Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Baxpax Downtown Hostel/Hotel

Ziegelstr. 28, Mitte, 10117 Berlin, Germany

#325 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 3715 hostel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    6.7
    More of a hostel than a hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower had no hose with a shower handle, instead it was just a short pipe coming out from the wall. It also had one of the mechanisms you need to push constantly to keep the water going which was a bit annoying. The radiator in the bathroom was also really rusty. There was no change of towels during the 4-night stay. The pillow and cover were synthetic.

    The location was great, the staff was nice and the room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    7.9
    The room was small but comfortable and everything was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was really hot in the room and there was no air conditioning so we slept bad if we wanted to open the window it was very noisy as there were people from the bar in the yard talking loud (at night and also in the morning)

    The room was small but comfortable and everything was very clean, the situation of the hostel is excellent you can go walking to Friederichstrasse, it is really in down town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    9.2
    My favorite hostel in Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 5-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My favorite hostel in Berlin. But few letdowns hope they read it and take a note. First the password for WiFi changes every day and the only place to get it is downstairs, it’s a bit time consuming to go downstairs every day for the reason of getting new password, if it’s for security measures changing it once a week would’ve been as efficient and would make things easier for travelers. And second it would only cost $2 to put some kind of soap in the toilets, especially since toilets are not in the room, so carrying your own soap every time you need to use one is quite annoying. I think hostel shouldn’t economize on soap if it wants guests to enjoy basic hygiene.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    10
    We were in a double room with private bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were in a double room with private bathroom. The room was very clean and comfortable, the staff very kind...but the best thing is the position! It’s in the Centre of the city and has easy access to the U-bahn, S-bahn, and the tram! I really recommend it!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    7.5
    Affordable accommodation within a short walk of the river, many attractions, bars and eating places
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The roof top space was not actually open most of the time, although there was reference to barbeques taking place there on Friday nights. There were signs for a sauna and a gymn, but they do not seem to be functioning.

    The location is excellent within easy walking distance of many attractions. The bar and relaxation areas are also a good place to relax with a Happy Hour from 6 to 9 for long drinks. The rooms are a place to sleep, so people should just expect basic facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    7.9
    The location was great it was clean and staff polite and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I could’nt connect to internet! The error was something like that it reached to maximum users or sth! I cannot remember exactly!

    The location was great it was clean and staff polite and helping

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    5.8
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some confusion with which bed I could take in my dormitory - ended up having to change 3 times of bed in the same day. Nevertheless, a friendly receptionist helped me and always got me fresh be linen. Worst bathroom conditions ever.

    Perfect location. The common areas of the hostel are super nice!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 5-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was about 10-11pm and was in my room thirsty, and took the elevator down and saw that there was a fridge with sodas behind the reception, and I said I wanted to buy a Coke, but one guy was busy unpacking more sodas and said that I couldn't, and there was another guy behind the desk who didn't look busy, he looked at me and then turned back to his computer screen. So I asked some other (nice) guests about the closest minimarket and they happily told me. Never bothered to ask the staff anything more... No towel included, ridiculous to charge me 2.10€, that could as well have been included in the total cost, or they could've at least asked me if I needed a towel at check in. Too few electrical outlets in room. Good thing I brought my own cable with extra outlets.

    Not so far from U-Bahn, minimarket one block away, nice atmosphere in my 5 bed mixed room, nice guests although in my room the party level was high (staff member even came to hush my room mates), elevator, toilet and shower within the room (no need to go out in the corridor). Nice and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, great facilities, great city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    May be the price was a tad bit too high considering that Berlin is not the most expensive city in the world but it was definitely not a ripoff.

    It is a very good hostel with a good lounge and cafeteria. The room was spacious and they cleaned the bed everyday. You can walk in 10-20 minutes to some of the main sites of Berlin. The staff is friendly and co-operative. They have adequate facilities for storing your luggage etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    7.1
    Nice hostel, could do with some updating and better organisation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    bedding, and pillows in particular were really uncomfortable... the receptionist allocated too many people to our dorm on the first night so there were a number of random people coming into the room. The room allocation was quite poorly organised... the shower was very dated, kept having to push the button as the shower didn’t stay on by itself.

    Had a bar in the hostel which was a good Place to socialise. Very well priced drinks, and they had a happy hour. People were friendly and the location was pretty good, a 20/30 min walk to major sites like Brandenburg gate and reichstag building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    7.1
    Berlin, worth visiting and exploring, hostel not really.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be careful for parking - I paid for parking at reception - asked if it is ok to leave the car where i left it and got ticket! the receptionist had argument with me for 10 min one day and 40 next day - really annoying! that spoiled all stay and made me think, never again. There is something wrong with water - one person has normal temperature, next one after you boiling - we burned each other couple of times.

    The location cannot be better!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    8.8
    Nice place; I would recommend to friends and would stay there myself again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Female 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What I found a bit strange was that at breakfast, there was tea,coffee, fruit juices, etc, but no water! I asked the staff and was politely informed I could get some from the nearby restroom. This was quite bizarre, especially at this time of year (June). Why not fill up jugs of water in advance? Also I sent a Facebook message a few days before my stay to ask directions to the hostel from the Hauptbahnhof but got no reply. I found out via the website, but still the lack of communication was disappointing.

    Great location and friendly&helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    Thank you so much!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wow the space to chill around and meet new people is amazing. Everything you need!

    The rooms are very simple and basic but clean and neat. There is a batroom and shower accessible to us in the group rooms. I was in a 6 people bedroom and it was very nice. The staff was super nice no doubt!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    8.8
    Great central location. Definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Female 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was expensive for what you got. You have to log in with a new WiFi code everyday.

    Hangout areas were great. Loads of seats and very comfortable and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    9.2
    Great location, lovely atmosphere with a couple of small adjustments needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was difficult when using the bathroom as the motion sensored would continually turn off, especially when in the shower. A small portable fan would have been nice to have in the room as our window didn’t open far as we were on the the 4th floor. The wifi system was problematic, it wouldn’t let us sign in again so it continued on the old log in which was either slow or didn’t work at all.

    The room was clean and the location was awesome!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    9.2
    Really good location, comfortable and big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We asked for it to be accesible for a handicapped person, and after taking the elevator it had 4 stairs to get to our room. The bathroom was not handicap adapted, and really uncomfortable for everyone, because you needed to be sitting down to take a shower... breakfast not so good if you payed all you can eat and it didn’t include even a glass of water.

    Really good location, comfortable and big. Good value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    8.3
    Rooms were getting sunlight inside with big big windows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The internet connection was not so good but it was okay.

    Rooms were getting sunlight inside with big big windows. The room was large. Toilet and bathroom was seperated into 2 parts, i liked that. The staff is nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 16-24 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds in dorm were very noisy. Reserved towels on booking but was told at check-in I had not. After checking my booking I had already paid for towels.

    Location was key, central to everything. Very relaxing place with excellent staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    5.0
    Not so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 16-24 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -No shampoo in the shower -stuff not so kind -You have to pay sheets and towel (4,80€ both) -you can bring your own lock for the locker, otherwise you have to pay 2,90€ to buy one there (I didn't know I could bring mine, the one I bought was broken and everyone could open it without keys) -30 bed dorm stinks always -roof top relax area was always closed -no air dryer in the bathroom

    -Nice couch where you can socialize -30 bed dorm cool to meet lot of people -nice place with near bus/tram stop

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    9.2
    Best hostel around town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perhaps more bathrooms for bigger rooms could improve the stay. Only one bathroom for a 5 person room is quite short.

    The location is very good, near the city center, the rooms were clean and comfortable, staff was very nice and the ambience around the hostel was quite nice. Definitely a bargain and the best hostel around town for the price you pay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    5.4
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No power points by the top bunks to charge phones, in my room there was 8 beds and 6 lockers with no locks to lock away your stuff. Bathrooms open directly on the bedrooms which is a little awkward.

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    8.3
    A good place on a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 5-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The doors on the lockers in the luggage room could be fixed. Many of them are broken and I also saw how one door fell on a girl's leg and hurt her. The rooms were very hot all day long, but surprisingly I didn't have problems with sleeping. Also, why aren't there liquid soaps and paper towels in private toilets (or at least a dyson hand dryer 'cuz they're more ecological than paper towels)? A regular soap and a normal towel aren't very hygienic.

    The location is just great! A few minutes walking distance from Hackescher Markt Station and Friedrichstraße Station, and of course from the Cathedral and Alexanderplatz. Staff was very helpful and friendly, toilet was clean, beds were comfortable, Wi-Fi worked good everywhere. The have a separate luggage room, so when you have to check out and stay a few more hours in Berlin, you can leave your stuff there worry-free. There are also big lockers in every room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    9.6
    Good location, Nice staff, Troublesome Shower room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only one shower room in each floor, need to wait for long time to wash. Hot water is not stable at all, sometimes it suddenly drop to cold. Berlin is hot and they don't have fans, they got windows but doesn't help much. No curtain for the beds, sometimes disturbed by others (early checkouts)

    Location, very close to metro and all kinds of transport. Bed is comfortable. Staff supper nice and they recommend me good local restaurants with good value of money. Chill lobby, they have luggage storage service but I didn't make use of it. THEY HAVE LIFT !! So its not a problem with heavy suitcase and access to the third floor. They have hairdryers in shower rooms - that's nice, no need to borrow from the reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    10
    Great stay at Baxpax downtown hostel/hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't have a shared kitchen to cook in.

    The room was pretty big, the location is close to various metro stations and they provided storage for your luggage, if needed, before check-in and after check-out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.9
    Pretty decent for a one-night stay and solo travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Female 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You had to prepare your bed and had no soap. I mean, it could be ok to have to buy it if you live alone but if you are 6 people in the room what are you supposed to do? No locker rooms in the room either and the plugs were not easily accesible and too few. Lastly, the water was stoping every like 10 seconds and you had to press again, something really disturbing.

    It was in a great location not too close to the center and not too far. For a vegan like me the super market with vegan products was close, too, exactly as the train station. The stuff was friendly and the louge was pretty cool and the food provided had resonable prices. Bar included in the facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    6.7
    Overall it was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I asked for a private room with private bathroom. I received an incredibly tiny room with a bathroom that was accessible from outside the room. Yes, the bathroom was indeed private, but you had to get out of the room with your key to access it. The shower though had direct access from the room. Very uncomfortable thing. It would have been fair if I knew this aspect at the time of booking. Another thing was the rooftop bar. It was the main reason I didn't cancel the reservation. Unfortunatelly, it was CLOSED (until Friday). I didn't stay that long, so I couldn't access it. Not fair.

    The location! Excellent central location. Walking distance to Brandenburg Gate or Alexanderplatz.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    3.8
    Centric but expensive and overrated.
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The French Receptionist ... He is an unpleasant guy and without the greatest intention of giving you help and not even a smile. the others are super nice and speak English very well :D .. How is it possible to change the Wi-Fi password every 1 day? I understand that it is to decongest the network, but I think that 1 day is very little. The cleanliness of the room was poorly done, in addition to the bathrooms ... cleaning did not take more than 5 minutes per room. Unfortunately the people in our room did not respect the basic rules of coexistence, so the experience was unpleasant. - THEY Doesn't have KITCHEN or something to warm the food or keep it. - You have to pay for all items additionally (towels, wardrobe)

    The ubication and the lounge space it's the only thing i can recognize.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    7.9
    Not the best, but good for its value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 16-24 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I lived in the basement, and I could not connect to the wifi. The internet is not so strong there! Also, the basement room could be a bit stuffy and dark, but overall it's ok. However, I guess the bedsheets are not very clean, I got rashes and itches!

    The bathrooms and toilets are really clean and nice. Living in a huge dormitory, I never had to queue up for them. The location is brilliant, walking distance to most of the major spots around town. There are also restaurants nearby who are cheap and tasty!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    9.0
    The location is excellent and the hostel are pretty clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 16-24 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wouldn't really suggest this hostel for solo travelers. There is no vibe and community, I had no chance to meet other travelers. There was also a lot of family staying (I guess in the hotel part) which is fine, but if you are searching for the backpacker-hostel-community experience, then it's probably not the place to be :)

    The location is excellent and the hostel are pretty clean and well-equipped! The staff is also really nice :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    5.4
    Unfortunately service standards declining
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Already outlined

    One electric plug for Eight guests in a room Poor show Staff allowed late drinkers to make a great deal of noise in front of the property so if you have a front room you have no peace or rest I think they should ask guests if the snore and put them in the same room, our room 7 guests suffered five and half hours of very loud and annoying snoring New team do not appear to enjoy their job and guests are an interruption to their day, with two exceptions Music in common areas seems to be a choice of garage or percussion If you book the K Studio do not watch the film Coma before your trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    7.5
    Bad roommates ruined this
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom wasn’t clean, the shower was terrible. The shower shut down automatically every 5 seconds so I had to constantly press a button to keep it going. You had to wear flip flops in there. The room keys didn’t work very well.

    The staff were friendly and spoke English. They lent us umbrellas when it was pouring rain.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location, good also for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was a bit uncomfortable and the table was quite small,

    Fantastic location very close to the museum island and very lively street, and also to U-Bahn and S-Bahn. The room was reasonably comfortable, we were in a 3-people apartment, so we had also a little cooking place where we could cook our dinner. The table was quite small and did not allow us to eat all together (two adults and two small children), but that was not a big problem. The price was also convenient, especially considering the location, which is really nice. The breakfast was ok for the price, it would have been nice to have also juices or at least water included in the buffet price. I feared the place could be noisy for a family, but that was not the case at all, the place was very silent and we could sleep well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was our first time in Berlin and our first time in a backpacker hotel, maybe I’m not familiar with your system, I found weird that soap was not included, price per night is not the cheapest Suggest that you mention people need to bring their own soap, just like you mentioned you charge for lining and towels. Our toilet paper finished, and no one replaced it Floor at the room was very dusty, since the first day we’ve arrived .

    Great location and very friendly staff Good explanation of rules, main attractions, transport. Bar/restaurant area is very nice: they have an indoor patio

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    7.1
    The property was good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the mattresses in the room was very uncomfortable. The Wi-fi was almost non-existent, charged for towels even though should have been included in the price and the room key cards stopped working after 1 day.

    It was very clean, cheap, had a nice communal area with a pool table/foosball/TV/beer, reception open 24h, could leave luggage there after checking out and close to the station/restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    9.6
    My stay was really nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like so much the pillows. They were not so comfortable.Only this i didn't like

    I liked the location of the hostel/hotel and the bedroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    3.3
    Not to recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Female 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds make noises every time somebody turns around - blood on the duvet - unfriendly and not welcoming personnel - not enough plugs - no automatic lights in the doorways

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    10
    Joyful experience!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 16-24 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Some times the door access card does not work. I experienced this in K-Longe.

    The staff at the hostel are very cordial and ready to help you anytime. I like the cleanliness and the house keeping maintenance is very good. Appreciate the entire staff the way they work professionally.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 16-24 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They charge extra for paying by credit card, the wifi is really bad and the shared bedroom is on a really dark and depressing basement, and is shared with 40 people

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    5.0
    Mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The advertised price is not accurate. The additional "Berlin tourist tax" was not mentioned anywhere. No power sockets in each bunk. No curtains for privacy. You have to make your own bed when you arrive. You have to jump through hoops to get WiFi. You don't get a towel. There is no shampoo or shower gel.

    Decent location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    8.8
    great value very modern would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was not available to us for evening meal and roof terrace was unavailable 😞

    Really nice modern hotel stylish but needs t improve on food was told on evening meal they couldn't serve us as they had a big booking. We were really disappointed they should always make sure they can cater for all not just the select few 😞

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    10
    The bed was very comfortable and they took care of there...
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Female 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The bed was very comfortable and they took care of there customers very well. The service was overall excellent and affordable. In addition, the location is superb. I am very satisfied. 😁😁😁

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    7.5
    The cheapest price in Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 16-24 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I stayed in K-studio. A lot of people. Don't have towel. Sometimes card-key isn't work.

    The cheapest price in Berlin. You can leave your language easily in special room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    9.6
    Second time there, would definitely visit again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had a matress with a huge indentation, that could have been a bit better.

    The all over atmosphere, it was really nice being there! Very friendly staff Nice food and drinks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    5.0
    Close to city center and subway.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 16-24 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds re so close to each other. The keys of room are already broken but they said I did it :( too crowded and closterfobic.

    Close to city center and subway.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    6.3
    6/10 experience, probably wouldn’t stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 5-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The elevator was out of order, so a lot of trips up and down the stairs. The bar closed fairly early and the open roof top wasn’t even open.

    It was a good location in relation to downtown and public transportation. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    7.5
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 16-24 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room has more than 30 beds, that means that it's always pretty loud. Regular breakfast for 7 euros. There isn't a kitchen for common uses, a hostel without a kitchen is not a hostel.

    The location is perfect. Close to metro, bus and S train.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    7.1
    Nice budget place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Female 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Every time when you move during sleep, the bed will make some noise, not only my bed but also the other girl's bed

    The location is very good, close to the centre and shopping area, the room is very clean and people will clean it up every day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    7.9
    Cool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 16-24 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was the best thing. Close to train stations Friedrichsteiße, and also right next to the Museum Island. Close to checkpoint Charlie etc also.. The staff were also helpful with 24 hour reception. They also allow you to keep your luggages in the locker even after your checkout until your flight.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    4.6
    Modest room/ Nice area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -The room is overpriced, small and rundown -The bathroom and shower were in poor shape ( no tiles on the floor), rusty and broken shower doors, my shower didn't have warm water - WiFi slow and kept crashing

    Friendly staff Central location within walking distance of museums, nice parks,and restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    9.6
    The most important advantage of baxpax is its location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The most important advantage of baxpax is its location. Everything is in walking distance. Room was clean and spacious, friendly and helpful staff, thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.9
    A great place for a perfect weekend vaca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No soap in the bathrooms, no hand soap, no shower soap. No soap. Yuck. I understand no towels but literally every hostel offered soap to its guests.

    Beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The staff was friendly and the amenities were perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Private double room for 2 nights – Nothing really to complain about, except a bumpy wifi connection. The room was cozy and surprisingly quiet at nighttime. Staff very friendly and helpful. Which makes this a truly good choice however is the location & budget – Basically in the center of “Mitte” for under 80 EUR for a double is great value!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    7.9
    It has a nice common room and good atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 16-24 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in the studio room with a lot of other people and it was sometimes hard to sleep because people were going in and out the whole night. In this room it is always dark so you can't spend your time there, only in the common room. Also, there is no common kitchen where you could make your own food.

    It has a nice common room and good atmosphere. It is located in the centre so it is great for people who come to see Berlin for a few days and just need a place to sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    5.0
    the location is key for this hostel and for me its only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room wasn't in the best condition, curtains didn't cover the sun so you would wake up by it (yeah it was a really sunny berlin when i visited :P) The room itself wasn't really clean, now as the beds go, pretty good but the pillow on the other head most uncomfortable. Also u had to make ur own bed and the sheets where a bit to small for the mattress!

    the location is key for this hostel and for me its only saviour

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    7.9
    Simple hostel for younger people, but great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quite simple desing the quadruple room. WIFI was either not working, or was working slowly. You need to get a new WIFI code every day. You have to put on your linen yourself on first day. One lift only, which was repaired for a day during our stay.

    Good location, friendly staff. Museum island is close. Public traffic excellent: 5-8 minute walk from Friedrichstrasse station. You can get to the Shoenefeld airport by public transport (it is even faster by train then taxi). It is a hostel for younger, we were there with children, and was afraid that it might be noisy, but there was no noise at all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    5.0
    Good location and common area very well organized.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 16-24 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1- They had not power plugs close to the beds, in fact the only ones in the rooms were on the ceiling, where obviously it is not possible to charge the cellphone / notebook battery, so the common area becomes a plugs dispute and we are obliged to stay in the common area if we want to charge our things. 2- The internet was not very good, it was always slow or falling. 3 - The beds are very noisy, whenever someone moved during the night it seemed like there was a symphony in the room. 4 - The blanket was small, as I am 1.78m high, the blanket was not enough, which could generate problems in the colder hours of the night. 5 - In addition to the small blanket, the room heating was not good either, it did not heat enough.

    Good location and common area very well organized. The fact of having a bar that offers everything from breakfast to dinner is also good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    7.9
    Nice place to stay, rooms and toilets are clean. Good cost benefit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfurtenly the guy who checked us in was totally unprepared to work with people. Very rude and did not show minimum interest to explain how the hostel works or the facilities. For our lucky and the hostel he is an exception, everyone else were helpful and our experience jumped from -10 to 100% positive due the others member of staff.

    The location is great and easy accessible from public transport. Near to the museum island and other interesting places. Breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    7.1
    It is not a hotel. It is an hostel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wash room was outside of the room. To access wash room need to use access card again. Breakfast for few guests juice was included for few it was not. Heating was not working . Shower was not so good.

    Location is very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    10
    The Atmosphere was amazing, cosy and super relaxing !
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Female 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t stay at the hostel because i was doing tours or visiting some friends the whole day so I can’t really judge or say what wasn’t in my favor but all in all it was good

    The Atmosphere was amazing, cosy and super relaxing ! It was perfect in all possible ways

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    9.6
    Great hostel, would definitely stay again the next time I need a hostel in Berlin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 5-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The breakfast buffet starts at 0800 which was a problem when I needed to leave early in the morning. Luckily the staff were excellent to deal with, they refunded my money. The wi-fi signal in my dorm is very weak. The key card kept getting deactivated.

    The location is excellent, very excellent staff and facilities, my dorm was nice and warm, the selection of food in the breakfast buffet is great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I really don't have anything to complain. I would say that my stay here was perfect.

    The staff is SUPER friendly and helpful. The hostel is perfect, there's a bar downstairs which is awesome. And also breakfast and lunch are very cheap (and delicious too).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    4.2
    Worst accomodation in my life
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no soap in the bath also there is no kitchen in the hostel. Also, everybody who stay in hostel make noise, I could not sleep well beacuse of this.

    I only like location. The other things except location were very bad.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    6.7
    Quiet and good neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Female 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff wasn't as friendly as I expected. I don't recommend this hostel for lone travelers as it doesn't offer too many opportunities for socializing.

    Quiet and good neighborhood. Easy access to great breakfast places and close to public transportation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    7.5
    Not a classic hostel, no common kitchen or free water/tea, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 16-24 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I wouldn`t call it a hostel. There is no common kitchen where you can cook or get a tea. The dorm was not clean when I checked in and it was very dusty. I wish someone would clean under the bed at least once during 7 days. The dorm gets very stuffy, no air ventilation past 4 days.

    Staff is really friendly. The beds are fine, shower and toilets are clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    3.8
    Beauty and dirty and no faire
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was dirty, dirty bedding etc. We weren't allowed to see room before paying and when we saw it it was horrible. Towels not icnluded ! (price 80 euro night) When we wanted to move out right away,the staff offered only 10 % of the 270 euros we paid. I'am very disapointed ....

    Very goog localisation, gig room with big windows

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    9.6
    Zu empfehlen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 16-24 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - Key Not working all the time - showers are old and you have to press every 3 seconds for a continuous water flow

    - Checkout at 11am - location - people - pool table

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    5.8
    The Location is great and the lounge area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 16-24 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No plugs in the room to charge your phone or computer. You had to go to the receptionist area. Toilet so far away from the room. There is no light in the rooms. It's always dark, But there is a small lamp that is not so a efficient.

    The Location is great and the lounge area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    5.4
    Great location. Bad bed!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Terrible bed! Expensive for what you get. Surcharge for creditcard use was a surprise. Did read about other charges for towels and sheets... obligatory charge for bed linin is weird, may as wel be included in the price as is obligatory...

    Great location. Nice and large room and bathroom. Nice bar area. Good temperature room. Great that has an elevator. Super friendly barman Phil!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money, great staff and did exactly what I expected it to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 16-24 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Key cards kept not working and had to repeatedly get them reactivated. Could be frustrating in the early hours especially.

    Staff were fantastic, very friendly and engaging. Food and drinks well priced. Free WiFi quick with good coverage Not too far from bars, restaurants and tourist sites.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    8.3
    Price is relatively acceptable, and location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 16-24 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately there's no kitchen for you to cook, also the 16-24 people room is in the basement. And if you wanna go to toilet, it is outside the room.

    The location is really wonderful, really closed to the museum island (only 5 minutes walk). Also the bar & common area is quite comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    6.0
    In top 3/4 choice for Berlin
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 16-24 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No plugs and weirdly dark 24/7 in dorms. Prices drink and food at bar - would like to be able to sit in bar lounge without buying drink when are a guest

    Laid back common room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    8.8
    Very good positioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I recommend the pillows to be changed as they weren't in a good shape.

    Very good positioning. You are basically in the center, near to important museums or places to visit. Also the place is very well connected with u-bahn, s-bahn, tram and so on.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    7.5
    Perfectly acceptable and convenient for price and needs.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wish restaurant was open a bit later (Atleast just for bar food). A little loud from the bar after 11 and from other guest rooms, but its a hostel, not the Hilton!

    Great restaurant Bar with fantastic prices. Made things convenient

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    9.6
    There's a bar/restaurant inside the hostel, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in a Mixed 16-24 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I miss having a kitchen or a fridge.

    There's a bar/restaurant inside the hostel, good price for a nice food. The location is pretty fine. The hostel itself is very clean and tidy. It really worth the price, I would recommend

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    4.2
    BAD SERVICE, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Terrible staff, terrible atitude. Very dissapointing level of service. We took the Triple Room and the pictures on Booking.com which describe this room were misleading. At the night we arrived we were surprised to realize that we have no towels inside the room. We went back to the reception to ask for towels and we met these two young staff guys (unfortunatly I don't know their names, one of them had glasses and a beard and the other had a hat) which weren't nice at all, and told us the towels cost money. When I said to them that we though that the towels are included and that we're giving up for it, they just answered to me with typically german sarcasm- "Oh! So you don't want the towels???". The funny fact in this story is that the next morning I went down to the reception and showed a screenshot from Booking.com website which showed clearly the the towels are included in the room! (and you can also see it's written in the screenshot I added to this review) Now I'm already used to stay at hostels and I did it in many countries around the world, but even in the most far-flungs i've ever got to stay - the staff and the service were always satisfying.

    The location is good and the design is young and nice. Also the breakfast was fine for the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Baxpax Downtown Hostel/Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: