Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Baseler Hof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Esplanade 11, Hamburg Neustadt, 20354 Hamburg, Germany

#73 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2607 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Room 327
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room (smallest bathroom ever!). If they give you room number 327, just ask them to change your room.

    Cleanliness, very kind staff, central location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel, at a superbly central location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window offered very limited view.

    Nice hotel, at a superbly central location. Cute room, with a small library and good bed. Friendly staff, overall great experience, will stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Friendly atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The big street is quite noisy and you hear the traffic even with closed windows. The style is a bit old-fashioned (but cosy).

    The staff was very friendly and pleasant. There is a lot of light and the atmoshere is pleasant. Rooms are proper and functional, matrasses comfortable. We received a free ticket for the public transport of the city for the entire stay. The location is excellent in the heart of the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi connection wasn’t good

    Excellent central location. just a few meters away from bus and metro stations. The neighborhood is good Alster lake was at the corner of the hotel to take a nice walk The hotel was very clean and the staff was nice,polite and helpful Nice room with a small balcony and a comfortable bed and bathroom Free tickets for public transportation isa bonus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    I am very satisfied with my choose to stay there.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is situated in very good place, at walking distance to the city center. My room was calm, noise free, bed was very comfy. The personnel very professional, friendly and helpful, breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was not working properly. Kept switching either to very hot or very cold every10 seconds. Stayed 3 days and 2 nights, problem was not solved had to shower with cold water.

    Close to underground station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    A comfortable and welcoming base for exploring Hamburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and helpful and the free public transport tickets, valid for our 2 night stay, were a great perk. The food and drink at the wine bar and at the buffet breakfast was very good and although the hotel was busy, the room was peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    Something went wrong in my booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Something went wrong in my booking. I had expected to book 2 adults in a double room, but one was booked as a guest. It meant that breakfast for one person was not included in the price. The bedside was very small and neither was it up to 2. Overall, the stay was more expensive and less comfortable than expected.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable 4* on great location
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steam bath advertised on booking com but out of order for a long period of time

    Top central location, nice neighborhood. Superior room spacious, has everything you need. Small details like enough space in cabinets, many hangers, socets next to bed, minibar, safe deposit box.. Possibility to smoke on small balcony. Nice bathroom too. Hotel provides free ticket for public transport and U Bahn station, with connection towards the Airport, is just few steps away. Staff polite and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    3-day public transport card
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room temperature was too high, 22 degrees Celcius, also throughout the day, when we weren't even there. We felt that was a waste of energy. Nights were too warm.

    3-day public transport card

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.0
    Asked for quiet room , but rooms was close to elevaator.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked for quiet room , but rooms was close to elevaator. Arriving late 1.00 am and hearing elevaator from 6.am continously working left my sleep too short. Bed was too soft , i have pain in my back now 4 days after leaving hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    good short-term solution!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom was quite tiny and in general the hotel could use a "fresh-up"; old-looking interior

    amazing location right around the corner of the lake & very close to major connection hubs (Dammtor station, Gänstemarkt, Stephansplatz metro, and various busses) Cozy little room and very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Great place- definite recommendation! We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only one thing which was a bit annoying were the two single beds- knowing the helpful staff, probably should have just asked them to change it :)

    Great location, fantastic and helpful people, excellent food! Baseler Hof turned out to be a fantastic hotel (much more than I expected, to be honest). We were met by extremely helpful staff always with a smile on their face! The hotel is located right on the corner of Esplanade- 10 mins walking from the Central train station. The hotel has a very nice and cozy restaurant with excellent food. The vegetarian selection, though limited to 3 things, was delicious. There is a Hop-on, Hop-Of bus stop exactly outside the hotel which is very convenient. Lots of bars and restaurants around in the area if you don't want to eat at the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.1
    A great hotel in a nice location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was cramped and the direction of the shower head couldn't be adjusted properly.

    Lovely decor, very friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    Good location, good breakfast, nice lobby, clean.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Once again the room description and reality did not match. The room was book weeks before arrival and still instead of 23 sqm superior room we got a small basic room with windows facing to brick wall. Hotel informed that the room was classified as "Superior" although most hotels would call it as "standard". You get better hotels in Hamburg with the same or less money.

    Good location, good breakfast, nice lobby, clean. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.4
    Central and decently clean but don't expect anything more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff: The staff wasn't very friendly. We were greeted on arrival, after a long train ride with a cold, smile-free interaction at check-in. Room: We had a double room, facing the inner patio. The problem is that the hotel seems to have built a roof over that patio, consisting of a huge metal structure. Our window was completely obstructed by this huge, ugly, metal construction. If we looked out of the window we could see nothing but metal, which is why we opted for keeping our curtains closed during the whole stay. Comfort: There was a VERY irritating, repetitive noise during the WHOLE night. My and my partner it thought it might be some sort of vibration inside the wall (maybe related to the heating system?) but we can't tell for sure. What we can say is that this torture-like "clac... clac... clac... clac..." meant we couldn't rest properly.

    The location is great, very close to the central train station and the city center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had an upgrade this week to a double room. Excellent. See my last week‘s review for more information. I love this hotel and the location. It it more than worth its price. The only reason I will not be staying here often (I currently work in Hamburg and stay in a hotel every week) is because I don’t need the quality and comfort this hotel offers and there’s a far cheaper hotel just around the corner. And since I have to pay for my hotel myself......

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice 4* hotel on great location
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of significance.

    Great central location, walking distance to many atractions, for reaching other (and the airport) subway is just few meters away from the hotel. Nice neighborhood as well. Hotel provides free ticket for public transport. Room was spacious enough, beds comfy, minibar, safe deposit box, everything you need. Bathroom ok. Small balcony good for smokers. Wifi perfect. Nice sauna area. Staff very kind, helpful and competent. All together, very decent 4* hotel, good value for money, to reccommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location for Xmas markets, staff very informative and friendly😁
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woke up on the first morning with slight back ache from the bed but didn't have any problems after that so my back must have adjusted but could be uncomfortable if you suffer with a bad back. Room slightly smaller than the average Hotel twin room but was big enough for us as we weren't in it very much anyway!

    Friendly and informative staff. Great location for Xmas markets and the very picturesque Alster Lake which were both just around the corner. Near to bus stop which takes about 15 minutes to the port and a 10 minute walk to the metro.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely great hotel in a perfect location at a moderate price for the quality offered.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Any criticism about this hotel is, as the Germans say, complaining on a very high level. But of course there’s always (minor) room for improvement. The area around the wash basin in the bathroom, as well as the shower (which is in the bathtub) will hardly let you shave or shower without getting the floor wet.

    Excellent hotel with beautiful rooms and little extras that just make it complete. For example, there is not just a hook on the wall in the entrance to hang your overcoat on, but there is also a coat hanger on it. Or the cardboard running shoe hanging in the entrance with recommendations for a couple of routes if you want to go jogging. No cheap furniture in this room, everything is solid quality, from the corner cupboard (with a water cooker and tea and coffee) to the wardrobe.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    Location and free travel pass
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Satisfactory hotel in good, central location. On the downside, our room was very noisy as there were works being done outside. This could be heard clearly in the room. Unfortunately, the receptionist said the hotel was full. Notification should have been given on their website before booking.

    Location and free travel pass

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    We would stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom smelled a little moldy. Breakfast just okay.

    Great location (near Bahnhof Dammtor and Opera). Rooms small but cozy. Bed comfortable. Everything very clean and modern.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.3
    Good choice for a stay in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though we had "superior rooms" the bathrooms where rather tiny and had a strange combination of half a bathtube with a shower. Too short to take a bath if you're not a dwarf, but to use the shower you have to climb into the thing. Certainly not suited for elderly people. Rooms generally have no view worth mentioning. Wifi was good in the lobby but very shaky in the rooms, no chance to use it for work that requires steady connection there.

    Most central location. Spacious lounge/lobby with a very well sorted bar. Breakfast offers just about everything including crepes or eggs made to order and champagne, the price is very high though. We got free three day tickets for the public transport throughout the town. Free wifi throughout the house.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.8
    The room was small but very nice and comfortable, great bed.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small but very nice and comfortable, great bed. Location of the property is superb, the Alster is within 10min walking distance, Dammtor railway station 5min and the underground just 2 minutes away. Midweek excellent value for money. Generally a quiet hotel. One can only recommend this place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.3
    Very good location in City center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hard parking - if you come in car, try the area north of Dammtor a bit pricey compared to prestation

    Very good location in City center Nice personnal Standard German high quality

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Would gladly come back to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Perfect location. Close to S-Bahn and U-Bahn. Good breakfast. Possibility to regulate the heat in the room. The room was quiet. Good service. Tea kettle in the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.7
    If it wasn't for the location we would pick another place for the next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There seems to be a variable Interpretation of a superior room. The managemnt wasn't exactly firendly when we complained about the room. Rooms facing the courtyard should be avoided. Very small bathrooms. Though the bar has a wide spectrum of drinks, the staff had no clue what is actually available and how to prepare even simple Drinks.

    Central Location. Clean and friendly staff other than the Management. Excellent breakfst buffet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    100% worth a visit Highly Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely loved Hamburg. The location of the Hotel is a 10/10 all on its own The train system which is second to none brought you anywhere around Hamburg very promptly. The eateries in the area were great and keenly priced. Great shopping locally! no negative comments about Baseler Hof !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    A very happy stay, very comfortable with great staff and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, it's not a super designed place, but very comfortable.

    The location is great. Comfortable bed, nice bath, clean and lovely helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel with perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could smell making of morning bacon in the room

    Nice hotel not new but renovated room had all you need and even coffie and tee for free in the room Perfekt location Good breakfeast I would very much like to stay there again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    A great hotel in central Hamburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit small.

    Centrally located, clean hotel with attentive and friendly staff. The free three-day public transport travel pass is a great addition.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    5.4
    The hotel location is good and hotel room and facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard
    • Stayed 1 night

    My issues were with the service. The staff were not friendly and not very helpful. House keeping come into your room without knocking too which was very uncomfortable. There was also a small step in the room I hurt my foot on a couple of times. Also someone walked into our room early in the morning - I am pretty sure it was another guest which is worrying for our security. The service definitely needs improving. A smile once in a while from the ladies at reception wouldn't hurt!! But otherwise the hotel was alright...

    The hotel location is good and hotel room and facilities were fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent services by the receptionists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard
    • Stayed 1 night

    N.a.

    Excellent services by the receptionists. The hotel offered free tickets for public transport in Hamburg, which is very nice and conveninent to us. The hotel is in the heart of Hamburg and right next to the beautiful lake, excellent location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.9
    For the most part a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar lounge service was very slow. We waited at least 40 minutes just to get one drink. The evening bartender was not very friendly.

    The location was great. Reception very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    I was very comfortable at the Baseler Hof subs would definitely g
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit tricky to get in and out of because of space limitations so that the shower doors couldn't fully open.

    The room was small (as I expected, so no surprise!) but perfectly well-equipped, including a commode with shelves and many hangers (rare!) and also had an unexpected balcony with a table, two chairs, geraniums, and a view of the Alster lake! The staff was really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Ideal venue for our stay in Hamburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central, staff very friendly and helpful. The steak in the restaurant was excellent. The waiters were very patient with our group who couln’t make up their minds what to have, and gave us an excellent choice of wines. Great lounge area for us all to sit and chat and catch up as we were here from all over the world for a school reunion. Very and comfortable and good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    A Perfect Place to Stay in Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was outstanding. Very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was perfect for sightseeing. Most everything was within walking distance, but if you didn't want to walk, the hotel offered a 3 day public transportation pass at no charge. The food was very good and the morning breakfast buffet was quite good as well. There are numerous cafes and bars in the local area, so there is no lack of choice in the area. This is the perfect place to stay in Hamburg in our opinion.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay in Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small.

    Excellent location, helpful staff and nice surroundings.Lovely building. Room was spotlessly clean.Nice walk to shops and river. Close to train stations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    My stay in Amburgo
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a little cold

    Good location in quiet neighborhood and easily to achieve by using public transport. Reception staff very polite and helpful. Subscription for free public transport (3 days) included in the price. Recommended hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    The Baseler Hof was located perfectly, near the train and bus stops but also easy walking to sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prohibit smoking from the hotel entrance. 😒

    Excellent shower: temperature of the water and force of the shower. Very friendly and helpful reception staff!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    4.6
    Overall Average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel isnt a four star at all, they seem to have accommodated for every item in the room just to be able to tick the checklist to qualify as a four star. So please bear that in mind when making a choice baded on speculative ratings. On a more specific note, the Reception manager at the hotel was extremely impolite to me over the intercom, although later apologized citing a case of misunderstanding. Quite annoying in general. Would rate overall staff as strictly average.

    The hotel provides complimentary travel pass for three days.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My husband was competing in Ironman Hamburg and they provide a safe room for a bike and an early breakfast (at 4 am) for the competitors. Our room was very big (children 10 and 7 years old) with a kettle for water, coffee and tea (for free). Beds are comfortable, TV with many programs, too many towels :) and very nice shampoo. Breakfast was excellent and one day we had waffles and pancakes. The staff is very kind and understanding. We parked our car in the nearby car-park and it was 99 euros for 4 nights. The hotel also provides a free pass for public transport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    Pillows notwithstanding, I'd stay there again...!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were such that I wouldn't have had at home. ridiculously thin and uncomfortable. Why don't hotels give a choice of firmer pillows ? Also, why do hotels in Germany (and it seems to be a German "thing") insist on plasticised mattress covers which I promptly removed. If you don't, you run the danger of waking in the middle of the night with a damp back and disrupted sleep.

    The hotel is very good with nice staff, comfortable rooms and a convenient sauna suite in the basement. Nice breakfast with attentive staff. Very close to Stephansplatz U-Bahn station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    Cozy and convenient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little slow elevator.

    Not so new or looks new, but well managed and cleaned room and comfortable bed. Didn't feel anything as Excellent, but any goes more than Good. Location is good for public transportation, thus convenient as a base for various destinations in Hamburg city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.9
    good and bad news
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The saggy beds. Second night a plank of wood gave a little release. The room was under the roof with very little space (bathroom excluded)

    Good check in and out, housekeeping friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an older hotel. A lot of wood in the room that looks old or more or less cheap. But if you don't care how the room looks like it is just fine

    The location is great. Easy to walk everywhere. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. Good for a short trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.9
    Hamburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning. So when you open the window at night, its not too quiet.

    Nice hotel for a solo traveler. Breakfast was very good. Very close to the center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of the breakfast

    The staff was very kind, we arrived earlier but they gave us the room because it was already cleaned. They stored the lagguage the last day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Convenient, central and accessible.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well, as my part of the hotel was facing the road, it can be rather noisy with vehicular traffic in the day and the partygoers at night from the pubs below. But, one gets used to it after a while.

    The codfish dinner that i ordered for room service was fantastic. The room is also generously spacious and charmingly decorated as well

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Excellent - will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Easy to find location, spotlessly clean room, which was fitted with everything I needed. But what really made this place was the service. They remembered who I was, my room number, gave me a three day free ticket for public transport (which included going to the airport), and when I left they gave me the best route to reach my next destination.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Good location, clean room, early check in, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive breakfast.

    Good location, clean room, early check in, friendly staff. We got three days public transport pass, which we really appreciate. There is a kettle in the room with tea and coffee varieties.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in great central location next to Stephanplatz underground station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping knocking on our door at 8.30am on day of departure and knocking at 10am and just walking straight in. I told reception who said they can be a bit keen and she would inform housekeeping manager, she agreed it wasn't acceptable.

    Reception staff very friendly and helpful Room was very spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.9
    The location is good, near Hamburg Dammtor Station.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were too soft and you need to always login whenever you want to connect to internet

    The location is good, near Hamburg Dammtor Station. I stayed in the big superior room with two seater sofa and big wardrobe. The reception and house-keeping staff were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negative, had a very pleasant stay.

    Beautiful little hotel in a great location, about 10 minutes walk to the Rathaus and the shopping areas; staff was very helpful, they even found a phone charger for me; the hotel has lots of charm, rooms are nice and clean and the bed was very comfortable. Also there are good eating places around.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    8.8
    Small rooms and a little outdated but very clean. great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms a bit small and a bit older furniture, small bath room

    Nice bar, great location, rooms a bit small and a bit older furniture, small bath room. For the money still great value. All clean and neat and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.5
    The room was on a top floor, bright and sunny.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no access to an iron in the room. I had to go all the way to the cellar. Access to the room at the back of the hotel was through a run-down looking corridor.

    The room was on a top floor, bright and sunny. The decor in pastel shades of blue and white was pleasant. Also there was a small balcony.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.1
    Good central lovation, clean and nice.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two rooms - both were entered without knocking while we was sleeping by some personal staff! Happened one more time in the morning. Unprofessional! Expensive parking in private parking house 500 mtr's away.

    Good central lovation, clean and nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    9.2
    Though close to everything you might just stay at the hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Crowdy at breakfast, but well managed, so, well, no real complaints.

    Though close to everything you might just stay at the hotel, with its fine restaurant, a winebar on location. They have even managed to turn their lobby into a cozy lounge bar. Nice place. Excellent staff, as well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    8.8
    One of the reasons for choosing the hotel was that they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The temperature in the bathroom was a bit too high -- even with the heater completely off!

    One of the reasons for choosing the hotel was that they offer you a *free* 3-day pass for public transportation when checking in. We were impressed by the hotel lobby, which was very nicely decorated. The room was very cosy; it made you feel like home and the heating worked well. The staff was friendly and quick to help out with advice (e.g., for places to eat). The location is also great: a few steps away from a metro station (U1, Stephansplatz) and a few minutes' walk from the Alster lake and various shopping and dining opportunities.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.2
    Good modern hotel in excellent position
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a little too small and I'd have prefered a large shower instead of a tiny bath and show. Bath too small for use as bath and difficult to get in.

    This is a very nice modern and clean hotel with very helpful staff and good facilities in the middle of Hamburg.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    4.6
    Too Expensive - Low quality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is not at all confortable; the rooms are old fashioned! WiFi connection was not working at all! The guy in the reception is not so friendly!

    Breakfast was good!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    10
    First time I slept like a dream in a hotel bed from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First time I slept like a dream in a hotel bed from the first night. Very, very central location and close-by to public transport (to the airport). Upon arrival, you get a free card for public transport for three days

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is fantastic - you are right next to a shopping district, and at the time I went, there was a Christmas market. You are also around a 20 minute walk to the Reeperbahn.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.6
    Within a walking distance to the central station, city hall,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They only had body/hair wash. No shampoo, conditioner and body cream.

    Within a walking distance to the central station, city hall, etc. The staff were very nice and they gave us a free day public transport pass.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.3
    Great overall, but lacking in the details
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The door lock at the hotel's entrance was very erratic. The WiFi was unstable, using a VPN worked around these issues. One night, the hotel's phone started to beep in 10min-intervals, interrupting my sleep. The pillow is very flat. The breakfast is far too expensive, you can get something for less than half as much at the shops in the area.

    Very clean, great bathroom, plenty of power sockets, good restaurants in the area, three day ticket for public transport included

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    10
    Excellent value for money and quality.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard
    • Stayed 1 night

    The maid came in the morning in my room at 9 and 10 o'clock in the morning. Although I was still asleep. (Departure from the room at 11 am.).

    1) The friendly staff helps. 2) Excellent location in the city center. 3) The room has everything you need.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    7.9
    The place had a very loverly atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small and there is very limited space to put two suitcases in the room.

    The place had a very loverly atmosphere. The rooms were small and intimate with a lot of furnishings.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.6
    GREAT LOCATION FOR CHRISTMAS MARKETS
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular

    Excellent location, allowing us a great stay for our Christmas market experience. Breakfast is really good and until 11AM. They offered us free public transportation passes, which were highly appreciated during our visit to the Beatles memorabilia and the miniature wonderland.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    10
    Want to stay at home with friends? Stay here.... That whats this place is a 2nd home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior
    • Stayed 1 night

    Im sorry to say nothing is wrong, except that you are all now seeing this great review!! And I cant get another booking because its full of you lot reading this :(

    I dont normally give anything more than a 5-6 in any type of rating... So how can I explain my high score!? How can I rate the staff... IF the hotel was a DUMP..... WHICH it is NOT.... the staff alone would want you to make another booking. Made the mistake of only putting in 1 night instead 2. Not a problem to them..Sorted me out right away. NOTE TO SELF AND YOU LOT... If you need car parking in their garage... Drop them an email directly to boot a slot....DONT use the old comments box :( :( Depending upon the room YOU choose. Basic - Superior theres a lot of difference between the 2. The basic room, has a double bed, sofa bed. etc.... Bathroom a bit small...BUT don't forget you sleeping and washing there....Not throwing a party in the room..... The superior room is spacious, large double bed, etc, etc, etc... FOLKS its a room.... Are you coming to stay in you're room for a holiday or are you coming to the town! Food is good. Wifi I found accessible in most parts of the hotel. The staff here are great, out of the world...In the end i stayed inside a BUILDING.....BUT the STAFF make the stay worthwhile. How many times can you say that a member from reception actually remembers you... apart from the info that you stayed before. It happens here. that goes along way with me :) Put you're hand into your pocket and stay here. you will want to come back. again and again I can't wait until my next stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    8.3
    Room was spacious and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were very, very soft and I started to experience some problems with my neck. Our friends complaint about the same.

    Room was spacious and very clean. Old hotel, but maintained very well and on a very good location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.9
    Perfect place to stay to visit the Christmas Markets
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are compact but have everything you need for a short stay. Would be good to also supply stil Water & milk for tea & coffee

    Very central location & in easy walking distance of centre. Nice bar area to meet up in. Always busy at breakfast as you would expect.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    A lovely hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location within easy walking distance of everything. Superb choice available for breakfast and very helpful staff. They even brought kids' slippers for our son - a lovely little touch that made his day!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    10
    Would gladly come back to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Perfect location. Close to S-Bahn and U-Bahn. Good breakfast. Possibility to regulate the heat in the room. The room was quiet. Good service. Tea kettle in the room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    7.1
    The front desk staff were really extraordinary nice helpful...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the room Smell of the food everywhere ( wish it was only coffee smell )

    The front desk staff were really extraordinary nice helpful and smiley all the time They were always welling to help with our enquiries about new locations n hamburg

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    7.5
    Nice stay in Hamburg, but bathroom could have been cleaner.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was not very clean. Lots of pubic hairs under the toilet... We rented 5 rooms, and it was like that in the other rooms too...

    Near city centre. Nice hotel, with nice staff. Good breakfast, and parking nearby.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Baseler Hof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: