and family nearby
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A little more sound proofing against aircraft noise.

    The location, the staff, the food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    nice
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    every things on the room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel for business stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice and helpful staff. Very good location If you have business out of Dusseldorf . Five minutes from the airport.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    8.8
    excellent place to stay near DUS airport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very helpful reception staff easy wifi registration

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    8.8
    Definitely better than most airport hotels
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi didn't work.

    Location is very nice, quiet, and convenient to nice places to eat. Excellent rate.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    5.4
    fairly near airport but only worth the money if you have a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    highly overpriced

    fairly near airport but only worth the money if you have a car. otherwise spend the extra on a hotel in the airport precinct

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.2
    Friendly Hotel stategic position to Messe Congress center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price

    very friendly reception, feeling like a home

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    7.5
    Light and shade
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels are not acceptable! Most of them had been old and rotten

    Good Price - large room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    10
    I drove around the area looking for somewhere safe to park...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Having to pay for wifi these days but it appears to be a German thing. No restaurant in hotel but an incredible Italian about 500m away.

    I drove around the area looking for somewhere safe to park my van. Barbarossa has a safe car park. From the moment of being welcomed by the gentleman at reception to checking out after breakfast the staff were excellent. Nice place to stay

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    8.8
    Peaceful lovely place for those who have late night ...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Peaceful lovely place for those who have late night arrival or early morning departure - the hotel is very close to the airport. Receptionists are very friendly and helpful. Would definitely come again.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    8.3
    The staff was very helpful and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very basic minibar content - some more softdrinks and milk chocolate would be great!

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Great to have free parking ( not so usual in Dusseldorf).

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    8.3
    Nice area within walking distance of train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WiFi didn't reach the 3rd floor. The heating was out in our room, but they happily moved us to a new room.

    Nice area within walking distance of train. Staff helped with directions and restaurant recommendations. They even made the reservation for us at the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.6
    Very nice staff- receptionist was very polite- as has had...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing:)

    Very nice staff- receptionist was very polite- as has had some problems with my invoice I've got free beer:) only 5 minutes by car to airport Very clean room Very good solution for one night if you fly from Duesseldorf And the price was really very good

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    7.1
    good location to airport and nice large rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It does not have a restaurant in the hotel. Had trouble getting wifi with the first code they gave me so had to ask for another, that worked fine.

    good location to airport and nice large rooms.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    Wonderful greeting from the man at the desk!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I actually wanted to cancel this hotel because we had had a very long travel day and I just wanted to stop and stay near Bremen. But, the booking conditions were strict and I did not want to just throw away all of that money. So we drove through heavy rain and then impending darkness to reach the hotel after a brutal travel day. What did I learn from this? Never, ever book a room again through booking.com that does not allow one to cancel for good reason prior to 1800. All in all we enjoyed our stay. I am just glad we didn't have a car crash due to exhaustion.

    Wonderful greeting from the man at the desk! I was tired after a very long journey and he just made our arrival so nice, making a reservation for us at a nearby restaurant and helping with luggage and getting to the room. A real gentle man and a highlight of our trip.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    8.3
    very helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    wi fi reception was not good

    very helpful staff. I did not like the first room as it was to the front of the hotel and I had booked a room to the back. No problem to change the room to the back

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    Fantastic room, clean with all the goodies in the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we arrived the elderly gentleman hardly spoke English, so we were given no information. No details in the room. And no English translation about anything. Wifi didn't work.

    Fantastic room, clean with all the goodies in the bathroom. Lovely breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    8.8
    It is easy to walk to the nearby town for great restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wish WiFi worked in rooms. It works in the hallway so se didn't need to go downstairs every time.

    It is easy to walk to the nearby town for great restaurants and shopping and close to tram stop to go downtown. Super clean and fresh, large selection for breakfast. The beds are harder than most Americans are used to but we always sleep well on them. This is my second time staying at the hotel and will stay again.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    7.9
    quick walk to a bus and tram stop, 10 min walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    near a busy road, thus can be noisy during the night if you have the window open

    quick walk to a bus and tram stop, 10 min walk to kaiserswerth, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.6
    Location for where we needed to be and friendly, efficient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows are too soft and only one is given

    Location for where we needed to be and friendly, efficient check in. Clean, comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    7.1
    clean and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was not going to the fair , so most of my appointments were near Dusseldorf Hauptbahnhof ( Central Dusseldorf )

    clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    8.8
    very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very friendly and helpful staff. nice quiet room out the back.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    7.5
    Very good breakfast and locality.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very good breakfast and locality. Walking distance to the great restaurant "Coco and Clay". Enough of parking lots.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    9.6
    Warm welcome, friendly staff, good facilities, good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only one pillow

    Warm welcome, friendly staff, good facilities, good location, quiet.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    9.2
    Friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small room Overall interior of the hotel

    Friendly staff Excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    9.6
    Staff was very welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff was very welcoming and helpful. Room was clean and practical.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly staff, location close to where I need to be,...
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi is not free

    Very friendly staff, location close to where I need to be, clean, big rooms with facilities

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    10
    Excellent location , friendly staff , clean , free &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent location , friendly staff , clean , free & safe parking

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff and they spoke English perfectly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly staff and they spoke English perfectly

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    10
    Amazing bike rides around the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing bike rides around the area.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    10
    Friendliness of hotel staff, excellent breakfast,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendliness of hotel staff, excellent breakfast, quiet location

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    10
    Staff, Lolcation, Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air Cond not working & room was very hot

    Staff, Lolcation, Room

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    8.3
    Easy walking distance to Kaiserwerther village and close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy walking distance to Kaiserwerther village and close to our sons school and transport

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly staff and excellent breakfast, my favorite...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff and excellent breakfast, my favorite hotel in the Kaiserswerth area of Duesseldorf

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    8.3
    no free wlan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no free wlan

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    8.8
    Friendly personnel and good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    available parking place were limited

    Friendly personnel and good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No sport facilities for a 4 star hotel.

    Very friendly staff. Close to the highway and 5 km to the airport

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    10
    The staff, location and being treated like I was a regular...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    None it was perfect

    The staff, location and being treated like I was a regular customer even though it was the first time I stayed there.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    9.2
    Excellent location for the Messe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location for the Messe. Tram stop a few minutes walk away. Friendly staff, good breakfast. Will stay there again next year.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    10
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room lighting could be brighter.

    Location was good. Bathroom was good. Room was very nice.

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Guests also reviewed these properties: